DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application on 7/29/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/29/2024, 8/9/2024, 4/3/2025 and 7/13/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear to the examiner in regards to the limitation recited by the applicant reciting “wherein the one or more stacked vias, the first metallization pattern, and the first under-bump metallization electrically connect the first conductive pad of the first die to the second conductive pad.” Claim 17 recites the limitation " the first conductive pad of the first die" in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required. For purpose of examination, the examiner has interpreted the claim to read “wherein the one or more stacked vias, the first metallization pattern, and the first under-bump metallization electrically connect the first conductive pad of the redistribution structure to the second conductive pad of the second die.”
Claims 18-20, depend from Claim 17, thus inherit the deficiencies identified supra. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 2020/0185357) in view of Gonzalez (EP 3038150A).
With respect to Claim 1, Byun discloses (Fig 6-7) most aspects of the current invention including method comprising:
forming a redistribution structure (110), the redistribution structure comprises:
forming a first insulating layer (middle 111a; as depicted below); over the first die
forming a first metallization pattern in and along an upper surface of the first insulating layer, the first metallization pattern comprising a first conductive line (111b in the 2nd insulating layer as depicted below) and a first conductive via (via 111c in the 1st insulating layer as depicted below) coupled to the first conductive line, the first conductive line extending along the upper surface of the first insulating layer, the first conductive via extending through the first insulating layer, the first conductive line comprising a first conductive pad coupled to the first conductive via
forming a second insulating layer (topmost 111a; as depicted below) over the first insulating layer and the first metallization pattern
forming a UBM structure over the redistribution structure, wherein the UBM structure comprises:
forming a second conductive via (114b) in the second insulating layer and being coupled to the first metallization pattern;
forming a third conductive pad (114a) over the second conductive via,
forming a conductive column (140) over the third conductive pad, the third conductive pad electrically coupling the conductive column to the second conductive via
However, Byun does not disclose the redistribution structure is formed over a first die, and the first conductive line comprising a second conductive pad and a curved portion connecting the first conductive pad to the second conductive pad, and wherein the first conductive line is disposed entirely within a perimeter of the third conductive pad in a plan view.
On the other hand, and in a related field of endeavor, Gonzalez teaches (Fig 1-2) forming a redistribution structure (45) over a first die (1; semiconductor integrated circuit), the redistribution structure (45) comprising: a first insulating layer (4); a second insulating layer (7); and a first metallization pattern (5/6) in the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, the first metallization pattern comprising a first conductive line (6) and a first conductive via (5) coupled to the first conductive line, the first conductive line comprising: a first conductive pad (pad connected to via 5) coupled to the first conductive via; a second conductive pad (pad connected to second via 8); and a curved portion (see Fig 2) connecting the first conductive pad to the second conductive pad, a UBM structure (9) comprising a third conductive pad (9) directly contacting the second conductive via.
Gonzalez teaches the use of a conductive line being curved allows the distribution of stress evenly within the conductive line, preventing local concentration of stress (par 24) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have forming a redistribution structure over a first die, and wherein the first conductive line comprising a second conductive pad and a curved portion connecting the first conductive pad to the second conductive pad in the device of Byun, as taught by Gonzalez because the use of a conductive line being curved allows the distribution of stress evenly within the conductive line, preventing local concentration of stress.
Furthermore, although, Gonzalez does not show wherein the first conductive line is disposed entirely within a perimeter of the third conductive pad in a plan view; Gonzalez teaches the use of a conductive line being curved allows the distribution of stress evenly within the conductive line, preventing local concentration of stress.
However, it is noted that the specification fails to provide teachings about the criticality of having the first conductive line is disposed entirely within a perimeter of the third conductive pad in a plan view, as claimed in the instant application. Additionally, the specification also states the third conductive pad may have any desired shape based on design requirements (par 85).
Therefore, absent any criticality, this limitation is only considered to be an obvious modification of the first conductive line and the third conductive pad disclosed by Byun in view of Gonzalez as the courts have held that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is within the level of skill in the art, as the particular third conductive pad shape claimed by applicant is nothing more than one of numerous third conductive pad shapes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention. See In re Daily, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With respect to Claim 2, Byun discloses (Fig 6-7) further comprising bonding an integrated circuit die (121) to the conductive column using a conductive connector (122b).
With respect to Claim 3, Gonzalez teaches (Fig 1-3 and 5) wherein a center of a conductive column (10) is shifted with respect to a center of the third conductive pad (9) in a plan view.
