DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites the limitation “…a second dispersion member a second end of the second guide arm,…” (emphasis added). This appears to be a typographical error. In this action, Examiner will assume the limitation reads as “…a second dispersion member at a second end of the second guide arm,…” to be consistent with the language used with first dispersion member recited earlier in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandt et al. (US PGPub 2016/0179012, hereinafter Brandt).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 3a of Brandt discloses a light source for photolithography fabrication process (EUV light can be used in photolithography processes to produce extremely small features in substrates, see paragraph [0002]), comprising:
a collector (EUV optic 30 is placed in a chamber during operation of the light source SO, see paragraph [0070]) including:
a plurality of individual reflective surfaces (EUV optic 30 having a reflective surface, the reflective surface being composed of a plurality of facets 110-118, see Fig. 3a and paragraph [0069]); and
a plurality of spaces that are defined between the plurality of individual reflective surfaces, the plurality of spaces isolates each respective individual reflective surface of the plurality of individual reflective surfaces from other respective reflective surfaces of the plurality of reflective surfaces (plurality of facets 110-1180 with adjacent facets being separated by respective gaps, depicted in Figs. 4a and 4b, see paragraph [0069]), and the plurality of spaces are configured to, in operation, allow for a purge gas to be exposed to the plurality of reflective surfaces (EUV optic 30 includes a plenum 140 in fluid communication with the gaps between the facets such that a gas supply 150 directs gas in a direction tangential to the reflective surface adjacent the gap, see paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claim 2, Brandt discloses an aperture on the collector (EUV optic 30 includes an aperture 35 to allow laser light to pass through and reach the irradiation region 28, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0040]), and the aperture that is configure to allow a pre-pulse light and a main pulse light to illuminate droplets in a source vessel (target material dispense 24 delivers target material into the interior of the chamber 26, where the target material will interact with one or more light pulses (e.g. one or more pre-pulses and thereafter one or more main pulses) to produce a plasma and generate an EUV emission, see paragraph [0039]; the EUV emitting element may be in the form of liquid droplets, see paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Brandt discloses a light generator configured to generate the pre-pulse light and the main pulse light to illuminate the droplets in the source vessel (the target material will interact with one or more light pulses (e.g. one or more pre-pulses and thereafter one or more main pulses) to produce a plasma and generate an EUV emission, see paragraph [0039]; the EUV emitting element may be in the form of liquid droplets, see paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Brandt discloses a droplet generator that is configured to generate droplets into the source vessel (target material dispense 24 delivers target material into the interior of the chamber 26, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0039]; the EUV emitting element may be in the form of liquid droplets, see paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Brandt discloses one or more flow guide members that pass through one or more respective spaces of the plurality of spaces configured to provide a passageway for a purge gas to be introduced at one or more respective reflective surfaces of the plurality of reflective surfaces of the collector to clean the one or more respective reflective surfaces of the plurality of reflective surfaces (EUV optic 30 includes a plenum 140 in fluid communication with the gaps between the facets such that a gas supply 150 directs gas in a direction tangential to the reflective surface adjacent the gap, see paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claim 11, Brandt discloses a first guide member that extends into a first respective space of the one or more respective spaces of the plurality of spaces; and
a second guide member that extends into a second respective space of the one or more respective spaces of the plurality of spaces (overlapping portions of the facets 110-118 form a gap through which the gas is directed toward the adjacent reflective surface, depicted in Figs. 4a and 4b, see paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claim 15, Brandt discloses a light source for a photolithography fabrication process (EUV light can be used in photolithography processes to produce extremely small features in substrates, see paragraph [0002]), comprising:
a collector (EUV optic 30 is placed in a chamber during operation of the light source SO, see paragraph [0070]) including:
a plurality of individual reflective surfaces (EUV optic 30 having a reflective surface, the reflective surface being composed of a plurality of facets 110-118, see Fig. 3a and paragraph [0069]); and
a plurality of spaces that are defined between the plurality of individual reflective surfaces, the plurality of spaces isolates each respective individual reflective surface of the plurality of individual reflective surfaces from other respective reflective surfaces of the plurality of individual reflective surfaces (plurality of facets 110-1180 with adjacent facets being separated by respective gaps, depicted in Figs. 4a and 4b, see paragraph [0069]), and the plurality of spaces are configured to, in operation, allow for a purge gas to be exposed to the plurality of reflective surfaces (EUV optic 30 includes a plenum 140 in fluid communication with the gaps between the facets such that a gas supply 150 directs gas in a direction tangential to the reflective surface adjacent the gap, see paragraph [0070]);
a first dispersion member that is aligned with a first respective space of the plurality of spaces; and
a second dispersion member that is aligned with a second respective space of the plurality of spaces (overlapping portions of the facets 110-118 form a gap through which the gas is directed toward the adjacent reflective surface, depicted in Figs. 4a and 4b, see paragraph [0070]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bykanov et al. (US PGPub 2009/0154642, hereinafter Bykanov).
