DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species IV (Figure 6A & 6B) in the reply filed on March 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on July 31, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 10-15, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 7 and 15 recite the limitation, “the cantilever has a cross-section defined by a first radius a1, a second radius a2, and a third radius b, the first radius a1 located nearest the electrode housing bowl, the second radius a2 located nearest the interior wall of the etch process chamber”. As seen in Figure 6A below and paragraphs [0043]-[0044], the specification shows that the first and second radiuses are vertically located and hence both the first radius and second radiuses are located equally to the electrode bowl and interior wall. Therefore, there is no support in the specification for the limitation, “the first radius a1 located nearest the electrode housing bowl, the second radius a2 located nearest the interior wall of the etch process chamber”.
In light of the above, dependent claims 10-14, and 17-23 are also rejected under U.S.C. 112(a) at least due to dependency to rejected claims 7 and 15.
Claims 7, 10-15, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 15 recite the limitation “the cantilever has a cross-section defined by a first radius a1, a second radius a2, and a third radius b, the first radius a1 located nearest the electrode housing bowl, the second radius a2 located nearest the interior wall of the etch process chamber” which is indefinite. The limitation is indefinite because it’s unclear how the first and second radiuses are “nearest” or shortest” to the electrode housing bowl and interior wall since it’s unknown what they are relative to. As seen below, both first radius a1 and second radius a2 are at an equal distance with respect to both the electrode housing bowl and interior wall since they are in the same cross-sectional wall.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the leading edge portion and the trailing edge portion" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In light of the above, dependent claims 10-14, 17-19, and 21-23 are also rejected under U.S.C. 112(b) at least due to dependency to rejected claims 7 and 15.
Note. For purposes of examination, both first radius a1 and second radius a2 are equally adjacent to both the electrode housing bowl and the interior wall and hence the first radius a1 is substantially equal to the second radius a2. This is consistent with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (U.S. 2011/0162801).
Referring for Figures 1, 4, and 7-8, paragraphs [0030]-[0042], [0050]-[0051], Zhang discloses an etch process chamber method, comprising: positioning a wafer on an electrode housing bowl 551, 552, 553 within an etch process chamber 52 (par.[0039]); flowing an etch gas past the wafer to etch the wafer; and removing an etch product from the etch process chamber (pars.[0006], [0031]); wherein the electrode housing bowl is coupled to an interior wall of the process chamber by a cantilever 53, 532, the cantilever having a curved profile to reduce turbulence (Figs. 7-8, pars.[0050]-[0051]).
With respect to claim 27, the method of Zhang further includes wherein the cantilever has a cross-sectional profile that is cylindrical, elliptical, or an airfoil (Figs. 7-8, pars.[0050]-[0051]).
With respect to claim 28, the method of Zhang further includes wherein the cantilever 53, 532 is located to induce a flow of at least one of the etch gas or the etch product to the pump 10, 515 (pars. [0006],[0031]).
With respect to claim 29, the method of Zhang further includes wherein a top of the cantilever 53, 532 is positioned lower than or equal to a height of a bottom of a wafer positioned on the electrode housing bowl 551, 552, 553 (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 7, 11-15, 18-20, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhang (U.S. 2011/0162801).
Referring to Figures 1, 4, and 7-8, paragraphs [0030]-[0042], [0050]-[0051], Zhang discloses an etch process chamber method, comprising: positioning an electrode housing bowl 551, 552, 553 in a center of an interior of an etch process chamber, the etch process chamber 52 including a first portion where an etch gas enters an interior of the etch process chamber and a second portion where the etch gas exits the interior of the etch process chamber (pars.[0006], [0031], [0039]); positioning a gas inlet (i.e. gas input) at the etch process chamber first portion (par.[0006]); using a pump 10, 515 removing at least one of the etch gas or an etch product from the interior of the process chamber via the second portion of the etch process chamber (Fig. 1, pars.[0006], [0031]); and using a cantilever 53, 532, coupling the electrode housing bowl to an interior wall of the etch process chamber, the cantilever having a curved outer surface profile to reduce turbulence of the etch gas as it flows through the interior of the etch process chamber from the etch gas inlet towards the pump and out of the etch gas chamber (Fig. 3, (par.[0039]), Figs. 7-8, (pars.[0050]-[0051]).
