The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Objection and rejection of the previous action not repeated below are withdrawn. Responses to the arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to
Claims 1,3-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. 20180259845.
Nam et al. 20180259845 in figure 1A, illustrates a pellicle including a support/frame formed by etching as silicon wafer (102a), a buried oxide pattern (104a), and a pellicle films (106), which can be a silicon layer which can be doped with boron (B), phosphorus (P), arsenic (As), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb) or molybdenum (Mo) [0055-0059]. Figure 1B (below left) is similar, but includes heat dissipation layers (112) on both sides of the pellicle film. These may include at least one material among chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru), ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La, etc. to Ru, B.sub.4C, and SiC; or a silicide material including silicon (Si) in addition to the foregoing material; or one or more materials among oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and carbon (C) in addition to the one or more materials. The heat dissipation layer 112 may be formed as a single-layered film, or a multi-layered film of two or more layers to improve thermal, mechanical and chemical-resistant characteristics of a pellicle and to prevent surface coupling from being deteriorated due to anti-oxidation on a surface of a pellicle thin film, in which the multi-layered film may be made of one material or various materials. For example, the heat dissipation layer may be formed with a two-layered structure of Ru compound and B.sub.4C to enhance the foregoing characteristics, and the foregoing materials may be variously applied to form the heat dissipation layer [0060-0063].
Figure 2B (above right) includes a reinforcement layer (110) and patterned reinforcement layer (hard/etch mask, 110a) which can include at least one material among chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru), ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La, etc. to Ru, B.sub.4C, SiC, SiO.sub.2, Si.sub.xN.sub.y (where, x and y are integers); or a silicide material including silicon (Si) in addition to the foregoing material; or one or more materials among oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and carbon (C) in addition to the one or more materials. Further, the reinforcement layer 110 may include graphene, and a carbon nano tube (CNT). Here, the graphene and the CNT are very excellent in not only transmittance of EUV light and thus minimize decrease in the transmittance of the pellicle 200 due to the reinforcement layer 110. Besides, the graphene and the CNT are also excellent in mechanical characteristics to thereby increase the mechanical strength of the pellicle layer 106 [0064-0071]. Figure 4B is similar, but adds a buried reinforcement layer (105), which can be formed of the same materials as the reinforcement layer (110) [0077-0079]. In figures 6A-6E, a wafer substrate (102) is provided with a buried oxide layer (104, the pellicle layer (106), the reinforcement layer (110) and a oxide film layer (114) on the upper face and a reinforcement layer (110) and oxide layer (114) on the lower face. The reinforcement layer (110,110a) and (oxide layer (114,114a) on the lower face are patterned using a resist (113a) and the patterned reinforcement layer and patterned oxide layer (114a) are used to mask the etch of the substrate (102) and the buried oxide layer (104,104a).
6B 6D
The oxide films (114,114a) are removed together with the exposed portion of the buried oxide layer (104) leaving the structure of figure 6E [0091-0099].
(6E)
7A-E is similar [0101-0104]. The heat dissipation layer (112) may be formed as a single-layered film or a multi-layered film of two or more layers. The heat dissipation layer may include at least one material among chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru), ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La, etc. to Ru, B.sub.4C, and SiC; or a silicide material including silicon (Si) in addition to the material; or one or more materials among oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and carbon (C) in addition to the one or more material and the silicide material. The heat dissipation layer may have a thickness of 1 nm-20 nm [0015-0016]. The reinforcement layer may have a thickness of 1 nm-50 nm [0019]. The reinforcement layer 110 refers to a layer for reinforcing the mechanical strength of the pellicle layer 106 and prevents damage of the pellicle layer 106. The reinforcement layer 110 and the reinforcement layer pattern 110a is formed by chemical vapor deposition, sputtering, atomic layer deposition, ion beam deposition, etc [0066]. The pellicle for the extreme ultraviolet lithography according to the present disclosure may further include an auxiliary layer to additionally supplement mechanical strength of the reinforcement layer. The auxiliary layer may include at least one material among chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru), ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La, etc. to Ru, B.sub.4C, SiC, SiO.sub.2, Si.sub.xN.sub.y (where, x and y are integers), graphene, carbon nano tube (CNT); or a silicide material including silicon (Si) in addition to the material; or one or more materials among oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and carbon (C) in addition to the one or more material and the silicide material [0024-0025]. Although it is not illustrated, an auxiliary layer may be further provided on the pellicle layer 106, and more specifically on the reinforcement layer 110. The auxiliary layer is made of one among the foregoing materials for the reinforcement layer 110, and may be made of the same material as the reinforcement layer 110. Preferably, the auxiliary layer is made of a different material from that of the reinforcement layer 110, and has a thickness of 1 nm˜50 nm. The auxiliary layer functions to additionally supplement the mechanical strength that is insufficiently strengthened by the reinforcement layer 110 [0070]. The pellicle layer can be 10-100nm and can be silicon which is doped with B, P, As, Y, Zr, Nb and/or Mo [0020-0023]. .
