DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung et al. (US 2018/0174970 A1; hereinafter Hung).
Regarding claim 1, Hung discloses a semiconductor structure (Fig. 1 of Hung; “FIG. 1 illustrates a top view of a semiconductor device” (¶ 0008 of Hung, emphasis added)), comprising:
a metal gate structure1 (a combination of (1) “work function metal layer 40” within “gate structure[s] 22 24”2 (¶ 0018) shown in Fig. 7 which is a “cross-section [of the] semiconductor device . . . in FIG. 1” (¶ 0009) and (2) “a high-k dielectric layer 38” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) also shown in Fig. 7) including a gate dielectric layer (“high-k dielectric layer 38”3 (¶ 0018)) and a gate electrode (“metal layer 40”4 (¶ 0018)), the gate electrode including at least a first metal (the first metal being aluminum (“work function metal layer 40 . . . may include titanium aluminide (TiAl)”; ¶ 0020 of Hung));
a conductive layer5 (a combination of (1) “the low-resistance metal layer 42” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) shown in Fig. 7 and (2) “barrier layer 58” which is formed of conductive metal (¶ 0024) over Hung’s gate structures 22, 24 shown in Fig. 7) formed on the gate electrode (as seen in Fig. 7, both components 42 and 58 of the conductive layer of Hung are formed over gate electrode 40 of Hung; as such, the conductive layer of Hung is considered to be ‘on’ the gate electrode), the conductive layer extending from a position below a top surface of the metal gate structure (“a top surface” being the upper surface of 406 within Hung’s components 22, 24 which directly contacts component 58; see annotated copy of Fig. 7, below. Further, as seen in Fig. 7, the bottommost portion of component 42 is below the cited top surface of the metal gate structure) to a position above the top surface of the metal gate structure (as seen in Fig. 7, the topmost portion of component 42 is above the cited top surface of the metal gate structure), the conductive layer includes at least the first metal (“low-resistance metal layer 42 may include . . . titanium aluminum (TiAl)”; ¶ 0020) and a second metal (titanium) different from the first metal; and
a gate contact (“metal layer 60” (¶ 0024) above Hung’s components 22, 24 shown in Fig. 7) disposed on the conductive layer (see Fig. 7),
wherein in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to a lengthwise direction of the metal gate structure (the lengthwise direction being considered as the direction from left-to-right in Fig. 1) the gate dielectric layer includes a first sidewall (sidewall furthest along the down direction in Fig. 1) and a second sidewall (sidewall furthest along the up direction in Fig. 1) opposing the first sidewall, wherein the gate dielectric layer comprises a same dielectric material extending continuously from the first sidewall to the second sidewall, wherein in the cross-sectional view laterally the conductive layer is fully between the first and second sidewalls of the gate dielectric layer (as no portion extends past the first and second sidewalls, the conductive layer is fully between the sidewalls).
Regarding claim 2, Hung discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, as discussed above. Hung further discloses wherein the conductive layer is free of contact (i.e., not in direct contact) with gate dielectric layer (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Hung discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, as discussed above. Hung further discloses wherein the conductive layer is in contact (although not direct contact) and laterally bounded by the gate dielectric layer (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Hung discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, as discussed above. Hung further discloses that the conductive layer further includes a metallic film (“barrier layer 58” (¶ 0024 of Hung) which, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, is part of the conductive layer) essentially of the second metal (as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, the second metal is titanium. Hung discloses that the metallic film may be titanium (“the barrier layer 58 is selected from the group consisting of Ti . . .”; ¶ 0024), and wherein the gate contact is in contact with the metallic film (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Hung discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, as discussed above. Hung further discloses that the gate contact is in contact with both the conductive layer and the top surface of the metal gate structure (see Fig. 7).