With respect to wherein the cantilever has a cross-section defined by a first radius al, a second radius a2, and a third radius b, the first radius al located nearest the electrode housing bowl, the second radius a2 located nearest the interior wall of the etch process chamber and the third radius b located between the first radius al and the second radius a2, and wherein the first radius al is less than the second radius a2, and the third radius b is less than the first radius al and the second radius a2, as stated above, for purposes of examination, both first radius a1 and second radius a2 are equally adjacent to both the electrode housing bowl and the interior wall and hence the first radius a1 is substantially equal to the second radius a2. Hence, referring Figures 7-8 and paragraphs [0050]-[0051], Zhang discloses both first radius a1 and second radius a2 are equally adjacent to both the electrode housing bowl and the interior wall and hence the first radius a1 is substantially equal to the second radius a2.
Alternatively, with respect to wherein the cantilever has a cross-section defined by a first radius al, a second radius a2, and a third radius b, the first radius al located nearest the electrode housing bowl, the second radius a2 located nearest the interior wall of the etch process chamber and the third radius b located between the first radius al and the second radius a2, and wherein the first radius al is less than the second radius a2, and the third radius b is less than the first radius al and the second radius a2, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions (i.e. first radius and second radius) of the claimed cantilever and a cantilever having the claimed relative dimensions (i.e. first radius and second radius) would not perform differently than the prior art cantilever, the claimed cantilever was not patentably distinct from the prior art cantilever (MPEP 2144.04 IV.A.)
With respect to claim 11, the etch process chamber method of Zhang further comprising: locating the cantilever 53, 532 to induce a flow of at least one of the etch gas or the etch product to an associated wafer positioned on the electrode housing bowl 551, 552, 553 (Fig. 4, par.[0050]).
With respect to claim 12, the etch process chamber method of Zhang further comprising: locating the cantilever 53, 532 to induce a flow of at least one of the etch gas or the etch product to the pump 10, 515 (pars. [0006], [0031]).
With respect to claim 13, the etch process chamber method of Zhang further includes wherein a top of the cantilever 53, 532 is positioned lower than or equal to a height of a bottom of a wafer positioned on the electrode housing bowl 551, 552, 553 (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 14, the etch process chamber method of Zhang further includes wherein a bottom of the cantilever 53, 532 is positioned higher than or equal to a height of a top of a pump 10, 515 positioned in the associated etch process chamber 52 (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 15, referring to Figures 1, 4, and 7-8, paragraphs [0030]-[0042], [0050]-[0051], Zhang discloses semiconductor wafer etch processing method, comprising: positioning an electrode housing bowl 551, 552, 553 in a center of an interior of a process chamber 52, the electrode housing bowl adapted to secure a wafer (pars.[0006],[0031],[0039]); using a cantilever 53, 532, coupling the electrode housing bowl to an interior wall of the process chamber, the cantilever extending perpendicular from the inner wall of the process chamber and the cantilever having a curved cross-sectional profile (Fig. 3, (par.[0039]), Figs. 7-8, (pars.[0050]-[0051]); and using a pump 10, 515, removing at least one of an etch gas or an etch product from the interior of the process chamber (Fig. 1, pars.[0006], [0031]).
With respect to wherein the cantilever has a cross-section defined by a first radius al, a second radius a2, and a third radius b, the first radius al located nearest the electrode housing bowl, the second radius a2 located nearest the interior wall of the etch process chamber and the third radius b located between the first radius al and the second radius a2, and wherein the first radius al is less than the second radius a2, and the third radius b is less than the first radius al and the second radius a2, as stated above, for purposes of examination, both first radius a1 and second radius a2 are equally adjacent to both the electrode housing bowl and the interior wall and hence the first radius a1 is substantially equal to the second radius a2. Hence, referring Figures 7-8 and paragraphs [0050]-[0051], Zhang discloses both first radius a1 and second radius a2 are equally adjacent to both the electrode housing bowl and the interior wall and hence the first radius a1 is substantially equal to the second radius a2.
