DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin(USPATENT: 9613931, hereinafter Lin) in view of Yu (USPATENT: 6028367, hereinafter Yu).
Re claim 1 Lin discloses in Fig 1A a method of manufacturing a semiconductor package(101A/101B) module, comprising: providing a package(101A/101B) comprising a semiconductor die(102/104/106); disposing a conductive layer(108B) over the package(101A/101B); and disposing a heat dissipating module(108C) over the conductive layer(108B), the package(101A/101B), wherein the heat dissipating module(108C) is thermally coupled to and electrically isolated (by way of 118)[col4, lines 35-45] from the package(101A/101B) through the conductive layer(108B).
Lin does not specifically teach the heat dissipating module(108C) propping against two opposite sides of the conductive layer(108B),
Yu discloses in Fig 2, rotated 90 degrees, the heat dissipating module(34/38 of Yu) propping against sides of the conductive layer(36 of Yu) (since 36 provides support this may be interpreted as propping),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Yu to the teachings of Lin in order to have improved heat conductance and for providing additional anchoring support [col 6, lines 10-25, Yu]. In doing so, the heat dissipating module(34/38 of Yu) propping against two opposite sides of the conductive layer(36 of Yu) (since 36 provides support this may be interpreted as propping),
Re claim 2 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: forming a coating layer over the heat dissipating module(108C) by a sintering process, wherein the coating layer comprise a wicking structure.
Re claim 3 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: forming a coating layer over the heat dissipating module(108C) by a surface treatment process, wherein the coating layer comprise a low surface energy layer or a high surface energy layer.
Re claim 4 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 1, prior to disposing the heat dissipating module(108C) over the conductive layer(108B), the method further comprising forming the heat dissipating module(108C), wherein forming the heat dissipating module(108C) comprises: forming a heat dissipating element comprising a microstructure in a column form extending along a stacking direction of the package(101A/101B) and the conductive layer(108B), wherein in a plane perpendicular to the stacking direction, a shape of a cross-section of the microstructure comprises a circle or ellipse-like shape, a planar or curved wall-like shape, a semi-annulus-like shape, a fin-like shape, or combinations thereof.
Re claim 5 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 1, prior to disposing the heat dissipating module(108C) over the conductive layer(108B), the method further comprising forming the heat dissipating module(108C), wherein forming the heat dissipating module(108C) comprises: forming a heat dissipating element comprising a microstructure, wherein the microstructure comprises a base extending along a plane perpendicular to a stacking direction of the package(101A/101B) and the conductive layer(108B) and a plurality of branches extending in the stacking direction and disposed over a side of the base facing away from the package(101A/101B).
Re claim 6 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 1, prior to disposing the heat dissipating module(108C) over the conductive layer(108B), the method further comprising forming the heat dissipating module(108C), wherein forming the heat dissipating module(108C) comprises: forming a heat dissipating element comprising a 3D structure, wherein the 3D structure comprises at least one horizontal portion extending along a plane perpendicular to a stacking direction of the package(101A/101B) and the conductive layer(108B), a plurality of first vertical portions extending in the stacking direction and disposed over a third side of the at least one horizontal portion facing away from the package(101A/101B), and a plurality of second vertical portions extending in the stacking direction and disposed over fourth side of the at least one horizontal portion facing to the package(101A/101B), wherein the third side is opposite to the fourth side along the stacking direction.
Re claim 7 Lin discloses in Fig 1A a method of manufacturing a semiconductor package(101A/101B) module, comprising: providing a package(101A/101B) comprising a semiconductor die(102/104/106); mounting the package(101A/101B) to a circuit substrate(108A); disposing a supporting structure(126/124) on the circuit substrate(108A), the supporting structure(126/124) laterally surrounding the package(101A/101B); disposing a metallization layer(108B) over the package(101A/101B); disposing a heat dissipating module(108C) over the metallization layer(108B), the package(101A/101B), wherein the heat dissipating module(108C) is thermally coupled to and electrically isolated (by way of 118)[col4, lines 35-45] from the package(101A/101B) through the metallization layer(108B); and forming a plurality of conductive terminals(left110/right110/left120/right120) over a side of the circuit substrate(108A) opposing to the package(101A/101B) and electrically coupled to the circuit substrate(108A).
Lin does not specifically teach and the heat dissipating module(108C) propping against two opposite sides of the metallization layer(108B),
Yu discloses in Fig 2, rotated 90 degrees, the heat dissipating module(34/38 of Yu) propping against sides of the metallization layer(36 of Yu) (since 36 provides support this may be interpreted as propping),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Yu to the teachings of Lin in order to have improved heat conductance and for providing additional anchoring support [col 6, lines 10-25, Yu]. In doing so, the heat dissipating module(34/38 of Yu) propping against two opposite sides of the metallization layer(36 of Yu) (since 36 provides support this may be interpreted as propping),
Re claim 8 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 7, further comprising: forming a coating layer over the heat dissipating module(108C) by a sintering process, wherein the coating layer comprise a wicking structure.
Re claim 9 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 7, further comprising: forming a coating layer over the heat dissipating module(108C) by a surface treatment process, wherein the coating layer comprise a low surface energy layer or a high surface energy layer.
Re claim 10 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 7, prior to disposing the heat dissipating module(108C) over the conductive layer(108B), the method further comprising forming the heat dissipating module(108C), wherein forming the heat dissipating module(108C) comprises: forming a heat dissipating element comprising a microstructure in a column form extending along a stacking direction of the package(101A/101B) and the conductive layer(108B), wherein in a plane perpendicular to the stacking direction, a shape of a cross-section of the microstructure comprises a circle or ellipse-like shape, a planar or curved wall-like shape, a semi-annulus-like shape, a fin-like shape, or combinations thereof.