Nam et al. 20180259845 in the process taught with respect to figures 6A-E exemplifies the steps of the of the claims except for the use of SiC, SiN, SiGe or Ge etch stop layers, the provision of the metal layers, the provision of a metal layer between the cover/pellicle layer and the dielectric layer.
With respect to claims 1,6 and 8, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 6A-E discussed at [0091-0099], where the where the reinforcement layer is silicon nitride (SiN) and the buried oxide layer (104,104a) is the etch stop layer, pellicle (106) or reinforcement layer (110) is the cover layer, the oxide film (114) on the pellicle is the dielectric layer and the patterned reinforcement (114a) and patterned reinforcement layer (110a) are the etch/hard masks by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon carbide (SiC) layer which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon carbide as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate, adding first a thick heat dissipation layer and second a thin heat dissipation layers of different materials selected from chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), , cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) where the two heat dissipation layers have a thickness of 1-20 nm based upon the disclosure at [0015-0016,0061-0063] to arrive at the structure of figure 2B with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle.
With respect to claims 1,6 and 8-9, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 6A-E discussed at [0091-0099], where the where the reinforcement layer is silicon nitride (SiN) and the buried oxide layer (104,104a) is the etch stop layer, pellicle (106) or reinforcement layer (110) is the cover layer, the oxide film (114) on the pellicle is the dielectric layer and the patterned reinforcement (114a) and patterned reinforcement layer (110a) are the etch/hard masks by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon carbide (SiC) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon carbide as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate and adding first a thick heat dissipation layer on the top side and second a thin heat dissipation layers of different materials selected from chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), , cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) where the two heat dissipation layers have a thickness of 1-20 nm based upon the disclosure at [0015-0016,0061-0063] to arrive at the structure of figure 2B with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle.
With respect to claims 1 and 3-8, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 6A-E discussed at [0091-0099], where the where the reinforcement layer is silicon nitride (SiN) and the buried oxide layer (104,104a) is the etch stop layer, pellicle (106) is the cover layer, the oxide film (114) on the pellicle is the dielectric layer and the patterned reinforcement (114a) and patterned reinforcement layer (110a) are the mask by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon carbide (SiC) layer which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon carbide as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate , forming the pellicle/cover layer (106) is silicon doped with boron (B), phosphorus (P), arsenic (As), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb) or molybdenum (Mo) as disclosed at [0055] and adding two heat dissipation layers where the first heat dissipation layer is a thick layer of Mo or Zr and the second heat dissipation layer is a thin layer of Ruthenium based upon the teaching of multiple layers and the use of at least one material among chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru) or ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La based upon the disclosure at [0061] where the two heat dissipation layers have a thickness of 1-20 nm based upon the disclosure at [0015-0016,0061-0063] to arrive at the structure of figure 2B with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle.
With respect to claims 1 and 3-9, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 6A-E discussed at [0091-0099], where the where the reinforcement layer is silicon nitride (SiN) and the buried oxide layer (104,104a) is the etch stop layer, pellicle (106) is the cover layer, the oxide film (114) on the pellicle is the dielectric layer and the patterned reinforcement (114a) and patterned reinforcement layer (110a) are the mask by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon carbide (SiC) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon carbide as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate, forming the pellicle/cover layer (106) is silicon doped with boron (B), phosphorus (P), arsenic (As), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb) or molybdenum (Mo) as disclosed at [0055] and adding two heat dissipation layers where the first heat dissipation layer is a thick layer of Mo or Zr and the second heat dissipation layer is a thin layer of Ruthenium based upon the teaching of multiple layers and the use of at least one material among chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru) or ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La based upon the disclosure at [0061] where the two heat dissipation layers have a thickness of 1-20 nm based upon the disclosure at [0015-0016,0061-0063] to arrive at the structure of figure 2B with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle.
Nam et al. 20180259845 exemplifies the process of the claims in the teachings of figures
6A-E and [0091-0099] except the use of SiC, SiN, SiGe or Ge etch stop layers, where the reinforcement layer is a metal, where a metal auxiliary layer is present on the reinforcement layer and where the thickness of the metal auxiliary layer is thinner than the metal reinforcement layer.
