DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 7/24/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), or alternatively 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), as being anticipated by Dewey et al. (U.S. 2020/0105751 A1; “Dewey”).
Regarding claim 2, Dewey discloses a device comprising:
An n-type transistor (208, Fig. 2a) ([0027]) comprising:
A first channel region (lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) ([0027]);
A first dielectric layer (212 on top of lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) over and contacting the first channel region (lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) ([0027]);
A second dielectric layer (212 on bottom of lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) under and contacting the first channel region (lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) ([0027]);
A first gate stack (204, 201, Fig. 2a) ([0027]) comprising:
A first portion (204 and 201 on top of lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) over and contacting the first dielectric layer (212 on top of lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) ([0027]); and
A second portion (204 and 201 on bottom of lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) under and contacting the second dielectric layer (212 on bottom of lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) ([0027]); and
A third portion (220, Fig. 2a) contacting a sidewall of the first channel region (lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) ([0033]).
Examiner notes that “a third portion” is not indented under “a first gate stack” in the claims so “a third portion” is not limited to a part of the “a first gate stack.”
Regarding claim 3, Dewey discloses the first gate stack (204, 201, Fig. 2a) comprises: a gate dielectric (204, Fig. 2a) physically contacting the first dielectric layer (212 on top of lowermost 202, Fig. 2a), the second dielectric layer (212 on bottom of lowermost 202, Fig. 2a), and the first channel region (lowermost 202, Fig. 2a); and a gate electrode (201, Fig. 2a) over the gate dielectric (204, Fig. 2a), wherein the gate electrode (204, Fig. 2a) is spaced apart from the first dielectric layer (212 on top of lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) and the second dielectric layer (212 on bottom of lowermost 202, Fig. 2a) by the gate dielectric (204, Fig. 2a) ([0027]).
Regarding claim 10, Dewey discloses a dielectric isolation layer (207, Fig. 2a) underlying and in physical contact with a gate dielectric (204, Fig. 2a) of the first gate stack (204, 201, Fig. 2a).
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), or alternatively 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (U.S. 2020/0373300 A1; “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses a device comprising:
An n-type transistor ([0003]) comprising:
A first channel region (lowermost 110, Fig. 13A);
A first dielectric layer (402 on top of lowermost 110, Fig. 13A) over and contacting the first channel region (lowermost 110, Fig. 13A);
A second dielectric layer (402 below lowermost 110, Fig. 13A) under and contacting the first channel region (lowermost 110, Fig. 13A);
A first gate stack (1306, 1002, 1202, Fig. 13A) comprising:
A first portion (1002 on top of lowermost 110, Fig. 13A) over and contacting the first dielectric layer (402 on top of lowermost 110, Fig. 13A); and
A second portion (1002 below lowermost 110, Fig. 13A) under and contacting the second dielectric layer (402 below lowermost 110, Fig. 13A); and
A third portion (1310, 1312, Fig. 13A) contacting a sidewall of the first channel region (lowermost 110, Fig. 13A).
Examiner notes that “a third portion” is not indented under “a first gate stack” in the claims so “a third portion” is not limited to a part of the “a first gate stack.”
Regarding claim 9, Dewey discloses an inner spacer (1308, Fig. 13A) contacting the first portion (1002 on top of lowermost 110, Fig. 13A) of the first gate stack, wherein the inner spacer (1308, Fig. 13A) is further overlapping and contacting the first dielectric layer (402 on top of lowermost 110, Fig. 13A).
Double Patenting
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,170,323 B2.
Claim 12 corresponds to claim 17 of the ‘323 patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-21 are allowed.
Claim 19 contains allowable subject matter because of the limitation of each of the plurality of sandwich structures comprises: a first isolation layer; a semiconductor channel region over the first isolation layer; and a second isolation layer over the semiconductor channel region; a gate stack encircling the plurality of sandwich structures, wherein the gate stack comprises: a gate dielectric physically contacting sidewalls of the first isolation layer, the semiconductor channel region, and the second isolation layer, wherein the gate dielectric is spaced apart from top surfaces and bottom surfaces of the semiconductor channel regions of the plurality of sandwich structures; and a source/drain region aside of and electrically coupled to the semiconductor channel regions of the plurality of sandwich structures. Claims 20-21 depend on claim 19.
Claims 4-8, 11, and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/REEMA PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 10/9/26