DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Labetski et al. (WO 2011/110383, hereinafter Labetski).
Regarding claim 1, Labetski discloses an apparatus for EUV lithography (radiation source for generating EUV for a lithographic apparatus, see abstract), comprising:
a scanner and a reticle (plasma emits a large amount of small particulate debris, a proportion of which travels towards the intermediate focus and can then enter the rest of the lithographic apparatus or scanner, see paragraph [0058]; a patterning device, which is alternatively referred to as a mask or a reticle, may be used to generate a circuit pattern to be formed on an individual layer of the integrated circuit, see paragraph [0003]);
an EUV radiation source that generates a LPP that emits EUV radiation (EUV radiation may be produced using a plasma, the EUV radiation may include a laser for exciting a fuel to provide the plasma, termed a LPP source, see paragraph [0007]);
a debris collector (debris collecting device may include a plurality of plates arranged to collect the debris, see paragraph [0013]);
a gas jet configured to generate a gas flow that deflects debris generated by the EUV radiation source toward the debris collector (the debris mitigation device comprises a nozzle arranged to direct gas supplied by the source into a gas flow toward the radiation generating element, the gas flow being sufficient to deflect particulate debris moving toward the intermediate focus, see Fig. 5 and paragraph [0011]; the debris collecting device may be located in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, see paragraph [0013]);
wherein the gas jet is located on a scanner side of an interface between the EUV radiation source and the scanner (the debris mitigation device comprises a nozzle arranged to direct gas supplied by the source into a gas flow toward the radiation generating element, the gas flow being sufficient to deflect particulate debris moving toward the intermediate focus, see Fig. 5 and paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 2, Labetski discloses the gas jet is configured to generate a supersonic gas flow (the nozzle flares so that the gas flow entering the scanner cone is supersonic, see paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 6, Labetski discloses the gas jet generates the gas flow in a direction substantially perpendicular to a propagation direction of the EUV radiation that is generated by the EUV radiation source (recirculating zones Z4 allows gas to circulate to further capture particles entering the zones thereby preventing them reaching the intermediate focus, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 8, Labetski discloses the gas jet is disposed entirely in the scanner and adjacent to a junction of the EUV radiation source and the scanner (depicted by the gas flow 330 from the nozzle 320 near the intermediate focus toward the plasma 210, see Fig. 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 9, Labetski discloses the debris collector is disposed within the scanner proximate to the junction of the EUV radiation source and the scanner (the debris collecting device may be arranged in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, or mounted on a wall of the vacuum chamber to collection debris substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of the radiation beam, see paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 10, Labetski discloses the debris collector is disposed within the EUV radiation source such that the debris is directed by the gas jet toward the EUV radiation source (the debris collecting device may be arranged in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, or mounted on a wall of the vacuum chamber to collection debris substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of the radiation beam, see paragraph [0013]; debris mitigation device may include a gas outlet, the gas may be hydrogen, see paragraph [0015]; flow of gas toward the radiation source deflects particulate debris, see abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Labetski discloses a method comprising generating EUV radiation with an EUV radiation source of an EUV lithography apparatus (radiation source for generating EUV for a lithographic apparatus, see abstract); and
generating a gas flow that deflects debris generated by the EUV radiation source away from a reticle of the EUV lithography apparatus, using a gas jet located on a scanner side of an interface between the EUV radiation source and a scanner (the debris mitigation device comprises a nozzle arranged to direct gas supplied by the source into a gas flow toward the radiation generating element, the gas flow being sufficient to deflect particulate debris moving toward the intermediate focus, see Fig. 5 and paragraph [0011]; the debris collecting device may be located in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, see paragraph [0013]; a patterning device, which is alternatively referred to as a mask or a reticle, may be used to generate a circuit pattern to be formed on an individual layer of the integrated circuit, see paragraph [0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 7, 11-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labetski.
Regarding claim 3, Labetski discloses a gas flow (a pressure of gas in the gas source and a shape of the nozzle may be selected such that a rate of flow of gas leaving the nozzle is less than or equal to about 10 slm (standard liters per minute) or less than or equal to about 15 slm, see paragraph [0014]).
Labetski does not explicitly disclose the gas jet is configured to generate a gas flow with a density between 10-18 g/cm3 and 10-21 g/cm3.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to choose an appropriate gas with an appropriate flow rate such that a chosen gas flow with a desired density can be achieved.
