DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Logue (US 20230150644 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Logue (US 20230150644 A1) discloses a portion of aircraft comprising:
a fuselage comprising a ceiling and a lateral portion of fuselage delimiting a cabin (Logue, figure 2, fuselage with a ceiling and lateral portions);
at least one technical equipment item mounted on the lateral portion of fuselage (Logue, ¶40, access area on lateral portion of aircraft are designed to include wiring, ventilation, and speakers systems); and
at least one trim panel intended for at least partially concealing from the cabin, the at least one technical equipment item (Logue, figure 4, item 20);
the at least one trim panel being mounted rotatable about a horizontal axis of rotation on the ceiling between (Logue, figure 4, item 123):
a trimming position wherein the trim panel at least partially conceals the at least one technical equipment item from the cabin by being held on the lateral portion of fuselage (Logue, figure 3, panel in a closed position); and
a maintenance position wherein the trim panel is arranged at a distance from the lateral portion of fuselage in a substantially vertical plane so as to free access to the at least one technical equipment item (Logue, figure 4, ¶59, panel moves to open position).
Regarding claim 2, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the fuselage extends along an axis-of-the-fuselage and has a median sagittal plane comprising the axis-of-the-fuselage, the axis of rotation being substantially parallel to the axis-of-the-fuselage, the axis of rotation being offset towards the median sagittal plane with respect to the lateral portion of fuselage (Logue, figure 2, item 10, panel assemblies offset towards a longitudinal plane of the aircraft).
Regarding claim 3, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the trim panel comprises at least one hinge mounted rotatable about the axis of rotation on the ceiling between the trimming position and the maintenance position (Logue, figure 4, item 123).
Regarding claim 4, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the ceiling comprises a suspension bar extending substantially parallel to the axis of rotation (Logue, figure 7b, ¶48, latch pins which may be mounted to support structure), the trim panel comprising at least one force take-up member including a hook (Logue, figure 7b, ¶48, actuator which may be mounted to panel), the hook cooperating with the suspension bar so that the force take-up member is suspended from the suspension bar (Logue, figure 7b, ¶48).
Regarding claim 5, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 4, wherein the trim panel comprises a main wall (Logue, figure 3, item 20), the at least one hinge articulating the main wall relative to the at least one force take-up member such that:
the main wall at least partially conceals from the cabin the at least one technical equipment item, in the trimming position (Logue, figure 3, item 20, panel conceals compartment and items therein when closed); and
the main wall is arranged away from the lateral portion of fuselage in a substantially vertical plane so as to free access to the at least one technical equipment item in the maintenance position (Logue, ¶59, panel moves to an open position where the interior compartment is accessible.
Regarding claim 7, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the trim panel is devoid of technical equipment item (Logue, ¶40, equipment located inside compartment).
Regarding claim 8, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the at least one technical equipment item comprises at least one of the following:
a lighting device (Logue, ¶47, reading light);
a sound device (Logue, ¶40, speakers);
an air conditioning device (Logue, ¶40, ventilation system);
a display device (Logue, ¶47, no smoking light);
a control device for controlling another technical equipment item (Logue, ¶40, wiring); and/or
an oxygen therapy device (Logue, ¶40, emergency air components).
Regarding claim 9, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the portion of aircraft further comprises a locking system which can be configured between a locked configuration,
wherein the locking system is apt to maintain the at least one trim panel in the trimming position (Logue, figure 7a, item 30) and an unlocked configuration,
wherein the locking system is apt to permit the movement of the at least one trim panel from the trimming position to the maintenance position (Logue, figure 7b, item 30).
Regarding claim 10, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 9, further comprising a control device having a control member apt to be actuated by an operator to change the configuration of the locking system from the locked configuration to the unlocked configuration (Logue, ¶53, actuator moved when force is applied by a technician), the control member being arranged on the at least one trim panel (Logue, ¶48, actuator can be mounted to the panel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Logue (US 20230150644 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hegenbart (US 12024291 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, except:
wherein the lateral portion of fuselage comprises a main wall and at least one shelf extending substantially in a horizontal plane from the main wall of the lateral portion of fuselage, the at least one technical equipment item being mounted on the at least one shelf.
