DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claims 1, 16 & 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claim 1, line 3, change “a power supply” to –the power supply--.
b. Claim 1, line 4-5, & claim 18, line 4 change “said housing” to –said power supply housing--.
c. Claim 16 & 17, line 1, change “power-supply” to –the power-supply--.
d. Claim 19, change “The apparatus of claim 19, to –The apparatus of claim 18--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3 Claims 1, 4-5, 9 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1 it is not clear if a processing device that comprises a fan refers to the apparatus comprising a fan or a processing device comprising a fan, for examining purposes, Examiner asserts that the apparatus comprises the fan.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the power-generating components" in line 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said an intake port and said exhaust port" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 line 2 asserts a server housing and a fan, it is not clear if the fan is the same fan disclosed in claim 1 or a different fan, for examining purposes Examiner asserts that it is the same fan, hence a fan should be changed to the fan.
Claims 4 & 5, line 2, it is not clear what “that causes said moving fluid” means.
Claim 9, line 2-4, it is not clear how the heated moving fluid cools the power-handling units, it seems the heated fluid would rather heat up the power handling unit.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the power-generating components" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagasaka US2013/0231039.
Per claim 20 Nagasaka teaches a method comprising coupling an intake port of a power supply (16) to an exhaust of a processing device (1, see fig.1), causing a fan (3) on said processing device to move air for cooling said processing device, and causing air warmed by said processing device and exiting said exhaust of said processing device to carry out convective cooling of power-handling units (6) in said power supply (see fig.1 & 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka US2013/0231039 in view of Zhu et al. US2021/0176900.
Per claim 1 Nagasaka teaches an apparatus (1, see fig.1) comprising a power supply (6) for providing power to a processing device ([0008]) that comprises a fan (3, see fig.1),
Nagasaka does not explicitly teach said apparatus comprising a power supply comprising a power-supply housing and power-handling units disposed in said housing and in thermal communication with said housing so that heat flows directly from the power-generating components to said power-supply housing via heat conduction, wherein said an intake port and said exhaust port have been configured to use a coolant fluid that is made to move by said fan to cause convective cooling of said power-handling units.
Zhu et al. however discloses a power supply (200) comprising a power-supply housing (201, see fig.1A; [0035]) and power-handling units (211, 212 & 213; [0031]) disposed in said housing and in thermal communication with said housing ([0031]) so that heat flows directly from the power-generating components to said power-supply housing via heat conduction ([0031]), wherein said an intake port (21) and said exhaust port (22) have been configured to use a coolant fluid that is made to move by said fan (24) to cause convective cooling of said power-handling units ([0032]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a power supply as taught by Zhu et al. in the apparatus of Nagasaka because it ensures effective functioning of the apparatus while ensuring effective thermal dissipation of heat from the power supply.
Per claim 2 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said power-supply housing is configured to cause said moving fluid to drive a cooling current from said intake port to said exhaust port of said power-supply housing to provide convective cooling to said power-handling units (see fig.1B).
Per claim 3 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said exhaust port is configured such that when said power supply is exposed to said moving air, a low-pressure zone forms at said exhaust port, thereby drawing fluid into said power-supply housing through said intake port (see fig.1B).
Per claim 4 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a server (1) having a server housing (2, see fig.1) and a fan (3) that causes said moving fluid and wherein said power supply is disposed inside said server housing such that said intake port is on a windward side of said power-supply housing relative to said moving fluid and said exhaust port is on a leeward side of said power-supply housing relative to said moving fluid (see fig.1 & 3).
Per claim 7 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said intake port is windward and said exhaust port is leeward (see fig.1B).
Per claim 8 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said power supply comprises a dc/dc power supply.
Official notice is taken that having a dc/dc power supply is well known.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a dc/dc power supply with all the features as taught by Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al., because it enables dc power supply to numerous dc electronics.
Per claim 9 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said intake port and said exhaust port have been configured to use moving fluid that has been heated, said heated moving fluid being used to cause convective cooling of said power-handling units ([0031]).
Per claim 10 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a mining machine (see fig.1, “examiner interprets the sever to be a miner because it comprises a CPU, memory and other related components evidenced by US2021/0092875 paragraph [0009]), wherein said processing device is disposed in said mining machine and power-supply housing receives warm fluid exhausted from said mining machine (see fig.1).
Per claim 11 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a server (1) for a data center and a server housing (2) for housing said server, wherein said power-supply housing (16) is disposed within said server housing, and wherein said power-supply housing comprises openings (see fig.3) for permitting fluid drawn through said server housing to pass through said power-supply housing (see fig.1 & 3).
Per claim 12 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said fluid is air ([0009]).
Per claim 13 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said coolant fluid carries heat generated by said processing device towards said power-handling unit ([0009]).