With respect to claims 10,13,15,16 and 21, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the example of figures 6A-6E, by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon carbide (SiC) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon carbide as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate, using a pellicle layer of 10 nm as taught at [0020-0023], using a reinforcement layer of chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) based upon the equivalence with Si in combination with oxygen, nitrogen and/or carbon established at [0067] and to form that layer with a thickness of 11-50 nm as taught at [0069] and to add an auxiliary layer made of a different metal selected from chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) with a thickness within the range of 1-49 nm which is less than that of the reinforcement layer based upon the teachings at
[0067,0070] to add mechanical strength beyond that conferred by the reinforcement layer [0070]. The mask on the backside includes both the resist pattern (113a], the oxide film (114a) and the reinforcement layer (110a) (the oxide film and resist are dielectric materials as they have a dielectric constant, claim 13) The buried oxide layer (104) is a dielectric material and acts as an etch stop layer during the etch of the substrate (102).
With respect to claims 10,11,13,15 and 16, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the example of figures 6A-6E, by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon carbide (SiC) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon carbide as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate, using a reinforcement layer of zirconium.(Zr), based upon the equivalence with Si in combination with oxygen, nitrogen and/or carbon established at [0067] and to form that layer with a thickness of 2-50 nm as taught at [0069] and to add an auxiliary layer made of ruthenium (Ru) with a thickness within the range of 1-49 nm which is less than that of the reinforcement layer based upon the teachings at [0067,0070] to add mechanical strength beyond that conferred by the reinforcement layer [0070].
With respect to claims 10 and 13-16, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the example of figures 6A-6E, by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon carbide (SiC) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon carbide as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate using a silicon layer doped with B, P, As, Y, Zr, Nb and/or Mo for the pellicle layer as taught at [0020-0023], using a reinforcement layer of chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) based upon the equivalence with Si in combination with oxygen, nitrogen and/or carbon established at [0067] and to form that layer with a thickness of 2-50 nm as taught at [0069] and to add an auxiliary layer made of a different metal selected from chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) with a thickness within the range of 1-49 nm which is less than that of the reinforcement layer based upon the teachings at [0067,0070] to add mechanical strength beyond that conferred by the reinforcement layer [0070].
The pellicle layer is the cover layer of the instant claims.
With respect to claims 10,12,13 and 15-16, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the example of figures 6A-6E, by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon carbide (SiC) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon carbide as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate, using a pellicle layer of 10 nm as taught at [0020-0023] using a reinforcement layer of chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) based upon the equivalence with Si in combination with oxygen, nitrogen and/or carbon established at [0067] and to form that layer with a thickness of 11-50 nm which is within the range of 1-50 nm taught at [0069] and to add an auxiliary layer made of a different metal selected from chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) with a thickness within the range of 1-49 nm which is less than that of the reinforcement layer based upon the teachings at [0067,0070] to add mechanical strength beyond that conferred by the reinforcement layer [0070].
In the response of 9/11/2025 (and 10/7/2025) The applicant argues that Nam et al. 20180259845 does not teach the use of etch stop layers of SiC, SiN, SiGe or Ge. The examiner agrees that Nam et al. 20180259845 exemplifies the use of an oxide layer as the etch stop layer, rather than the SiC, SiN, SiGe or Ge layer of the instant claims. The examiner notes that the hardmask (110/110a), which is resistant to the etch of the silicon substrate can be various materials including SiC and SixNy [0067] and the heat dissipation layer (112) which is applied as a final step may be SiC or silicon (Silicide) formed by the addition of one of the recited foregoing materials; or one or more materials among oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and carbon (C) in addition to the one or more foregoing materials [0061]. The position of the examiner is that these teachings render the embodiment where the etch stop layer is silicon carbide obvious.
In the response of 2/17/2026, the applicant argues that the examiner appears to rely upon the buried oxide layer as the etch stop layer and that now the claims requires the etch stop layer to span the opening. The rejection describes replacing the buried oxide (etch stop) layer with a silicon carbide layer, which is described as suitable for the etch resistant protective reinforcement layer (110) and masking layer (110a) at [0082,0086] and can be left in place after the backside etch as it also functions as a heat dissipation layer (112)[0015,0061] obviating the need to coat the lower heat resolution layer (112). The rejection stands.
Claims 1,3-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. 20180259845, in view of Fukugami JP 2016-080967 and Lee et al. 20160048079.