Regarding claim 4, Labetski discloses the debris generated by the EUV radiation source comprises Sn (tin) nanoparticles (droplets of fuel (e.g. tin) are irradiated by a pulsed laser beam that are turned into a plasma. Formation of the plasma can result in formation of a very large number of small tin particulate debris, typical sizes about 200 nm (e.g. nanoparticles), see paragraph [0008]); and the gas jet is configured to generate a hydrogen gas flow that deflects the Sn nanoparticles (debris mitigation device may include a gas outlet, the gas may be hydrogen, see paragraph [0015]; flow of gas toward the radiation source deflects particulate debris, see abstract).
Labetski teaches that the debris catching device is arranged to collect debris deflected by the gas flow (see paragraph [0013]). The debris collecting device may be arranged in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, or mounted on a wall of the vacuum chamber to collection debris substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of the radiation beam (see paragraph [0013]).
Labetski does not explicitly disclose the Sn nanoparticles are deflected through an angle that is between 76 and 105 degrees from a nanoparticle flow direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify the location of the debris collecting device in a location within the vacuum chamber such that a desired angle of the deflected nanoparticles are between claimed angles from a nanoparticle flow direction are achieved.
Regarding claim 5, Labetski discloses a gas flow (a pressure of gas in the gas source and a shape of the nozzle may be selected such that a rate of flow of gas leaving the nozzle is less than or equal to about 10 slm (standard liters per minute) or less than or equal to about 15 slm, see paragraph [0014]).
Labetski does not explicitly disclose the gas jet is configured such that a gas flow has a momentum that is no greater than 3.42x10-14 kg m/s.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to choose an appropriate gas with an appropriate flow rate and speed such that a chosen gas flow with a desired momentum can be achieved.
Regarding claim 7, Labetski discloses a gas jet is configured to generate a hydrogen gas flow that deflects the Sn nanoparticles (debris mitigation device may include a gas outlet, the gas may be hydrogen, see paragraph [0015]; flow of gas toward the radiation source deflects particulate debris, see abstract).
Labetski teaches that the debris catching device is arranged to collect debris deflected by the gas flow (see paragraph [0013]). The debris collecting device may be arranged in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, or mounted on a wall of the vacuum chamber to collection debris substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of the radiation beam (see paragraph [0013]).
Labetski does not explicitly disclose the Sn nanoparticles are deflected through an angle that is between 70 and 110 degrees from a nanoparticle flow direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify the location of the debris collecting device in a location within the vacuum chamber such that a desired angle of the deflected nanoparticles are between claimed angles from a nanoparticle flow direction are achieved.
Regarding claim 11, Labetski discloses an apparatus for EUV lithography (radiation source for generating EUV for a lithographic apparatus, see abstract), comprising:
a scanner (plasma emits a large amount of small particulate debris, a proportion of which travels towards the intermediate focus and can then enter the rest of the lithographic apparatus or scanner, see paragraph [0058]);
an EUV radiation source that generates EUV radiation ((EUV radiation may be produced using a plasma, the EUV radiation may include a laser for exciting a fuel to provide the plasma, termed a LPP source, see paragraph [0007]); and
a gas jet configured to generate a supersonic gas flow (the nozzle flares so that the gas flow entering the scanner cone is supersonic, see paragraph [0062]),
wherein the gas jet is located on a scanner side of an interface between the EUV radiation source and the scanner (the debris mitigation device comprises a nozzle arranged to direct gas supplied by the source into a gas flow toward the radiation generating element, the gas flow being sufficient to deflect particulate debris moving toward the intermediate focus, see Fig. 5 and paragraph [0011]).
Labetski discloses a gas flow (a pressure of gas in the gas source and a shape of the nozzle may be selected such that a rate of flow of gas leaving the nozzle is less than or equal to about 10 slm (standard liters per minute) or less than or equal to about 15 slm, see paragraph [0014]).
Labetski does not explicitly disclose the gas jet is configured to generate a gas flow with a density between 10-18 g/cm3 and 10-21 g/cm3.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to choose an appropriate gas with an appropriate flow rate such that a chosen gas flow with a desired density can be achieved.
Regarding claim 12, Labetski discloses a gas jet is configured to generate a hydrogen gas flow that deflects the Sn nanoparticles (debris mitigation device may include a gas outlet, the gas may be hydrogen, see paragraph [0015]; flow of gas toward the radiation source deflects particulate debris, see abstract).
Labetski teaches that the debris catching device is arranged to collect debris deflected by the gas flow (see paragraph [0013]). The debris collecting device may be arranged in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, or mounted on a wall of the vacuum chamber to collection debris substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of the radiation beam (see paragraph [0013]).
Labetski does not explicitly disclose the Sn nanoparticles are deflected through an angle that is between 70 and 110 degrees from a nanoparticle flow direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify the location of the debris collecting device in a location within the vacuum chamber such that a desired angle of the deflected nanoparticles are between claimed angles from a nanoparticle flow direction are achieved.