Regarding claim 1, Bykanov discloses a light source for photolithography fabrication process (EUV light from a plasma that is created from a target material for utilization outside of the EUV light source chamber, e.g. by a lithography scanner, see paragraph [0002]), comprising:
a collector (a mirror 35 used to collect EUV radiation produced in the plasma, see paragraph [0045]) including:
a plurality of individual reflective surfaces (mirror 35 used to collect EUV radiation, using a plurality of grazing incidence mirrors, arranged in a nested configuration, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0045]); and
a plurality of spaces that are defined between the plurality of individual reflective surfaces, the plurality of spaces isolates each respective individual reflective surface of the plurality of individual reflective surfaces from other respective reflective surfaces of the plurality of individual reflective surfaces (mirror 35 used to collect EUV radiation, using a plurality of grazing incidence mirrors, arranged in a nested configuration, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0045]), and the plurality of spaces are configured to, in operation, allow for a purge gas to be exposed to the plurality of reflective surfaces (a buffer gas 39, such as hydrogen, helium, or argon, may be introduced into the chamber 26’, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt in view of Heo et al. (US PGPub 2016/0143122, hereinafter Heo).
Regarding claim 5, Brandt fails to disclose a droplet catcher configured to collect unused or unirradiated droplets of the droplets generated by the droplet generator into the source vessel.
Heo teaches a droplet catcher 40 to accommodate the droplet supplied from the droplet generator 30 (see paragraph [0047]).
Heo modifies Brandt by suggesting providing a droplet catcher in the chamber.
Since both inventions are drawn to EUV generation from a droplet, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Brandt by providing a droplet catcher in the chamber for the purpose of reducing unwanted target material in the chamber as taught by Heo.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandt.
Regarding claim 16, Brandt discloses overlapping portions of the facets 110-118 form the gaps through which the gas is directed toward the adjacent reflective surface (depicted in Figs. 4a and 4b, see paragraph [0070]).
While Brandt does not explicitly disclose a first dispersion member being arranged closer to a respective individual reflective surface than the second dispersion member, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the size and angle of the gap between the facets, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (e.g. flow rate and flow angle) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8-10, 12-14, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, a thermal image capture device that is configured to gather thermal image data from the collector.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, the one or more flow guide members includes a first guide member that extends into a first respective space of the one or more respective spaces of the plurality of spaces; and a second guide member that extends into the first respective space of the one or more respective spaces of the plurality of spaces.
Claims 9-10 are dependent from allowable dependent claim 8 and are allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, a first guide member includes a first guide arm that extends into and through the first respective space; and a first dispersion member at a first end of the first guide arm, the first dispersion member configured to direct the purge gas towards a first respective reflective surface and a second respective reflective surface of the one or more respective reflective surfaces of the plurality of reflective surfaces, and
a second guide member includes a second guide arm that extends into and through the second respective space; and a second dispersion member at a second end of the second guide arm, the second dispersion member configured to direct the purge gas towards a third respective reflective surface and the second respective reflective surface of the one or more respective reflective surfaces of the plurality of reflective surfaces.
Claims 13-14 are dependent from allowable dependent claim 8 and are allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, a first dispersion member includes a first flat wing member; a second flat wing member; and a first hinge coupling the first flat wing member to the second flat wing member, wherein the first flat wing member and the second flat wing member are adjustable about the first hinge;
the second dispersion member includes a first curved wing member; a second curved wing member; and a second hinge coupling the first curved wing member to the second curved wing member, wherein the first curved wing member and the second curved wing member are adjustable about the second hinge.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, measuring, at a plurality of locations with a plurality of thermoelectric cooling modules, a temperature of a collector; and adjusting, by a processor, a direction of a purge gas that is introduced through a plurality of spaces present between a plurality of individual reflective surfaces of the collector to reduce an occurrence of a decomposition of tin hydride along the plurality of individual reflective surfaces of the collector.
Claims 19-20 are allowable due to being dependent from allowed independent claim 18 and are allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878