DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 7/29/24 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 7/29/24 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0266437).
Referring to figures 2-13, Chen et al. teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate (12) diced from a semiconductor wafer (10);
a first chiplet (20a) comprising a first circuit and a second chiplet (20b) comprising a second circuit, both of the first chiplet and second chiplet are disposed over the semiconductor substrate and are separated by a die-to-die space (38) filled with a dielectric material(40); and
a plurality of conductive connection patterns(56a) connecting the first circuit and the second circuit and disposed over the die-to-die space (see figure 7).
Regarding to claims 4, 13, further comprising one or more passivation layers covering the first circuit, the second circuit and the plurality of connection patterns (60, see figure 9).
Regarding to claims 5, 14, a mold resin encapsulating the semiconductor substrate with the first and second chiplets and the plurality of connection patterns (see paragraph# 54, figure 12-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0266437) applied to claims 1, 4-5, 9, 13-14 above, and further in view of Dabral et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0294230).
Referring to figures 2-13, Chen et al. teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate (12) diced from a semiconductor wafer (10);
a first chiplet (20a) comprising a first circuit and a second chiplet (20b) comprising a second circuit, both of the first chiplet and second chiplet are disposed over the semiconductor substrate and are separated by a die-to-die space (38) filled with a dielectric material(40); and
a plurality of conductive connection patterns(56a) connecting the first circuit and the second circuit and disposed over the die-to-die space (see figure 7).
However, the reference does not specific teach the die-to-die space comprises no functional circuit electrically connected to at least one of the first circuit or the second circuit, other than the plurality of conductive connection patterns (in claim 3, 10); the plurality of conductive connection patterns connect patterns at an uppermost conductive layer of the first circuit and patterns at an uppermost conductive layer of the second circuit (in claim 6, 12).
Dabral et al. teaches the die-to-die space comprises no functional circuit electrically connected to at least one of the first circuit or the second circuit (108a/108b), other than the plurality of conductive connection patterns (see figures 1, 5, meeting claim 3, 10); the plurality of conductive connection patterns connect patterns at an uppermost conductive layer of the first circuit and patterns at an uppermost conductive layer of the second circuit (135/136, see figures 1, 5, meeting claim 6, 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was file would form the die-to-die space comprises no functional circuit electrically connected to at least one of the first circuit or the second circuit, other than the plurality of conductive connection patterns and the plurality of conductive connection patterns connect patterns at an uppermost conductive layer of the first circuit and patterns at an uppermost conductive layer of the second circuit in CHEN et al. as taught by Dabral et al. because it is known in the art to provide electrical connection to adjacent dies.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0266437) applied to claims 1, 4-5, 9, 13-14 above, and further in view of Rubin et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0134724).
Referring to figures 2-13, Chen et al. teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate (12) diced from a semiconductor wafer (10);
a first chiplet (20a) comprising a first circuit and a second chiplet (20b) comprising a second circuit, both of the first chiplet and second chiplet are disposed over the semiconductor substrate and are separated by a die-to-die space (38) filled with a dielectric material(40); and
a plurality of conductive connection patterns(56a) connecting the first circuit and the second circuit and disposed over the die-to-die space (see figure 7).
However, the reference does not the first chiplet differs in size from the second chiplet (in claim 8)
Rubin et al. teaches the first chiplet differs in size from the second chiplet (132/142, see figures 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the first chiplet differs in size from the second chiplet in Chen et al. as taught by Rubin et al. because it is known in the art to form different chiplet dimensions.
Claim(s) 2, 7, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0266437), and further in view of Dabral et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0294230) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12-14 above, and further in view of Wei et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0213798).
Referring to figures 2-13, Chen et al. teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate (12) diced from a semiconductor wafer (10);
a first chiplet (20a) comprising a first circuit and a second chiplet (20b) comprising a second circuit, both of the first chiplet and second chiplet are disposed over the semiconductor substrate and are separated by a die-to-die space (38) filled with a dielectric material(40); and
a plurality of conductive connection patterns(56a) connecting the first circuit and the second circuit and disposed over the die-to-die space (see figure 7).
