DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Joseph et al. (US 2015/0318182A1).
Joseph describes a method for making a semiconductor structure comprising: forming a liner structure 30 on an inner sidewall of a mask dielectric layer 20 overlying a substrate 10 (fig. 4C, 4D; para 46, 53, 54);
; forming a via hole in an area of the substrate exposed by the liner structure forming a tapering arc-shaped overhanging portion (fig. 4E);
; filing the via hole with a conductive material 50L (fig. 4I; para 72)
.
With respect to claim 3, Joseph teaches planarizing the conductive material 50L using mask dielectric layer 20 as a stopping layer (para 73), which means the planarizing process would reach and polish the mask dielectric layer 20.
Claim(s) 13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Van Aelst et al. (US 2008/0050919A1).
With respect to claim 13, Van Aelst teaches a method for making a semiconductor substrate comprising: etching a dielectric SiO2 layer 2 overlying a semiconductor substrate 1 forming a pattern comprising an inner sidewall using fluorocarbon gas CF4 (para 226-235), the fluorocarbon gas CF4 would form a polymer attached to the sidewalls of the SiO2 layer 2 (please see Morikita et al. 2006/0219657A1 for description of active species of the CF4 gas forms polymer components attached to sidewalls during etching, para 48) or claimed a liner is formed on the inner sidewall during the etching; etching a portion of the substrate exposed by the liner to form a via hole through the substrate, wherein an undercut portion is formed at a top corner of the via hole (para 87, 131-139; fig. 4) or claimed recessing a portion of the semiconductor substrate exposed by the liner to form a via hole, wherein an undercut portion is formed at a top corner of the via hole; and forming a through substrate via in the via hole.
With respect to claim 16, Van Aelst teaches sequentially forming a passivation layer or insulating layer, a barrier, a seed conductive layer, and a conductive material in the via hole (para 5).
Morikita et al. 2006/0219657A1 is cited for description of active species of the CF4 gas forms polymer components attached to sidewalls during etching (para 48).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-12, 14, 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 2, the closest applied prior art Joseph, even though teaches forming via hole having arc-shaped overhang portion (fig. 4E); however, Joseph doesn’t teach removing any of the overhang portion of the substrate before filling the via hole.
With respect to claim 4, and its dependent claims 5-7, the closest applied prior art Joseph, even though teaches forming via hole having arc-shaped overhang portion (fig. 4E); however, Joseph doesn’t teach wherein forming the liner structure on the inner sidewall of a dielectric layer comprises: etching the dielectric layer to form an opening of the dielectric layer, wherein the opening is defined by the inner sidewall of the dielectric layer, and a first liner of the liner structure is an etching by product grown on the inner sidewall of the dielectric layer.
With respect to claim 8, the closest applied prior art Joseph, even though teaches forming via hole having arc-shaped overhang portion (fig. 4E); however, Joseph doesn’t teach laterally thinning the liner structure when forming the via hole.
With respect to claim 9, and its dependent claims 10-12, the closest applied prior art Joseph, even though teaches forming via hole having arc-shaped overhang portion (fig. 4E); however, Joseph doesn’t teach further step of forming a conductive pattern layer of an interconnect structure over the dielectric layer, wherein the conductive pattern layer is electrically connected to the conductive material formed in the via hole. Joseph shows in fig 4L the conductive material formed in the via hole connected to another substrate, a transposer, or a packaging substrate through ball 70, which is away from the dielectric mask layer 20.
With respect to claim 14, the closest prior art Van Aelst doesn’t teach the undercut portion is a recess in which the portion of the semiconductor substrate is removed to leave an overhang portion of the semiconductor substrate overhanging the recess. He shows in fig. 1, the overhang portion is formed from the dielectric layer 2.
With respect to claim 15, the closest prior art Van Aelst doesn’t teach further step of trimming the semiconductor substrate after forming the via hole and before forming the through substrate via.
Claims 17-20 are allowed over the prior art because the closest applied prior art Joseph, even though teaches forming via hole having arc-shaped overhang portion (fig. 4E); however, Joseph doesn’t teach the arc-shape overhang or annular overhang is formed at a top edge of the substrate. Joseph shows in Fig. 4E the arc-shaped overhang is formed below the top edge of the substrate.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11594420 and over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12142485. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent 11594420 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12142485.describe the same steps, which encompass the claimed invention of forming via through a substrate, including forming a first and second protective films or liners on inner sidewalls of openings in a dielectric layer, the first liner is a byproduct from etching the dielectric layer; removing a portion of the substrate through the openings to form undercut or overhang portion at a top edge of the substrate; trimming to remove the overhang portion, the protective films/liners, and a portion of the dielectric layer; forming conductive pattern on the dielectric layer and the via to form interconnect structure.
/DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713
6/1/2026