DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Claims 1-5 in the reply filed on August 26, 2026 is acknowledged. Thus, Claims 6-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 26, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claim 1, the limitation “the first high-pressure region N-diffusion region of the lower area” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.. Thus, the limitation render the claims indefinite and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,905,687 B1 to Zhu et al. (“Zhu”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,716,791 B1 to Iravani et al. (“Iravani”). . As to claim 1, although Zhu discloses a method for improving ESD performance of a metal-gate high-voltage device, at least comprising: step I. providing a P-substrate (13), and forming a high voltage P-well (17, 70) on the P-substrate (13); Step II. forming a first STI region (66/75) and a second STI region (66/75) spaced apart from each other within the high voltage P-well (17, 70), wherein the high voltage P-well (17, 70) between the first STI region (66/75) and the second STI region (66/75), and the high voltage P-well (17, 70) on side of the first STI region (66/75) away from the second STI region (66/75), and the high voltage P-well (17, 70) on side of the second STI region (66/75) away from the first STI region (66/75), are active regions; Step III. forming a first high-voltage region N-diffusion region (80) within the high voltage P-well (17, 70) between the first STI region (66/75), and second STI region (66/75); and Step VI. forming an IO N-well (52) within the first high-pressure region N-diffusion region of the lower area (See Fig. 12, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, Column 2, lines 30-65, Column 7, lines 31-67, Column 8, lines 1-60), Zhu does not further disclose Step IV. etching the active region between the first STI region and second STI region to form recesses in the area immediately adjacent to the first STI region and the area immediately adjacent to the second STI region between the first STI region and second STI region; and etching the active region at the side of the first STI region away from the second STI region and the active region at the side of the second STI region away from the first STI region to form a recess; Step V. filling the recesses with silicon oxide, wherein the silicon oxide in the recess in the side of the first STI region away from the second STI region and the silicon oxide in the recess in the side of the second STI region away from the first STI region are formed as a gate oxide layer; and the silicon oxide in the recess immediately adjacent to the first STI region between the first STI region and second STI region is formed as a first silicon oxide structure, and the silicon oxide in the recess immediately adjacent to the second STI region between the first STI region and second STI region is formed as a second silicon oxide structure; and forming the IO N-well within the first high-pressure region N-diffusion region of the lower area between the first silicon oxide structure and second silicon oxide structure. However, Iravani does disclose Step IV. etching the active region (312) to form recesses under the gate (324) and away from the gate (324); Step V. filling the recesses with silicon oxide, wherein the silicon oxide in the recesses are formed as a gate oxide layer, a first silicon oxide structure, and a second silicon oxide structure (See Fig. 3-Fig. 5, Column 7, lines 41-67, Column 8, lines 1-53). In view of the teaching of Iravani, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Zhu to have Step IV. etching the active region between the first STI region and second STI region to form recesses in the area immediately adjacent to the first STI region and the area immediately adjacent to the second STI region between the first STI region and second STI region; and etching the active region at the side of the first STI region away from the second STI region and the active region at the side of the second STI region away from the first STI region to form a recess; Step V. filling the recesses with silicon oxide, wherein the silicon oxide in the recess in the side of the first STI region away from the second STI region and the silicon oxide in the recess in the side of the second STI region away from the first STI region are formed as a gate oxide layer; and the silicon oxide in the recess immediately adjacent to the first STI region between the first STI region and second STI region is formed as a first silicon oxide structure, and the silicon oxide in the recess immediately adjacent to the second STI region between the first STI region and second STI region is formed as a second silicon oxide structure; and forming the IO N-well within the first high-pressure region N-diffusion region of the lower area between the first silicon oxide structure and second silicon oxide structure because the additional the gate oxide layer and the first and second silicon oxide structures in addition to the first and second STI regions serve to increase resistivity in the extended active region to allow for an increased drive current (See Column 8, lines 16-36).
As to claim 2, Zhu further discloses wherein: a third STI region (66/71) and a fourth STI region (66/71) are also formed within the high voltage P-well (17, 70) in step II, wherein the third STI region (66/71) is located at a side of the first STI region (66/75) away from the second STI region (66/75), the fourth STI region (66/71) is located at a side of the second STI region (66/75) away from the first STI region (66/75), and the high voltage P-well between (17, 70) the third STI region (66/71) and first STI region (66/75) and the high voltage P-well (17, 70) between the second STI region (66/75) and fourth STI region (66/71) are active regions (See Fig. 13). As to claim 3, Zhu further discloses wherein in step III, a second high-voltage region N-diffusion region (50) and a first high-voltage region P-diffusion region (44) adjacent to each other are formed in the active region between the third STI region (66/71) and first STI region (66/75); and a third high-voltage region N-diffusion region (50) and a second high-pressure region P-diffusion region (44) adjacent to each other are formed in the active region between the second STI region (66/75) and fourth STI region (66/71) (See Fig. 13).
As to claim 4, Zhu in view of Iravani further discloses wherein the method further comprises step VII. forming a metal gate (342) on the gate oxide layer (320, 322) (See Iravani Fig. 7, Column 9, lines 45-54).
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815