DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG Pub 2018/0315828 to Yamashita et al (hereinafter Yamashita).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamashita discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a nanostructure (404, Fig. 4) including a first connection portion, a second connection portion and a channel portion disposed between the first connection portion and the second connection portion (examiner considers the narrowing ends of the nanostructure to comprise connection portions);
a first inner spacer feature (502/504; Fig. 5) disposed over and in contact with the first connection portion;
a second inner spacer feature (502/504) disposed under and in contact with the first connection portion; and
a gate structure (1404, Fig. 14) wrapping around the channel portion of the nanostructure,
wherein the first inner spacer feature includes a first surface adjacent the gate structure and a second surface away from the gate structure (Fig. 14),
wherein the first surface has a first height along a vertical direction and the second surface has a second height along the vertical direction (Fig. 14),
wherein the second surface comprises a concave surface (Figs. 4, 5 & 14).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamashita discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the first inner spacer feature comprises an outer layer (504) and an inner layer (502), wherein the outer layer is spaced part from the nanostructure along the vertical direction by the inner layer (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamashita discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 5, wherein a dielectric constant of the inner layer is greater than a dielectric constant of the outer layer (SiN vs SiOC; [0035]).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamashita discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 5, wherein the outer layer is spaced part from the gate structure by the inner layer, where the inner layer is in contact with the gate structure (Fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamashita discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 5, wherein a density of the inner layer is greater than a density of the outer layer (SiN vs SiOC; [0035]).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamashita discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first source/drain feature and a second source/drain feature (1002, Fig. 14);
a first nanostructure and a second nanostructure (404, Fig. 5) extending between the first source/drain feature and the second source/drain feature along a first direction, the second nanostructure being disposed over the first nanostructure along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction;
a gate structure (1404, Fig. 14) wrapping around each of the first and second nanostructures; and
a first inner spacer feature (502/504) disposed between the first nanostructure and the second nanostructure, the first inner spacer feature being adjacent the gate structure; and
a second inner spacer feature (502/504) disposed over the second nanostructure and adjacent the gate structure,
wherein the first inner spacer includes a first surface adjacent the gate structure and a second surface away from the gate structure (Fig. 5),
wherein the first surface has a first height along the second direction and the second surface has a second height along the second direction (Fig. 5),
wherein the first height is smaller than the second height (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita.
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Yamashita discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the inner layer comprises silicon carbonitride or silicon oxycarbonitride, wherein the outer layer comprises silicon oxycarbide, porous silicon oxycarbide, or fluorine-doped silicon oxide or wherein the outer layer and inner layer comprise silicon, carbon, oxygen, and nitrogen, wherein an oxygen content of the inner layer is smaller than an oxygen content of the outer layer, wherein a nitrogen content of the inner layer is greater than a nitrogen content of the outer layer.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the inner and outer layers of Yamashita to comprise the materials claimed by Applicant. Yamashita discloses an inner layer with a greater density than the outer layer and a higher dielectric constant than the outer layer. Yamashita also discloses a desire to have the etch selectivity of the layers be different [0035]. Given those requirements, the materials listed by Applicant fit within the scope of Yamashita and would have been obvious to select from absent any unexpected results by Applicant.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-4 and 12-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,682,714 to Wu et al (hereinafter Wu or cited patent) in view of Yamashita.
Claims 2 and 12 require the nanostructures further comprise a first ridge extending upward along the vertical direction from an interface between the channel portion and the first connection portion. Such a feature can be found in Claims 1, 11 and 16 of the cited patent. The claims differ from the cited patent by including the limitation that the inner spacers comprise a concave shape.
Yamashita discloses a nanostructure having concave shaped inner spacers (502/504, Fig. 5).
It would have been an obvious modification of Wu to have concave shaped inner spacers since they provide for a gap between the inner spacers and the gate structure that can be filled by the gate dielectric as seen in Yamashita or can be filled by the channel portions as seen in Wu.
Claims 3 and 4 depend on Claim 2 and their limitations can be found in patented Claims 11 and 12.
Claims 13 and 14 depend on Claim 12 and their limitations can be found in patented Claims 11-13.
Claim 15 recites limitations similar to Claims 2 and 12 if written in independent form. It differs from the cited patent by requiring the inner spacers be concave. It is similarly found to be obvious in view of the cited patent and Yamashita.
Claims 16-20 depend on Claim 15 and their limitations can be found in patented Claims 11, 13, and 17.
Conclusion
/DAVID C SPALLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893