Alternatively regarding claim 17, Hung discloses a semiconductor structure (Fig. 1 of Hung; “FIG. 1 illustrates a top view of a semiconductor device” (¶ 0008 of Hung, emphasis added)), comprising:
a metal gate structure8 (a combination of (1) “work function metal layer 40” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24”9 (¶ 0018) shown in Fig. 7 which is a “cross-section [of the] semiconductor device . . . in FIG. 1” (¶ 0009); (2) “a high-k dielectric layer 38” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) also shown in Fig. 7; and (3) “gate dielectric layer 26” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) also shown in Fig. 7) including a gate dielectric layer (26) and a gate electrode (40), the gate electrode including at least a first metal (the first metal being aluminum (“work function metal layer 40 . . . may include titanium aluminide (TiAl)”; ¶ 0020 of Hung));
a conductive layer10 (a combination of (1) “the low-resistance metal layer 42” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) shown in Fig. 7 and (2) “barrier layer 58” which is formed of conductive metal (¶ 0024) over Hung’s gate structures 22, 24 shown in Fig. 7) formed on the gate electrode (as seen in Fig. 7, both components 42 and 58 of the conductive layer of Hung are formed over gate electrode 40 of Hung; as such, the conductive layer of Hung is considered to be ‘on’ the gate electrode), the conductive layer extending from a position below a top surface of the metal gate structure (“a top surface” being the upper surface of 4011 within Hung’s components 22, 24 which directly contacts component 58; see annotated copy of Fig. 7, below. Further, as seen in Fig. 7, the bottommost portion of component 42 is below the cited top surface of the metal gate structure) to a position above the top surface of the metal gate structure (as seen in Fig. 7, the topmost portion of component 42 is above the cited top surface of the metal gate structure), the conductive layer includes at least the first metal (“low-resistance metal layer 42 may include . . . titanium aluminum (TiAl)”; ¶ 0020) and a second metal (titanium) different from the first metal; and
a gate contact (“metal layer 60” (¶ 0024) above Hung’s components 22, 24 shown in Fig. 7) disposed on the conductive layer (see Fig. 7),
wherein in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to a lengthwise direction of the metal gate structure (the lengthwise direction being considered as the left-to-right direction in Fig. 1) the gate dielectric layer includes a first sidewall (sidewall furthest along the down direction in Fig. 1) and a second sidewall (sidewall furthest along the up direction in Fig. 1) opposing the first sidewall, wherein the gate dielectric layer comprises a same dielectric material extending continuously from the first sidewall to the second sidewall, wherein in the cross-sectional view laterally the conductive layer is fully between the first and second sidewalls of the gate dielectric layer (as no portion extends past the first and second sidewalls, the conductive layer is fully between the sidewalls).
Regarding claim 4, Hung discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, as discussed in the alternative rejection of claim 1, above. Hung further discloses wherein the metal gate structure includes a capping layer (“high-k dielectric layer 38”12 (¶ 0018)) interposing the gate dielectric layer and the gate electrode, and wherein the conductive layer covers a top surface of the capping layer (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 21, Hung discloses wherein in the cross-sectional view a maximum width of the conductive layer is less than a maximum width of the metal gate structure (as the dielectric layer of the metal gate structure extends past the conductive features).
Alternatively regarding claim 113, Hung discloses a semiconductor structure (Fig. 1 of Hung; “FIG. 1 illustrates a top view of a semiconductor device” (¶ 0008 of Hung, emphasis added)), comprising:
a metal gate structure14 (a combination of (1) “work function metal layer 40” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24”15 (¶ 0018) shown in Fig. 7 which is a “cross-section [of the] semiconductor device . . . in FIG. 1” (¶ 0009); (2) “a high-k dielectric layer 38” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) also shown in Fig. 7; and (3) “gate dielectric layer 26” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) also shown in Fig. 7) including a gate dielectric layer (26) and a gate electrode (40), the gate electrode including at least a first metal (the first metal being aluminum (“work function metal layer 40 . . . may include titanium aluminide (TiAl)”; ¶ 0020 of Hung));
a conductive layer16 (a combination of (1) “the low-resistance metal layer 42” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) shown in Fig. 7 and (2) “barrier layer 58” which is formed of conductive metal (¶ 0024) over Hung’s gate structures 22, 24 shown in Fig. 7) formed on the gate electrode (as seen in Fig. 7, both components 42 and 58 of the conductive layer of Hung are formed over gate electrode 40 of Hung; as such, the conductive layer of Hung is considered to be ‘on’ the gate electrode), the conductive layer extending from a position below a top surface of the metal gate structure (“a top surface” being the upper surface of 4017 within Hung’s components 22, 24 which directly contacts component 58; see annotated copy of Fig. 7, below. Further, as seen in Fig. 7, the bottommost portion of component 42 is below the cited top surface of the metal gate structure) to a position above the top surface of the metal gate structure (as seen in Fig. 7, the topmost portion of component 42 is above the cited top surface of the metal gate structure), the conductive layer includes at least the first metal and a second metal different from the first metal (a combination of copper and aluminum; “low-resistance metal layer 42 may include copper (Cu), aluminum (Al) . . . or any combination thereof”18; ¶ 0020); and
a gate contact (“metal layer 60” (¶ 0024) above Hung’s components 22, 24 shown in Fig. 7) disposed on the conductive layer (see Fig. 7),
wherein in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to a lengthwise direction of the metal gate structure (the lengthwise direction being considered as the left-to-right direction in Fig. 1) the gate dielectric layer includes a first sidewall (sidewall furthest along the down direction in Fig. 1) and a second sidewall (sidewall furthest along the up direction in Fig. 1) opposing the first sidewall, wherein the gate dielectric layer comprises a same dielectric material extending continuously from the first sidewall to the second sidewall, wherein in the cross-sectional view laterally the conductive layer is fully between the first and second sidewalls of the gate dielectric layer (as no portion extends past the first and second sidewalls, the conductive layer is fully between the sidewalls).
