Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
a. Independent: 1, 10 and 17
b. Pending: 1-20
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is submitted on 7/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Integrated circuit with two arrays and interface in-between that outputs analog voltage to second array.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11837281. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because when we compare independent claims from both set, we find that they recite the same claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US 20210397931).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hoang discloses an integrated circuit (Figs. 1-15), comprising:
a first array of resistors (Fig. 12 shows NVM array 1201. Examiner asserts that array of memory means array of resistors);
a second array of resistors (Fig. 12 shows NVM array 1201. Examiner asserts that array of memory means array of resistors); and
a plurality of interface circuits electrically coupled between the first array of resistors and the second array of resistors (Fig. 12 shows DAC 1213 and 1214. Along with ADC 1231, sigmoid 1232 etc., together these circuits form interface circuits. [0073] describes that each of arrays 1201, 1203, and 1205 is of size (m+n)xn, where the (m+n)xn memory cells are connected along (m+n) word lines and n bit lines),
wherein each interface circuit among the plurality of interface circuits is configured to
receive a signal from the first array of resistors (Fig. 12 shows DAC 1213 and 1214 receiving input from first array 1201), and
apply an analog voltage corresponding to the signal to the second array of resistors (Fig. 12 and [0074] describes that x.sub.t values are digital values that are converted to corresponding analog voltages by one or more digital to analog converters (DACs) before being fed to second array 1203).
Regarding claim 3, Hoang discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and further at least one resistor among the resistors in the first array or the second array is a memory cell ([0073] describes three non-volatile memory arrays: array 1201 for the weights W.sub.r, array 1203 for the weights W.sub.z, and array 1205 for the weights W.sub.h).
Regarding claim 4, Hoang discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and further the first array of resistors and the second array of resistors configure a neural network (Fig. 12 and [0073] describes an architecture for a GRU-based process-in-memory RNN (recurrent neural network) inference accelerator).
Regarding claim 5, Hoang discloses all the elements of claim 4 as above and further the second array of resistors comprises an output layer of the neural network, and the integrated circuit further comprises a plurality of analog-to-digital converter (ADC) circuits electrically coupled to output conductive lines of the second array of resistors (Fig. 12 and [0075] describes that output along the bit lines of each of array 1201, 1203, and 1205 is received at a corresponding analog to digital converter (ADC) 1231, 1233, and 1235, where the digital outputs are in turn input into a corresponding activation function).
Regarding claim 6, Hoang discloses all the elements of claim 4 as above and further a third array of resistors; and a plurality of further interface circuits electrically coupled between the second array of resistors and the third array of resistors, wherein each further interface circuit among the plurality of further interface circuits is configured to receive a further signal from the second array of resistors, and apply a further analog voltage corresponding to the further signal to the third array of resistors (Fig. 12 shows three array and two interface circuits connected as prescribed).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US 20210397931) in view of Bergman et al. (US 20020114146).
Regarding claim 2, Hoang discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Bergman further at least one resistor among the resistors in the first array or the second array is a controllably variable resistor ([0031] describes resistor array with controllable variable resistance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Bergman to modified Hoang in order to provide with resistor network that is capable of being controlled by the control circuitry as taught by Bergman ([0006]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US 20210397931) in view of Batra.
Regarding claim 7, Hoang discloses all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Batra further said each interface circuit among the plurality of interface circuits comprises: an integrator circuit configured to receive the signal, and integrate the signal over time to generate an intermediate voltage, and a buffer circuit electrically coupled to the integrator circuit to receive the intermediate voltage, and configured to generate the analog voltage corresponding to the intermediate voltage (Fig. 2 and (5)-(8) describes circuit 21 where each signal line is connected to the interface circuit. The integrator 23a provides an output voltage that is proportional to the length of time. And comparators 25a and 26a receives input from previous stage integrator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Batra to modified Hoang in order to provide with high throughput data transfer technique as taught by Batra ((2)).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 11139843) in view of Hoang et al. (US 20210397931).
Regarding independent claim 17, Li discloses an integrated circuit (Figs. 1-6), comprising:
a first array of resistors (Fig. 4 shows resistors 404 through 410);
a second array of resistors (Fig. 4 shows resistors 414 through 420); and
at least one interface circuit electrically coupled between the first array of resistors and the second array of resistors,
wherein the at least one interface circuit comprises (Fig. 4 shows in-between circuitry that constitutes interface):
an operational amplifier (402; Fig. 4) having
a first input electrically coupled to the first array of resistors (Fig. 4 shows vref connected to first resistor array),
a second input (vfb; Fig. 4), and
an output (Fig. 4 shows output of 402);
a transistor (M7 and M8; Fig. 4) having
a gate terminal electrically coupled to the output of the operational amplifier (Fig. 4 shows that gates of M7 and M8 being connected to output of 402),
a first source/drain terminal electrically coupled to the second array of resistors (Fig. 4 shows that one of S/D terminal being electrically connected to second resistor array), and
a second source/drain terminal electrically coupled to a node of a power supply voltage (Fig. 4 shows that the other of S/D terminal being connected to VDD); and
a feedback circuit electrically coupled between the first source/drain terminal of the transistor and the second input of the operational amplifier (Fig. 4 shows feedback path vfb).
Hoang teaches a first array of resistors (Fig. 12 shows NVM array 1201. Examiner asserts that array of memory means array of resistors);
a second array of resistors (Fig. 12 shows NVM array 1201. Examiner asserts that array of memory means array of resistors);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Hoang to Li in order to reduce the amount of data transfer needed to perform inferencing operations for a recurrent neural network, or RNN, as taught by Hoang ([0019]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SULTANA BEGUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 5/20/2026