DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Application filed July 24, 2024, as a divisional of Application Ser No. 17/230,605, is acknowledged. New claims 1-20 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1-20 follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 24, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
METHOD FOR FORMING A MAMR STRUCTURE BASED ON A TMR - SPIN TORQUE OSCILLATOR (STO) HAVING SEED LAYER AND CAPPING LAYER OF METAL OXIDE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
New claim 7 recites: the method of claim 6, wherein the main pole is configured to generate a local magnetic field to flip the magnetization of the medium bit.
Similarly, new claims 16 recites: “the method of claim 11, wherein the method further comprises: providing a soft underlayer and a medium bit layer disposed on the soft underlayer, wherein the main pole is configured to generate a local magnetic field for interaction with the medium bit layer, and wherein the local magnetic field is configured to flip a magnetization of a medium bit of the medium bit layer” (emphasis added).
The limitations “the main pole is configured to generate a local magnetic field to flip the magnetization of the medium bit”; and “wherein the local magnetic field is configured to flip a magnetization of a medium bit of the medium bit layer” implies that “flip a magnetization of a medium bit of the medium bit layer” is the function of the “main pole”.
However, the specification, ¶ [0074], explicitly states that: “For a typical MAMR writer, the magnetic field generated by the main pole itself is not strong enough to flip the magnetization 89 of the medium bit in order to accomplish the write process. However, writing becomes possible when assisted by a spin torque oscillator (STO) 83 positioned between the main pole and write shield.”
Therefore, claims 7 and 16 fail to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
New claim 7 recites: the method of claim 6, wherein the main pole is configured to generate a local magnetic field to flip the magnetization of the medium bit.
New claims 16 recites: “the method of claim 11, wherein the method further comprises: providing a soft underlayer and a medium bit layer disposed on the soft underlayer, wherein the main pole is configured to generate a local magnetic field for interaction with the medium bit layer, and wherein the local magnetic field is configured to flip a magnetization of a medium bit of the medium bit layer” (emphasis added).
The limitations contravene the specification, ¶ [0074] as indicated above.
Therefore, claims 7 and 16-17 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. (US. Patent No. 8,582,240) in view of CAO et al. (US. Patent No. 8,492,169) both of record.
With respect to claim 1, CHEN teaches a method substantially as claimed including:
providing a soft underlayer (7) and a medium bit layer (4) disposed on the soft underlayer;
providing a main pole (1);
forming a first non-magnetic layer (14) adjacent a side of the main pole (1);
forming a magnetic layer (11) adjacent the first non-magnetic layer (14);
forming a second non-magnetic layer (13) adjacent the magnetic layer (11) and opposite the first non-magnetic layer (14);
forming a high moment magnetic layer (10) adjacent the second non-magnetic layer (13) and opposite the magnetic layer (11);
forming a metal oxide layer (12) adjacent the high moment magnetic layer (10) and opposite the second non-magnetic layer (13);
forming a write shield (2) adjacent the metal oxide layer (12) and opposite the high moment magnetic layer (10). (See FIGs. 3, 15).
Thus, CHEN is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the formation of the metal oxide layer.
However, CAO teaches a method of forming a metal oxide including:
forming a first magnesium layer;
performing a passive oxidation process that partially oxidizes the first magnesium layer;
forming a second magnesium layer over the partially oxidized first magnesium layer; and
performing an annealing process to fully oxidize the first magnesium layer and the second magnesium layer. (See Col. 3, ll. 41-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the metal oxide layer of CHEN utilizing the forming method as taught by CAO to form the metal oxide layer.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known method on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416., 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 2, in view of CAO, the forming of the first non-magnetic layer further comprises:
forming a first metal layer;
performing an oxidation process to oxidize an upper portion of the first metal layer while a bottom portion of the first metal layer remains unoxidized; and
forming a second metal layer over the upper portion of the first metal layer.
With respect to claim 3, in view of CAO, the forming of the first non-magnetic layer further comprises forming a third metal layer over the second metal layer.
With respect to claim 4, in view of CAO, the forming of the first non-magnetic layer further comprises performing another annealing process during the forming of the third metal layer.
With respect to claim 5, in view of CAO, the forming of the metal oxide layer further comprises: prior to the performing the annealing process, forming a third magnesium layer over the second magnesium layer; and performing the annealing process to fully oxidize the metal oxide layer.
With respect to claim 6, the medium bit layer (4) of CHEN includes a medium bit having a magnetization.
With respect to claim 7, As best understood by the Examiner, the main pole (1) of CHEN is configured to generate a local magnetic field to flip the magnetization of the medium bit.
The term “is configured to” is the function of the main pole.
