DETAILED ACTION
Specification
1. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 7, “the gate source region” should be changed to “the epitaxial source region” because “the gate source region” lacks of antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1 – 7, 16 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (10177151).
With regard to claim 1, Wang et al. disclose a semiconductor device (for example, see fig. 18), comprising:
a fin (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) over a semiconductor substrate (101);
an epitaxial source region (referred to as “1303A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; for example, see column 7, lines 50 - 54) and an epitaxial drain region (referred to as “1303B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; for example, see column 7, lines 50 - 54) in the fin (A);
a gate structure (referred to as “GT” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) extending over the fin (A) between the epitaxial source region (1303A) and the epitaxial drain region (1303B), the gate structure (GT) comprising a gate electrode material (referred to as “1616A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) over a gate dielectric material (referred to as “GD” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; or see column 8, lines 36 – 42 discloses a gate electrode formed on a gate dielectric layer);
a first doped region (referred to as “D” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; wherein the doped region D including P-Well and N-Well regions) of the fin (A) adjacent the epitaxial source region (1303A) opposite the gate structure (GT), wherein the epitaxial source region (1303A) extends into the first doped region (D);
a control structure (referred to as “CT” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; wherein this transistor acts as the active control structure within a larger control circuit. By using a tiny input signal at one terminal to regulate a much larger power flow through its other terminals. It functions as electronic switch or an analog signal controller. Although the applicant uses terms different to those of Wang et al. to label/describe the claimed invention, this does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. The use different terminology to describe the plurality of elements that constitute an integrated circuit as this is just a writing style and the way in which a structural limitation is expressed does not affect the configuration of the described elements.) extending over the first doped region (D), the control structure (CT) comprising the gate electrode material (1616A) over the gate dielectric material (referred to as “GD” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; or see column 8, lines 36 – 42 discloses a gate electrode formed on a gate dielectric layer); and
an epitaxial resistor region (referred to as “1303C” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; wherein the epitaxial region 1303C, having a resistance, functions as an epitaxial resistor region) in the fin (A), wherein the epitaxial resistor region (1303C) extends into the first doped region (D).
With regard to claim 2, Wang et al. disclose a semiconductor device (for example, see fig. 18), comprising:
a fin (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) over a semiconductor substrate (101);
an epitaxial source region (referred to as “1303A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; for example, see column 7, lines 50 - 54) and an epitaxial drain region (referred to as “1303B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; for example, see column 7, lines 50 - 54) in the fin (A);
a gate structure (referred to as “GT” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) extending over the fin (A) between the epitaxial source region (1303A) and the epitaxial drain region (1303B), the gate structure (GT) comprising a gate electrode material (referred to as “1616A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) over a gate dielectric material (referred to as “GD” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; or see column 8, lines 36 – 42 discloses a gate electrode formed on a gate dielectric layer);
a first doped region (referred to as “D” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; wherein the doped region D including P-Well and N-Well regions) of the fin (A) adjacent the epitaxial source region (1303A) opposite the gate structure (GT), wherein the epitaxial source region (1303A) extends into the first doped region (D);
a control structure (referred to as “CT” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; wherein this transistor acts as the active control structure within a larger control circuit. By using a tiny input signal at one terminal to regulate a much larger power flow through its other terminals. It functions as electronic switch or an analog signal controller. Although the applicant uses terms different to those of Wang et al. to label/describe the claimed invention, this does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. The use different terminology to describe the plurality of elements that constitute an integrated circuit as this is just a writing style and the way in which a structural limitation is expressed does not affect the configuration of the described elements.) extending over the first doped region (D), the control structure (CT) comprising the gate electrode material (1616A) over the gate dielectric material (referred to as “GD” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; or see column 8, lines 36 – 42 discloses a gate electrode formed on a gate dielectric layer); and
an epitaxial resistor region (referred to as “1303C” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; wherein the epitaxial region 1303C, having regions 1303, 1808 with a resistance, functions as an epitaxial resistor region) in the fin (A), wherein the epitaxial resistor region (1303C) extends into the first doped region (D);
wherein the epitaxial resistor region (1303C) is free of contacts.
With regard to claim 3, Wang et al. disclose a contact (a contact 1616 or a contact 1808) on (on a top or on a sidewall) the control structure (CT).
With regard to claim 4, Wang et al. disclose the first doped region (D) comprises N-well region having n-type and the epitaxial source region (1303A) is n-type.
With regard to claim 5, Wang et al. disclose a second doped region (a top region of PW region functions as a second doped region) of the fin (A), wherein the gate structure (GT) extends over the second doped region (the top region of PW region functions as the second doped region).
With regard to claim 6, Wang et al. disclose the epitaxial source region (1303A) extends into the second doped region (the top region of PW region functions as the second doped region).
With regard to claim 7, Wang et al. disclose a distance between the epitaxial source region (1303A) and the epitaxial resistor region (1303C) is greater than a distance between the epitaxial source region (1303A) and the epitaxial drain region (1303B).