However, the reference does not teach the size of semiconductor substrate (in claims 2, 7 11).
Wei et al. teaches the size of semiconductor substrate (see paragraph# 44, figures 20-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the specific size of semiconductor substrate in Chen et al. as taught by Wei et al. because it is known in the art to form a large chip.
Claim(s) 15-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dabral et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180294230), and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0266437).
Referring to figures 1-5, Dabral et al. teaches semiconductor device, comprising: first and second chiplets (110) over a semiconductor substrate (101), wherein the semiconductor substrate is diced from a semiconductor wafer, the first chiplet comprises a first circuit functionality and the second chiplet comprises a second circuit functionality; a third chiplet over the semiconductor substrate, wherein the third chiplet comprises a third circuit functionality (see figure 2a); and a plurality of conductive connection patterns connecting two or more of the first chiplet, the second chiplet, or the third chiplet and over a die-to-die space, wherein the first, second, and third chiplets are separated by the die-to-die space (see figure 2).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the die-to-die space is filled with a dielectric material.
Chen et al. teaches the die-to-die space is filled with a dielectric material (38/40, see figures 7-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the die-to-die space is filled with a dielectric material in Dabral et al. as taught by Chen et al. because it is known in the art to provide isolation and mechanical support in the region adjacent to dies while provide electrical connection.
Regarding to claim 16, the width of the die-to-die space is the same between each of the first, second, and third chiplets (see figure 2a).
Regarding to claim 18, fourth and fifth chiplets over the semiconductor substrate, wherein the fourth chiplet comprises the first circuit functionality and the fifth chiplet comprises the second circuit functionality (see figure 2a).
Regarding to claim 19, the first chiplet is aligned in a same row as the fourth chiplet and the second chiplet is aligned in a same row as the fifth chiplet (see figure 2a).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dabral et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180294230), and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0266437) as applied to claims 15-16, 18-19 above, and further in view of Wei et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0213798).
Referring to figures 1-5, Dabral et al. teaches semiconductor device, comprising: first and second chiplets (110) over a semiconductor substrate (101), wherein the semiconductor substrate is diced from a semiconductor wafer, the first chiplet comprises a first circuit functionality and the second chiplet comprises a second circuit functionality; a third chiplet over the semiconductor substrate, wherein the third chiplet comprises a third circuit functionality (see figure 2a); and a plurality of conductive connection patterns connecting two or more of the first chiplet, the second chiplet, or the third chiplet and over a die-to-die space, wherein the first, second, and third chiplets are separated by the die-to-die space (see figure 2).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the width of the die-to-die space between the first and second chiplet differs from the width of the die-to-die space between the second and third chiplet.
Wei et al. teaches the width of the die-to-die space between the first and second chiplet differs from the width of the die-to-die space between the second and third chiplet (see paragraph# 44, figures 20-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the specific size of semiconductor substrate in Dabral et al. as taught by Wei et al. because it is known in the art to form nonuniform spacing between adjacent chiplets/dies into the chip.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dabral et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180294230), and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0266437) as applied to claims 15-16, 18-19 above, and further in view of Crafts (U.S. Patent No. 6,489641).
Referring to figures 1-5, Dabral et al. teaches semiconductor device, comprising: first and second chiplets (110) over a semiconductor substrate (101), wherein the semiconductor substrate is diced from a semiconductor wafer, the first chiplet comprises a first circuit functionality and the second chiplet comprises a second circuit functionality; a third chiplet over the semiconductor substrate, wherein the third chiplet comprises a third circuit functionality (see figure 2a); and a plurality of conductive connection patterns connecting two or more of the first chiplet, the second chiplet, or the third chiplet and over a die-to-die space, wherein the first, second, and third chiplets are separated by the die-to-die space (see figure 2).
However, the reference does not clearly teach a row axis pitch of the first chiplet differs from the fourth chiplet.
Crafts teaches a row axis pitch of the first chiplet differs from the fourth chiplet (see figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form a row axis pitch of the first chiplet differs from the fourth chiplet in Dabral et al. as taught by Crafts et al. because it is known in the art to optimize lithographic exposure.
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893