Regarding claim 6, Hung discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, as discussed in the second alternative rejection of claim 1 above. Hung further discloses that the first metal is aluminum (see discussion of the first metal in the second alternative rejection of claim 1, above) and that the second metal is copper (see discussion of the second metal in the second alternative rejection of claim 1, above).
Alternatively regarding claim 1, Hung discloses a semiconductor structure (Fig. 1 of Hung; “FIG. 1 illustrates a top view of a semiconductor device” (¶ 0008 of Hung, emphasis added)), comprising:
a metal gate structure19 (a combination of (1) “work function metal layer 40” within “gate structure[s] 22 24”20 (¶ 0018) shown in Fig. 7 which is a “cross-section [of the] semiconductor device . . . in FIG. 1” (¶ 0009) and (2) “a high-k dielectric layer 38” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) also shown in Fig. 7) including a gate dielectric layer (“high-k dielectric layer 38”21 (¶ 0018)) and a gate electrode (“metal layer 40”22 (¶ 0018)), the gate electrode including at least a first metal (the first metal being aluminum (“work function metal layer 40 . . . may include . . . tantalum aluminide (TaAl)”; ¶ 0020 of Hung));
a conductive layer23 (a combination of (1) “the low-resistance metal layer 42” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) shown in Fig. 7; (2) “barrier layer 58” which is formed of conductive metal (¶ 0024) over Hung’s gate structures 22, 24 shown in Fig. 7; and (3) the “optional barrier layer (not shown)” (¶ 0020)) formed on the gate electrode (as seen in Fig. 7, both components 42 and 58 of the conductive layer of Hung are formed over gate electrode 40 of Hung; as such, the conductive layer of Hung is considered to be ‘on’ the gate electrode), the conductive layer extending from a position below a top surface of the metal gate structure (“a top surface” being the upper surface of 4024 within Hung’s components 22, 24 which directly contacts component 58; see annotated copy of Fig. 7, below. Further, as seen in Fig. 7, the bottommost portion of component 42 is below the cited top surface of the metal gate structure) to a position above the top surface of the metal gate structure (as seen in Fig. 7, the topmost portion of component 42 is above the cited top surface of the metal gate structure), the conductive layer includes at least the first metal (“low-resistance metal layer 42 may include . . . titanium aluminum (TiAl)”; ¶ 0020) and a second metal (titanium) different from the first metal; and
a gate contact (“metal layer 60” (¶ 0024) above Hung’s components 22, 24 shown in Fig. 7) disposed on the conductive layer (see Fig. 7),
wherein in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to a lengthwise direction of the metal gate structure (the lengthwise direction being considered as the left-to-right direction in Fig. 1) the gate dielectric layer includes a first sidewall (sidewall furthest along the down direction in Fig. 1) and a second sidewall (sidewall furthest along the up direction in Fig. 1) opposing the first sidewall, wherein the gate dielectric layer comprises a same material extending continuously from the first sidewall to the second sidewall, wherein in the cross-sectional view laterally the conductive layer is fully between the first and second sidewalls of the gate dielectric layer (as no portion extends past the first and second sidewalls, the conductive layer is fully between the sidewalls).
