DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending in the application and examined herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of the “control system” in claims 7 and 13 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are further objected to because it is unclear what feature reference character “102” (identified as a “drive cable” in the specification, see [0018]) is intending to refer to in Figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 13 are indefinite because it is unclear if the “control system” is intended to be a positively recited feature of the claimed “system[s]”. Perhaps the claims should be amended to recite: “further comprising a control system, wherein [[a]] the control system is configured to adjust an operation parameter of the reactor core...”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2019/0108921 (“Heibel”) in view of CN Publication No. 106128539 (“Ceng”)1.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 8, Heibel (cited via Applicant-submitted IDS) (see FIGS. 1-3) discloses a system for measuring radiation activity of a target radioisotope (72) being produced in a reactor core (14) ([0007], [0021], [0023]), the system comprising:
a cable assembly, comprising:
a housing/enclosure (48), wherein the target radioisotope is positioned/positionable within the housing/enclosure ([0022]);
a target cable (78) configured to position the housing/enclosure ([0022]), wherein the target cable is movable between an inserted position corresponding to the target radioisotope/enclosure being positioned in the reactor core and a retracted position corresponding to the target radioisotope/enclosure being positioned outside of the reactor core ([0013], [0021]-[0022]); and
a drive cable (36) selectively couplable and decouplable with the target cable (e.g., via elements 58, 60), wherein the drive cable is configured to drive the target cable between the inserted position and the retracted position ([0021]-[0022]).
Heibel discloses irradiating the target radioisotope to completion of the desired irradiation levels ([0024]), but appears to be silent as to a mechanism for determining completion. Ceng (cited via Applicant-submitted IDS) (see FIGS. 1, 3) is also directed towards a method for producing a target radioisotope (116) by inserting and withdrawing the target radioisotope into/from an instrumentation tube (104) of a reactor core (102) (p. 2: “a core irradiation subsystem for moving at least one radiation object into an instrument tube of the nuclear reactor for irradiation treatment”; p. 6: “[the target radioisotope] can be sent to the core position ... and activated by the neutron to become a radioactive source. The irradiated ball is returned to the measuring platform”). Ceng teaches a radiation detector/sensor (115, 303) configured to periodically measure/sense the radiation activity of the target radioisotope being produced (p. 5: “when the irradiated small ball 116 passes back to the measuring platform 112 ... the activity detection is performed through the push rod 115 equipped with the semiconductor detector”). Ceng further teaches the radiation detector/sensor provides the advantages of automatic and quick real-time detection to confirm the target radioisotopes meet the required activity (p. 3: “The system provided by the invention has the advantages of satisfying the measurement requirement of the neutron fluence rate in the heap, meeting the requirements of the medical short-lived source activity, meeting the requirements of rapid transportation, and meeting the automation requirements”; see also pp. 4, 6, 8). It would have therefore been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date (“POSA”) to include a radiation detector/sensor as taught by Ceng in Heibel’s system for the monitoring benefits thereof. Thus, modification of Heibel in order to determine and ensure the target radioisotope being produced meets the required radiation activity, as suggested by Ceng, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Heibel in view of Ceng teaches the system of Claims 2 and 8. Heibel discloses the drive cable is configured to decouple from the target cable when the target cable is in the inserted position ([0011], [0013], [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Heibel in view of Ceng teaches the system of Claims 2 and 8. Ceng teaches the radiation detector/sensor is configured to measure/sense the radiation activity of the target radioisotope when the target radioisotope is positioned outside of the reactor core (i.e., when the “target cable” is in the claimed “retracted position”) (FIG. 1, p. 5: “when the irradiated small ball 116 passes back to the measuring platform 112 ... the activity detection is performed through the push rod 115 equipped with the semiconductor detector”). Thus, Heibel, modified to include the radiation detector/sensor as taught by Ceng, would have resulted in the features of claims 4 and 10.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Heibel in view of Ceng teaches the system of Claims 1 and 8. Ceng teaches the radiation detector/sensor is configured to measure/sense the radiation activity of the target radioisotope during a reactor operating cycle (p. 5: “when the irradiated small ball 116 passes back to the measuring platform 112 ... the activity detection is performed through the push rod 115 equipped with the semiconductor detector.... If the activity of the pellet 116 does not meet the medical short life requirement, it is controlled by nitrogen back to the core 102 to continue the irradiation treatment”). Thus, Heibel, modified to include the radiation detector/sensor as taught by Ceng, would have resulted in the features of claims 6 and 12.
Claims 7 and 13, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heibel in view of Ceng further in view of US Publication No. 2021/0358647 (“Reese”).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Heibel in view of Ceng teaches the system of Claims 1 and 8, but does not appear to teach a control system configured to adjust an operation parameter of the reactor core based on the measured/sensed radiation activity. Reese (cited via Applicant-submitted IDS) (see FIGS. 5-6) is also directed towards a system for producing a target radioisotope in a reactor core (502) ([0019]-[0020]). Reese teaches the system further comprises a control system configured to adjust an operational parameter of the reactor core based on a measured/sensed radiation activity ([0060]-[0063]). Reese further teaches the control system provides the advantages of optimizing isotope production ([0069]). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to include a control system as taught by Reese in the modified Heibel’s system for the optimized performance benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Heibel in order to maximize sample irradiation and optimize isotope production, as suggested by Reese, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heibel in view of Ceng further in view of US Patent No. 3,787,697 (“Shields”).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Heibel in view of Ceng teaches the system of Claims 1 and 8, but does not appear to teach the radiation detector/sensor comprises a platinum self-powered detector. Shields (cited via Applicant-submitted IDS) (see FIG. 1) is similarly directed towards a radiation detector/sensor configured to measure/sense radiation activity and teaches a platinum self-powered radiation detector (Abstract). Shields further teaches the platinum self-powered radiation detector provides the advantages of simultaneously and promptly responding to both neutron and gamma flux intensities and produces a relatively high electrical current output in response to a flux intensity (2:35-48). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to use a platinum self-powered radiation detector, as taught by Shields, in the modified Heibel’s system for the detection benefits thereof (e.g., to ensure quick and easily readable results). Thus, further modification of Heibel in order to provide a high total prompt electrical current output, as suggested by Shields, would have been obvious to a POSA.
The Applied References
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the applied reference(s) have been cited (as examples) to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety by Applicant, including any disclosures that may teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02(VI).
Application Status Information
Interview Information
Contact Information
Examiner Jinney Kil can be reached at (571) 270-5217, on Monday-Thursday from 8:30AM-6:30PM ET. Supervisor Jack Keith (SPE) can be reached at (571) 272-6878.
/JINNEY KIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3646
1 Citations to Ceng refer to the machine translation provided in parent application 16/878,293 with the PTO-892 dated 07/07/2022