Re claim 11 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 7, prior to disposing the heat dissipating module(108C) over the conductive layer(108B), the method further comprising forming the heat dissipating module(108C), wherein forming the heat dissipating module(108C) comprises: forming a heat dissipating element comprising a microstructure, wherein the microstructure comprises a base extending along a plane perpendicular to a stacking direction of the package(101A/101B) and the conductive layer(108B) and a plurality of branches extending in the stacking direction and disposed over a side of the base facing away from the package(101A/101B).
Re claim 12 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 7, prior to disposing the heat dissipating module(108C) over the conductive layer(108B), the method further comprising forming the heat dissipating module(108C), wherein forming the heat dissipating module(108C) comprises: forming a heat dissipating element comprising a 3D structure, wherein the 3D structure comprises at least one horizontal portion extending along a plane perpendicular to a stacking direction of the package(101A/101B) and the conductive layer(108B), a plurality of first vertical portions extending in the stacking direction and disposed over a third side of the at least one horizontal portion facing away from the package(101A/101B), and a plurality of second vertical portions extending in the stacking direction and disposed over fourth side of the at least one horizontal portion facing to the package(101A/101B), wherein the third side is opposite to the fourth side along the stacking direction.
Re claim 13 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 7, further comprising: disposing one or more first semiconductor device on the circuit substrate(108A), the one or more first semiconductor device being electrically coupled to the package(101A/101B) through the circuit substrate(108A).
Re claim 14 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 7, further comprising: disposing one or more second semiconductor device on the circuit substrate(108A), the one or more second semiconductor device being electrically coupled to the package(101A/101B) through the circuit substrate(108A), wherein the one or more second semiconductor device and the one or more first semiconductor device are disposed at two opposite sides of the circuit substrate(108A).
Re claim 15 Lin discloses in Fig 1A a method of manufacturing a semiconductor package(101A/101B) module, comprising: providing a package(101A/101B) comprising a semiconductor die(102/104/106); disposing a conductive layer(108B) over the package(101A/101B); forming flux portions(spin-on coating)[col6, lines 40-55] over the conductive layer(108B); and mounting a heat dissipating module(108C) to the conductive layer(108B) through solder joints(120/150) therebetween by reflowing the flux portions(spin-on coating)[col6, lines 40-55], the package(101A/101B) wherein the heat dissipating module(108C) is thermally coupled to and electrically isolated (by way of 118)[col4, lines 35-45] from the package(101A/101B) through the conductive layer(108B).
Lin does not specifically teach the heat dissipating module(108C) propping against two opposite sides of the conductive layer(108B),
Yu discloses in Fig 2, rotated 90 degrees, the heat dissipating module(34/38 of Yu) propping against sides of the conductive layer(36 of Yu) (since 36 provides support this may be interpreted as propping),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Yu to the teachings of Lin in order to have improved heat conductance and for providing additional anchoring support [col 6, lines 10-25, Yu]. In doing so, the heat dissipating module(34/38 of Yu) propping against two opposite sides of the conductive layer(36 of Yu) (since 36 provides support this may be interpreted as propping),
Re claim 16 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 15, wherein forming the flux portions(spin-on coating)[col6, lines 40-55] over the conductive layer(108B) comprises: placing a stencil over the conductive layer(108B), the stencil comprising a plurality of holes to partially expose the conductive layer(108B); and disposing the flux portions(spin-on coating)[col6, lines 40-55] in the plurality of holes by stencil printing.
Re claim 17 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the stencil is removed from the conductive layer(108B) prior to mounting the heat dissipating module(108C) to the conductive layer(108B).
Re claim 18 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the stencil is removed from the conductive layer(108B) after mounting the heat dissipating module(108C) to the conductive layer(108B).
Re claim 19 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 15, further comprising: forming a coating layer over the heat dissipating module(108C) by a sintering process, wherein the coating layer comprise a wicking structure; and/or forming a coating layer over the heat dissipating module(108C) by a surface treatment process, wherein the coating layer comprise a low surface energy layer or a high surface energy layer.
Re claim 20 Lin and Yu disclose the method of claim 15, prior to mounting the heat dissipating module(108C) to the conductive layer(108B), the method further comprising forming the heat dissipating module(108C), wherein forming the heat dissipating module(108C) comprises: forming a heat dissipating element comprising a microstructure in a column form extending along a stacking direction of the package(101A/101B) and the conductive layer(108B), wherein in a plane perpendicular to the stacking direction, a shape of a cross-section of the microstructure comprises a circle or ellipse-like shape, a planar or curved wall-like shape, a semi-annulus-like shape, a fin-like shape, or combinations thereof; forming a heat dissipating element comprising a microstructure, wherein the microstructure comprises a base extending along a plane perpendicular to a stacking direction of the package(101A/101B) and the conductive layer(108B) and a plurality of branches, extending in the stacking direction and disposed over a side of the base facing away from the package(101A/101B); and/or forming a heat dissipating element comprising a 3D structure, wherein the 3D structure comprises at least one horizontal portion extending along a plane perpendicular to a stacking direction of the package(101A/101B) and the conductive layer(108B), a plurality of first vertical portions extending in the stacking direction and disposed over a third side of the at least one horizontal portion facing away from the package(101A/101B), and a plurality of second vertical portions extending in the stacking direction and disposed over fourth side of the at least one horizontal portion facing to the package(101A/101B), wherein the third side is opposite to the fourth side along the stacking direction.
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812