Detailed Action
Restriction/Election
Applicants’ election of Invention I, without traverse, in the reply filed on 9/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 21-27 and 29-32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN 114429950, machine-translation provided), in view of Huang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0092592).
Regarding Claim 21
FIG. 4 of Fan discloses an integrated circuit device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate (100); a P-well in the semiconductor substrate, wherein the P-well comprises a first P-well portion (133) and a second P-well portion (132); an N-channel grounded-gate metal-oxide-semiconductor (ggNMOS) electrostatic discharge device, wherein the ggNMOS electrostatic discharge device is disposed over the first P-well portion and comprises a plurality of MOSFET fingers (171/172); a bulk ring (103) for the ggNMOS electrostatic discharge device, wherein the bulk ring is disposed over the second P-well portion and has P-type doping; an isolation structure (124), wherein the isolation structure surrounds the ggNMOS electrostatic discharge device and is between the bulk ring and the ggNMOS electrostatic discharge device; and a strap (131) in the semiconductor substrate between the first P-well portion and the second P-well portion, wherein the strap has lighter P-type doping than the P-well or has N-type doping.
Fan is silent with respect to “the strap has a plurality of slots through which the P-well has continuity between the first P-well portion and the second P-well portion”.
FIG. 7C of Huang discloses a similar integrated circuit device, wherein the strap (744) has a plurality of slots through which the P-well has continuity between the first P-well portion and the second P-well portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fan, as taught by Huang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fan in the above manner for purpose of improving ESD protection circuits with adjustable trigger voltages ([0005] of Huang).
Regarding Claim 22
FIG. 4 of Fan discloses the plurality of MOSFET fingers comprise a first finger (171) and a second finger (172); and the first P-well portion (133) comprises a first base region for the first finger and a second base region for the second finger, wherein there is a first resistance between the bulk ring and the first base region and a second resistance between the bulk ring and the second base region (inherent). The recitation of “the strap reduces a ratio between the first resistance and the second resistance” is only a statement of the inherent properties of the Fan product. The structure recited in Fan is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Regarding Claim 23
FIG. 4 of Fan discloses the strap is directly beneath the isolation structure (124).
Regarding Claim 24
FIG. 4 of Fan discloses the strap (131) is directly beneath the bulk ring (102).
Regarding Claim 25
FIG. 4 of Fan discloses the first P-well portion (133) and the second P-well portion (132) are disposed over distinct areas of the semiconductor substrate.
Regarding Claim 26
FIG. 7C of Huang discloses the slots divide the strap into distinct segments.
Regarding Claim 27
FIG. 4 of Fan discloses the strap (131) has N- type doping.
Regarding Claim 29
FIG. 4 of Fan discloses an integrated circuit device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate (100); a buried n-layer (151) in the semiconductor substrate; a P-well in the semiconductor substrate, wherein the P-well comprises a first P-well portion (133) and a second P-well portion (132), and the P-well is over the buried n-layer; an N-channel grounded-gate metal-oxide-semiconductor (ggNMOS) electrostatic discharge device, wherein the ggNMOS electrostatic discharge device is disposed over the first P-well portion and comprises a plurality of MOSFET fingers (171/172); a bulk ring (103) for the ggNMOS electrostatic discharge device, wherein the bulk ring is disposed over the second P-well portion and has P-type doping; an isolation structure (124), wherein the isolation structure surrounds the ggNMOS electrostatic discharge device and is between the bulk ring and the ggNMOS electrostatic discharge device; and a strap (131) in the semiconductor substrate between the first P-well portion and a second P-well portion, wherein the strap is over the buried n-layer, the strap has lighter P-type doping than the P-well or has N-type doping.
Fan is silent with respect to “the strap comprises a plurality of distinct segments separated by gaps”.
FIG. 7C of Huang discloses a similar integrated circuit device, wherein the strap (744) comprises a plurality of distinct segments separated by gaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fan, as taught by Huang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fan in the above manner for purpose of improving ESD protection circuits with adjustable trigger voltages ([0005] of Huang).
Regarding Claim 30
FIG. 4 of Fan discloses the strap extends down to the buried n-layer (151).
Regarding Claim 31
FIG. 4 of Fan discloses the buried n-layer provides electrical isolation between a first portion of the semiconductor substrate that is above the buried n-layer and a second portion of the semiconductor substrate that is below the buried n-layer [0017]. Furthermore, the claimed limitation is only a functional statement. The structure recited in Fan is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Regarding Claim 32
FIG. 4 of Fan discloses the MOSFET fingers comprises source and drain regions and the strap is below a depth of the source and drain regions.
Claim 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan and Huang, in view of Shan (CN 102024811, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 28
Fan as modified by Huang discloses Claim 21.
Fan as modified by Huang is silent with respect to “the strap has P- type doping”.