Per claim 15 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said fluid is a multi-phase fluid ([0031], “water is a multi-phase liquid).
Claim(s) 5-6, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka US2013/0231039 in view of Zhu et al. US2021/0176900.
Per claim 5 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a miner (see fig.1, “examiner interprets the sever to be a miner because it comprises a CPU, memory and other related components evidenced by US2021/0092875 paragraph [0009]) having an exhaust fan that causes said moving fluid (see fig.1), wherein said power supply is disposed on said miner (see fig.1),
Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. does not explicitly teach and wherein said power-supply housing further comprises a chimney that receives said moving fluid and directs said moving fluid towards said exhaust port.
Lee however discloses wherein said power-supply housing (126, see fig.9) further comprises a chimney (114 & 916) that receives said moving fluid (910) and directs said moving fluid towards said exhaust port (912).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a chimney as taught by Lee in the apparatus of Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al., because it improves the flow of air though the power supply, thus ensuring an efficient functioning of the apparatus.
Per claim 6 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a miner (see fig.1, “examiner interprets the sever to be a miner because it comprises a CPU, memory and other related components evidenced by US2021/0092875 paragraph [0009]) having an exhaust fan that drives said moving fluid (see fig.1), wherein said power supply is disposed on said miner (see fig.1), and
Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein said power-supply housing forms a channel that directs said moving fluid towards said exhaust port, said channel having a throat through which said moving fluid passes.
Lee however discloses wherein said power-supply housing forms a channel (114 & 916) that directs said moving fluid towards said exhaust port, said channel having a throat (918) through which said moving fluid passes (see fig.9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have channel having a throat as taught by Lee in the apparatus of Nagasaka in view of Zhu, because it maximizes the efficiency of the apparatus.
Per claim 16 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Nagasaka in view of does not explicitly teach wherein power-supply housing further comprises a channel that channels a traction stream that pulls cooling current from a lower end thereof to an upper end thereof, wherein said lower end receives heated air from said fan and said upper end empties into said exhaust port.
Lee however discloses wherein power-supply housing further comprises a channel that channels a traction stream that pulls cooling current from a lower end thereof to an upper end thereof, wherein said lower end receives heated air from said fan and said upper end empties into said exhaust port (co.6, line 31-53 & col.7, line 28-59).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a traction stream that pulls air from a lower end to an upper end as taught by Lee in the apparatus of Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al., because it enables effective cooling of the power supply and apparatus.
Per claim 17 Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein power-supply housing further comprises a channel that accelerates fluid velocity in a traction stream that carries heated air from a lower end of said channel to an upper end of said channel.
Lee however discloses wherein power-supply housing further comprises a channel that accelerates fluid velocity in a traction stream that carries heated air from a lower end of said channel to an upper end of said channel (co.6, line 31-53 & col.7, line 28-59).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a traction stream that pulls air from a lower end to an upper end as taught by Lee in the apparatus of Nagasaka in view of Zhu et al., because it enables effective cooling of the power supply and apparatus.
Allowable Subject matter
6. Claims 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14, includes allowable subject matter because of the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said fluid is an electrically-inert liquid and wherein said power supply is immersed in said fluid.
Claim 14 is allowable because claim 14 which depends on claim 1 and inherits all the limitations of claim 1 is further disclosed to be immersed in an electrically-inert fluid.
Claims 18 - 19 are allowable
7. Claim 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Regarding Independent claim 18, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed combination of elements and features of: an apparatus comprising a negative-pressure device and a power supply, wherein said power supply provides power to a processing device, wherein said power supply comprises a power-supply housing and power-handling units disposed in said housing and in thermal communication with said housing so that heat flows directly from the power-generating components to said power-supply housing via heat conduction, wherein said power-supply housing comprises an intake port and an exhaust port, wherein said negative-pressure device comprises a horizontally-facing channel intake, an upwardly-facing channel outlet, and an L- shaped channel, and wherein said horizontally-facing channel intake is connected to said exhaust port of said power-supply housing.
The closest reference to claim 18 would be Davis et al. US2016/0324032 which discloses an L-shaped housing but does not teach an exhaust fan or negative-pressure device horizontally facing channel intake, an upwardly-facing channel outlet, and an L- shaped channel, and wherein said horizontally-facing channel intake is connected to said exhaust port of said power-supply housing.
19. The apparatus of claim 19, wherein said exhaust port of said power-supply housing defines a plane that is perpendicular to a plane defined by said upwardly- facing channel outlet.
Email Communication
8. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bestwick US6678157 discloses an electronics assembly which comprises: (i) an enclosure having a removable lid; (ii) a heat generating component located within the enclosure.
Franz et al. US7558061 discloses a cooling fan module.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841