DETAILED ACTION
Prosecution Status
This Office Action is a Non-Final Rejection since the Examiner has changed the arts and advanced new arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (U.S.Pat. 11,243,478 B2) in view of Lee et al (US. Pat. 12,085,450 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Yang discloses an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) exposure system (100) comprising: a reticle stage (114) configured to support a reticle (122); a camera/sensor (see col.8, line 40) configured to generate temperature data associated with the reticle (see col.8, lines 40-48) when the reticle is supported by the reticle stage in a first exposure operation/initial state ; a controller (CL) configured to determine based on the temperature data (such as temperature profiles), one or more parameters (see col.8, lines 20-40) for heating the reticle prior to a second exposure condition subsequent to the first exposure operation, one or more heaters (124A; 1241) configured to heat the reticle based on the one or more parameters to a desired temperature in the reticle library (see col.14, 40-43).
As to claim 2, Yang teaches determining based on the temperature data, a saturation temperature (STN) of the reticles (see col.10, lines 40-55).
As to claim 3, Yang discloses a first heater (1241) in a reticle storage slot/reticle library (see col. 14, lines 40-43).
As to claim 4, it is shown in figure 10, the one or more heaters has the first heater and the second heater (1241).
As to claim 5, the one or more parameters has at least one of a temperature parameter, a heating parameter or a during parameter (see col.8, lines 53-67).
Thus, Yang discloses substantially all limitations of instant claims 1-5 except for the camera being a thermal camera, as recited. This feature is well known per se. Lee discloses an inspection unit (10) having a thermal imaging camera (300) for sensing/measuring temperature of an element (see col.6, lines 15-19). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporated the teachings of Yang and Lee to obtain the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to employ the thermal camera as taught by Lee in to the exposure system of Yang for the purpose of detecting the temperature of the recite as intended by Yang.
As to claim 6, Yang discloses controlling temperature of the reticle in a reticle library or storage environment and controlling reticle handling operations associated with exposure processing (see col.10, lines 60-65; see figure 11A, 11B, steps 210-S230).
As to claims 7-8, and 19-20, it is disclosed that the one or more components (heating components 1241) are associated with at least one of the reticle slot of the reticle library (see figure 10). Furthermore, Yang discloses a controller (CT) that regulates reticle temperature based on measurement data and performs thermal conditioning of reticles prior to use in exposure processing (see col.6, lines 15-44).
As to claims 9-12, Yang does not expressly disclose “provide a first signal to the one or more components, of the EUV exposure system, to heat the reticle according to the heating parameter”, as recited in the claims.
As to claims 13-16, Yang does not expressly disclose providing a first signal to the heater for heating the reticle to the saturation temperature, as recited in the claims.
As to claim 17, Yang does not expressly disclose receiving the temperature data indicating the saturation temperature of the reticle, as recited.
As to claim 18, Yang does not expressly disclose providing a second signal to the one or more components to maintain the saturation temperature of the reticle, as recited in the claim.
However, Yang teaches “the selected reticle is adjusted to be in the default state STO in the reticle library” (see col.10, lines 60-65). This is a concrete evidence that “some signals” (such as a first signal and a second signal) have to provide to one or more components (such as heating components of the heaters ) in the library to adjust the temperature of the reticle to the desired temperature/saturation temperature, as intended by Yang. In view of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement controller signaling sequences to coordinate heating operations and reticle handling operations because semiconductor manufacturing systems routinely use controller signals to coordinate heating, storage and transport operations. Providing a first signal to initiate heating and a second signal to initiate reticle retrieval represents routine control sequencing and would have been an obvious implementation detail of the thermal management control system disclosed by Yang. The purpose of doing so would have been to control the temperature of the reticle to a desired temperature/saturation temperature and thereby preventing the deformation of the reticle as intended by Yang.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 14, 2026 have been considered but have been traversed in view of a new ground of rejection as set forth above.
HUNG HENRY NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2882
Hvn
6/16/26
/HUNG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882