With respect to Claim 4, Gonzalez teaches (Fig 1-3 and 5) wherein a center of the first conductive via (5) is shifted in a first direction (left direction) with respect to a center of the third conductive pad in a plan view, wherein a center of the second conductive via (8) is shifted in a second direction (right direction) with respect to a center of the third conductive pad in a plan view, and wherein the first direction is different from the second direction.
With respect to Claim 5, Gonzalez teaches (Fig 1-3 and 5) wherein the third conductive pad (9) comprises is circular in plan view.
With respect to Claim 6, Byun discloses (Fig 6-7) wherein forming the redistribution structure further comprises: forming a third insulating layer (lower 111a; as depicted below), the first insulating layer being interposed between the third insulating layer and the second insulating layer; and forming a second metallization pattern over the third insulating layer, the second metallization pattern comprising a second conductive line (111b on third insulating layer (lower 111a) as depicted below) and a third conductive via (111c via in third insulating layer (lower 111a) as depicted below), coupled to the second conductive line, the third conductive via extending through the third insulating layer, wherein the third conductive via and the first conductive via are vertically stacked.
With respect to Claim 7, Gonzalez teaches (Fig 1-3) wherein a center of the first conductive via is shifted with respect to a center of the third conductive pad in a plan view.
With respect to Claim 8, Gonzalez teaches (Fig 1-3) wherein a center of the second conductive via is shifted with respect to a center of the third conductive pad in a plan view.
With respect to Claim 9, Gonzalez teaches (Fig 1-3) wherein the first conductive via fully overlaps with the conductive column in a plan view.
With respect to Claim 10, Byun discloses (Fig 6-7) the second conductive via partially overlaps with the conductive column in a side view.
However, although Byun does not show the second conductive via partially overlaps with the conductive column in a plan view, claims to the second conductive via and the conductive column which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the second conductive via are held unpatentable because shifting the position of the second conductive via would not have modified the operation of the device In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2020/0203303) in view of Gonzalez (EP 3038150A).
With respect to Claim 11, Lin discloses (Fig 8-10) most aspects of the current invention including a method comprising:
Forming a first conductive pad (lowermost pad 154a) on a die connector (135) of a die (130)
forming a redistribution structure (150) over the first conductive pad and the die, the redistribution structure comprising:
forming a first insulating layer (152b) over the first conductive pad;
forming a first metallization pattern on the first insulating layer, the first metallization pattern comprising a first conductive line (conductive layer 154b) and a first conductive via (via 154b) coupled to the first conductive line, and extending through the first insulating layer to the first conductive pad, the first conductive line comprising a second conductive pad (left layer 154b) and a third conductive pad (right layer 154b)
a second insulating layer (152c) over the first metallization pattern, the first insulating layer (152b) being between the second insulating layer and the first conductive pad;
a second metallization pattern over the second insulating layer, the second metallization pattern comprising a second conductive via (via 154c), the second conductive via extending through the second insulating layer and being electrically connected to the first conductive line (conductive layer 154b);
a third insulating layer (152d) over the second insulating layer
However, Lin does not disclose the redistribution structure comprising a curved portion connecting the second conductive pad to the third conductive pad, wherein the second conductive pad, the third conductive pad, and the curved portion are completely within a perimeter of first conductive pad in a plan view.
On the other hand, and in a related field of endeavor, Gonzalez teaches (Fig 1-2) forming a redistribution structure (45) over a first die (1; semiconductor integrated circuit), the redistribution structure (45) comprising: a first insulating layer (4); a second insulating layer (7); and a first metallization pattern (5/6) in the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, the first metallization pattern comprising a first conductive line (6) and a first conductive via (5) coupled to the first conductive line, the first conductive line comprising: a first conductive pad (pad connected to via 5) coupled to the first conductive via; a second conductive pad (pad connected to second via 8); and a curved portion (see Fig 2) connecting the first conductive pad to the second conductive pad.
Gonzalez teaches the use of a conductive line being curved allows the distribution of stress evenly within the conductive line, preventing local concentration of stress (par 24) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wherein the first conductive line comprising a second conductive pad, a third conductive pad, and a curved portion connecting the second conductive pad to the third conductive pad in the device of Lin, as taught by Gonzalez because the use of a conductive line being curved allows the distribution of stress evenly within the conductive line, preventing local concentration of stress.