Regarding claim 8, Hung discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, as discussed in the third alternative rejection of claim 1 above. Hung further discloses that the gate electrode includes a third metal (tantalum; as discussed in the second alternative rejection of claim 1, above, the gate electrode 40 of Hung comprises TaAl (¶ 0020 of Hung)) different from either the first metal or the second metal, and the conductive layer includes a center portion (42, which is the center of the alloy layer) rich of the first metal (as discussed in the second alternative rejection of claim 1, above, component 42 comprises TiAl, which is 50% aluminum which is interpreted as being ‘rich’ of aluminum) and a side portion (the optional barrier layer is formed between components 40 and 42 in Fig. 7 (¶ 0020) and, therefore, forms the side of the conductive layer) rich of the third metal (¶ 0020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 2018/0174970 A1; hereinafter Hung) as applied to claim 125, above, and further in view of Lei et al. (US 2013/0221445 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hung discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, as discussed in the first rejection of claim 1 above. This mapping of Hung does not include a capping layer as claimed. However, it was well known in the art to form a capping layer (“high-k dielectric cap layer”, ¶ 0024 of Lei) on high-k dielectric layers.
There was a benefit to forming capping layers in that it serves as an effective aluminum barrier (¶ 0024 of Lei). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to form a capping layer as taught by Lei on the gate dielectric layer of Hung for this benefit.
In the resulting configuration, the capping layer interposes the gate dielectric layer and the gate electrode and the conductive layer covers a top surface of the capping layer (see Fig. 7 of Hung).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hung and Lei discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 4, as discussed above. Lei further discloses wherein the capping layer includes titanium silicon nitride (¶ 0024).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung as applied to claim 126, above.
Regarding claim 9, Hung discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, as discussed above. Hung further discloses that the conductive layer includes a top portion (portion of 58 above the metal gate structure as shown in Fig. 7 of Hung) above the top surface of the metal gate structure (see Fig. 7) and a bottom portion (portion of 58 below the aforementioned top surface of the metal gate structure in Fig. 7) below the top surface of the metal gate structure (per definition).
Hung does not explicitly disclose the thicknesses of these portions to determine if the fall within the claimed range.
However, there was a benefit to forming the entirety of component 58 of Hung to have a substantially uniform thickness in that component 58 (which, as discussed above, functions as a barrier) would be of sufficient thickness to effectively act as a barrier to all of the components to which it is adjacent while minimizing the amount of material used (i.e., no thin spots which would result in degraded protection and no overly thick spots which would waste material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date would have formed component 58 of Hung to have a uniform thickness for this benefit. As such, and as demonstrated in the annotated copy of Fig. 7, below, the ratio of a thickness of the top portion to a thickness of the bottom portion would be substantially 1:1; since 1:1 falls within the claimed range of about 1:8 to about 1.5:1, the range is anticipated (MPEP § 2131.03)).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hung et al. (US 2018/0174970 A1; hereinafter Hung) in view of Shek (US 2014/0349480 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Hung discloses a semiconductor structure (Fig. 1 of Hung; “FIG. 1 illustrates a top view of a semiconductor device” (¶ 0008 of Hung, emphasis added)), comprising:
a metal gate structure27 (a combination of (1) “work function metal layer 40” within “gate structure[s] 22 24”28 (¶ 0018) shown in Fig. 7 which is a “cross-section [of the] semiconductor device . . . in FIG. 1” (¶ 0009) and (2) “a high-k dielectric layer 38” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) also shown in Fig. 7) including a gate dielectric layer (“high-k dielectric layer 38”29 (¶ 0018)) and a gate electrode (“metal layer 40”30 (¶ 0018));
a conductive layer31 (a combination of (1) “the low-resistance metal layer 42” within “gate structure[s] 22, 24” (¶ 0018) shown in Fig. 7 and (2) the portion of “barrier layer 58” directly contacting the bottom surface of 60 which is formed of conductive metal (¶ 0024) over Hung’s gate structures 22, 24 shown in Fig. 7) deposited on and in contact with the gate electrode (as seen in Fig. 7, both components 42 and 58 of the conductive layer of Hung are formed over gate electrode 40 of Hung; as such, the conductive layer of Hung is considered to be ‘on’ and ‘in contact with’ the gate electrode), wherein the conductive layer has a wavy top surface (see Fig. 7), wherein the wavy top surface of the conductive layer is above a topmost surface of the metal gate structure (See Fig. 7); and
a gate contact (“metal layer 60” (¶ 0024) above Hung’s components 22, 24 shown in Fig. 7) landing on the wavy top surface of the conductive layer (see Fig. 7), wherein a bottom surface of the gate contact is above a topmost surface of the conductive layer (see Fig. 7).
Hung does not disclose an interlayer dielectric layer disposed on the conductive layer and interfacing with sidewalls of the gate contact.
