Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh et al. (US 9620582).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh discloses a capacitor structure, comprising:
one or more lower interconnects (103a/103b, 105a/105b) disposed within a lower dielectric structure (102a/102b) over a substrate (101) [Fig. 1B];
a lower electrode (106) arranged along sidewalls (111) and an upper surface (102s) of the lower dielectric structure (102b) [Fig. 1B];
a capacitor dielectric (108) arranged along sidewalls and an upper surface of the lower electrode [Fig. 1B];
an upper electrode (110) arranged along sidewalls and an upper surface of the capacitor dielectric [Fig. 1B]; and
a spacer (114) arranged along outermost sidewalls of the upper electrode (110), wherein the spacer comprises a first upper surface (S1) arranged along a first side of the upper electrode and a second upper surface (S2) arranged along an opposing second side of the upper electrode, the first upper surface (S1) having a different width than the second upper surface (S2) [Fig. 1B, annotated below].
[AltContent: textbox (D)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (P)][AltContent: textbox (P)][AltContent: textbox (S3)][AltContent: textbox (S2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (S3)][AltContent: textbox (S1)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Hsieh discloses wherein the spacer further comprises a third upper surface (S3) directly over the upper electrode (110) and vertically above the first upper surface (S1) and the second upper surface (S2) [Fig. 1B, annotated above].
Regarding claim 5, Hsieh discloses wherein the capacitor dielectric (108) and the lower electrode (106) have widths that are equal to a distance (D) between opposing outermost sidewalls of the spacer (114) [Fig. 1B].
Regarding claim 7, Hsieh discloses wherein the lower electrode (106) has a lower surface that is above a pedestal (P) formed by the lower dielectric structure (102b) [Fig. 1B, annotated above].
Regarding claim 9, Hsieh discloses a capacitor structure, comprising:
one or more lower interconnects (103a/103b, 105a/105b) disposed within a lower dielectric structure (102a/102b) over a substrate (101) [Fig. 1B];
a lower electrode (106) arranged along sidewalls (111) and an upper surface (102s) of the lower dielectric structure (102b) [Fig. 1B];
a capacitor dielectric (108) arranged along sidewalls and an upper surface of the lower electrode [Fig. 1B];
an upper electrode (110) arranged along sidewalls and an upper surface of the capacitor dielectric [Fig. 1B]; and
a spacer (S1/S2) arranged along opposing outermost sidewalls of the upper electrode (110), wherein the spacer (S1/S2) has different widths along different sides of the upper electrode [Fig. 1B, annotated above].
Regarding claim 10, Hsieh discloses wherein the spacer (S1/S2) has a bottommost surface on the capacitor dielectric (108) [Fig. 1B, annotated above].
Regarding claim 12, Hsieh discloses wherein the spacer (114) continuously extends from along the opposing outermost sidewalls of the upper electrode (110) to directly over (consider the spacer portion S3) the upper electrode (110) [Fig. 1B annotated above].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (US 9620582) in view of Chuang et al. (US 9679909).
Regarding claim 8, Hsieh does not disclose the spacer continuously extends in a closed loop around an outermost perimeter of the upper electrode
However, Chuang teaches wherein the spacer (164/166) continuously extends in a closed loop around an outermost perimeter of the upper electrode (140) [Figs. 1A-1B].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Hsieh by including the spacer as taught by Chuang because it helps to reduce costs [col. 8, lines 4-7].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 9 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,154,939. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader and therefore anticipated by the patent claims. For example,
In regard to claims 1 and 9, claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,154,939 discloses a capacitor structure, comprising:
one or more lower interconnects disposed within a lower dielectric structure over a substrate [Claim 1];
a lower electrode arranged along sidewalls and an upper surface of the lower dielectric structure [Claim 1];
a capacitor dielectric [Claim 1]arranged along sidewalls and an upper surface of the lower electrode;
an upper electrode arranged along sidewalls and an upper surface of the capacitor dielectric [Claim 1]; and
a spacer arranged along outermost sidewalls of the upper electrode, wherein the spacer comprises a first upper surface arranged along a first side of the upper electrode and a second upper surface arranged along an opposing second side of the upper electrode [Claim 1], the first upper surface having a different width than the second upper surface [Claim 9].
In regard to claims 2 and 12, claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,154,939 discloses wherein the spacer further comprises a third upper surface directly over the upper electrode and vertically above the first upper surface and the second upper surface.
Claims 1, 7, 9-11 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,154,939 in view of Hsieh et al. (US 9620582).
In regard to claim 1 and 9, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,154,939 recites all the limitation except for the first upper surface having a different width than the second upper surface.
Hsieh teaches a spacer (114) arranged along outermost sidewalls of the upper electrode (110), wherein the spacer comprises a first upper surface (S1) arranged along a first side of the upper electrode and a second upper surface (S2) arranged along an opposing second side of the upper electrode, the first upper surface (S1) having a different width than the second upper surface (S2) [Fig. 1B, annotated above].
Regarding claim 7, Hsieh further teaches wherein the lower electrode (106) has a lower surface that is above a pedestal (P) formed by the lower dielectric structure (102b) [Fig. 1B, annotated above].
Regarding claim 10, Hsieh teaches wherein the spacer (S1/S2) has a bottommost surface on the capacitor dielectric (108) [Fig. 1B, annotated above].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,154,939 by including the spacer and pedestal as taught by Hsieh because it helps to protect the capacitor and improve performance [col. 2, lines 4-23].
Regarding claim 11, claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,154,939 teaches a collective footprint that result in required 90%-95% coverage.
Regarding claim 14, claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,154,939 teaches the recited first and second dielectric layers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815