DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1, Species B, directed to claims 1-15 in the reply filed on August 12, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20 have been canceled from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. New claims 21-25 have been added. Currently, claims 1-15 and 21-25 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3-5, the claim recites, “….at an interface between the back channel layer and the dielectric layer”. It is unclear what interface is intended between the back channel layer and the dielectric layer. Claim 1 recites a top gate structure in which the active layer includes from bottom to top a back channel layer, a bulk semiconductor layer and a front channel layer. In this structure the back channel layer is adjacent to the buffer layer.
It is unclear how the back channel can form an interface with the dielectric layer since the back channel is adjacent to the buffer layer in the claimed top gate structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10-11 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2019/0172954 A1; hereafter Zhou) in view of Luo (US 2020/0411567 A1) and Liang et al. (US 2014/0264320 A1; hereafter Liang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a thin film transistor (see e.g., top-gate self-aligned metal oxide semiconductor TFT, Figure 13) comprising:
an active layer located on a dielectric surface of a buffer layer (see e.g., active layer 40 located on the dielectric surface of the buffer layer 30. The buffer layer 30 is a silicon oxide (SiOx) thin film, a silicon nitride (SiNx) thin film, or a composite thin film formed by alternately laminating a silicon oxide thin film and a silicon nitride thin film, Paras [0059], [0066], [0067], Figure 13),
a top gate dielectric overlying the active layer; and (see e.g., gate insulating layer 50 located on the active layer 40, Para [0071], Figure 13)
a top gate electrode overlying the top gate dielectric (see e.g., gate 60 located on the gate insulating layer 50, Para [0071], Figure 13),
Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein the active layer comprises, from bottom to top, a back channel layer, a bulk semiconductor layer, and a front channel layer;
wherein the front channel layer comprises a first compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one first acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one first heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn;”
In a similar field of endeavor Luo teaches
wherein the active layer comprises, from bottom to top, a back channel layer, a bulk semiconductor layer, and a front channel layer (see e.g., active layer 40 comprises a first active layer 401, a second active layer 402 and a third active layer 403. The active layer 401 adjacent the gate insulation layer 30 corresponds to the claimed front channel layer, the intermediate active layer 402 corresponds to the claimed bulk semiconductor layer and the active layer 403 corresponds to the claimed back channel layer, Para [0058], Figure 2);
wherein the front channel layer comprises a first compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one first acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one first heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn (see e.g., Materials of the first active layer 401 are selected from indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), zinc oxide (ZnO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), gallium zinc oxide (GaZnO), zinc tin oxide (ZTO), indium tin oxide (ITO), and one of the groups of its mixture. Therefore, the first active layer 401 may be IGZO, Para [0059], Figure 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Luo’s teachings of wherein the active layer comprises, from bottom to top, a back channel layer, a bulk semiconductor layer, and a front channel layer wherein the front channel layer comprises a first compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one first acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one first heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn in the device of Zhou to provide separately defined semiconductor regions through the thickness of the active layer and thereby tailor the electrical characteristics of the TFT.
Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer is at a minimum at an interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Liang teaches
wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer is at a minimum at an interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer (see e.g., a compositionally graded IGZO semiconductor layer comprising indium, gallium, zinc and oxygen wherein the concentration of gallium varies through the thickness of the IGZO semiconductor. The gallium concentration is lower at the interface between the IGZO semiconductor layer and the gate dielectric and higher toward the opposite surface of the IGZO semiconductor adjacent the source/drain side. Providing a lower gallium concentration adjacent the gate dielectric increases conductivity and current in the channel region, Para [0089], Figures 6-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Liang’s teachings of wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer is at a minimum at an interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer in the device of Zhou to increase channel conductivity and transistor current.
Regarding claim 8, Zhou, as modified by Luo and Liang, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein: the bulk semiconductor layer comprises each element contained within the front channel layer;
the front channel layer comprises each element contained within the bulk semiconductor layer; and the back channel layer comprises each element contained within the front channel layer”.