Shek, in the same field of endeavor, discloses forming an interlayer dielectric layer (“dielectric barrier layer 168” in Fig. 1F, ¶ 0035) over conductive layers (“cobalt containing layer 166” in Fig. 1F, ¶ 0034). There was a benefit to forming interlayer dielectric layers in that it acts as a barrier which protects the underlying components (“barrier”, ¶ 0035). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to form an interlayer dielectric layer on the conductive layer and interfacing with sidewalls of the gate contact for this benefit.
Regarding claim 18, Hung in view of Shek discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 17, as discussed above. Hung further discloses wherein the conductive layer as a whole is laterally bounded by the gate dielectric layer (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Hung in view of Shek discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 17, as discussed above. Hung further discloses wherein the conductive layer includes a first metal (the first metal being aluminum, “low-resistance metal layer 42 may include . . . titanium aluminum (TiAl)”; ¶ 0020) and a second metal (aluminum) different from the first metal, and wherein the gate electrode includes the first metal and is substantially free of the second metal (“zirconium aluminide”, ¶ 0020).
Regarding claim 20, Hung in view of Shek discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 17, as discussed above. Hung further discloses wherein the conductive layer extends vertically from a position below the topmost surface of the metal gate structure to a position above the topmost surface of the metal gate structure (See Fig. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not disclose a semiconductor structure which satisfies all of the limitations of Applicant’s claim 11 which requires a non-conductive residue within the conductive layer wherein a concentration of the non-conductive residue in the conductive layer increases in a direction towards the gate electrode. Hung, the closest prior art of record, discloses a semiconductor structure which satisfies claim 1 (see any of the rejections of claim 1, above) but the conductive layer does not include a non-conductive residue, let alone a non-conductive residue in such a way that the concentration of the non-conductive residue increases in a direction toward the gate electrode. Further, it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to include such a non-conductive residue in the conductive layer of Hung as it would increase the complexity of the fabrication process and require the inclusion of additional materials.
Claims 12-16 depend from claim 11 and are allowed based on this dependency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues as to what must be considered the lengthwise direction of the metal gate of Hung. This argument is not persuasive as there is no requirement that the “lengthwise direction” be along the longest side of a component.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of newly cited prior art reference Shek.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A CULBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2815
1 The Examiner notes that ‘structure’, as the term is used by Applicant, does not require that it consists of only a single component but, instead, may consist of multiple distinct components. Further, the Examiner notes that “metal gate structure” does not require the structure to consist only of metals, as claim 1 requires the “metal gate structure” to also comprise a dielectric layer.
2 Figs. 1 and 7 of Hung show gate structures 20, 22, and 24 which have distinct configurations. This Office action will use gate structure 20 for reference.
3 Dielectric layer 38 of Hung is considered a “gate dielectric layer” as it is a dielectric layer in the gate structure between the gate electrode and underlying substrate 12 of Hung.
4 Although the text of Hung does not use the term ‘electrode’, metal layer 40 of Hung is a conductor within the gate structure used to establish electrical contact with the underlying substrate 12 of Hung and is, therefore, considered a “gate electrode”.
5 The Examiner notes that a “layer” is interpreted as allowing for the inclusion of a plurality of sub-layers.
6 The Examiner notes that this surface is a surface of an object that faces upwards and would be seen if looking down from directly above and, therefore, may be considered a “top surface”, even though it is not a “topmost surface”. Were Applicant to amend the claim to require this surface to be a “topmost surface”, this rejection would be overcome.
7This specific rejection of claim 10 will hereinafter be referenced as the “alternative rejection of claim 10”.
8 The Examiner notes that ‘structure’, as the term is used by Applicant, does not require that it consists of only a single component but, instead, may consist of multiple distinct components. Further, the Examiner notes that “metal gate structure” does not require the structure to consist only of metals, as, for example, claim 1 requires the “metal gate structure” to also comprise a dielectric layer.
9 Figs. 1 and 7 of Hung show gate structures 20, 22, and 24 which have distinct configurations. This Office action will use gate structure 20 for reference.
10 The Examiner notes that a “layer” is interpreted as allowing for the inclusion of a plurality of sub-layers.
11 The Examiner notes that this surface is a surface of an object that faces upwards and would be seen if looking down from directly above and, therefore, may be considered a “top surface”, even though it is not a “topmost surface”. Were Applicant to amend the claim to require this surface to be a “topmost surface”, this rejection would be overcome.
