DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “system” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a precursor injector system” in claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “a precursor injector system configured to provide, in a vapor phase, a transition metal precursor and a second precursor” which is not considered “a means plus function” limitation since the term “injector” is a structural term. Paragraph [0041] indicates that “a precursor injector system” is a gas distribution device. Hence, for purposes of examination, “a precursor injector system” (a gas distribution device) is simply a structure that provide gases to the chamber such as a gas inlet or a showerhead.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transition metal precursor vessel” and “second precursor vessel” in claim 2.
Paragraphs [0091],[0093] indicate that “transition metal precursor vessel” is a gas source vessel 204 that contains one or more claimed transition metal precursors and “second precursor vessel” is gas source vessel 206 that contains a claimed second precursor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, a precursor injector system 201. However, Figure 2 simply shows a box and not the structure of a precursor injector system and hence one cannot conclude that the inventor was in possession of the claimed invention.
In light of the above, dependent claims 2-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) at least due to dependency to rejected claim 1.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Figure 2 and paragraph [0091], “a precursor injector system” has no specific structure associated with the “a precursor injector system” and thus it is unclear what the structure of “a precursor injector system” is.
In light of the above, dependent claims 2-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) at least due to dependency to rejected claim 1.
Hence, for purposes of examination, “a precursor injector system” (a gas distribution device) is simply a structure that provides gases to the chamber such as a gas inlet or a showerhead.
First Art Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatanpaa et al. (U.S. 2019/0249300).
Referring to Figure 4 below and paragraphs [0113]-[0125], Hatanpaa et al. disclose a deposition assembly for depositing transition metal-containing material on a substrate comprising: a reaction chamber 402 configured to hold the substrate (par. [0113]); and a precursor injector system 408 (i.e. showerhead gas distributor) configured to provide, in a vapor phase, a transition metal precursor 410A and a second precursor 410B into the reaction chamber to deposit the transition metal-containing material on the substrate (pars.[0066], [0088] [0113]-[0114], [0120] ), wherein the transition metal precursor comprises a transition metal halide compound comprising an organic phosphine adduct ligand (par.[0049]), and wherein the second precursor comprises at least one of: borane dimethylamine, 1,4-bis(trimethylgermyl)-1,4-dihydropyrazine, or 1,4-bis(trimethylsilyl)-1,4-dihydropyrazine.
With regards to the wherein the transition metal precursor comprises a transition metal halide compound comprising an organic phosphine adduct ligand, and wherein the second precursor comprises at least one of: borane dimethylamine, 1,4-bis(trimethylgermyl)-1,4-dihydropyrazine, or 1,4-bis(trimethylsilyl)-1,4-dihydropyrazine, it should noted that the limitation is considered intended use in an apparatus claims and therefore are of no significance in determining patentability. Hence, “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” Furthermore, “the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” (MPEP 2115). Therefore, the prior art structure of the precursor injector system 408 is capable of providing the desired gases.
With respect to claim 6, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further comprising: an exhaust system (i.e. pumping system) connected to the reaction chamber, wherein the exhaust system is configured to: after the precursor injector system provides the transition metal precursor into the reaction chamber and before the precursor injector system provides the second precursor into the reaction chamber, purging excess transition metal precursor from the reaction chamber; or after the precursor injector system provides the second precursor into the reaction chamber and before the precursor injector system provides the transition metal precursor into the reaction chamber, purging excess transition second precursor from the reaction chamber (par. [0054]).
With respect to claim 7, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein the organic phosphine adduct ligand comprises at least one of: a monophosphine ligand; a trimethyl phosphine ligand; or a triethyl phosphine ligand (par.[0049]).
With respect to claim 8, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein a phosphorus atom of the organic phosphine adduct ligand is bonded to at least one organic group (par.[0046]).
With respect to claim 9, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein the at least one organic group is a C1 to C4 alkyl group (par.[0049]).
With respect to claim 10, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein the alkyl group is selected from methyl, ethyl, n-propyl and isopropyl (par.[0049]).
With respect to claim 11, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes, wherein a halogen of the transition metal halide compound is selected from a group consisting of chlorine and bromine (par.[0043]).
With respect to claim 12, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein the transition metal halide compound comprises two organic phosphine adduct ligands (par.[0049]- triethylphosphine).
With respect to claim 13, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein a transition metal of the transition metal halide compound has an oxidation state of +2 (par.[0045]- Ni +2 or Co+2).
With respect to claim 14, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein a transition metal of the transition metal halide compound is a row 4 transition metal(par.[0045]- Ni +2 or Co+2).
