DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III and Claims 1-7 and 10 in the reply filed on August 21, 2026 is acknowledged. Thus, Claims 8-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 21, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0351401 A1 to Ba et al. (“Ba”). As to claim 1, Ba discloses a method for reducing a resistance of a contact, at least comprising: step I, preparing a via (105, ¶ 0038) in a device structure, and fabricating an adhesive layer (2nd Layer) that is in the via (105, ¶ 0038) and attached to an inner wall of the via (105, ¶ 0038); step II, fabricating a metal film (3rd Layer) that is in the via (105, ¶ 0038) and attached to the adhesive layer (2nd Layer), the metal film (3rd Layer) being a tungsten film; and step III, filling the via (105, ¶ 0038) with metal tungsten (4th Layer, 5th Layer) (See Fig. 9, TABLE 4, Claim 1, ¶ 0038, ¶ 0039, ¶ 0041, ¶ 0078, ¶ 0109, ¶ 0110).
As to claim 2, Ba further discloses wherein the adhesive layer (2nd Layer) in step I is a Ti layer, a TiN layer, or a composite layer of a Ti layer and a TiN layer (See TABLE 4).
As to claim 4, Ba further discloses wherein the metal film (3rd Layer) is obtained by means of a reaction with a fluorine-free chemical in step II (See ¶ 0078).
As to claim 5, Ba further discloses wherein the fluorine-free chemical in step II is WCL5 (See ¶ 0078).
As to claim 7, Ba further discloses wherein the via (105, ¶ 0038) is filled with the metal tungsten (4th Layer, 5th Layer) by means of a fluorine-containing reaction in step III (See TABLE 4).
As to claim 10, Ba further discloses wherein the metal tungsten (4th Layer, 5th Layer) is formed by two steps in step III: forming a tungsten layer(4th Layer) attached to the metal film (3rd Layer) by means of a reaction between WF6 and B2H6 or SiH4 in a first step (4th Layer), and forming bulk layer tungsten (5th Layer) by means of a reaction between WF6 and H2 in a second step (5th Layer) (See TABLE 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0351401 A1 to Ba et al. (“Ba”) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0258744 A1 to Thareja et al. (“Thareja”). The teaching of Ba has been discussed above. As to claim 3, although Ba discloses the adhesive layer (2nd Layer) of a TiN layer (See TABLE 4), Ba does not further disclose wherein the adhesive layer is fabricated by means of physical vapor deposition in step I. However, Thareja does disclose wherein the adhesive layer (702) of a TiN layer is fabricated by means of physical vapor deposition in step I (See ¶ 0037). In view of the teaching of Thareja, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ba to have wherein the adhesive layer is fabricated by means of physical vapor deposition in step I because physical vapor deposition along with atomic layer deposition and chemical vapor deposition are suitable deposition processes for forming a TiN layer (See ¶ 0037). As to claim 6, although Ba discloses the tungsten film (See TABLE 4), Ba does not further disclose wherein the tungsten film is formed by means of a reaction between WCL5 and hydrogen in step II. However, Thareja does disclose wherein the tungsten film (802) is formed by means of a reaction between WCL5 and hydrogen in step II (See ¶ 0038). In view of the teaching of Thareja, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ba to have wherein the tungsten film is formed by means of a reaction between WCL5 and hydrogen in step II the reaction between WCL5 and hydrogen advantageously minimizes the presence of carbon impurities (See ¶ 0038).
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815