12 Dielectric layer 38 of Hung is considered a “capping layer” as it forms a cap on the gate dielectric layer of Hung.
13This specific rejection of claim 10 will hereinafter be referenced as the “alternative rejection of claim 10”.
14 The Examiner notes that ‘structure’, as the term is used by Applicant, does not require that it consists of only a single component but, instead, may consist of multiple distinct components. Further, the Examiner notes that “metal gate structure” does not require the structure to consist only of metals, as, for example, claim 1 requires the “metal gate structure” to also comprise a dielectric layer.
15 Figs. 1 and 7 of Hung show gate structures 20, 22, and 24 which have distinct configurations. This Office action will use gate structure 20 for reference.
16 The Examiner notes that a “layer” is interpreted as allowing for the inclusion of a plurality of sub-layers.
17 The Examiner notes that this surface is a surface of an object that faces upwards and would be seen if looking down from directly above and, therefore, may be considered a “top surface”, even though it is not a “topmost surface”. Were Applicant to amend the claim to require this surface to be a “topmost surface”, this rejection would be overcome.
18 Although Hung does not explicitly spell out a combination of copper and aluminum, a person of ordinary skill in the art, reading Hung, would at once envisage the claimed combination. (MPEP 2131.02(III) citing Kennametal, Inc. v. Ingersoll Cutting Tool Co., 780 F.3d 1376, 1381, 114 USPQ2d 1250, 1254 (Fed. Cir. 2015). “Kennametal addresses whether the disclosure of a limited number of combination possibilities discloses one of the possible combinations.” (MPEP 2131.02(III)) In Kennametal, the prior art disclosed five binding agents and three coating techniques, resulting in 3x5 = 15 possible combinations, one of which read upon the claim limitation. Similar to the facts of Kennametal, Hung discloses only 15 possible combinations for the alloy layer 42 (four individual options and “any combination thereof” yields fifteen total possible combinations which are, specifically, the four individual compositions of Cu, Al, TiAl, or CoWP (¶ 0020 of Hung); the six compositions consisting of exactly two materials of the four possible materials; the four compositions consisting of exactly three of the materials; and the one composition which consists of all four materials). As such, the disclosure of Hung anticipates a combination of copper and aluminum.
19 The Examiner notes that ‘structure’, as the term is used by Applicant, does not require that it consists of only a single component but, instead, may consist of multiple distinct components. Further, the Examiner notes that “metal gate structure” does not require the structure to consist only of metals, as claim 1 requires the “metal gate structure” to also comprise a dielectric layer.
20 Figs. 1 and 7 of Hung show gate structures 20, 22, and 24 which have distinct configurations. This Office action will use gate structure 20 for reference.
21 Dielectric layer 38 of Hung is considered a “gate dielectric layer” as it is a dielectric layer in the gate structure between the gate electrode and underlying substrate 12 of Hung.
22 Although the text of Hung does not use the term ‘electrode’, metal layer 40 of Hung is a conductor within the gate structure used to establish electrical contact with the underlying substrate 12 of Hung and is, therefore, considered a “gate electrode”.
23 The Examiner notes that a “layer” is interpreted as allowing for the inclusion of a plurality of sub-layers.
24 The Examiner notes that this surface is a surface of an object that faces upwards and would be seen if looking down from directly above and, therefore, may be considered a “top surface”, even though it is not a “topmost surface”. Were Applicant to amend the claim to require this surface to be a “topmost surface”, this rejection would be overcome.
25 i.e., the first rejection of claim 1, not either of the alternative rejections.
26 i.e., the first rejection of claim 1, not either of the alternative rejections.
27 The Examiner notes that ‘structure’, as the term is used by Applicant, does not require that it consists of only a single component but, instead, may consist of multiple distinct components. Further, the Examiner notes that “metal gate structure” does not require the structure to consist only of metals, as claim 1 requires the “metal gate structure” to also comprise a dielectric layer.
28 Figs. 1 and 7 of Hung show gate structures 20, 22, and 24 which have distinct configurations. This Office action will use gate structure 20 for reference.
29 Dielectric layer 38 of Hung is considered a “gate dielectric layer” as it is a dielectric layer in the gate structure between the gate electrode and underlying substrate 12 of Hung.
30 Although the text of Hung does not use the term ‘electrode’, metal layer 40 of Hung is a conductor within the gate structure used to establish electrical contact with the underlying substrate 12 of Hung and is, therefore, considered a “gate electrode”.
31 The Examiner notes that a “layer” is interpreted as allowing for the inclusion of a plurality of sub-layers.