With respect to claim 15, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein the transition metal halide compound comprises one organic phosphine adduct ligand (par.[0049]- triethylphosphine).
With respect to claim 16, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein a transition metal of the transition metal halide compound is a noble metal (As stated above, Hatanpaa et al. discloses a transition metal and the type of gas used in apparatus claims is considered intended use. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07)).
With respect to claim 17, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein a transition metal of the transition metal halide compound is a group 11 transition metal (As stated above, Hatanpaa et al. discloses a transition metal and the type of gas used in apparatus claims is considered intended use. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07)).
With respect to claim 18, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein the group 11 transition metal is gold (As stated above, Hatanpaa et al. discloses a transition metal and the type of gas used in apparatus claims is considered intended use. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07)).
With respect to claim 19, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein the second precursor comprises a reducing agent (pars.[0066], ]0088],[0120]).
With respect to claim 20, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein the reaction chamber is configured to, during the depositing of the transition metal-containing material on the substrate, a temperature inside the reaction chamber to be below 200oC (par.[0092]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanpaa et al. (U.S. 2019/0249300) in view of Winter et al. (U.S. 2015/0004314).
The teachings of Hatanpaa et al. have been discussed above.
Hatanpaa et al. disclose wherein the precursor injector system comprises: a transition metal precursor vessel configured to contain the transition metal precursor (par.[0049]); however, Hatanpaa et al. is silent on a second precursor vessel configured to contain the second precursor.
Referring to paragraph [0160], Winter et al. teach a deposition assembly wherein a second precursor vessel configured to contain the second precursor (i.e. 1,4-bis(trimethylsilyl)-1,4-dihydropyrazine) to be used as a reducing agent to achieve the desired reactants. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Hatanpaa et al. with a second precursor vessel configured to contain the second precursor (i.e. 1,4-bis(trimethylsilyl)-1,4-dihydropyrazine) as taught by Winter et al. since it is a conventionally known reducing agent used to achieve the desired reactants for substrate processing. The resulting apparatus of Hatanpaa et al. in view of Winter et al. would yield a second precursor vessel configured to contain the second precursor.
With respect to claim 3, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. in view of Winter et al. further includes wherein the precursor injector system 408 further comprises one or more heaters 414 configured to heat the transition metal precursor, in the transition metal precursor vessel 410A, or the second precursor, in the second precursor vessel 410B (Hatanpaa et al.-Fig. 4, pars.[0115],[0120]).
With respect to claim 4, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. in view of Winter et al. further includes wherein the one or more heaters 414 is configured to heat the transition metal precursor or the second precursor to a temperature between 30oC and 150oC (Hatanpaa et al.-Fig. 4, pars.[0115]-[0116]).
With respect to claim 5, the deposition assembly of Hatanpaa et al. in view of Winter et al. further includes wherein the one or more heaters 414 is configured to heat the transition metal precursor to a first temperature and the second precursor to a second temperature different than the first temperature (Hatanpaa et al.-Fig. 4, pars.[0115]-[0116]).
Second Art Rejection
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winter et al. (U.S. 2015/0004314)
Referring to Figure 2D below and paragraphs [0158]-[0204], Winter et al. disclose a deposition assembly for depositing transition metal-containing material on a substrate comprising: a reaction chamber 22 configured to hold the substrate (par. [0174]); and a precursor injector system (i.e. gas inlet) configured to provide, in a vapor phase, a transition metal precursor 32 and a second precursor 40 into the reaction chamber to deposit the transition metal-containing material on the substrate (pars.[0197]-[0199]), wherein the transition metal precursor comprises a transition metal halide compound comprising an organic phosphine adduct ligand (par.[0165]), and wherein the second precursor comprises at least one of: borane dimethylamine, 1,4-bis(trimethylgermyl)-1,4-dihydropyrazine, or 1,4-bis(trimethylsilyl)-1,4-dihydropyrazine (par[0160]).
With respect to claim 2, wherein the precursor injector system comprises: a transition metal precursor vessel configured to contain the transition metal precursor (par.[0165]); and a second precursor vessel configured to contain the second precursor (par.[0160]).
With respect to claim 6, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further comprising: an exhaust system 26 connected to the reaction chamber, wherein the exhaust system is configured to: after the precursor injector system provides the transition metal precursor into the reaction chamber and before the precursor injector system provides the second precursor into the reaction chamber, purging excess transition metal precursor from the reaction chamber; or after the precursor injector system provides the second precursor into the reaction chamber and before the precursor injector system provides the transition metal precursor into the reaction chamber, purging excess transition second precursor from the reaction chamber (par. [0194]).