With respect to claim 8, the high moment magnetic layer (10) of CHEN includes an oscillation layer.
With respect to claim 9, the oscillation layer (10) of CHEN is configured to generate a radio frequency (RF) field for interaction with the medium bit layer.
With respect to claim 10, the RF field of CHEN is configured to reduce a coercive field of a medium bit of the medium bit layer.
The term “is configured to” of claims 9 and 10 is the function of the oscillation layer.
With respect to claim 11, CHEN teaches a method substantially as claimed including:
providing a MAMR writer including a main pole (1), a write shield (2), and a spin torque oscillator (STO, 3) positioned between the main pole (1) and the write shield (2), wherein providing the STO comprises:
forming a metal oxide (14) along a side of the main pole (1);
sequentially forming, adjacent to the metal layer (14), a magnetic layer (11), a non-magnetic layer (13), a high moment magnetic layer (10), and a metal oxide layer (12). (See FIGs. 3, 15)
Thus, CHEN is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the formation of the metal oxide layer.
However, JAN teaches a method of forming a metal oxide including:
forming a first metal layer;
performing a passive oxidation process that partially oxidizes the first metal layer;
forming a second metal layer on an oxidized portion of the first metal layer; and
subsequently, performing an annealing process. (See Col. 3, ll. 41-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the metal oxide layer of CHEN utilizing the forming method as taught by CAO to form the metal oxide layer.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known method on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416., 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 12, the write shield (1) is provided after the sequentially forming the magnetic layer (11), the non-magnetic layer (13), the high moment magnetic layer (10), and the metal oxide layer (12).
With respect to claim 13, in view of CAO, the annealing process is performed after the sequentially forming the magnetic layer (11), the non-magnetic layer (13), the high moment magnetic layer (10), and the metal oxide layer (12).
With respect to claim 14, in view of CAO, the annealing process is performed after forming the second metal layer and prior to the sequentially forming the magnetic layer (11), the non-magnetic layer (13), the high moment magnetic layer (10), and the metal oxide layer (12).
With respect to claim 15, in view of CAO, the forming of the metal oxide layer (12) further comprises:
forming a third metal layer;
performing an oxidation process to partially oxidize the third metal layer; and
forming a fourth metal layer over the partially oxidized third metal layer. (FIG. 3b).
With respect to claim 16, the method of CHEN further comprises:
providing a soft underlayer (7) and a medium bit layer (4) disposed on the soft underlayer (7), wherein the main pole (1) is configured to generate a local magnetic field for interaction with the medium bit layer (4), and wherein the local magnetic field is configured to flip a magnetization of a medium bit (5) of the medium bit layer (4).
The term “is configured to” is the function of the main pole.
With respect to claim 17, the high moment magnetic layer (10) of CHEN includes an oscillation layer configured to generate a radio frequency (RF) field for interaction with the medium bit layer, and wherein the RF field is configured to reduce a coercive field of the medium bit.
With respect to claim 18, in view of CAO, the first metal layer and the second metal layer include a magnesium layer.
With respect to claim 19, CHEN teaches a method substantially as claimed including:
providing a main pole (1);
forming a first metal oxide layer (14) adjacent a side of the main pole (1); forming a magnetic layer (11) adjacent the first metal oxide layer (14);
forming a non-magnetic layer (13) adjacent the magnetic layer (11) and opposite the first metal oxide layer (14);
forming a high moment magnetic layer (10) adjacent the non-magnetic layer (13) and opposite the magnetic layer (11);
forming a second metal oxide layer (12) adjacent the high moment magnetic layer (10) and opposite the non-magnetic layer (13), and
forming a write shield (2) adjacent the second metal oxide layer (12) and opposite the high moment magnetic layer (10). (See FIGs. 3, 15).
Thus, CHEN is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the formation of one or both of the first metal oxide layer and the second metal oxide layer metal oxide layer.
However, CAO teaches a method of forming a metal oxide including:
forming a first magnesium layer;
performing a passive oxidation process that partially oxidizes the first magnesium layer;
forming a second magnesium layer over the partially oxidized first magnesium layer; and
performing an annealing process to fully oxidize the first magnesium layer and the second magnesium layer. (See Col. 3, ll. 41-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the metal oxide layer of CHEN utilizing the forming method as taught by CAO to form the metal oxide layer.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known method on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416., 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 20, in view of CAO, the forming one or both of the first metal oxide layer and the second metal oxide layer further comprises: prior to the performing the annealing process, forming a third magnesium layer over the second magnesium layer; and performing the annealing process to fully oxidize the first, second, and third magnesium layers.
Conclusion
/ANH D MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893