DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment submitted June 4, 2026.
Bold text is new language to the Office Action.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by HATAKEYAMA et al (2019/0113846) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable HIRAYAMA et al (2016/0363860 A1).
The claimed invention now recites the following:
GOTO et al disclose the following polymers having the following structures:
(A)-1, (A)-2 , (A)-3 or (A)-7 from page 75 and 76:
Other polymers also disclose a radical-active functional group (A)-4 to (A)-8, (A)-11 and (A)-15.
The first linker group in claim 1 is met by the prior art wherein an acrylate monomer is disclosed below:
see the numbered boxed section of the monomer above :
1- meets the linker group.
2- meets the alkene group.
3- meets the acid labile group.
Claim 3 for the acid labile group being a C1- C20 linear, branched, or cyclic alkyl group is met by the cyclopentyl or cyclohexyl structure above.
Claim 5 is met by the monomer above wherein the monomer unit forming the backbone is selected from the following monomer unit from HIRAYAMA et al page 75 or 76:
wherein the radical-active functional group can be bonded to the methyl, ethyl or isopropyl groups above off the alicyclic rings.
Claims 2, 4, and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art references of record disclose the recites styrene-based monomer units with the unsaturated groups off the ring as recited in claim 2, the second radical-active functional group attached to the polymer backbone by the acid labile group of claim 4 or the units disclosed in claim 6.
Claims 7-20 are seen as allowable over the prior art of record.
None of the prior art references of record disclose the claimed method of claims 7 and 15 comprising the monomer units selected from the Markush list in those claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GOTO et al (2020/0012189 A1) disclose copolymers wherein the following monomer units may be selected as a unit in the base polymer from page 9.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
August 4, 2026