With respect to claim 7, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein the organic phosphine adduct ligand comprises at least one of: a monophosphine ligand; a trimethyl phosphine ligand; or a triethyl phosphine ligand (par.[0165]).
With respect to claim 8, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein a phosphorus atom of the organic phosphine adduct ligand is bonded to at least one organic group (par.[0165]).
With respect to claim 9, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein the at least one organic group is a C1 to C4 alkyl group (par.[0165]).
With respect to claim 10, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein the alkyl group is selected from methyl, ethyl, n-propyl and isopropyl (par.[0165]).
With respect to claim 11, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes, wherein a halogen of the transition metal halide compound is selected from a group consisting of chlorine and bromine (par.[0165]).
With respect to claim 12, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein the transition metal halide compound comprises two organic phosphine adduct ligands (par.[0165]).
With respect to claim 13, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein a transition metal of the transition metal halide compound has an oxidation state of +2 (par.[0165]).
With respect to claim 14, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein a transition metal of the transition metal halide compound is a row 4 transition metal(par.[0165]).
With respect to claim 15, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein the transition metal halide compound comprises one organic phosphine adduct ligand (par.[0165]).
With respect to claim 16, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein a transition metal of the transition metal halide compound is a noble metal (As stated above, Winter et al. discloses a transition metal and the type of gas used in apparatus claims is considered intended use. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07)).
With respect to claim 17, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein a transition metal of the transition metal halide compound is a group 11 transition metal (As stated above, Winter et al. discloses a transition metal and the type of gas used in apparatus claims is considered intended use. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07)).
With respect to claim 18, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein the group 11 transition metal is gold (As stated above, Winter et al. discloses a transition metal and the type of gas used in apparatus claims is considered intended use. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07)).
With respect to claim 19, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein the second precursor comprises a reducing agent (pars.[0160]).
With respect to claim 20, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. further includes wherein the reaction chamber is configured to, during the depositing of the transition metal-containing material on the substrate, a temperature inside the reaction chamber to be below 200oC (par.[0174]).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter et al. (U.S. 2015/0004314) in view of Hatanpaa et al. (U.S. 2019/0249300).
The teachings of Winter et al. have been discussed above.
Winter et al. is silent on wherein the precursor injector system further comprises one or more heaters configured to heat the transition metal precursor, in the transition metal precursor vessel, or the second precursor, in the second precursor vessel.
Referring to Figure 4 and paragraphs [0115]-[0116], [0120], Hatanpaa et al. teach a deposition assembly wherein the precursor injector system 408 further comprises one or more heaters 414 configured to heat the transition metal precursor, in the transition metal precursor vessel 410A, or the second precursor, in the second precursor vessel 410B in order to control the viscosity or vapor pressure of the precursors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the precursor injector system of Winter et al. with one or more heaters configured to heat the transition metal precursor, in the transition metal precursor vessel, or the second precursor, in the second precursor vessel as taught by Hatanpaa et al. in order to control the viscosity or vapor pressure of the precursors. The resulting apparatus of Winter et al. in view of Hatanpaa et al. would yield wherein the precursor injector system further comprises one or more heaters configured to heat the transition metal precursor, in the transition metal precursor vessel, or the second precursor, in the second precursor vessel.
With respect to claim 4, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. in view of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein the one or more heaters 414 is configured to heat the transition metal precursor or the second precursor to a temperature between 30oC and 150oC (Hatanpaa et al.-Fig. 4, pars.[0115]-[0116]).
With respect to claim 5, the deposition assembly of Winter et al. in view of Hatanpaa et al. further includes wherein the one or more heaters 414 is configured to heat the transition metal precursor to a first temperature and the second precursor to a second temperature different than the first temperature (Hatanpaa et al.-Fig. 4, par
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/818298 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application render the claims of the instant application obvious.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of copending Application No. 18/438765 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application render the claims of the instant application obvious.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/314021 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application render the claims of the instant application obvious.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/060981 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application render the claims of the instant application obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Elers’204, Farm et al.’919, Hatanpaa et al.’113, and Mattinen et al.’701 disclose a precursor injector system configured to provide, in a vapor phase, a transition metal precursor and a second precursor into the reaction chamber. Lopatin et al.’031 and Manna et al.’483 teach a reducing agent of dimethylamine borane complex.
/Michelle CROWELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716