In a similar field of endeavor Luo teaches
wherein: the bulk semiconductor layer comprises each element contained within the front channel layer (see e.g., second active layer 402 material maybe indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), Para [0059], Figure 2);
the front channel layer comprises each element contained within the bulk semiconductor layer (see e.g., the first active layer 401 material maybe indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), Para [0059], Figure 2); and the back channel layer comprises each element contained within the front channel layer (see e.g., the third active layer 403 material maybe indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), Para [0059], Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Luo’s teachings of wherein: the bulk semiconductor layer comprises each element contained within the front channel layer; the front channel layer comprises each element contained within the bulk semiconductor layer; and the back channel layer comprises each element contained within the front channel layer in the device of Zhou toprovide material compatibility between the adjacent semiconductor layers while allowing the electrical characteristics of the respective layers to be tailored.
Regarding claim 10, Zhou, as modified by Luo and Liang, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein the front channel layer has a vertical compositional modulation such that an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor- type element within the front channel layer varies along a vertical direction and is at a minimum at an interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer, whereby the minimum of the atomic concentration of the at least one acceptor-type element at the interface in the vertical compositional modulation increases an on-current of the front channel layer relative to a homogeneous semiconductor material having a uniform material composition that equals an average material composition of the front channel layer”.
In a similar field of endeavor Liang teaches
wherein the front channel layer has a vertical compositional modulation such that an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor- type element within the front channel layer varies along a vertical direction and is at a minimum at an interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer, whereby the minimum of the atomic concentration of the at least one acceptor-type element at the interface in the vertical compositional modulation increases an on-current of the front channel layer relative to a homogeneous semiconductor material having a uniform material composition that equals an average material composition of the front channel layer (see e.g., IGZO layer having a vertical compositional modulation in which gallium concentration varies along the thickness direction of the semiconductor and is lower at the interface between the IGZO semiconductor and the gate dielectric than at portions farther from the gate dielectric. The current density in the ON state is concentrated near the gate dielectric/IGZO interface and that reducing the gallium concentration in this region increases the conductivity of the IGZO semiconductor and increases transistor current, Para [0089], Figures 6-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Luo’s teachings of wherein the front channel layer has a vertical compositional modulation such that an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor- type element within the front channel layer varies along a vertical direction and is at a minimum at an interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer, whereby the minimum of the atomic concentration of the at least one acceptor-type element at the interface in the vertical compositional modulation increases an on-current of the front channel layer relative to a homogeneous semiconductor material having a uniform material composition that equals an average material composition of the front channel layer in the device of Zhou to increase the conductivity and on current of the channel region.
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches a thin film transistor (see e.g., top-gate self-aligned metal oxide semiconductor TFT, Figure 13) comprising:
an active layer located over a substrate (see e.g., active layer 40 located on the substrate 10, Paras [0059], Figure 13);
a top gate dielectric overlying the active layer; and (see e.g., gate insulating layer 50 located on the active layer 40, Para [0071], Figure 13)
a top gate electrode overlying the top gate dielectric (see e.g., gate 60 located on the gate insulating layer 50, Para [0071], Figure 13),
Zhou does not explicitly teach
“an active layer … comprising, from bottom to top, a back channel layer, a bulk semiconductor layer, and a front channel layer;
wherein the front channel layer comprises a first compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one first acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one first heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn;”
In a similar field of endeavor Luo teaches
an active layer … comprising, from bottom to top, a back channel layer, a bulk semiconductor layer, and a front channel layer (see e.g., active layer 40 comprises a first active layer 401, a second active layer 402 and a third active layer 403. The active layer 401 adjacent the gate insulation layer 30 corresponds to the claimed front channel layer, the intermediate active layer 402 corresponds to the claimed bulk semiconductor layer and the active layer 403 corresponds to the claimed back channel layer, Para [0058], Figure 2);
wherein the front channel layer comprises a first compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one first acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one first heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn (see e.g., Materials of the first active layer 401 are selected from indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), zinc oxide (ZnO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), gallium zinc oxide (GaZnO), zinc tin oxide (ZTO), indium tin oxide (ITO), and one of the groups of its mixture. Therefore, the first active layer 401 may be IGZO, Para [0059], Figure 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Luo’s teachings of an active layer … comprising, from bottom to top, a back channel layer, a bulk semiconductor layer, and a front channel layer; wherein the front channel layer comprises a first compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one first acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one first heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn in the device of Zhou to provide separately defined semiconductor regions through the thickness of the active layer and thereby tailor the electrical characteristics of the TFT.
Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer is at a minimum at an interface between the front channel layer and the top gate dielectric”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Liang teaches
wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer is at a minimum at an interface between the front channel layer and the top gate dielectric (see e.g., a compositionally graded IGZO semiconductor layer comprising indium, gallium, zinc and oxygen wherein the concentration of gallium varies through the thickness of the IGZO semiconductor. The gallium concentration is lower at the interface between the IGZO semiconductor layer and the gate dielectric and higher toward the opposite surface of the IGZO semiconductor adjacent the source/drain side. Providing a lower gallium concentration adjacent the gate dielectric increases conductivity and current in the channel region, Para [0089], Figures 6-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Liang’s teachings of wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer is at a minimum at an interface between the front channel layer and the top gate dielectric in the device of Zhou to increase channel conductivity and transistor current.
Regarding claim 21, Zhou teaches a semiconductor structure (see e.g., top-gate self-aligned metal oxide semiconductor TFT, Figure 13) comprising:
an active layer located on a buffer layer (see e.g., active layer 40 located on the buffer layer 30, Paras [0059], [0066], [0067], Figure 13);
a top gate dielectric overlying the active layer; and (see e.g., gate insulating layer 50 located on the active layer 40, Para [0071], Figure 13)
a top gate electrode overlying the top gate dielectric (see e.g., gate 60 located on the gate insulating layer 50, Para [0071], Figure 13),
Zhou does not explicitly teach
“an active layer …. comprising, from bottom to top, a back channel layer, a bulk semiconductor layer, and a front channel layer;
wherein the front channel layer comprises a first compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one first acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one first heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn;
wherein the back channel layer comprises a second compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one second acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one second heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn;”
In a similar field of endeavor Luo teaches
an active layer …. comprising, from bottom to top, a back channel layer, a bulk semiconductor layer, and a front channel layer (see e.g., active layer 40 comprises a first active layer 401, a second active layer 402 and a third active layer 403. The active layer 401 adjacent the gate insulation layer 30 corresponds to the claimed front channel layer, the intermediate active layer 402 corresponds to the claimed bulk semiconductor layer and the active layer 403 corresponds to the claimed back channel layer, Para [0058], Figure 2);
wherein the front channel layer comprises a first compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one first acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one first heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn (see e.g., Materials of the first active layer 401 are selected from indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), zinc oxide (ZnO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), gallium zinc oxide (GaZnO), zinc tin oxide (ZTO), indium tin oxide (ITO), and one of the groups of its mixture. Therefore, the first active layer 401 may be IGZO, Para [0059], Figure 2);
wherein the back channel layer comprises a second compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one second acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one second heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn (see e.g., Materials of the third active layer 403 are selected from indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), zinc oxide (ZnO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), gallium zinc oxide (GaZnO), zinc tin oxide (ZTO), indium tin oxide (ITO), and one of the groups of its mixture. Therefore, the third active layer 403 may be IGZO, Para [0059], Figure 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Luo’s teachings of an active layer … comprising, from bottom to top, a back channel layer, a bulk semiconductor layer, and a front channel layer; wherein the front channel layer comprises a first compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one first acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one first heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn wherein the back channel layer comprises a second compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one second acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one second heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn in the device of Zhou to provide separately defined semiconductor regions through the thickness of the active layer and thereby tailor the electrical characteristics of the TFT.
Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer is at a minimum at an interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Liang teaches
wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer is at a minimum at an interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer (see e.g., a compositionally graded IGZO semiconductor layer comprising indium, gallium, zinc and oxygen wherein the concentration of gallium varies through the thickness of the IGZO semiconductor. The gallium concentration is lower at the interface between the IGZO semiconductor layer and the gate dielectric and higher toward the opposite surface of the IGZO semiconductor adjacent the source/drain side. Providing a lower gallium concentration adjacent the gate dielectric increases conductivity and current in the channel region, Para [0089], Figures 6-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Liang’s teachings of wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer is at a minimum at an interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer in the device of Zhou to increase channel conductivity and transistor current.