Hegenbart (US 12024291 B2) teaches a shelf extending substantially in a horizontal plane from the main wall of the lateral portion of fuselage (Hegenbart, figures 3b-c, item 26, air duct sits on a horizontal shelf extending from a lateral wall of the fuselage), the at least one technical equipment item being mounted on the at least one shelf (Hegenbert, figure 3c, item 26).
Logue and Hegenbart are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of aircraft cabin interior structures. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Logue with the shelf extending in a horizontal plane of Hegenbart with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a space to place technical equipment and reduce the chance of items falling on a technician opening the panel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that:
Logue does not disclose “at least one technical equipment item mounted on the lateral portion of fuselage" and "the at least one trim panel being mounted rotatable about a horizontal axis of rotation on the ceiling between" a trimming position and a maintenance position.
In response to this argument, one should note that state of the art to understand the bounds of the lateral portion of the fuselage and the ceiling vs the wall in a fuselage. Aircraft fuselages, such as the fuselage shown in figure 2 of Logue are generally cylindrical in shape where the fuselage curves to create what are effectively lateral portions and ceilings above a passenger cabin. This allows for effective pressurization of aircraft without excess weight or limiting aircraft life.
¶20 of the specification suggests that the ceiling can extend “substantially parallel to the floor and substantially perpendicular to the median sagittal plane SM of the aircraft” or that the “ceiling 20 may have a different shape, such as, e.g., a vaulted shape.” As such one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the limitation “mounted rotatable about a horizontal axis of rotation on the ceiling” to mean that the trim panel is mounted about an axis of rotation located on a ceiling of the fuselage, which is shown in Logue where overhead bins are located above passenger seating along a ceiling structure and rotatably mounted to said ceiling structure. The ceiling need not be flat per applicant’s specification.
¶22 of the specification suggests that the lateral portion of the fuselage can “extends substantially perpendicularly to the floor and substantially parallel to the median sagittal plane SM of the aircraft” or that the “lateral portion of fuselage 22 may have a different shape, such as e.g., a curved shape.” As such one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the limitation “mounted on the lateral portion of fuselage” to mean that the equipment is mounted to the left or right side of the fuselage, not specifically a vertical surface as applicant appears to be suggesting in their response. This does not preclude the panel assembly being located on the ceiling. Logue meets this claim requirement.
Logue does not disclose “a maintenance position wherein the trim panel is arranged at a distance from the lateral portion of the fuselage in a substantially vertical plane so as to free access to the at least one technical equipment item”
The relevant claim scope is “the at least one trim panel being mounted rotatable about a horizontal axis of rotation on the ceiling between: … a maintenance position wherein the trim panel is arranged at a distance from the lateral portion of fuselage in a substantially vertical plane so as to free access to the at least one technical equipment item.” Note that this limitation is a functional limitation requiring that the trim panel be capable of rotation to a position where trim panel is separated from the lateral portion at a distance in a substantially vertical plane (in plain language, there is a distance in the lateral direction between the trim panel and the lateral portion in the maintenance position). As such, the panel of Logue meets the claim language.
Even taking applicant’s purported claim scope, the trim panel of Logue is substantially vertical when opened per figure 4 and ¶59 of Logue.
The use of cables in figure 11 item 75 of Logue does not preclude meeting the claim limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ford (US 6336667 B1) teaches an oxygen deployment mechanism and associated door
Ibrahim (US 10513335 B2 and US 11111020 B2) teaches a movable overhead panel for equipment
Files (US 10239617 B2) teaches an oxygen box mounted in a ceiling with a door
Shingne (US 10588405 B1) teaches a hanger in a ceiling hidden by a door
Files. (US 11643848 B2) teaches a removable ceiling panel and related mechanisms
Logue (US 20230415899 A1) teaches a moveable ceiling panel with a latch mechanism
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN ANDREW YANKEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642