Regarding claim 13, Labetski discloses the debris generated by the EUV radiation source comprises Sn (tin) nanoparticles (droplets of fuel (e.g. tin) are irradiated by a pulsed laser beam that are turned into a plasma. Formation of the plasma can result in formation of a very large number of small tin particulate debris, typical sizes about 200 nm (e.g. nanoparticles), see paragraph [0008]); and
the gas jet is configured to generate a hydrogen gas flow that deflects the Sn nanoparticles (debris mitigation device may include a gas outlet, the gas may be hydrogen, see paragraph [0015]; flow of gas toward the radiation source deflects particulate debris, see abstract).
Labetski teaches that the debris catching device is arranged to collect debris deflected by the gas flow (see paragraph [0013]). The debris collecting device may be arranged in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, or mounted on a wall of the vacuum chamber to collection debris substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of the radiation beam (see paragraph [0013]).
Labetski does not explicitly disclose the Sn nanoparticles are deflected through an angle that is between 76 and 105 degrees from a nanoparticle flow direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify the location of the debris collecting device in a location within the vacuum chamber such that a desired angle of the deflected nanoparticles are between claimed angles from a nanoparticle flow direction are achieved.
Regarding claim 14, Labetski discloses the gas jet is disposed entirely in the scanner and adjacent to a junction of the EUV radiation source and the scanner (depicted by the gas flow 330 from the nozzle 320 near the intermediate focus toward the plasma 210, see Fig. 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 15, Labetski discloses a debris collector, wherein the debris collector is disposed within the scanner proximate to the junction of the EUV radiation source and the scanner (the debris collecting device may be arranged in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, or mounted on a wall of the vacuum chamber to collection debris substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of the radiation beam, see paragraph [0013]), or
wherein the debris collector is disposed within the radiation source such that the debris is directed by the gas jet toward the EUV radiation source (the debris collecting device may be arranged in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, or mounted on a wall of the vacuum chamber to collection debris substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of the radiation beam, see paragraph [0013]; debris mitigation device may include a gas outlet, the gas may be hydrogen, see paragraph [0015]; flow of gas toward the radiation source deflects particulate debris, see abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Labetski discloses a gas jet configured to generate a supersonic gas flow (the nozzle flares so that the gas flow entering the scanner cone is supersonic, see paragraph [0062]).
Labetski discloses a gas flow (a pressure of gas in the gas source and a shape of the nozzle may be selected such that a rate of flow of gas leaving the nozzle is less than or equal to about 10 slm (standard liters per minute) or less than or equal to about 15 slm, see paragraph [0014]).
Labetski does not explicitly disclose the gas jet is configured to generate a gas flow with a density between 10-18 g/cm3 and 10-21 g/cm3.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to choose an appropriate gas with an appropriate flow rate such that a chosen gas flow with a desired density can be achieved.
Regarding claim 18, Labetski discloses a gas jet is configured to generate a hydrogen gas flow that deflects the Sn nanoparticles (debris mitigation device may include a gas outlet, the gas may be hydrogen, see paragraph [0015]; flow of gas toward the radiation source deflects particulate debris, see abstract; formation of the plasma can result in formation of a very large number of small tin particulate debris, typical sizes about 200 nm (e.g. nanoparticles), see paragraph [0008]).
Labetski teaches that the debris catching device is arranged to collect debris deflected by the gas flow (see paragraph [0013]). The debris collecting device may be arranged in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, or mounted on a wall of the vacuum chamber to collection debris substantially perpendicular to a direction of propagation of the radiation beam (see paragraph [0013]).
Labetski does not explicitly disclose the Sn nanoparticles are deflected through an angle that is between 76 and 105 degrees from a nanoparticle flow direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify the location of the debris collecting device in a location within the vacuum chamber such that a desired angle of the deflected nanoparticles are between claimed angles from a nanoparticle flow direction are achieved.
Regarding claim 19, Labetski discloses deflecting the Sn nanoparticles toward a debris collection device located in the EUV radiation source (formation of the plasma can result in formation of a very large number of small tin particulate debris, typical sizes about 200 nm (e.g. nanoparticles), see paragraph [0008]; the debris mitigation device comprises a nozzle arranged to direct gas supplied by the source into a gas flow toward the radiation generating element, the gas flow being sufficient to deflect particulate debris moving toward the intermediate focus, see Fig. 5 and paragraph [0011]; the debris collecting device may be located in a region of the vacuum chamber traversed by the radiation beam before the intermediate focus, see paragraph [0013]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, deflecting the Sn nanoparticles toward a debris collection device located in a scanner of the EUV lithography apparatus.
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878