DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention III (claims 13-20) in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged. Newly added claims 21-32 correspond to the elected invention and have been examined with invention III.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 14, 15, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27, 29, 31, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakasuji et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 5,894,132.
Regarding claim 13, Nakasuji discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate W on a chuck 16; increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]).
Regarding claim 14, Nakasuji discloses that moving the chuck comprises moving the chuck along a horizontal direction (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]).
Regarding claim 15, Nakasuji discloses moving the chuck in a first direction during a first time period; and moving the chuck in a second direction during a second time period, wherein the first and second directions are opposite to each other (“The wafer W is scanned in either the -X or +X directions at a speed” [col. 5; lines 43-45]).
Regarding claim 19, Nakasuji discloses exposing the substrate to a particle beam generated from the ion source with a substantially constant irradiance (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]).
Regarding claim 21, Nakasuji discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate W on a chuck 16; tilting an angle between a normal of the substrate and an outlet of an ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66]); and moving the chuck to expose first and second portions of the substrate to the outlet at different time periods (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]).
Regarding claim 22, Nakasuji discloses that tilting the angle comprises: increasing a first separation between the first portion of the substrate and the outlet; and decreasing a second separation between the second portion of the substrate and the outlet, wherein the first separation is greater than the second separation (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source).
Regarding claim 23, Nakasuji discloses moving the chuck along a horizontal direction, and wherein the horizontal direction is a horizontal projection of a direction from the second portion of the substrate to the first portion of the substrate (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]).
Regarding claim 24, Nakasuji discloses placing the first and second portions of the substrate under the outlet (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61] – see also figure 1).
Regarding claim 27, Nakasuji discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate W on a chuck 16; adjusting an orientation of the substrate with respect to an ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66]); adjusting a separation between the substrate and the ion source (“The tilt of the surface of the wafer W with respect to the optical axis AX is adjusted by independently extending or retracting the three actuators 19A, 19B, 19C” [col. 5; lines 38-40]); and moving the chuck to expose first and second portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]).
Regarding claim 29, Nakasuji discloses that tilting the angle comprises: increasing a first separation between the first portion of the substrate and the outlet; and decreasing a second separation between the second portion of the substrate and the outlet, wherein the first separation is greater than the second separation (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source).
Regarding claim 31, Nakasuji discloses moving the chuck in a first direction during a first time period; and moving the chuck in a second direction during a second time period, wherein the first and second directions are opposite to each other (“The wafer W is scanned in either the -X or +X directions at a speed” [col. 5; lines 43-45]).
Regarding claim 32, Nakasuji discloses that moving the chuck comprises moving the chuck along a horizontal direction (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]).
Claim(s) 13, 14, 15, 16, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, 31, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dobashi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0335568.
Regarding claim 13, Dobashi discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate on a chuck (“the substrate (e.g., substrate 200) is loaded on a substrate holder of a scanning apparatus” [0048]); increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086]).
Regarding claim 14, Dobashi discloses that moving the chuck comprises moving the chuck along a horizontal direction (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086]).
Regarding claim 15, Dobashi discloses that moving the chuck comprises: moving the chuck in a first direction during a first time period; and moving the chuck in a second direction during a second time period, wherein the first and second directions are opposite to each other (“The scan trajectory 1020, in FIG. 10, is a horizontal raster starting at the top left of the scan area 1010 and comprises a family of horizontal traces indexed to cover the scan area from top-to-bottom. The scan area has an extra width margin which may be used to ramp up the wafer velocity from zero at the beginning of a trace and ramp it down to zero before the return trace” [0078] – see also figure 10).
Regarding claim 16, Dobashi discloses that moving the chuck comprises: moving the chuck horizontally to a first position to expose the first portion of the substrate to the ion source without exposing the second portion of the substrate to the ion source; and moving the chuck horizontally to a second position to expose the first and second portions of the substrate to the ion source (“The scan trajectory 1020, in FIG. 10, is a horizontal raster starting at the top left of the scan area 1010 and comprises a family of horizontal traces indexed to cover the scan area from top-to-bottom. The scan area has an extra width margin which may be used to ramp up the wafer velocity from zero at the beginning of a trace and ramp it down to zero before the return trace” [0078] – see also figure 10).