Regarding claim 22, Zhou, as modified by Luo and Liang, teaches the limitations of claim 21 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein the front channel layer has a vertical compositional modulation such that the atomic percentage of the one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer varies along a vertical direction, whereby the minimum of the atomic percentage of the one of the at least one first acceptor-type element at the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer increases an on-current of the front channel layer relative to a homogeneous semiconductor material having a uniform material composition that equals an average material composition of the front channel layer”.
In a similar field of endeavor Liang teaches
wherein the front channel layer has a vertical compositional modulation such that the atomic percentage of the one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer varies along a vertical direction, whereby the minimum of the atomic percentage of the one of the at least one first acceptor-type element at the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer increases an on-current of the front channel layer relative to a homogeneous semiconductor material having a uniform material composition that equals an average material composition of the front channel layer (see e.g., IGZO layer having a vertical compositional modulation in which gallium concentration varies along the thickness direction of the semiconductor and is lower at the interface between the IGZO semiconductor and the gate dielectric than at portions farther from the gate dielectric. The current density in the ON state is concentrated near the gate dielectric/IGZO interface and that reducing the gallium concentration in this region increases the conductivity of the IGZO semiconductor and increases transistor current, Para [0089], Figures 6-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Luo’s teachings of wherein the front channel layer has a vertical compositional modulation such that the atomic percentage of the one of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer varies along a vertical direction, whereby the minimum of the atomic percentage of the one of the at least one first acceptor-type element at the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer increases an on-current of the front channel layer relative to a homogeneous semiconductor material having a uniform material composition that equals an average material composition of the front channel layer in the device of Zhou to increase the conductivity and on current of the channel region.
Claims 2-7 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2019/0172954 A1; hereafter Zhou) in view of Luo (US 2020/0411567 A1) and Liang et al. (US 2014/0264320 A1; hereafter Liang) and further in view of Lius et al. (US 2018/0158843 A1; hereafter Lius).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou, as modified by Luo and Liang, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein one of an atomic percentage of zinc and an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first heavy post-transition metal element within the front channel layer is at a maximum at the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 in which the portion of IGZO layer 45 located closer to the gate insulating layer 44 has a higher atomic percentage of indium and zinc than a portion of IGZO layer 45 located farther from the gate insulating layer as shown in Figures 5 and 6. Increasing the indium and zinc content toward the gate insulating layer side improves carrier mobility and transistor performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the front channel layer wherein one of an atomic percentage of zinc and an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first heavy post-transition metal element within the front channel layer is at a maximum at the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer to maximize the carrier mobility and channel current.
Regarding claim 3, Zhou, as modified by Luo, Liang and Lius, teaches the limitations of claim 2 as mentioned above. Zhou further teaches
further comprising a dielectric layer overlying the active layer and laterally surrounding the top gate dielectric and the top gate electrode (see e.g., interlayer insulating layer 70 overlying the active layer 40 and laterally surrounding the gate insulating layer 50 and the gate 60, Para [0078], Figure 13),
Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein: the back channel layer comprises a second compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one second acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one second heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn;”
In a similar field of endeavor Luo teaches
wherein: the back channel layer comprises a second compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one second acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one second heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn (see e.g., Materials of the third active layer 403 are selected from indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), zinc oxide (ZnO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), gallium zinc oxide (GaZnO), zinc tin oxide (ZTO), indium tin oxide (ITO), and one of the groups of its mixture. Therefore, the third active layer 403 may be IGZO, Para [0059], Figure 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Luo’s teachings of wherein: the back channel layer comprises a second compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one second acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one second heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn in the device of Zhou to provide separately defined semiconductor regions through the thickness of the active layer and thereby tailor the electrical characteristics of the TFT.