Fukugami JP 2016-080967 (machine translation attached) teaches that SiN is useful as a heat conductive layer [0017,0029]. The heat conduction layers can be on the upper (07a) and/or the lower (07b) sides of the pellicle membrane (02) [0023].
Lee et al. 20160048079 teaches that The first etch stop layer 140 may be interposed between an upper surface of the handling block 120 and the first surface 112 of the pellicle film 110. The first etch stop layer 140 may have a function as to prevent the pellicle film 110 from being etched by an etching solution in a wet etching process for forming the opening 122 of the handling block 120. Because the handling block 120 may include silicon, the first etch stop layer 140 may include a material that is not removed by the wet etching solution capable of etching silicon. For example, the first etch stop layer 140 may include silicon oxide, silicon nitride, etc. Alternatively, the first etch stop layer 140 may include other materials as well as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, etc. The first etch stop layer 140 may have a thickness, for example, of about 100 nm. The etch mask 160 may be arranged on a lower surface of the handling block 120. The etch mask 160 may have a function as to determine the second width W2 of the opening 122 in the wet etching process for forming the opening 122 of the handling block 120. Because the handling block 120 may include silicon, the etch mask 160 may include a material that is not removed by the wet etching solution capable of etching silicon. For example, the etch mask 160 may include silicon oxide, silicon nitride, etc. Alternatively, the etch mask 160 may include other materials as well as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, etc. The etch mask layer 160 may have a thickness, for example, of about 50 nm [0101-0102]. The second etch stop layer 150 may be interposed between a lower surface of the supporting structure 130 and the second surface 114 of the pellicle film 110. Particularly, the second etch stop layer 150 may be interposed between lower surfaces of the supporting pattern 132 and the supporting block 134, and the second surface 114 of the pellicle film 110. The second etch stop layer 150 may have a function as to prevent the pellicle film 110 from being etched by an etching solution in an etching process for forming the supporting pattern 132. Because the supporting structure 130 may include silicon, the second etch stop layer 150 may include a material that is not removed by the wet etching solution capable of etching silicon. For example, the second etch stop layer 150 may include silicon oxide, silicon nitride, etc. Alternatively, the second etch stop layer 150 may include other materials as well as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, etc. The second etch stop layer 150 may have a thickness, for example, of about 100 nm [0111]
Nam et al. 20180259845 in the process taught with respect to figures 6A-E exemplifies the steps of the of the claims except for the use of SiC, SiN, SiGe or Ge etch stop layers, the provision of the metal layers, the provision of a metal layer between the cover/pellicle layer and the dielectric layer.
With respect to claims 1,6 and 8, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 6A-E discussed at [0091-0099] of Nam et al. 20180259845, where the where the reinforcement layer is silicon nitride (SiN) and the buried oxide layer (104,104a) is the etch stop layer, pellicle (106) or reinforcement layer (110) is the cover layer, the oxide film (114) on the pellicle is the dielectric layer and the patterned reinforcement (114a) and patterned reinforcement layer (110a) are the etch/hard masks by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon nitride (SiN) layer which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon nitride as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate in Nam et al. 20180259845, the use of SiN as an etch stop layer in Lee et al. 20160048079 and the use of SiN as a heat dissipation/conductive layer in Fukugami JP 2016-080967, adding first a thick heat dissipation layer and second a thin heat dissipation layers of different materials selected from chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), , cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) where the two heat dissipation layers have a thickness of 1-20 nm based upon the disclosure at [0015-0016,0061-0063] of Nam et al. 20180259845 to arrive at the structure of figure 2B with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle.
With respect to claims 1,6 and 8-9, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 6A-E discussed at [0091-0099] of Nam et al. 20180259845, where the where the reinforcement layer is silicon nitride (SiN) and the buried oxide layer (104,104a) is the etch stop layer, pellicle (106) or reinforcement layer (110) is the cover layer, the oxide film (114) on the pellicle is the dielectric layer and the patterned reinforcement (114a) and patterned reinforcement layer (110a) are the etch/hard masks by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon nitride (SiN) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon nitride as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate in Nam et al. 20180259845, the use of SiN as an etch stop layer in Lee et al. 20160048079 and the use of SiN as a heat dissipation/conductive layer in Fukugami JP 2016-080967 and adding first a thick heat dissipation layer on the top side and second a thin heat dissipation layers of different materials selected from chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), , cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) where the two heat dissipation layers have a thickness of 1-20 nm based upon the disclosure at [0015-0016,0061-0063] of Nam et al. 20180259845 to arrive at the structure of figure 2B with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle.
