DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24, 27-30, 31, 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24/27/29/31/35 recites the limitation "the computation module". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 is rejected at least because it is a dependent claim of claim 27.
Claim 30 is rejected at least because it is a dependent claim of claim 29.
Claim 36-37 is rejected at least because it is a dependent claim of claim 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa et al. (Patent 8482950), hereinafter as Kitagawa.
Regarding claim 21, Kitagawa teaches a computing device, comprising:
a memory array comprising a plurality of memory cells grouped in rows and columns of memory cells, each of the memory cells comprising a memory unit adapted to store data, and a read port having a read-enable input and an output (Fig 4, each cell has a WL as read-enable input, and outputted to a BL);
a plurality of read-enable lines, each connected to, and adapted to transmit an input signal to, the read-enable inputs of the read ports of a respective row of memory cells (Fig 4, word lines as read-enable lines, each WL for a row);
a plurality of data-output lines, each connected to the outputs of the read ports of a respective column of memory cells (Fig 4, BLs);
an output interface comprising an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) having a plurality of analog inputs, each with a respective input capacitor; and
a plurality of switching devices adapted to (Fig 9, CSL 51 for each BL and selection gates 171s): connect the data-output lines to respective non-overlapping plurality of subsets of the input capacitors, each of the plurality of subsets having a respective total capacitance, at least two of the plurality of subsets of input capacitors having different total capacitance from each other, and connect the plurality of subsets of capacitors to each other in parallel (it is obvious the different combination of Csel<0-3> for different selected BL can have different capacitance (with parallelly connected 171s)); except capacitors are arranged non-overlapping, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have each BL has the same arrangement as in Fig 9, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 22, Kitagawa teaches an input interface connected to the plurality of read-enable lines and configured to generate a plurality of pulses on each of at least subset of the plurality of read-enable lines (Fig 4, row decoder and wl driver).
Regarding claim 25, Kitagawa teaches a digital read/write (RW) interface connected to the memory array and adapted to read and write data from and to the memory cells (Fig 4).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa, in view of Hecht (PGPUB 20190228825), hereinafter as Hecht.
Regarding claim 26, Kitagawa teaches a device as rejection of claim 21,
But expressly the memory cell is a SRAM cell,
Hecht teaches each of the memory cells is an eight- transistor static random-access memory (SRAM) cell having a six-transistor SRAM memory unit having two inverters reverse-coupled to each other and two access transistors, each switchably connecting a respective junction between the two invertors to a respective data line through which data to be written to the six-transistor SRAM memory unit is transmitted, the read port having a first and second transistors, each having a control electrode and a main current path, the control electrode being adapted to control current flow through the current path the main paths being serially connected between the data-output line and a voltage reference point, the control electrode of one of the first transistor being connected to the read-enable line for the memory cell, and the control electrode of one of the first transistor being connected to a junction between the two inverters (Fig 4, SRAM cell matches the circuit above).
Since Hecht and Kitagawa are both from the same field of memory device, the purpose disclosed by Hecht would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Kitagawa.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use six transistor SRAM as in Hecht into the device of Kitagwa for the purpose of enabling a memory device.
Double Patenting
Claim 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11322195 or claim 1-20 of patent 12073869. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant app
11322195(‘5)/12073869(‘9)
Or
‘5:
Claim 21/32
‘9
Claim 22,
‘5: claim 8
23/34
‘5: claim 9
24/35
‘5: claim 1
25
‘5: claim 4
26/40
‘5: claim 5
27/28/37/38
‘5: claim 7
29/30
‘5: claim 12
31/36
‘5: claim 6
33/39
‘5: claim 7, 10
Conclusion
/MIN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827