Claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows et al (2021/0189593).
The Burrows et al reference teaches a reflector for a semiconductor deposition apparatus, note entire reference. The reflector consists of a reflector body with a slotted surface, note fig. 2 nos 236, 262. There is a planar surface opposite the slotted surface, fig 2 no 244. The reflector has an ellipsoidal surface with an elliptical profile, note fig 2, no 248, para 0031. The ellipsoidal surface is orthogonal relative to the planar surface and spans the slotted surface, note fig 2. The deposition system includes a chamber with a substrate support in the chamber body, note fig 1. There are lamp arrays with a plurality of lamps in the set so as to be approximal focus of the elliptical profile and a second set of arrays parallel to the first, note figs 1 and 2.The sole difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the ellipsoidal surface reflecting electromagnetic radiation. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Burrows et al reference to have the reflector set for electromagnetic radiation as the reference does teach different materials of construction for different reflections.
With regards to claim 2, the Burrows et al reference teaches a second ellipsoidal surface parallel to the first and separated from the slotted surface, note fig 2.
With regards to claim 12, the Burrows et al reference teaches the reflector having a gold coating and being metallic, note para 0031.
With regards to claim 14, the Burrows et al reference teaches a monolithic reflector body, note fig.2.
Claim(s) 3 to 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows et al (2021/0189593).
The Burrows et al reference is relied on for the same reasons stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the addition of a parabolic profile and relation with ellipsoidal one. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Burrows et al reference to include a parabolic profile in order to have the desired heating profile as the reference does teach different shapes can be used in the reflector to change heating.
With regards to claim 5, the Burrows et al reference teaches the surfaces to be separated, note fig 2.
Claim(s) 6 to 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows et al (2021/0189593).
The Burrows et al reference is relied on for the same reasons stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the addition of a part circular profile and relation with ellipsoidal one. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Burrows et al reference to include a part circular profile in order to have the desired heating profile as the reference does teach different shapes can be used in the reflector to change heating.
With regards to claim 8, the Burrows et al reference teaches the surfaces to be separated, note fig 2.
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows et al (2021/0189593).
The Burrows et al reference is relied on for the same reasons stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the distal focus on the substrate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Burrows et al reference to have the distal focus on the substrate in order to have the substrate heated to the proper growth temperatures.
Claims 9 to 11 and 17 to 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach nor render obvious the instantly claimed invention, noting, the addition of the rib structure to the reflector.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in deposition systems with reflectors.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714