With respect to claims 1 and 3-8, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 6A-E discussed at [0091-0099] of Nam et al. 20180259845, where the where the reinforcement layer is silicon nitride (SiN) and the buried oxide layer (104,104a) is the etch stop layer, pellicle (106) is the cover layer, the oxide film (114) on the pellicle is the dielectric layer and the patterned reinforcement (114a) and patterned reinforcement layer (110a) are the mask by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon nitride (SiN) layer which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon nitride as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate in Nam et al. 20180259845, the use of SiN as an etch stop layer in Lee et al. 20160048079 and the use of SiN as a heat dissipation/conductive layer in Fukugami JP 2016-080967, forming the pellicle/cover layer (106) is silicon doped with boron (B), phosphorus (P), arsenic (As), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb) or molybdenum (Mo) as disclosed at [0055] and adding two heat dissipation layers where the first heat dissipation layer is a thick layer of Mo or Zr and the second heat dissipation layer is a thin layer of Ruthenium based upon the teaching of multiple layers and the use of at least one material among chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru) or ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La based upon the disclosure at [0061] where the two heat dissipation layers have a thickness of 1-20 nm based upon the disclosure at [0015-0016,0061-0063] of Nam et al. 20180259845 to arrive at the structure of figure 2B with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle.
With respect to claims 1 and 3-9, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 6A-E discussed at [0091-0099] of Nam et al. 20180259845, where the where the reinforcement layer is silicon nitride (SiN) and the buried oxide layer (104,104a) is the etch stop layer, pellicle (106) is the cover layer, the oxide film (114) on the pellicle is the dielectric layer and the patterned reinforcement (114a) and patterned reinforcement layer (110a) are the mask by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon nitride (SiN) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon nitride as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate in Nam et al. 20180259845, the use of SiN as an etch stop layer in Lee et al. 20160048079 and the use of SiN as a heat dissipation/conductive layer in Fukugami JP 2016-080967, forming the pellicle/cover layer (106) is silicon doped with boron (B), phosphorus (P), arsenic (As), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb) or molybdenum (Mo) as disclosed at [0055] and adding two heat dissipation layers where the first heat dissipation layer is a thick layer of Mo or Zr and the second heat dissipation layer is a thin layer of Ruthenium based upon the teaching of multiple layers and the use of at least one material among chrome (Cr), chrome nitride (CrN), aluminum (Al), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb), silicon (Si), ruthenium (Ru) or ruthenium compound containing B, Zr, Y, Nb, Ti, La based upon the disclosure at [0061] where the two heat dissipation layers have a thickness of 1-20 nm based upon the disclosure at [0015-0016,0061-0063] of Nam et al. 20180259845 to arrive at the structure of figure 2B with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle.
With respect to claims 10,13,15,16 and 21, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the example of figures 6A-6E of Nam et al. 20180259845, by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon nitride (SiN) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] of Nam et al. 20180259845 which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon nitride as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate in Nam et al. 20180259845, the use of SiN as an etch stop layer in Lee et al. 20160048079 and the use of SiN as a heat dissipation/conductive layer in Fukugami JP 2016-080967, using a pellicle layer of 10 nm as taught at [0020-0023] of Nam et al. 20180259845, using a reinforcement layer of chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) based upon the equivalence with Si in combination with oxygen, nitrogen and/or carbon established at [0067] of Nam et al. 20180259845 and to form that layer with a thickness of 11-50 nm as taught at [0069] and to add an auxiliary layer made of a different metal selected from chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) with a thickness within the range of 1-49 nm which is less than that of the reinforcement layer based upon the teachings at
[0067,0070] of Nam et al. 20180259845 to add mechanical strength beyond that conferred by the reinforcement layer [0070]. The mask on the backside includes both the resist pattern (113a], the oxide film (114a) and the reinforcement layer (110a) (the oxide film and resist are dielectric materials as they have a dielectric constant, claim 13) The buried oxide layer (104) is a dielectric material and acts as an etch stop layer during the etch of the substrate (102).
With respect to claims 10,11,13,15 and 16, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the example of figures 6A-6E of Nam et al. 20180259845, by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon nitride (SiN) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] of Nam et al. 20180259845 which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon nitride as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate in Nam et al. 20180259845, the use of SiN as an etch stop layer in Lee et al. 20160048079 and the use of SiN as a heat dissipation/conductive layer in Fukugami JP 2016-080967, using a reinforcement layer of zirconium.(Zr), based upon the equivalence with Si in combination with oxygen, nitrogen and/or carbon established at [0067] of Nam et al. 20180259845 and to form that layer with a thickness of 2-50 nm as taught at [0069] and to add an auxiliary layer made of ruthenium (Ru) with a thickness within the range of 1-49 nm which is less than that of the reinforcement layer based upon the teachings at [0067,0070] of Nam et al. 20180259845 to add mechanical strength beyond that conferred by the reinforcement layer [0070] of Nam et al. 20180259845.
