DETAILED ACTION
Cross-Reference to Related Applications
2. This application claims benefit of 63/567,854 03/20/2024.
Oath/Declaration
3. The oath/declaration filed on 08/22/2024 is acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 07/17/2024.
Specification
5. The specification is objected to for the following reason: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP 606.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wu et al., hereafter “Wu” (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0107736 A1) in view of Jung et al., hereafter “Jung” (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0088150 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
a substrate (12);
an insulating material (14a, para [0032]) disposed on the substrate (12);
a first fin structure (Left 106) extending upwardly from the substrate (12) through the insulating material (14a);
a second fin structure (Right 106) extending upwardly from the substrate (12) through the insulating material (14a), the first (Left 106) and second fin structures (Right 106) extending along a first direction; (X-direction, para [0031]);
a first isolation trench structure (125, para [0050]) disposed between the first (1st 106) and second fin structures (2nd 106), the first isolation trench structure (125) extending through the insulating material (14a) along a second direction (the gate isolation structure 125 extends through the gate structure 114 and the STI feature 14a, and extends into the p well 111, para [0050] refers extending along Z-direction as orientation in direction) perpendicular to the first direction (X-direction) (Fig. 11 and para [0046]-[0050]).
Wu discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose the first isolation trench structure comprising: a first portion extending a first depth into the substrate; and a second portion extending a second depth into the substrate, wherein the second depth is different than first depth.
Jung, however, discloses the first isolation trench structure (190) comprising: a first portion (194) extending a first depth into the substrate (102); and a second portion (198) extending a second depth into the substrate (102), wherein the second depth is different than first depth (Fig. 2A-2B and para [0052]-[0058]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Wu to provide the first isolation trench structure comprising: a first portion extending a first depth into the substrate; and a second portion extending a second depth into the substrate, wherein the second depth is different than first depth as taught by Jung for a purpose of improving the integral performance and reliability of the semiconductor device structure.
Regarding claim 9, Wu and Jung (citations to Wu unless otherwise noted) disclose wherein each of the first and second portions of the first isolation trench structure has a curved profile (Figs. 2A-2B).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, Wu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0107736 A1) discloses a semiconductor device structure, comprising: a substrate (12); a first fin structure (Left 106) extending upwardly from the substrate (12); a second fin structure (Right 106) extending upwardly from the substrate (12), the first (Left 106) and second fin structures (Right 106) being parallelly arranged along a first direction (Z-direction); a first isolation trench structure (125) disposed between the first (left 106) and second fin structures (Right 106) (Fig. 11 and para [0046]-[0050]).
Jung et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0088150 A1) discloses the first isolation trench structure (190) extending along a second direction (the fin isolation insulator 190 may extend lengthwise in a second horizontal direction (Y direction) between the plurality of pairs of fin-type active regions FA) perpendicular to the first direction (Z-direction) (Figs. 2A-2B and para [0024]).
Wu and Jung, however, either alone or together in any combination, do not disclose, teach, or otherwise suggest a feature of “a second isolation trench structure disposed between the first and second fin structures, the second isolation trench structure extending along the second direction; and a third isolation trench structure disposed between the first and second fin structures, the third isolation trench extending along the first direction to across a portion of the first isolation trench structure, and the third isolation trench structure being separated from the second isolation trench structure by an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer” as cited in the independent claim 10.
Claims 11-16 are directly or indirectly depend on the independent claim 10, then, they are also being allowed.
Regarding claim 17, Wu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0107736 A1) discloses a method for forming a semiconductor device structure, comprising: forming a plurality of fin structures (106/108) from a substrate (12), each fin structure (106/108) extending along a first direction (X-direction, para [0031]); forming an insulating material (14a) on the substrate (12); and forming a gate electrode layer (114) over the insulating material (14a) (Figs. 2A-2B).
CHANG et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0064705 A1) discloses each fin structure (202) comprising a plurality of semiconductor layers (106b/106c/106d) vertically stacked; and the gate electrode layer (3302) surrounding a portion of each semiconductor layer (106b/106c/106d) (Figs. 2 and 33 and para [0038] and [0087]).
Wu and CHANG, however, either alone or together in any combination, do not disclose, teach, or otherwise suggest a feature of “removing portions of the gate electrode layer and the insulating material to form a first isolation trench, the first isolation trench extending along the first direction; filling the first isolation trench with a first dielectric material to form a first isolation trench structure; removing portions of the gate electrode layer, the semiconductor layers of one or more fin structures of the plurality of fin structures, the first isolation trench structure, the insulating material, and the substrate to form a second isolation trench extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and filling the second isolation trench with a second dielectric material to form a second isolation trench structure” as cited in the independent claim 17.
Claims 18-20 are directly or indirectly depend on the independent claim 17, then, they are also being allowed.
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Arts
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
More (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0119286 A1) discloses substate isolation feature 40 is disposed over substrate 20, along sidewalls of the recessed portions of fin 15, and along sidewalls of lower portions of the non-recessed portion of fin 15. Gate stack 25 extends over the top of substrate isolation feature 40. In some embodiments, substrate isolation feature 40 surrounds a lower portion of fin 15. In some embodiments, fin 15 is not recessed in the source/drain regions of the FinFET, and epitaxial source/drains 30 wrap fin 15 (e.g., epitaxial source/drains 30 are disposed on tops and opposing sidewalls of fin 15 (Fig. 1 and para [0012]).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897