Furthermore, although, Gonzalez does not show wherein the second conductive pad, the third conductive pad, and the curved portion are completely within a perimeter of first conductive pad in a plan view; Gonzalez teaches the use of a conductive line being curved allows the distribution of stress evenly within the conductive line, preventing local concentration of stress.
However, it is noted that the specification fails to provide teachings about the criticality of having the second conductive pad, the third conductive pad, and the curved portion are completely within a perimeter of first conductive pad in a plan view, as claimed in the instant application.
Therefore, absent any criticality, this limitation is only considered to be an obvious modification of the first conductive line and the first conductive pad disclosed by Lin in view of Gonzalez as the courts have held that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is within the level of skill in the art, as the particular conductive pad shape claimed by applicant is nothing more than one of numerous conductive pad shapes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention. See In re Daily, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With respect to Claim 12, Lin discloses (Fig 8-10) wherein the first insulating layer (152b) is thicker than the second insulating layer (152c) and the third insulating layer (152d).
With respect to Claim 13, Lin discloses (Fig 8-10) wherein a width of the die connector is less than a width of the first conductive pad in a side view.
However, although Lin does not show the feature in a plan view, claims to the die connector and the first conductive pad which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the die connector and the first conductive pad are held unpatentable because shifting the position of the die connector and the first conductive pad would not have modified the operation of the device In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to Claim 14, Lin discloses (Fig 8-10) wherein a center of the die connector is shifted with respect to a center of the first conductive pad in a side view.
However, although Lin does not show the feature in a plan view, claims to the die connector and the first conductive pad which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the die connector and the first conductive pad are held unpatentable because shifting the position of the die connector and the first conductive pad would not have modified the operation of the device In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to Claim 15, Gonzalez teaches (Fig 1-3) wherein a center of the first conductive via is shifted with respect to a center of the first conductive pad in the plan view. (Also, see comments stated above in Par. 31-36 with regards to Claim 11, which are considered repeated here)
With respect to Claim 16, Gonzalez teaches (Fig 1-3) wherein a center of the second conductive via is shifted with respect to a center of the first conductive pad in the plan view. (Also, see comments stated above in Par. 31-36 with regards to Claim 11, which are considered repeated here)
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeng (US 2018/0068978) in view of Gonzalez (EP 3038150A).
With respect to Claim 17, Jeng discloses (Fig 2a-2k,3) most aspects of the current invention including a method comprising:
forming a redistribution structure (20) over a first die (30), the first die having a first die connector (32), the redistribution structure including a first conductive pad (lowermost pad 22) on a first side (201) and a second conductive pad (third pad 22 in third layer 24) on a second side (202), wherein the first side faces an opposite direction than the second side, wherein the first die connector (32) of the first die is electrically coupled to the first conductive pad (lowermost pad 22) on the first side of the redistribution structure, wherein the redistribution structure comprises:
one or more stacked vias (vias 22) between the first side and the second side; and a first metallization pattern (metal layers 22) electrically coupled to the one or more stacked vias
a first under-bump metallization (uppermost layer 22) electrically coupled to the first metallization pattern of the redistribution structure, with a via (vias 22) directly contacting the first under-bump metallization
attaching a second conductive pad (pad on 66) of a second die (66) to the first under-bump metallization, wherein the redistribution structure is between the first die and the second die, wherein the one or more stacked vias, the first metallization pattern, and the first under-bump metallization electrically connect the first conductive pad (lowermost pad 22) of the redistribution structure to the second conductive pad (pad on 66) of the second die
However, Jeng does not explicitly disclose wherein the first metallization pattern has a first C-shape in a plan view, the first C-shape having a first pad portion, a second pad portion, and a line portion connecting the first pad portion to the second pad portion, first pad portion of the first C-shape being electrically coupled to a first one of the one or more stacked vias; and a first under-bump metallization electrically coupled to the second pad portion of the first C-shape with a via directly contacting the first under-bump metallization and the second pad portion of the first C-shape, wherein the first C-shape is completely within a perimeter of the first under-bump metallization in the plan view.