With respect to claims 10 and 13-16, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the example of figures 6A-6E of Nam et al. 20180259845, by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon nitride (SiN) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] of Nam et al. 20180259845 which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon nitride as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate in Nam et al. 20180259845, the use of SiN as an etch stop layer in Lee et al. 20160048079 and the use of SiN as a heat dissipation/conductive layer in Fukugami JP 2016-080967, using a silicon layer doped with B, P, As, Y, Zr, Nb and/or Mo for the pellicle layer as taught at [0020-0023] of Nam et al. 20180259845, using a reinforcement layer of chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) based upon the equivalence with Si in combination with oxygen, nitrogen and/or carbon established at [0067] of Nam et al. 20180259845and to form that layer with a thickness of 2-50 nm as taught at [0069] of Nam et al. 20180259845 and to add an auxiliary layer made of a different metal selected from chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) with a thickness within the range of 1-49 nm which is less than that of the reinforcement layer based upon the teachings at [0067,0070] of Nam et al. 20180259845to add mechanical strength beyond that conferred by the reinforcement layer [0070] of Nam et al. 20180259845.
The pellicle layer is the cover layer of the instant claims.
With respect to claims 10,12,13 and 15-16, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the example of figures 6A-6E of Nam et al. 20180259845, by replacing the oxide layer with a silicon nitride (SiN) layer formed using the chemical vapor deposition, sputtering or atomic layer deposition processes taught at [0066] of Nam et al. 20180259845 which could be left as a heat conduction layer which would obviate the need to form and etch the oxide layer and form the lower/bottom heat dissipation layer (112) layer with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the disclosed use of silicon carbide as the hard mask (110/110a) during wet etching of the substrate in Nam et al. 20180259845, the use of SiN as an etch stop layer in Lee et al. 20160048079 and the use of SiN as a heat dissipation/conductive layer in Fukugami JP 2016-080967, using a pellicle layer of 10 nm as taught at [0020-0023] of Nam et al. 20180259845 using a reinforcement layer of chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) based upon the equivalence with Si in combination with oxygen, nitrogen and/or carbon established at [0067] of Nam et al. 20180259845 and to form that layer with a thickness of 11-50 nm which is within the range of 1-50 nm taught at [0069] and to add an auxiliary layer made of a different metal selected from chrome (Cr), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), vanadium (V), palladium (Pd), titanium (Ti), platinum (Pt), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cadmium (Cd), zirconium. (Zr), magnesium (Mg), lithium (Li), selenium (Se), copper (Cu), yttrium (Y), indium (In), tin (Sn), boron (B), beryllium (Be), tantalum (Ta), hafnium (Hf), niobium (Nb) or ruthenium (Ru) with a thickness within the range of 1-49 nm which is less than that of the reinforcement layer based upon the teachings at [0067,0070] of Nam et al. 20180259845 to add mechanical strength beyond that conferred by the reinforcement layer [0070] of Nam et al. 20180259845.
In the response of 9/11/2025 (and 10/7/2025) The applicant argues that Nam et al. 20180259845 does not teach the use of etch stop layers of SiC, SiN, SiGe or Ge. The examiner agrees that Nam et al. 20180259845 exemplifies the use of an oxide layer as the etch stop layer, rather than the SiC, SiN, SiGe or Ge layer of the instant claims. The examiner notes that the hardmask (110/110a), which is resistant to the etch of the silicon substrate can be various materials including SiC and SixNy [0067] and the heat dissipation layer (112) which is applied as a final step may be SiC or silicon (Silicide) formed by the addition of one of the recited foregoing materials; or one or more materials among oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and carbon (C) in addition to the one or more foregoing materials [0061], the use of SiN as an etch stop layer in the backs die etch of Lee et al. 20160048079 and the use of SiN as a heat dissipation/conductive layer in Fukugami JP 2016-080967. The position of the examiner is that these teachings render the embodiment where the etch stop layer is silicon nitride is obvious.
