DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Per claim 1, line 1, change “power distribution unit” to –power distribution unit (PDU)--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1, 5, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bergeron et al. US2015/0214700.
Per claim 1 Bergeron et al. teaches a power distribution unit (100; [0003], [0024], see fig.1 & 6) comprising: an enclosure (102; [0027]), comprising: a front panel (104; [0024]); a first power output receptacle (116 & 118, see fig.1; [0026]) mounted on the enclosure (see fig.1); and a first circuit breaker mount ([0025], [0036], see fig.7, “additional cover plate and DIN rail 162”) is coupled to the front panel of the enclosure (see fig.1).
Per claim 5 Bergeron et al. teaches the power distribution unit of claim 1, further including a first circuit breaker electrically coupled to the first power output receptacle ([0047]), the first circuit breaker being physically coupled to first circuit breaker mount ([0047]).
Per claim 19 Bergeron et al. teaches a method for distributing power, comprising: providing an enclosure (102; [0027]) with a front panel (104; [0024]), at least one side panel, and a rear panel; mounting at least one power output receptacle on the enclosure (see fig.1); and coupling at least one or more circuit breakers to a breaker mount ([0047], see fig.1), wherein the breaker mount is coupled to the front panel of the enclosure (see fig.1 & 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 2-4, 10-13 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergeron et al. US2015/0214700 in view of Merz DE202023101813 (using PE2E for English translation).
Per claim 2 Bergeron et al. teaches the PDU of claim 1
Bergeron et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first circuit breaker mount includes a mounting surface comprising a first mounting post and a second mounting post wherein the first and second mounting posts are spaced apart.
Merz however discloses wherein the first circuit breaker mount (21a, 21b or 21c) includes a mounting surface comprising a first mounting post (see fig.4, “left vertical side of 21a,b,c”) and a second mounting post (see fig.2, “right vertical side”) wherein the first and second mounting posts are spaced apart (see fig.4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a first circuit breaker mount as taught by Merz in the PDU of Bergeron et al., because it enables a secured coupling of the circuit breaker to the enclosure, thus ensuring that the circuit breaker is properly attached for efficient connection of the circuit breaker to a power connection.
Per claim 3 Bergeron et al. in view of Merz teaches the PDU of Claim 2 wherein the first and second mounting posts are spaced apart to receive a circuit breaker (10a,b,c and/or 20a,b,c, “circuit breakers with integrated measuring and transmission devices and/or so-called intelligent fuses”) having a standard DIN-Rail mount (21a,b,c, see fig.4).
Per claim 4 Bergeron et al. in view of Merz teaches the PDU of claim 2 wherein the mounting surface further includes a mounting cavity formed by a space between the first and second mounting posts (see fig.4).
Per claim 10 Bergeron et al. teaches the power distribution unit of claim 1,
Bergeron et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first breaker mount further
includes a first mounting hole.
Merz however discloses wherein the first breaker mount further includes a first mounting hole (see fig.4, “see top hole on 21a,b,c).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first breaker mount having a first mounting hole, because it enables the mount to be secured to the enclosure via the fastener, thus ensuring proper coupling of the circuit breaker to the enclosure.
Per claim 11 Bergeron et al. in view of Merz teaches the power distribution unit of claim 10, wherein the first breaker mount further includes a second mounting hole (see fig.4, “see bottom hole on 21a,b,c).
Per claim 12 Bergeron et al. in view of Merz teaches the power distribution unit of claim 11, wherein the front panel of the enclosure includes a plurality of mounting locations (see fig.1 & 6).
Per claim 13 Bergeron et al. in view of Merz teaches the power distribution unit of claim 12, wherein the first mounting hole and the second mounting hole are configured to be mounted to the mounting locations by a fastening apparatus (see fig.4, “read presentation of invention”, Examiner asserts that the holes are configured/capable of being mounted to the mounting locations).
Per claim 20 Bergeron et al. teaches method of claim 19,
Bergeron et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one or more circuit breakers is a DIN-Rail mount circuit breaker.
Merz however discloses wherein the at least one or more circuit breakers is a DIN-Rail mount circuit breaker (21a,b,c, see fig.4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a DIN-rail mount circuit breaker as taught by Merz in the method of Bergeron et al., because the DIN-rail is a well-known standard rail used to efficiently couple circuit breakers.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergeron et al. US2015/0214700 in view of Baker et al. US5821636.
Per claim 6 Bergeron et al. teaches the power distribution unit of claim 1,
Bergeron et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first circuit breaker mount includes a circuit breaker with a user accessible actuator.
Baker et al. however discloses wherein the first circuit breaker mount (see fig.2-3) includes a circuit breaker (20 or 22) with a user accessible actuator (12).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have an actuator as taught by Baker et al., because it enables control of the power output to the receptacle, thus ensuring that the receptable has power when needed.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergeron et al. US2015/0214700 in view of Baker et al. US5821636 as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of De Varennes et al. US6560123.
Per claim 7 Bergeron et al. in view of Baker et al. teaches the power distribution unit of claim 6,
Bergeron et al. in view of Baker et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the user accessible actuator is configured in a first position to indicate a closed circuit.
De Varennes et al. however discloses wherein a user accessible actuator is configured in a first position to indicate a closed circuit (col.1, line 25-54, “off position”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have an actuator as taught by De Varennes et al. in the power distribution unit of Bergeron et al. in view of Baker et al., because it enables control of the circuit breaker to activate the breaker and power distribution unit when power is needed or deactivate when power is not needed.
Per claim 8 Bergeron et al. in view of Baker et al. and De Varennes et al. teaches the power distribution unit of claim 7, wherein the user accessible actuator is configured in a second position to indicate an open circuit (col.1, line 25-54, “on position”).
Per claim 9 Bergeron et al. in view of Baker et al. and De Varennes et al. teaches the power distribution unit of claim 8, wherein the user accessible actuator is configured in a third position to indicate a reset position (col.1, line 25-54, “tripped position”).
Claims 14 - 18 are allowable
4. Regarding Independent claim 14, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed combination of elements and features of: A breaker mount for mounting a circuit breaker to a front panel of a power distribution unit, the breaker mount comprising: a base, comprising: a left mounting tab; a right mounting tab; a left mounting hole; a right mounting hole; a base connection piece that connects the left mounting tab and the right mounting tab; and a base cavity, wherein the base cavity is configured to allow for cooling of the circuit breaker; a mounting surface, comprising: a first mounting post; and a second mounting post, wherein the first mounting post and the second mounting post are parallel to each other and configured to resemble a DIN-Rail mounting surface; and a mounting cavity, wherein the mounting cavity is configured to allow for cooling of the circuit breaker; a top surface, comprising: a top cavity, wherein the top cavity is configured to allow for cooling of the circuit breaker; and a top mounting tab, wherein the top mounting tab extends perpendicularly from the top surface; and a top mounting hole.
Claims 15-18 depends on claim 14, therefore allowable for the same reason.
Email Communication
5. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tanzer et al. US2001/0026436 discloses a power distribution unit adapted for mounting within an electronic system. The power distribution unit includes at least one mounting hinge that is fixedly attached to the power distribution unit housing and which is adapted to fixedly mount the power distribution unit to an enclosure of the electronic system.
Kluser et al. US2002/0153811 discloses a modular rack-mounting system comprising: a rigid frame having a top, bottom and a pair of sides; a sleeve having a top, bottom and a pair of sides configured to fit within the rigid frame; and means for detachably securing the sleeve within the rigid frame.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841