Regarding claim 21, Dobashi discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate on a chuck (“the substrate (e.g., substrate 200) is loaded on a substrate holder of a scanning apparatus” [0048]); tilting an angle between a normal of the substrate and an outlet of an ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086]); and moving the chuck to expose first and second portions of the substrate to the outlet at different time periods (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086]).
Regarding claim 22, Dobashi discloses that tilting the angle comprises: increasing a first separation between the first portion of the substrate and the outlet; and decreasing a second separation between the second portion of the substrate and the outlet, wherein the first separation is greater than the second separation (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source).
Regarding claim 23, Dobashi discloses that moving the chuck comprises moving the chuck along a horizontal direction, and wherein the horizontal direction is a horizontal projection of a direction from the second portion of the substrate to the first portion of the substrate (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086]).
Regarding claim 24, Dobashi discloses that moving the chuck comprises placing the first and second portions of the substrate under the outlet (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086] – since the movement is relative to the gas cluster ion beam, movement must be relative to the outlet through which the gas cluster ion beam is irradiated).
Regarding claim 27, Dobashi discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate on a chuck (“the substrate (e.g., substrate 200) is loaded on a substrate holder of a scanning apparatus” [0048]); adjusting an orientation of the substrate with respect to an ion source (“Although the gas cluster ion beam is fixed, the directional GCIB etch may be performed in any desired direction in the the pattern by rotating the substrate 200, or equivalently, rotating the x-y axes about the z-axis by an angle, ϕ, referred to as the twist angle. For example, in FIGS. 3A and 3B, substrate 200 has been rotated by ϕ=45° relative to the orientation ϕ=0°, shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B. It is noted that the orientation ϕ=0° has been selected as the orientation for which the y-axis is coincident with the etch direction (the direction along which the GCIB etch would be progressing)” [0043]); adjusting a separation between the substrate and the ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086]); and moving the chuck to expose first and second portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086]).
Regarding claim 28, Dobashi discloses that adjusting the orientation of the substrate comprises rotating the chuck prior to moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate (“Although the gas cluster ion beam is fixed, the directional GCIB etch may be performed in any desired direction in the the pattern by rotating the substrate 200, or equivalently, rotating the x-y axes about the z-axis by an angle, ϕ, referred to as the twist angle” [0043]).
Regarding claim 29, Dobashi discloses that adjusting the separation between the substrate and the ion source comprises: increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and the ion source; and decreasing a second separation between the second portion of the substrate and the ion source, wherein the first separation is greater than the second separation (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source).
Regarding claim 31, Dobashi discloses that moving the chuck comprises: moving the chuck in a first direction during a first time period; and moving the chuck in a second direction during a second time period, wherein the first and second directions are opposite to each other (“The scan trajectory 1020, in FIG. 10, is a horizontal raster starting at the top left of the scan area 1010 and comprises a family of horizontal traces indexed to cover the scan area from top-to-bottom. The scan area has an extra width margin which may be used to ramp up the wafer velocity from zero at the beginning of a trace and ramp it down to zero before the return trace” [0078] – see also figure 10).
Regarding claim 32, Dobashi discloses moving the chuck comprises moving the chuck along a horizontal direction (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobashi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/033556 in view of Okamoto et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0351377.
Regarding claim 20, Dobashi discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure of applying substantially equal bias voltages to first and second portions of a grid structure disposed between the ion source and the chuck.
Okamoto discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate on a chuck (“a substrate holder 110 capable of holding a substrate 111 is provided so as to receive the ion beams radiated from the ion beam generator 100. The substrate holder 110 provided inside the processing chamber includes an ESC (Electrostatic Chuck) electrode 112 on the ion beam-incident side” [0022]); further comprising applying substantially equal bias voltages to first 115 and second 116 portions of a grid structure (“applying a DC voltage to the grid unit 109” [0026]) disposed between an ion source 100 and the chuck 110 (as illustrated in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dobashi with the grid structure of Okamoto in order to provide suitable extraction of ions from an ion source for downstream processing using the ion beam.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 18, 25, 26, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 17, Nakasuji et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 5,894,132 discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate W on a chuck 16; increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of deactivating the ion source while moving the chuck.