In the response of 2/17/2026, the applicant argues that the examiner appears to rely upon the buried oxide layer as the etch stop layer and that now the claims requires the etch stop layer to span the opening. The rejection describes replacing the buried oxide (etch stop) layer with a silicon nitride layer, which is described as suitable for the etch resistant protective reinforcement layer (110) and masking layer (110a) at [0082,0086], is recognized as a etch stop layer in the art as evidenced by Lee et al. 20160048079 and can be left in place after the backside etch as it also functions as a heat dissipation layer as taught in Fukugami JP 2016-080967 obviating the need to coat the lower heat resolution layer (112). The rejection stands.
Claims 1,3-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. 20180259845 and Ma et al. 20170205705.
Ma et al. 20170205705 teaches with respect to figures 1-7, the coating a substrate (102) with an oxide layer (104), a metal layer (106) such as Ru, Ni, Pd, In, Cu or Ti, a graphene pellicle layer (108) and a protective layer (110) of silicon carbide or metals such as Ru, Ni, Pd, Ir, Cu or Ti and on the opposite side of the substrate as hardmask (112) of an oxide, silicon nitride, metal or polymeric layers. After wet or dry etching the substrate, the hardmask (112), the protective layer (110) and the exposure portions of the oxide layer (104) are removed/etched to yield the structure of figure 7 [0012-0025].
The processes taught with respect to figures 8-13 are similar, but form a silicon carbide layer (806) on the substrate, a graphene layer (808) on the silicon carbide layer and metal layer as a capping layer (810), where the metal can be Ru, Ni, Pd, Ir, Cu, Ti and the like and the hardmask is an oxide, silicon nitride, metal or polymeric layer patterned using a photoresist. After wet or dry etching the substrate to expose the silicon carbide layer, the hardmask is removed by laser etching or the like to yield the structure of figure 13 [0026-0037].
The use of silicon nitride, dense oxides or metals as the hardmask is disclosed [0022,0034]. The formation of a layer of silicon carbide, herein referred to as a silicon carbide layer 110, is illustrated. In this embodiment, the silicon carbide layer 110 is grown, using a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) method [0020].
Nam et al. 20180259845 in the process taught with respect to figures 6A-E exemplifies the steps of the of the claims except for the use of SiC, SiN, SiGe or Ge etch stop layers, the provision of the metal layers, the provision of a metal layer between the cover/pellicle layer and the dielectric layer.
Ma et al. 20170205705 in the process of figures 8-13 exemplifies the process of the claims except for the provision of the dielectric layer on the metal capping layer (810) prior to etching the substrate and removing the dielectric layer after the etch.
With respect to claims 1,3-16 and 21, in addition to the basis above, the examiner points to the use of SiC as an etch stop layer during the backside etch in the teachings of figures 8-13, as an alternative to the use of a silicon carbide/ oxide bilayer used in the embodiment of figures 1-7 to support the position that the SiC would function well as an etch stop layer during a backside wet etch of the substrate.
With respect to claims 10,13,15 and 16, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of figures 8-13 of Ma et al. 20170205705 by coating the metal capping layer with an oxide dielectric layer and using the same oxide dielectric layer material on as the hardmask material (112) in the manner taught for layers (114 and 114a) of Nam et al. 20180259845 at [0091-0099] which allows them to be removed after the etching in the same step.
Further with respect to claim 11, it would have been obvious to modify the embodiments rendered obvious as set forth above by forming the metal layer using a plurality of layers with the thickness of one layer less than the other layer based upon the disclosure of the use of multilayers in Nam et al.. The claims do not specify the relative positions of the metal layers. If the applicant intends the argue this rejection on the basis of unexpected results, the relative positions of the metals layers should be clarified.
Further with respect to claims 11 and 12, it would have been obvious to modify the embodiments rendered obvious as set forth above by forming the metal layer using a plurality of layers with the thickness of one layer less than the other layer based upon the disclosure of the use of multilayers and to form the reinforcement/cover layer (110) with a thickness of 1-10 nm based upon the range of 1-50 nm disclosed at [0019] of Nam et al. 20180259845 and the first metal layer with a thickness of more than 1nm to 20 nm based upon the thickness range of 1-20 nm at [0016] of Nam et al. 20180259845. The claims do not specify the relative positions of the first metal layer and the second metal layers. If the applicant intends the argue this rejection on the basis of unexpected results, the relative positions of the metals layers should be clarified.
In response to the submission of 2/17/2026, the rejection stands for the reasons above as no further arguments were advanced by the applicant.