Alternatively, with respect to wherein the cantilever has a cross-section defined by a first radius al, a second radius a2, and a third radius b, the first radius al located nearest the electrode housing bowl, the second radius a2 located nearest the interior wall of the etch process chamber and the third radius b located between the first radius al and the second radius a2, and wherein the first radius al is less than the second radius a2, and the third radius b is less than the first radius al and the second radius a2, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions (i.e. first radius and second radius) of the claimed cantilever and a cantilever having the claimed relative dimensions (i.e. first radius and second radius) would not perform differently than the prior art cantilever, the claimed cantilever was not patentably distinct from the prior art cantilever (MPEP 2144.04 IV.A.)
With respect to claim 18, the semiconductor wafer etch process chamber method of Zhang further includes wherein a top of the cantilever 53, 532 is located lower than or equal to a height of a bottom of a wafer secured to the electrode housing bowl 551, 552, 553, and wherein a bottom of the cantilever is located higher than or equal to a height of a top of the pump 10, 515 located in the semiconductor wafer etch process chamber 52 (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 19, the semiconductor wafer etch process chamber method of Zhang further includes wherein the cantilever 53, 532 is located to induce a flow of at least one of the etch gas or the etch product to a wafer secured to the electrode housing bowl 551, 552, 553 (Fig. 4, par.[0050]).
With respect to claim 20, the semiconductor wafer etch process chamber method of Zhang further includes wherein the width of the leading edge portion is greater than a width of the trailing edge portion, or the width of the leading edge portion is less than a width of the trailing edge portion (i.e. where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions (i.e. width) of the claimed leading edge portion and trailing edge portion and a leading edge portion and trailing edge portion having the claimed relative dimensions (i.e. first radius and second radius) would not perform differently than the prior art leading edge portion and trailing edge portion, the claimed leading edge portion and trailing edge portion was not patentably distinct from the prior art leading edge portion and trailing edge portion (MPEP 2144.04 IV.A.).
With respect to claim 23, the etch process chamber method of Zhang further comprising: locating the cantilever 53, 532 to induce a flow of at least one of the etch gas or the etch product to the pump 10, 515 (pars. [0006], [0031]).
Claim(s) 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (U.S. 2011/0162801) in view of Zhang (U.S. 2011/0147618).
The teachings of Zhang’801 have been discussed above.
Zhang’801 fails to teach wherein the profile of the cantilever is an airfoil.
Referring to Figure 4 and paragraph [0032], Zhang’618 teaches that it is conventionally known in the art for a wafer chuck 8 to couple with a cantilever 18 and wherein the profile of the cantilever is an airfoil as a suitable wafer support means. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the cantilever of Zhang’801 to have an airfoil profile as taught by Zhang’618 since it is a conventionally known shape for a cantilever that is suitable for supporting the electrode housing bowl. The benefit of an airfoil design is it is an alternate design that would be to promote laminar flow. Additionally, the shape of the claimed cantilever is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed cantilever was significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)). The resulting etch process chamber method of Zhang’801 in view of Zhang’618 would yield wherein the profile of the cantilever is an airfoil.
Claim(s) 21-22 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (U.S. 2011/0162801) in view of Zhang (U.S. 2011/0147618).
The teachings of Zhang’801 have been discussed above.
Zhang’801 fail to teach wherein the etch gas comprises CxHyFz where x is 1 to 6, y is 0 to 6, and z is 1 to 6; He; Ar; F2; C12; 02; N2; H2; HBr; HF; NF3; or SF6.
With respect to claims 21 and 25, referring to column 2, lines 8-46, Chen et al. teach an etch method wherein the etch gas comprises CxHyFz where x is 1 to 6, y is 0 to 6, and z is 1 to 6; He; Ar; F2; C12; O2; N2; H2; HBr; HF; NF3; or SF6 in order to remove polymer buildup from the wafer and chamber components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Zhang with the etch gas comprises CxHyFz where x is 1 to 6, y is 0 to 6, and z is 1 to 6; He; Ar; F2; C12; O2; N2; H2; HBr; HF; NF3; or SF6 as taught by Chen et al. in order to remove polymer buildup from the wafer and chamber components.
With respect to claims 22 and 26, the method of Zhang in view of Chen et al. further includes wherein the etch product comprises FCN; COx where x is 1 or 2; SiClx where x is 1 to 4; or SiFx where x is 1 to 4 (i.e. etch product from using CxHyFz on a silicon wafer, column 2, lines 8-46).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Godet et al.’633, Tappan et al.’334, and Tappan’404 teach a cantilever coupled to an electrode housing bowl.
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716