DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Preliminary Amendment filed on 08/30/2024.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being anticipated by Claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,292,715 (hereinafter, Lin II).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Lin II anticipates claims of the instant application.
Independent Claim 21 of the Instant Application is anticipated by Claim 11 of Lin II, the limitations including an integrated chip, comprising:
Instant Application
Patent No.11,292,715
a dielectric structure overlying a first substrate;
an interconnect structure overlying the substrate;
a second substrate overlying the dielectric structure and comprising a movable element;
a MEMS substrate overlying the interconnect structure, wherein the MEMS substrate comprises a moveable membrane;
a first bond structure arranged between the dielectric structure and the second substrate; and
a conductive bond ring structure sandwiched between the interconnect structure and the MEMS substrate,
a second bond structure arranged between the dielectric structure and the second substrate,
a dielectric structure sandwiched between the interconnect structure and the MEMS substrate,
wherein at least a portion of the movable element is spaced laterally between sidewalls of the second bond structure
wherein the conductive bond ring structure, the MEMS substrate, and the interconnect structure at least partially define a first cavity, wherein the moveable membrane overlies the first cavity and is spaced laterally between sidewalls of the conductive bond ring structure
wherein the first bond structure comprises a first material and the second bond structure comprises a second material different from the first material,
a conductive bond ring structure and a dielectric structure
wherein a thickness of the first bond structure is less than a thickness of the second bond structure.
wherein a thickness of the dielectric structure is less than a thickness of the conductive bond ring structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (US 2018/0148327).
Regarding claim 1, Chang (see, e.g., FIG. 1J) discloses an integrated chip, comprising:
a dielectric structure 310 overlying a first substrate 302 (Para 0039);
a second substrate 102, 202a, 202b overlying the dielectric structure 310 and comprising a movable element 202a (Para 0014, Para 0027-Para 0029);
a first bond structure 320 arranged between the dielectric structure 310 and the second substrate 102, 202a, 202b (Para 0042); and
a second bond structure 204 arranged between the dielectric structure 310 and the second substrate 102, 202a, 202b, wherein at least a portion of the movable element 202a is spaced laterally between sidewalls of the second bond structure 204, wherein the first bond structure 320 comprises a first material e.g., germanium and the second bond structure 204 comprises a second material e.g., titanium different form the first material e.g., germanium, wherein a thickness e.g., thickness of 320 of the first bond structure 320 is less than a thickness e.g., thickness of 204 of the second bond structure 204 (Para 0025-Para 0026, Para 0042).
Regarding claim 25, Chang (see, e.g., FIG. 1J) teaches the integrated chip of claim 21, wherein the second bond structure 204 contacts a first conductive interconnect element 312a arranged in the dielectric structure 310, wherein the first bond structure 320 directly overlies at least a portion of the first conductive interconnect element 312a (Para 0042).
Regarding claim 30, Chang (see, e.g., FIG. 1J) teaches the integrated chip of claim 21, wherein a cavity 207 is defined between inner sidewalls e.g., inner sidewalls of 204 of the second bond structure 204 (Para 0029-Para 0032).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31-40 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding Claim 31, the applied prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed integrated chip comprising an upper dielectric structure arranged between the lower dielectric structure and the MEMS structure, wherein the upper dielectric structure comprises opposing inner sidewalls; wherein a top surface of the bond structure is coplanar with a top surface of the upper dielectric structure, and wherein opposing outer sidewalls of the bond structure are spaced between and laterally offset from the opposing inner sidewalls of the upper dielectric structure, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 38, the applied prior art neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed integrated chip comprising an upper dielectric structure arranged between the lower dielectric structure and the second substrate, wherein the upper dielectric structure comprises a first dielectric layer on the lower dielectric structure and a second dielectric layer over the first dielectric layer, wherein a material of the first dielectric layer is different from that of the second dielectric layer; wherein the bond structure is spaced laterally between sidewalls of the upper dielectric structure, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations.
Claims 22-24 and 26-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Remarks
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Regarding Claim 31, Chang (US 2018/0148327; see, e.g., FIG. 1J) discloses an integrated chip, comprising: a lower dielectric structure 310 overlying a substrate 302, wherein an electrode 312a is disposed in the lower dielectric structure 310 (Para 0039, Para 0042); a microelectromechanical system (MEMS) structure 102, 202a, 202b over the lower dielectric structure 310 (Para 0014, Para 0027-Para 0029); and a bond structure 204, 320 arranged between the MEMS structure 102, 202a, 202b and the lower dielectric structure 310 (Para 0025-Para 0026, Para 0042).
Regarding claim 38, Chang (US 2018/0148327; see, e.g., FIG. 1J) discloses an integrated chip, comprising: a lower dielectric structure 310 overlying a first substrate 302 (Para 0039); a second substrate 102, 202a, 202b overlying the lower dielectric structure 310 (Para 0014, Para 0027-Para 0029); and a bond structure 204, 320 arranged between the lower dielectric structure 310 and the second substrate 102, 202a, 202b, wherein a cavity 207 is arranged between opposing inner sidewalls of the bond structure 204, 320 (Para 0025-Para 0026, Para 0029-Para 0032, Para 0042).
Conclusion
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817