Claims 10-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12117725, in view of Nam et al. 20180259845
In Patent 12117725, claim 16, recites a method of manufacturing a pellicle for an EUV photo mask, the method comprising: forming a base membrane layer over a front surface of a substrate; forming a core layer over the base membrane layer; forming a cover layer over the core layer; forming a first metallic layer over the cover layer; forming a second metallic layer over the first metallic layer; forming a first protection layer over the second metallic layer; forming a second protection layer over the first protection layer; forming a hard mask layer on a back surface of the substrate; forming a first opening in the hard mask by patterning the hard mask; removing the second protection layer; forming a third protection layer over the first protection layer; forming a second opening in the substrate by etching the substrate through the first opening; and removing the third protection layer and the first protection layer.
Claim 17 recites: The method of claim 16, wherein a thickness of the second metal layer is smaller than a thickness of the first metal layer.
Claim 18 recites: The method of claim 16, wherein a thickness of the cover layer is smaller than the thickness of the first metal layer and in a range from 0.5 nm to 10 nm.
Claim 7 recites: The method of claim 6, wherein the second metallic layer is a Ru layer.
Claim 8 recites : The method of claim 7, wherein the first metallic layer is a Mo layer.
Claim 9 recites: The method of claim 7, wherein the first metallic layer is a Zr layer.
Claim 10 recites The method of claim 1, wherein the first protection layer is made of silicon oxide or silicon nitride.
Claim 2 recites: The method of claim 1, wherein the base membrane layer is made of SiC or silicon nitride.
Claim 3 recite: wherein the core layer is a poly silicon layer.
Claim 4 recites: The method of claim 3, wherein the cover layer is formed by implanting impurities in the core layer.
Claim 5 recites: The method of claim 1, wherein the cover layer is a silicon nitride layer.
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No 12117725 recite all the limitations of claims 10-16 of the instant application except for the etch stop layer.
With respect to claims 10-16, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiment of claim 18(which includes the limitation of claim 16) by forming the base layer of SiC or SiN (claim 2) on the substrate (102) and the pellicle/cover layer (106) of Nam et al. 20180259845 and using a dielectric as the etch/mask layer as taught in Nam et al. 20180259845 and using a dielectric as the etch/mask layer as taught in Nam et al. 20180259845 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle with added protection from damage.
Further , it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the resulting embodiments by using a cover layer formed of silicon nitride or a doped material as recited in claims 4 and 5, adding an oxide based etch stop layer as provided between the substrate (102) and the pellicle/cover layer (106) of Nam et al. 20180259845, using the materials recited in claims 7-9 in the metal layers and/or using a dielectric as the etch/mask layer as taught in Nam et al. 20180259845 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle with added protection from damage.
The ODP rejections stand as they are still valid and should be kept to ensure that a terminal disclaimer is filed promptly.
The applicant argues that the examiner has not provided an obviousness analysis. The examiner points out that the claims relied for the combination are clearly identified in the obviousness statement.
In the response of 2/17/2026, the applicant argues that the examiner has not provided an obviousness analysis. The examiner points out that the claims relied for the combination are clearly identified in the obviousness statement which meets the Graham v John Deere Co standard.
Claims 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12117725, in view of Nam et al. 20180259845 and Chang et al. 20160349609
Chang et al. 20160349609 teaches with respect to figure 1E and 1F, a pellicle wafer (112), which is provided with a patterned resist layer (114) and subjected to an etch so that thin membrane (122) [0018-0026].
With respect to claims 17 and 20, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiment of claim 16 by adding an oxide based etch stop layer as provided between the substrate (102) and the pellicle/cover layer (106) of Nam et al. 20180259845 and using a dielectric as the etch/mask layer as taught in Nam et al. 20180259845 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle with added protection from damage.
With respect to claims 17,18 and 20, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiment of claim 17(which includes the limitation of claim 16) by adding an oxide based etch stop layer as provided between the substrate (102) and the pellicle/cover layer (106) of Nam et al. 20180259845 and using a dielectric as the etch/mask layer as taught in Nam et al. 20180259845 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle with added protection from damage.
With respect to claims 17 and 19-20, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiment of claim 18(which includes the limitation of claim 16) by adding an oxide based etch stop layer as provided between the substrate (102) and the pellicle/cover layer (106) of Nam et al. 20180259845 and using a dielectric as the etch/mask layer as taught in Nam et al. 20180259845 and using a dielectric as the etch/mask layer as taught in Nam et al. 20180259845 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle with added protection from damage.
In the response of 2/17/2026, the applicant argues that the examiner has not provided an obviousness analysis. The examiner points out that the claims relied for the combination are clearly identified in the obviousness statement which meets the Graham v John Deere Co standard.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 March 19, 2026