DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Logue (US 20230150644 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Logue (US 20230150644 A1) discloses a portion of aircraft comprising:
a fuselage comprising a ceiling and a lateral portion of fuselage delimiting a cabin (Logue, figure 2, fuselage with a ceiling and lateral portions);
at least one technical equipment item mounted on the lateral portion of fuselage (Logue, ¶40, access area on lateral portion of aircraft are designed to include wiring, ventilation, and speakers systems); and
at least one trim panel intended for at least partially concealing from the cabin, the at least one technical equipment item (Logue, figure 4, item 20);
the at least one trim panel being mounted rotatable about a horizontal axis of rotation on the ceiling between (Logue, figure 4, item 123):
a trimming position wherein the trim panel at least partially conceals the at least one technical equipment item from the cabin by being held on the lateral portion of fuselage (Logue, figure 3, panel in a closed position); and
a maintenance position wherein the trim panel is arranged at a distance from the lateral portion of fuselage in a substantially vertical plane so as to free access to the at least one technical equipment item (Logue, figure 4, ¶59, panel moves to open position).
Regarding claim 2, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the fuselage extends along an axis-of-the-fuselage and has a median sagittal plane comprising the axis-of-the-fuselage, the axis of rotation being substantially parallel to the axis-of-the-fuselage, the axis of rotation being offset towards the median sagittal plane with respect to the lateral portion of fuselage (Logue, figure 2, item 10, panel assemblies offset towards a longitudinal plane of the aircraft).
Regarding claim 3, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the trim panel comprises at least one hinge mounted rotatable about the axis of rotation on the ceiling between the trimming position and the maintenance position (Logue, figure 4, item 123).
Regarding claim 4, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the ceiling comprises a suspension bar extending substantially parallel to the axis of rotation (Logue, figure 7b, ¶48, latch pins which may be mounted to support structure), the trim panel comprising at least one force take-up member including a hook (Logue, figure 7b, ¶48, actuator which may be mounted to panel), the hook cooperating with the suspension bar so that the force take-up member is suspended from the suspension bar (Logue, figure 7b, ¶48).
Regarding claim 5, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 4, wherein the trim panel comprises a main wall (Logue, figure 3, item 20), the at least one hinge articulating the main wall relative to the at least one force take-up member such that:
the main wall at least partially conceals from the cabin the at least one technical equipment item, in the trimming position (Logue, figure 3, item 20, panel conceals compartment and items therein when closed); and
the main wall is arranged away from the lateral portion of fuselage in a substantially vertical plane so as to free access to the at least one technical equipment item in the maintenance position (Logue, ¶59, panel moves to an open position where the interior compartment is accessible.
Regarding claim 7, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the trim panel is devoid of technical equipment item (Logue, ¶40, equipment located inside compartment).
Regarding claim 8, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the at least one technical equipment item comprises at least one of the following:
a lighting device (Logue, ¶47, reading light);
a sound device (Logue, ¶40, speakers);
an air conditioning device (Logue, ¶40, ventilation system);
a display device (Logue, ¶47, no smoking light);
a control device for controlling another technical equipment item (Logue, ¶40, wiring); and/or
an oxygen therapy device (Logue, ¶40, emergency air components).
Regarding claim 9, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the portion of aircraft further comprises a locking system which can be configured between a locked configuration,
wherein the locking system is apt to maintain the at least one trim panel in the trimming position (Logue, figure 7a, item 30) and an unlocked configuration,
wherein the locking system is apt to permit the movement of the at least one trim panel from the trimming position to the maintenance position (Logue, figure 7b, item 30).
Regarding claim 10, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 9, further comprising a control device having a control member apt to be actuated by an operator to change the configuration of the locking system from the locked configuration to the unlocked configuration (Logue, ¶53, actuator moved when force is applied by a technician), the control member being arranged on the at least one trim panel (Logue, ¶48, actuator can be mounted to the panel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Logue (US 20230150644 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hegenbart (US 12024291 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Logue disclose the portion of aircraft according to claim 1, except:
wherein the lateral portion of fuselage comprises a main wall and at least one shelf extending substantially in a horizontal plane from the main wall of the lateral portion of fuselage, the at least one technical equipment item being mounted on the at least one shelf.
Hegenbart (US 12024291 B2) teaches a shelf extending substantially in a horizontal plane from the main wall of the lateral portion of fuselage (Hegenbart, figures 3b-c, item 26, air duct sits on a horizontal shelf extending from a lateral wall of the fuselage), the at least one technical equipment item being mounted on the at least one shelf (Hegenbert, figure 3c, item 26).
Logue and Hegenbart are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of aircraft cabin interior structures. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Logue with the shelf extending in a horizontal plane of Hegenbart with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a space to place technical equipment and reduce the chance of items falling on a technician opening the panel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ford (US 6336667 B1) teaches an oxygen deployment mechanism and associated door
Ibrahim (US 10513335 B2 and US 11111020 B2) teaches a movable overhead panel for equipment
Files (US 10239617 B2) teaches an oxygen box mounted in a ceiling with a door
Shingne (US 10588405 B1) teaches a hanger in a ceiling hidden by a door
Files. (US 11643848 B2) teaches a removable ceiling panel and related mechanisms
Logue (US 20230415899 A1) teaches a moveable ceiling panel with a latch mechanism
/RYAN ANDREW YANKEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 4/11/2026