Zhou does not explicitly teach
“an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second acceptor-type element within the back channel layer is at a maximum at an interface between the back channel layer and the dielectric layer”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 in which the portion of the IGZO layer 45 located closer to the passivation layer 48 has a higher atomic percentage of gallium than a portion of IGZO layer 45 located further from the passivation layer 48 as shown in Figures 5 and 6. Lius teaches increasing the gallium concentration toward the surface of the IGZO layer opposite the gate insulating layer and toward the adjoining passivation layer. Increased gallium concentration in this portion of the semiconductor improves stability of the oxide semiconductor layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the back channel layer wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second acceptor-type element within the back channel layer is at a maximum at an interface between the back channel layer and the dielectric layer to improve stability of the oxide semiconductor layer.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou, as modified by Luo, Liang and Lius, teaches the limitations of claim 3 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein an atomic percentage of zinc or an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second heavy post-transition metal element within the back channel layer is at a minimum at the interface between the back channel layer and the dielectric layer”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 in which the portion of the IGZO layer 45 located closer to the passivation layer 48 has a lower atomic percentage of indium and zinc than a portion of IGZO layer 45 located further from the passivation layer 48 as shown in Figures 5 and 6. Lius teaches decreasing the indium and zinc concentration toward the surface of the IGZO layer opposite the gate insulating layer and toward the adjoining passivation layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the back channel layer wherein an atomic percentage of zinc or an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second heavy post-transition metal element within the back channel layer is at a minimum at the interface between the back channel layer and the dielectric layer to improve transistor performance.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou, as modified by Luo, Liang and Lius, teaches the limitations of claim 3 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein: the at least one second acceptor-type element comprises Ga and W; and
a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic percentage of another of the at least one second acceptor-type element within the back channel layer occurs is more proximal to the interface between the back channel layer and the dielectric layer than a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic concentration of zinc within the back channel layer occurs is to the interface between the back channel layer and the dielectric layer”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 having a vertical compositional profile in which the portion of the IGZO layer 45 located closer to the passivation layer 48 is gallium rich and has a reduced zinc concentration as shown in Figures 5 and 6. The gallium concentration increases toward the passivation side interface while the zinc concentration decreases toward that interface. Thus, the location of the highest gallium concentration is positioned more proximal to the passivation side interface than the location of the highest zinc concentration which is positioned farther from the passivation side interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the back channel layer wherein the at least one second acceptor-type element comprises Ga and W; and a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic percentage of another of the at least one second acceptor-type element within the back channel layer occurs is more proximal to the interface between the back channel layer and the dielectric layer than a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic concentration of zinc within the back channel layer occurs is to the interface between the back channel layer and the dielectric layer to improve stability.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou, as modified by Luo and Liang, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein: the at least one first heavy post-transition metal element comprises In and Sn; and
a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic percentage of another of the at least one first heavy post-transition metal element within the front channel layer occurs is more proximal to the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer than a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic concentration of zinc within the front channel layer occurs is to the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 having a vertical compositional profile in which the portion of the IGZO layer 45 located closer to the gate insulating layer 44 is indium rich and zinc rich as shown in Figures 5 and 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the back channel layer wherein the at least one first heavy post-transition metal element comprises In and Sn; and a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic percentage of another of the at least one first heavy post-transition metal element within the front channel layer occurs is more proximal to the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer than a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic concentration of zinc within the front channel layer occurs is to the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer to improve carrier mobility and channel conductivity.
Regarding claim 7, Zhou, as modified by Luo and Liang, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic percentage of any of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer occurs is more distal from the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer than the horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic concentration of zinc within the front channel layer occurs is from the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 having a vertical compositional profile in which the portion of the IGZO layer 45 located closer to the gate insulating layer 44 is zinc rich and gallium poor as shown in Figures 5 and 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the back channel layer wherein a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic percentage of any of the at least one first acceptor-type element within the front channel layer occurs is more distal from the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer than the horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic concentration of zinc within the front channel layer occurs is from the interface between the top gate dielectric and the front channel layer to improve carrier mobility and channel conductivity.
Regarding claim 12, Zhou, as modified by Luo and Liang, teaches the limitations of claim 11 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein one of an atomic percentage of zinc and an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first heavy post-transition metal element within the front channel layer is at a maximum at the interface between the front channel layer and the top gate dielectric.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 in which the portion of IGZO layer 45 located closer to the gate insulating layer 44 has a higher atomic percentage of indium and zinc than a portion of IGZO layer 45 located farther from the gate insulating layer as shown in Figures 5 and 6. Increasing the indium and zinc content toward the gate insulating layer side improves carrier mobility and transistor performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the front channel layer wherein one of an atomic percentage of zinc and an atomic percentage of one of the at least one first heavy post-transition metal element within the front channel layer is at a maximum at the interface between the front channel layer and the top gate dielectric to maximize the carrier mobility and channel current.
