DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fillion et al. (US 5353498).
Regarding claim 1, Fillion teaches a semiconductor structure (Figs. 1a-1e of Fillion), comprising:
a die (14) including a top surface (top surface of 14);
a molding (24) the die, wherein the molding includes a top surface (top surface of 24); and
a polymer (12a-12b, as described in column 5 line 36-40) over the die and the molding, wherein the polymer has a first bottom surface (interface of 12a and die 14) contacting the die and a second bottom surface (interface of 12a and molding 24) contacting the molding, and the first bottom surface is at a level substantially same as the second bottom surface (as shown in Fig. 1e).
Regarding claim 2, Fillion teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 1, and also teaches wherein the polymer is conformal to the top surface of the molding and the top surface of the die (as shown in Fig. 1e of Fillion).
Regarding claim 4, Fillion teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 1, and further comprising a redistribution layer (interconnect 28 in Fig. 1e of Fillion) over the polymer.
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US 2013/0001776 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yu teaches a semiconductor structure (200 in Fig. 12 of Yu), comprising:
a die (chip 20, which is labeled in Fig. 7) including a top surface (top surface 32 of chip 20);
a molding (46) surrounding the die, wherein the molding includes a top surface (top surface 46A); and
a polymer (66-49-54, as described in [0019]-[0020]) over the top surface of the die and over the top surface of the molding, wherein the polymer has a first bottom surface (interface of 66 and chip 20) contacting the die and a second bottom surface (interface of 49 and molding 46) contacting the molding, and the first bottom surface and the second bottom surface are at different levels (as shown in Fig. 12 of Yu).
Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 8, and also teaches wherein the molding is in contact with a sidewall of the die entirely (as shown in Fig. 12 of Yu).
Regarding claim 10, Yu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 8, and also teaches wherein the polymer is conformal to the top surface of the molding and the top surface of the die (as shown in Fig. 12 of Yu).
Regarding claim 11, Yu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 8, and further comprising a redistribution layer (PPI 50 in Fig. 12 of Yu) over the polymer.
Regarding claim 12, Yu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 11, and also teaches wherein the redistribution layer comprises a bond pad (portion of 50 that is in contact with bump 60) electrically connected to the die.
Regarding claim 13, Yu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 12, and also teaches wherein the redistribution layer comprises a conductive trace (portion of PPI 50 that is connected to contacts 34 to the bond pad) between the die and the bond pad, and the bond pad is electrically connected to the die by the conductive trace (as shown in Fig. 12 of Yu).
Regarding claim 14, Yu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 12, and further comprising a conductive bump (60) over the bond pad.
Regarding claim 15, Yu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 14, and also teaches wherein the die is electrically connected to a substrate (the presence of an external substrate is implied by the bumps 60) through the conductive bump.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (US 2014/0048959 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Hu teaches a semiconductor structure (180 in Fig. 14 of Hu), comprising:
a first die (1021) including a first top surface (top surface of 1021);
a second die (1022) including a second top surface (top surface of 1022);
a molding (122) surrounding the first die and the second die, wherein the molding includes a third top surface; and
a polymer (1621) over the first die, the second die, and the molding, wherein the polymer has a first bottom surface (interface of 1621 and 1021) over the first die, a second bottom surface (interface of 1621 and 1022) over the second die and a third bottom surface (interface of 1621 and 122) over the molding, and the second bottom surface is at a level substantially same as the third bottom surface (as shown in Fig. 14 of Hu).
Regarding claim 17, Hu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 16, and also teaches wherein the first bottom surface is at a level substantially lower than the second bottom surface (as shown in Fig. 14 of Hu).
Regarding claim 18, Hu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 16, and also teaches wherein the third top surface of the molding is at a level substantially higher than the first bottom surface of the polymer (as shown in Fig. 14 of Hu).
Regarding claim 19, Hu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 16, and further comprising a substrate (the presence of external substrate to which the package 180 is mounted on is implied by the solder balls 176), wherein the first die, the second die, the molding and the polymer are disposed over the substrate.
Regarding claim 20, Hu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 16, and further comprising a redistribution layer (170 in Fig. 14 of Hu) over the polymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fillion, as applied above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2013/0001776 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Fillion teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 1, but does not teach the semiconductor structure further comprising a substrate, wherein the die, the molding and the polymer are disposed over the substrate.
Yu teaches a semiconductor structure (200 in Fig. 6 of Yu) comprising: a substrate (42), wherein a die (42), a molding (46) and a polymer (49-54) are disposed over the substrate; a redistribution layer (50) including a conductive trace (portion of 50 in contact with contacts 34) and a bond pad (portion of 50 in contact with bump 60); a plurality of bumps (60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the solder bumps to the interconnect of Fillion in order to make better electrical contact to external circuit.
Regarding claim 5, Fillion in view of Yu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 4, and also teaches wherein the redistribution layer comprises a bond pad electrically connected to the die (as taught in claim 4 above).
Regarding claim 6, Fillion in view of Yu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 5, and also teaches wherein the redistribution layer comprises a conductive trace (electrical interconnect from contact 34 to the pad underneath the bump 60) between the die and the bond pad, and the bond pad is electrically connected to the die by the conductive trace.
Regarding claim 7, Fillion in view of Yu teaches all limitations of the semiconductor structure of claim 5, and further comprising a conductive bump (60 in Fig. 6 of Yu) over the bond pad.
Conclusion
/Tuan A Hoang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898