DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed March 16, 2026. Claims 1, 8, 10-15, and 17-19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed March 16, 2026 with respect to the previous claim objections have been fully considered and rendered moot by the present amendments.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed March 16, 2026 with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dourra et al. US 20200377076 A1, in view of Yun et al., US 20230203785 A1, hereinafter referred to as Dourra, and Yun, respectively.
As to claim 1, Dourra discloses a hybrid vehicle comprising:
a hybrid powertrain (Hybrid vehicle – See at least Abstract) including:
a motor-generator unit (Motor – See at least Abstract);
a battery electrically connected to the motor-generator unit (Battery – See at least ¶18);
an engine (Engine – See at least Abstract); and
a transmission engageably connected to the engine and the motor-generator unit (Transmission – See at least ¶24), and
a controller for controlling the hybrid powertrain (Power train control unit – See at least ¶19),
wherein the controller is configured to (1) detect when a triggering event has occurred, (3) determine a state of charge of the battery, and (4) determine an amount of excess torque or power available from the motor-generator unit, and wherein the controller is configured to signal the motor-generator unit to apply additional motor torque to the hybrid powertrain when (1) the triggering event has occurred, (3) a state of charge of the battery is above a threshold, and (4) excess torque or power from the motor-generator unit is available (Various factors including torque request by driver i.e., triggering event – See at least ¶29; SOC – See at least ¶29; Available torque – See at least ¶30).
Dourra fails to explicitly disclose determining whether a boost drive mode has been enabled, via one or more user inputs, and performing the above control if the boost drive mode has been enabled. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dourra and include the feature of determining whether a boost drive mode has been enabled, via one or more user inputs, and performing the above control if the boost drive mode has been enabled, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Yun teaches it is well-known and routine in the hybrid work machine arts to control a hybrid work machine boost mode in response to an operator selection of a boost mode via an operator input device (See at least Abstract and ¶4 of Yun).
Independent claims 8, and 15 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 because the claims recite nearly identical subject matter but for minor differences due to the claims being directed to different statutory classes of invention.
As to claims 4, 11, and 17, Dourra discloses the hybrid/heavy vehicle further includes an accelerator pedal, and wherein the triggering event is a depression of the accelerator pedal (Pedal depression – See at least ¶47).
Dourra fails to explicitly disclose accelerator pedal depression beyond a specified percentage. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dourra and include the feature of accelerator pedal depression beyond a specified percentage, with a reasonable expectation of success, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily and unquestionably recognize Dourra’s system necessarily requires a pedal depression threshold in order to serve as the requisite criterion for performing its disclosed control.
As to claims 6, 13, and 19, Dourra discloses the triggering event occurs when the hybrid/heavy vehicle is in motion (Vehicle is in motion because of discussion of gear selection – See at least ¶24).
Claims 2, 7, 9, 14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dourra et al. US 20200377076 A1, in view of Yun et al., US 20230203785 A1, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Kim, US 20190152469 A1, hereinafter referred to as Dourra, Yun, and Kim, respectively.
As to claims 2, 9, and 16, the combination of Dourra and Yun fails to explicitly disclose the triggering event is a slowing of wheel speed while the engine is within a specified operating range. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Dourra and Yun and include the feature of the triggering event is a slowing of wheel speed while the engine is within a specified operating range, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Kim teaches it is well-known and routine in the hybrid vehicle arts to control a hybrid vehicle assist (or boost) mode in response to vehicle speed and engine speed meeting prescribed thresholds (See at least ¶56 and Fig. 3 of Kim).
As to claims 7, 14, and 20, the combination of Dourra and Yun fails to explicitly disclose the triggering event is the hybrid vehicle reaching a specified speed, and additional torque or power from the motor-generator unit is applied upon an occurrence of a second triggering event, the second triggering event being a slowing of wheel speed while the engine is within a specified operating range or a depression of an accelerator pedal beyond a specified percentage. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Dourra and Yun and include the feature of the triggering event is the hybrid vehicle reaching a specified speed, and additional torque or power from the motor-generator unit is applied upon an occurrence of a second triggering event, the second triggering event being a slowing of wheel speed while the engine is within a specified operating range or a depression of an accelerator pedal beyond a specified percentage, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Kim teaches it is well-known and routine in the hybrid vehicle arts to control a hybrid vehicle assist (or boost) mode in response to vehicle speed, specifically, and engine speed meeting prescribed thresholds (See at least ¶56 and Fig. 3 of Kim).
Claims 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dourra et al. US 20200377076 A1, in view of Yun et al., US 20230203785 A1, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Nishi, US 20140148984 A1, hereinafter referred to as Dourra, Yun, and Nishi, respectively.
As to claims 3, and 10, the combination of Dourra and Yun fails to explicitly disclose the triggering event is a slowing of a speed of the engine below a threshold speed of the engine. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Dourra and Yun and include the feature of the triggering event is a slowing of a speed of the engine below a threshold speed of the engine, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Nishi teaches it is well-known and routine in the hybrid vehicle arts to control a hybrid vehicle assist (or boost) mode in response to decreases in engine speed (See at least ¶16 of Nishi).
Claims 5, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dourra et al. US 20200377076 A1, in view of Yun et al., US 20230203785 A1, as applied to claims 4, 11, and 17 above, and further in view of Cooke, US 20180370541 A1, hereinafter referred to as Dourra, Yun, and Cooke, respectively.
As to claims 5, 12, and 18, the combination of Dourra and Yun fails to explicitly disclose the triggering event occurs when the hybrid/heavy vehicle is stopped. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Dourra and Yun and include the feature of the triggering event occurs when the hybrid vehicle is stopped, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Cooke teaches it is well-known and routine in vehicle control arts to only allow a vehicle mode switch when the vehicle is stationary (See at least ¶109 of Cooke), which would have the added benefit of avoiding abrupt changes in a vehicle’s operation thereby avoiding potentially unsafe circumstances.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAIL A KLEINMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668