With regard to claim 16, Wang et al. disclose a device (for example, see fig. 18), comprising:
a semiconductor fin (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) protruding from a substrate (101);
an n-type channel region (referred to as “1218A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; wherein the channel region 1218A, formed between the N-type source/drain regions 1303, functions as n-type channel region) in the fin (A);
a p-type channel region (referred to as “1218B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; wherein the channel region 1218B, formed between the P-type source/drain regions 1303, functions as p-type channel region) in the fin (A), wherein the p-type channel region (1218A) is adjacent the n-type channel region (1218B);
first gate structure (referred to as “G1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) over the n-type channel region (1218A) and a second gate structure (referred to as “G2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) over the p-type channel region (1218B);
a first epitaxial region (referred to as “1303A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) in the fin (A) adjacent a first side of the first gate structure (G1);
a second epitaxial region (referred to as “1303B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) in the fin (A) adjacent a second side of the first gate structure (G1) and adjacent a first side of the second gate structure (referred to as “G2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below); and
a third epitaxial region (referred to as “1303C” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) in the fin (A) adjacent a second side of the second gate structure (G2).
With regard to claim 17, Wang et al. disclose a device (for example, see fig. 18), comprising:
a semiconductor fin (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) protruding from a substrate (101);
an n-type channel region (referred to as “1218A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; wherein the channel region 1218A, formed between the N-type source/drain regions 1303, functions as n-type channel region) in the fin (A);
a p-type channel region (referred to as “1218B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below; wherein the channel region 1218B, formed between the P-type source/drain regions 1303, functions as p-type channel region) in the fin (A), wherein the p-type channel region (1218A) is adjacent the n-type channel region (1218B);
first gate structure (referred to as “G1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) over the n-type channel region (1218A) and a second gate structure (referred to as “G2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) over the p-type channel region (1218B);
a first epitaxial region (referred to as “1303A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) in the fin (A) adjacent a first side of the first gate structure (G1);
a second epitaxial region (referred to as “1303B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) in the fin (A) adjacent a second side of the first gate structure (G1) and adjacent a first side of the second gate structure (referred to as “G2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below); and
a third epitaxial region (referred to as “1303C” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18 below) in the fin (A) adjacent a second side of the second gate structure (G2).
wherein the first epitaxial region (1303A), the second epitaxial region (1303B), and the third epitaxial region (1303C) are n-type.
With regard to claim 18, Wang et al. disclose a first epitaxial contact (a contact 1808, is directly contact with the first epitaxial region 1303A, functions as a first epitaxial contact) on the first epitaxial region (1303A).
With regard to claim 19, Wang et al. disclose a dummy gate structure (for example, see column 3, lines 6, 7, column 5, lines 35, 36) over the n-type channel region.
With regard to claim 20, Wang et al. disclose the n-type channel region (1218A wherein the n-type channel region 1218A formed in a middle portion of the NW region) is longer than the p-type channel region (1218B wherein the p-type channel region 1218B formed in a top portion of the PW region).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 9 – 11, 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (10049938) in view of Rajashekhar et al. (12219776).
With regard to claim 9, Wang et al. (10049938) disclose a device (for example, see fig. 18A), comprising:
a semiconductor fin (129) protruding from a substrate (50);
a first epitaxial region (referred to as “34A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18A below) in the semiconductor fin (129);
a second epitaxial region (referred to as “34B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18A below) in the semiconductor fin (129);
a first channel region (referred to as “66A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18A below) in the semiconductor fin (129), wherein the first channel region (66A) extends from the first epitaxial region (34A) to the second epitaxial region (34B);
a third epitaxial region (34C) in the semiconductor fin (129);
a second channel region (referred to as “66B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18A below) in the semiconductor fin (129), wherein the second channel region (66B) extends from the second epitaxial region (34B) to the third epitaxial region (34C);
a first gate structure (referred to as “102A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18A below) on the first channel region (66A); and
a second gate structure (referred to as “102B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 18A below) on the second channel region (66B).
Wang et al. (10049938) do not clearly disclose the second channel region, the second region, and the third region have the same doping type.
However, Rajashekhar et al. discloses the second channel region (45), the second region (42), and the third region (48) have the same doping type. (for example, see column 21, lines 50 – 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Wang et al. (10049938)’s device to have the second channel region, the second region, and the third region have the same doping type as taught by Rajashekhar et al. in order to enhance an electron mobility efficiency of the channel region for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 10, Wang et al. (10049938) disclose the first epitaxial region (34A) can be an epitaxial drain region and the second epitaxial region (34B) can be an epitaxial source region.
With regard to claim 11, Wang et al. (10049938) disclose the second channel region (66B) made of germanium is conductive.
With regard to claim 13, Wang et al. (10049938) disclose the doping type of the second channel region is p-type. (p-well is formed in the epitaxial fins 66. Therefore, there is inherently the doping type of the second channel region is p-type; for example, column 5, lines 11, 12).
With regard to claim 14, Wang et al. (10049938) disclose the first epitaxial region (34A) and the second epitaxial region (34B) are separated by a first distance, and wherein the second epitaxial region (34B) and the third epitaxial region (34C) are separated by the first distance.
With regard to claim 15, Wang et al. (10049938) disclose the second gate structure (102B) is a dummy gate structure. (for example, see column 12, line 67).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 8, 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8, 12 are allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as an epitaxial dummy region in the fin, wherein the epitaxial dummy region extends into the first doped region as recited in claim 8, a current path through the second channel region, the second epitaxial region, and the third epitaxial region has a resistance in the range of 150 ohms to 2000 ohms as recited in claim 12.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812