On the other hand, and in a related field of endeavor, Gonzalez teaches (Fig 1-2) forming a redistribution structure (45) over a first die (1; semiconductor integrated circuit), the redistribution structure (45) comprising: a first insulating layer (4); a second insulating layer (7); and a first metallization pattern (5/6) in the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, the first metallization pattern comprising one or more stacked vias, wherein the first metallization pattern has a first C-shape in a plan view, the first C-shape having a first pad portion (pad connected to via 5), a second pad portion (pad connected to second via 8), and a line portion (6) connecting the first pad portion to the second pad portion, first pad portion of the first C-shape being electrically coupled to a first one of the one or more stacked vias (via 5), a first under-bump metallization (9) electrically coupled to the second pad portion of the first C-shape with a via (via 8) directly contacting the first under-bump metallization and the second pad portion. Gonzalez teaches the use of a conductive line being curved allows the distribution of stress evenly within the conductive line, preventing local concentration of stress (par 24) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wherein the first metallization pattern has a first C-shape in a plan view, the first C-shape having a first pad portion, a second pad portion, and a line portion connecting the first pad portion to the second pad portion, first pad portion of the first C-shape being electrically coupled to a first one of the one or more stacked vias; and a first under-bump metallization electrically coupled to the second pad portion of the first C-shape with a via directly contacting the first under-bump metallization and the second pad portion of the first C-shape in the device of Jeng, as taught by Gonzalez because the use of a conductive line being curved allows the distribution of stress evenly within the conductive line, preventing local concentration of stress.
Furthermore, although, Gonzalez does not show wherein the first C-shape is completely within a perimeter of the first under-bump metallization in the plan view, Gonzalez teaches the use of a conductive line being curved allows the distribution of stress evenly within the conductive line, preventing local concentration of stress.
However, it is noted that the specification fails to provide teachings about the criticality of having the first C-shape being completely within a perimeter of the first under-bump metallization in a plan view, as claimed in the instant application.
Therefore, absent any criticality, this limitation is only considered to be an obvious modification of the first metallization pattern disclosed by Jeng in view of Gonzalez as the courts have held that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is within the level of skill in the art, as the particular metallization pattern shape claimed by applicant is nothing more than one of numerous metallization pattern shapes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention. See In re Daily, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With respect to Claim 18, Jeng discloses (Fig 3) wherein the redistribution structure further comprises: a pad (26) directly on the first die connector; and a second metallization pattern (middle pad 22) electrically interposed between the one or more stacked vias and the pad. Although Jeng does not show wherein the second metallization pattern has a second C-shape in the plan view, the second C-shape having a first pad portion, a second pad portion, and a line portion connecting the first pad portion of the second C-shape to the second pad portion of the second C-shape, Jeng is related to the field of integrated circuit packages in particular to redistribution structures between dies.
Furthermore, the Gonzalez reference is related to the field of integrated circuit packages, in particular to chip scale packages comprising metallization patterns having a C-shape in the plan view, the C-shape having a first pad portion, a second pad portion, and a line portion connecting the first pad portion of the C-shape to the second pad portion of the C-shape. (Also, see comments stated above in Par. 47-51 with regards to Claim 17, which are considered repeated here)
With respect to Claim 19, Jeng discloses (Fig 3) wherein the redistribution structure further comprises: a pad (26) directly on the first die connector; and a second metallization pattern (middle pad 22) electrically interposed between the one or more stacked vias and the pad. Although Jeng does not show wherein the second C-shape is completely within a perimeter pf the pad in plan view, Jeng is related to the field of integrated circuit packages in particular to redistribution structures between dies.
Furthermore, the Gonzalez reference is related to the field of integrated circuit packages, in particular to chip scale packages comprising metallization patterns having a C-shape in the plan view the C-shape having a first pad portion, a second pad portion, and a line portion connecting the first pad portion of the C-shape to the second pad portion of the C-shape. (Also, see comments stated above in Par. 47-51 with regards to Claim 17, which are considered repeated here)
With respect to Claim 20, Jeng discloses (Fig 3) wherein the first die connector (32), at least partially overlaps first metallization pattern (metal layers 22) of the redistribution structure. Although Jeng does not show wherein the first die connector at least partially overlaps the first pad portion and the second pad portion of the first C-shape, Jeng is related to the field of integrated circuit packages in particular to redistribution structures between dies.
Furthermore, the Gonzalez reference is related to the field of integrated circuit packages, in particular to chip scale packages comprising metallization patterns having a C-shape in the plan view the C-shape having a first pad portion, a second pad portion, and a line portion connecting the first pad portion of the C-shape to the second pad portion of the C-shape and further a first die (1; semiconductor integrated circuit) partially overlapping the first pad portion and the second pad portion of the first C-shape. (Also, see comments stated above in Par. 47-51 with regards to Claim 17, which are considered repeated here)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yu (US 2019/0295912)
/Q. B./
Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814