Regarding claim 13, Zhou, as modified by Luo, Liang and Lius, teaches the limitations of claim 12 as mentioned above. Zhou further teaches
further comprising a buffer layer located within the substrate or between the substrate and the active layer (see e.g., the active layer 40 located on the buffer layer 30, Paras [0059], [0066], [0067], Figure 13),
Zhaou does not explicitly teach
“wherein the back channel layer comprises a second compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one second acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one second heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn”;
In a similar field of endeavor Luo teaches
wherein the back channel layer comprises a second compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one second acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one second heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn (see e.g., Materials of the third active layer 403 are selected from indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), zinc oxide (ZnO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), gallium zinc oxide (GaZnO), zinc tin oxide (ZTO), indium tin oxide (ITO), and one of the groups of its mixture. Therefore, the third active layer 403 may be IGZO, Para [0059], Figure 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Luo’s teachings of wherein: the back channel layer comprises a second compound semiconductor material including oxygen, zinc, at least one second acceptor-type element selected from Ga and W, and at least one second heavy post-transition metal element selected from In and Sn in the device of Zhou to provide separately defined semiconductor regions through the thickness of the active layer and thereby tailor the electrical characteristics of the TFT.
Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second acceptor-type element within the back channel layer is at a maximum at an interface between the buffer layer and the back channel layer”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 in which the portion of the IGZO layer 45 located closer to the passivation layer 48 has a higher atomic percentage of gallium than a portion of IGZO layer 45 located further from the passivation layer 48 as shown in Figures 5 and 6. Lius teaches increasing the gallium concentration toward the surface of the IGZO layer opposite the gate insulating layer and toward the adjoining passivation layer. Increased gallium concentration in this portion of the semiconductor improves stability of the oxide semiconductor layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the back channel layer wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second acceptor-type element within the back channel layer is at a maximum at an interface between the buffer layer and the back channel layer to improve stability of the oxide semiconductor layer.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou, as modified by Luo, Liang and Lius, teaches the limitations of claim 13 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein an atomic percentage of zinc or an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second heavy post-transition metal element within the back channel layer is at a minimum at the interface between the buffer layer and the back channel layer.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 in which the portion of the IGZO layer 45 located closer to the passivation layer 48 has a lower atomic percentage of indium and zinc than a portion of IGZO layer 45 located further from the passivation layer 48 as shown in Figures 5 and 6. Lius teaches decreasing the indium and zinc concentration toward the surface of the IGZO layer opposite the gate insulating layer and toward the adjoining passivation layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the back channel layer wherein an atomic percentage of zinc or an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second heavy post-transition metal element within the back channel layer is at a minimum at the interface between the buffer layer and the back channel layer to improve transistor performance.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou, as modified by Luo, Liang and Lius, teaches the limitations of claim 13 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein: the at least one second acceptor-type element comprises Ga and W; and
a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic percentage of another of the at least one second acceptor-type element within the back channel layer occurs is more proximal to the interface between the buffer layer and the back channel layer than a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic concentration of zinc within the back channel layer occurs is to the interface between the buffer layer and the back channel layer”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 having a vertical compositional profile in which the portion of the IGZO layer 45 located closer to the passivation layer 48 is gallium rich and has a reduced zinc concentration as shown in Figures 5 and 6. The gallium concentration increases toward the passivation side interface while the zinc concentration decreases toward that interface. Thus, the location of the highest gallium concentration is positioned more proximal to the passivation side interface than the location of the highest zinc concentration which is positioned farther from the passivation side interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the back channel layer wherein the at least one second acceptor-type element comprises Ga and W; and a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic percentage of another of the at least one second acceptor-type element within the back channel layer occurs is more proximal to the interface between the back channel layer and the dielectric layer than a horizontal plane at which a maximum of an atomic concentration of zinc within the back channel layer occurs is to the interface between the buffer layer and the back channel layer to improve stability.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2019/0172954 A1; hereafter Zhou) in view of Luo (US 2020/0411567 A1) and Liang et al. (US 2014/0264320 A1; hereafter Liang) and further in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2015/0187952 A1; hereafter Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou, as modified by Luo and Liang, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein the front channel layer or the back channel layer comprises at least one element that is not a component element of the bulk semiconductor layer”.