Dobashi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0335568 discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate on a chuck (“the substrate (e.g., substrate 200) is loaded on a substrate holder of a scanning apparatus” [0048]); increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of deactivating the ion source while moving the chuck.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, a method, comprising: increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source; decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source; and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods; further comprising: deactivating the ion source to stop providing a particle beam; rotating the chuck to adjust an orientation of the substrate; and activating the ion source to irradiate the substrate.
Regarding claim 18, Nakasuji et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 5,894,132 discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate W on a chuck 16; increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of deactivating the ion source while moving the chuck.
Dobashi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0335568 discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate on a chuck (“the substrate (e.g., substrate 200) is loaded on a substrate holder of a scanning apparatus” [0048]); increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of deactivating the ion source while moving the chuck.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, a method, comprising: increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source; decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source; and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods; further comprising: moving the chuck in a first direction during a first time period; deactivating the ion source to stop providing a particle beam; moving the chuck in a second direction during a second time period, wherein the first and second directions are opposite to each other; and activating the ion source to irradiate the substrate.
Regarding claim 25, Nakasuji et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 5,894,132 discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate W on a chuck 16; increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of moving the chuck with a velocity based on the angle between the normal of the substrate and the outlet of the ion source.
Dobashi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0335568 discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate on a chuck (“the substrate (e.g., substrate 200) is loaded on a substrate holder of a scanning apparatus” [0048]); increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of moving the chuck with a velocity based on the angle between the normal of the substrate and the outlet of the ion source.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, a method, comprising: tilting an angle between a normal of the substrate and an outlet of an ion source; and moving the chuck with a velocity based on the angle between the normal of the substrate and the outlet of the ion source to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods.
Regarding claim 26, Nakasuji et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 5,894,132 discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate W on a chuck 16; increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of deactivating the ion source while moving the chuck.
Dobashi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0335568 discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate on a chuck (“the substrate (e.g., substrate 200) is loaded on a substrate holder of a scanning apparatus” [0048]); increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of deactivating the ion source while moving the chuck.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, a method, comprising: tilting an angle between a normal of the substrate and an outlet of an ion source; and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods; further comprising: deactivating the ion source while moving the substrate under the outlet; rotating, via the chuck, the substrate; and activating the ion source to irradiate the rotated substrate.
Regarding claim 30, Nakasuji et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 5,894,132 discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate W on a chuck 16; increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The wafer may also be tilted with respect to the optical system” [col. 1; lines 64-66] – when a wafer is tilted, one side has a greater separation with respect to the ion source, and the other side has less separation with respect to the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“the first and second wafer stages 17 and 18 move the wafer W continuously in the X direction (the scan direction) while the mask patterns are transferred to the wafer W” [col. 5; lines 56-61]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of deactivating the ion source while moving the chuck.
Dobashi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0335568 discloses a method, comprising: loading a substrate on a chuck (“the substrate (e.g., substrate 200) is loaded on a substrate holder of a scanning apparatus” [0048]); increasing a first separation between a first portion of the substrate and an ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); decreasing a second separation between a second portion of the substrate and the ion source (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 [0086] – tilting results in a first portion being closer to the ion source and a second portion being further from the ion source); and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods (“The scanning apparatus 1200 may tilt the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) relative to the gas cluster ion beam, rotate the plane of the major surface, and move the substrate holder 1220 (and the substrate 1240) along an in-plane scan trajectory to expose the substrate 1240 to the gas cluster ion beam. The scan trajectory is in a plane, referred to as the scanning plane. The scanning apparatus 1200 is designed to maintain the scanning plane roughly in parallel with the major surface of the substrate 1240” [0086]). However, there is no explicit disclosure of deactivating the ion source while moving the chuck.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, a method, comprising: adjusting an orientation of the substrate with respect to an ion source; adjusting a separation between the substrate and the ion source; and moving the chuck to expose different portions of the substrate to the ion source at different time periods; wherein moving the chuck comprises deactivating the ion source while moving the chuck.
Conclusion
/JASON L MCCORMACK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2881