FIG. 2 of Shan discloses a similar integrated circuit device, wherein the strap (P-well underneath p+) has P-type doping.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fan, as taught by Shan. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fan in the above manner for purpose of providing an ESD protective circuit (Abstract of Shan).
Claims 41-44 and 48 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan, in view of Chung (EP 3021359).
Regarding Claim 41
FIG. 4 of Fan discloses an integrated circuit device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate (100) comprising an active area (112-114); a P-well in the semiconductor substrate, wherein the P-well comprises a first P-well portion (133) beneath the active area and a second P-well portion (132) outside the active area; an N-channel grounded-gate metal-oxide-semiconductor (ggNMOS) electrostatic discharge device disposed over the first P-well portion and comprising a plurality of MOSFET fingers (171/172) disposed within the active area; a bulk ring (103) for the ggNMOS electrostatic discharge device, wherein the bulk ring is disposed over the second P-well portion and has P-type doping; an isolation structure (124) surrounding the active area and disposed between the active area and the bulk ring; and a strap (131) in the semiconductor substrate between the first P-well portion and the second P-well portion; wherein the strap has either N-type doping or P-type doping at a lower P-type dopant concentration than the first P-well portion and the second P-well portion; wherein the active area is rectangular and has four sides (FIG. 5).
Fan is silent with respect to “the strap is selectively disposed along just two of the four sides”.
FIG. 3 of Chung discloses a similar integrated circuit device, wherein the strap (204) is selectively disposed along just two of the four sides [0018].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fan, as taught by Chung. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fan in the above manner for purpose of preventing damage to IC caused by ESD currents ([0003] of Chung).
Regarding Claim 42
FIG. 3 of Chung discloses the two sides are opposing sides and are longer than the other two sides; a length of each of the two sides is at least twice a length of each of the other two sides; and the MOSFET fingers (212) extend parallel to the two sides.
Regarding Claim 43
FIG. 3 of Chung discloses the two sides are opposing sides and are longer than the other two sides; a length of each of the two sides is at least twice a length of each of the other two sides; and the MOSFET fingers extend perpendicular to the two sides.
Regarding Claim 44
FIG. 3 of Chung discloses the strap comprises a first strap segment along a first one of the two sides and a second strap segment along a second one of the two sides. Modified Fan discloses each of the first and second strap segments terminates short of both ends of the corresponding side such that P-well material extends between the first P-well portion and the second P-well portion around both ends of each strap segment.
Regarding Claim 48
FIG. 3 of Chung discloses the first and second strap segments collectively extend along a majority of a length of a loop around the active area.
Claim 45 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan and Huang, in view of Ker (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0070900).
Regarding Claim 45
Fan as modified by Huang discloses Claim 41.
Fan as modified by Huang is silent with respect to “the strap comprises a plurality of strap segments separated by periodically spaced slots along each of the two sides, each of the strap segments having a length along the corresponding side that is less than or equal to a width of the strap segment transverse to the corresponding side”.
FIG. 6 of Ker discloses a similar integrated circuit device, wherein the strap (40) comprises a plurality of strap segments separated by periodically spaced slots along each of the two sides, each of the strap segments having a length along the corresponding side that is less than or equal to a width of the strap segment transverse to the corresponding side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fan, as taught by Ker. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fan in the above manner for purpose of coupling to ESD detection circuit ([0049] of Ker).
Claim 46 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan and Huang, in view of Chen (CN 104681542, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 46
Fan as modified by Huang discloses Claim 41.
Fan as modified by Huang is silent with respect to “the strap has P-type doping, and a P-type dopant concentration of the strap is no greater than one hundredth of a P-type dopant concentration of the P-well”.
FIG. 4 of Chen discloses a similar integrated circuit device, wherein the strap (306) is lightly P-type doped or undoped; and a P-type dopant concentration of the strap is no greater than one hundredth of a P-type dopant concentration of the P-well [0069]. Furthermore, the claimed ratio is related to ESD protection. Therefore, said ratio is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific ratio therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fan, as taught by Chen. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fan in the above manner for purpose of improving ESD protection ([0069] of Chen).
Claim 47 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan and Huang, in view of Sun (WO 2022/073080, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 47
Fan as modified by Huang discloses Claim 41.
Fan as modified by Huang is silent with respect to “the strap terminates above a bottom of the P-well such that a portion of the P-well extends beneath the strap between the first P-well portion and the second P-well portion”.
FIG. 6 of Sun discloses a similar integrated circuit device, wherein the strap (510) terminates above a bottom of the P-well (500) such that a portion of the P-well extends beneath the strap between the first P-well portion and the second P-well portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fan, as taught by Sun. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Fan in the above manner for purpose of improving ESD protection capability (Abstract of Sun).
Pertinent Art
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0084603, 20110260254, U.S. Patent No. 9,691,752, CN 110620141, CN 113540074, CN 110600467.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897