In a similar field of endeavor Yamazaki teaches
wherein the front channel layer or the back channel layer comprises at least one element that is not a component element of the bulk semiconductor layer (see e.g., a multilayer oxide semiconductor structure comprising semiconductor layers 406a, 406b and 406c. The semiconductor layer 406b is not limited to an indium containing oxide semiconductor may instead comprise an oxide semiconductor that does not contain indium such as zinc tin oxide or gallium tin oxide while the adjoining layers 40a and 406c contain indium, Para [0158], Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Yamazaki’s teachings of wherein the front channel layer or the back channel layer comprises at least one element that is not a component element of the bulk semiconductor layer in the device of Zhao to tailor the electronic characteristics of the respective semiconductor layers while maintaining compatible oxide semiconductor interfaces.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2019/0172954 A1; hereafter Zhou) in view of Luo (US 2020/0411567 A1) and Liang et al. (US 2014/0264320 A1; hereafter Liang) and further in view of Kim (KR 101833951B1).
Regarding claim 23, Zhou, as modified by Luo and Liang, teaches the limitations of claim 21 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein the back channel layer is located on a top surface of the buffer layer, and the top gate dielectric is located on a top surface of the front channel layer”.
In a similar field of endeavor Kim teaches
wherein the back channel layer is located on a top surface of the buffer layer, and the top gate dielectric is located on a top surface of the front channel layer (see e.g., a top gate thin film transistor having an active layer 130 comprising a back channel region 130b, a bulk region 130c and a front channel region 130a vertically stacked in that order. Gate electrode 110 is disposed over the active layer 130 such that the gate electrode 110 is located on the top surface of front channel layer 130a. An insulating film may be provided over the substrate beneath the active layer 130 for electrical insulation hence the back channel region 130b would be located on the top surface of this insulating film or buffer layer, Figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Kim’s teachings of wherein the back channel layer is located on a top surface of the buffer layer, and the top gate dielectric is located on a top surface of the front channel layer in the device of Zhou to prevent undesirable electrical conduction or short circuiting.
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2019/0172954 A1; hereafter Zhou) in view of Luo (US 2020/0411567 A1) and Liang et al. (US 2014/0264320 A1; hereafter Liang) and Kim (KR 101833951B1) and further in view of Lius et al. (US 2018/0158843 A1; hereafter Lius).
Regarding claim 24, Zhou, as modified by Luo, Liang and Kim, teaches the limitations of claim 24 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second acceptor-type element within the back channel layer is at a maximum at an interface between the buffer layer and the back channel layer”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 in which the portion of the IGZO layer 45 located closer to the passivation layer 48 has a higher atomic percentage of gallium than a portion of IGZO layer 45 located further from the passivation layer 48 as shown in Figures 5 and 6. Lius teaches increasing the gallium concentration toward the surface of the IGZO layer opposite the gate insulating layer and toward the adjoining passivation layer. Increased gallium concentration in this portion of the semiconductor improves stability of the oxide semiconductor layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the back channel layer wherein an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second acceptor-type element within the back channel layer is at a maximum at an interface between the buffer layer and the back channel layer to improve stability of the oxide semiconductor layer.
Regarding claim 25, Zhou, as modified by Luo, Liang, Kim and Lius, teaches the limitations of claim 24 as mentioned above. Zhou does not explicitly teach
“wherein an atomic percentage of zinc or an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second heavy post-transition metal element within the back channel layer is at a minimum at the interface between the buffer layer and the back channel layer”.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "[i]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
In a similar field of endeavor Lius teaches an IGZO layer 45 in which the portion of the IGZO layer 45 located closer to the passivation layer 48 has a lower atomic percentage of indium and zinc than a portion of IGZO layer 45 located further from the passivation layer 48 as shown in Figures 5 and 6. Lius teaches decreasing the indium and zinc concentration toward the surface of the IGZO layer opposite the gate insulating layer and toward the adjoining passivation layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art at the time the invention was effectively field to optimize the vertical compositional profile of the back channel layer wherein an atomic percentage of zinc or an atomic percentage of one of the at least one second heavy post-transition metal element within the back channel layer is at a minimum at the interface between the buffer layer and the back channel layer to improve transistor performance.
Conclusion
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FAKEHA SEHAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893