DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 246, 351. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-17 of the present Application are anticipated by claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 246, 351.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2012/0187494).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate (Figs.1, 2, numeral 11) including a well region (17) of a first conductive type; a first gate electrode (25) on the substrate (11); a second gate electrode (25) on the substrate (11); a first doped region (23) embedded within the well region (17) and is of the first conductive type, a second doped region (23) embedded within the well region (17)and is of the first conductive type, and a third doped region (23) embedded within the well region and is of the first conductive type; and a first interconnection structure (G) electrically connecting the first gate electrode (25) and the second gate electrode (25), wherein the first doped region (23) and the second doped region (23) are on opposite sides of the first gate electrode (25).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses wherein: the second doped region (23) and the third doped region (23) are on opposite sides of the second gate electrode (25).
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses wherein: the first conductive type is N-type (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses wherein the first doped region (23) and the well region (17) are substantially equal in electrical potential (note: substantially is a broad term).
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses wherein: the third doped region (23) and the well region (17) are substantially equal in electrical potential (note: substantially is a broad term).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses a third gate electrode (25) on the substrate (11) ([0033]); and a fourth doped region (230 embedded within the well region (17) and is of the first conductive type, wherein the first interconnection structure (G) electrically connects the first gate electrode (25), the second gate electrode (25), and the third gate electrode (25).
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses wherein: the third doped region (23) and the fourth doped region (25) are on opposite sides of the third gate electrode (25).
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses a second interconnection structure (G) electrically connecting the first doped region and the fourth doped region (23) ([0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses number N of gate electrodes (25) between the first gate electrode (25) and the second gate electrode (25); and a number N of doped regions between the first gate electrode and the second gate electrode, wherein the first interconnection structure electrically connects the first gate electrode, the second gate electrode, and the number N of gate electrodes ([0033]).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses wherein: N is a positive integer equaling or exceeding one ([0033]).
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate (Fig.2, numeral 11) including a well region (17); a first gate electrode (25) over the well region (17); a second gate electrode (25) over the well region (17); a third gate electrode (15) over the well region (17) ([0033]); a first doped region (23) in the well region (17) at a first side of the first gate electrode (250; a second doped region (23) in the well region (17) at a second side of the first gate electrode (25) and a first side of the second gate electrode (250, between the first gate electrode (25) and the second gate electrode (25); a third doped region (23)in the well region (17) at a second side of the second gate electrode (25) and a first side of the third gate electrode (25), between the second gate electrode (25) and the third gate electrode (25); a fourth doped region (23) in the well region at a second side of the third gate electrode (25) ([0033]); a first electrical connection (G) electrically connecting the first gate electrode (25) and the second gate electrode (25) ; and a second electrical connection (S/D) electrically connecting the first doped region (23) and the fourth doped region (23).
Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses wherein: the first doped region (23) and the well region (17) are substantially equal in electrical potential (note: substantially is a broad term).
Regarding claim 13, Huang discloses, wherein: the third doped region (230 and the well region (17) are substantially equal in electrical potential (note: substantially is a broad term).
Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses a number N of gate electrodes between the first gate electrode and the second gate electrode, N being an integer of 1 or more ([0033]); and a number M of doped regions (23) between the first gate electrode (25) and the second gate electrode (25), M being equal to N, wherein: the first electrical connection electrically connects the first gate electrode (25), the second gate electrode, the third gate electrode, and the number N of gate electrodes (25) ([0033]).
Regarding claim 15, Huang discloses wherein: the well region (17), the first doped region (230, the second doped region (23), the third doped region (23), and the fourth doped region (23) all have a same conductivity type (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses wherein: the well region is an N-well (17), and the first doped region (23), the second doped region (23), the third doped region (23), and the fourth doped region (230 are each an N+ region (Fig.2).
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by El-Tanani (US 2017/0330977).
Regarding claim 18, El-Tanani discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising: providing a substrate (Fig. 1, numeral 126) including a well region (340) of a first conductive type (Fig.3) ; disposing fin structures (122) of a first conductive type on a well region of a substrate ([0016]), wherein the fin structures extend along a first orientation (Fig.1); disposing a first number of gate structures (Fig.3, numeral 302)) on the fin structures along a second orientation orthogonal to the first orientation (Fig.1); disposing a second number of electrodes (304) on the fin structures (122)along the second orientation; and electrically connecting the first number of gate structures (302) with a first interconnection structure (Fig.3, numeral 344).
Regarding claim 19, El-Tanani discloses electrically connecting the second number of electrodes (304) with a second interconnection structure (346) (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 20, El-Tanani discloses electrically connecting only two of the second number of electrodes (304) with a second interconnection structure (346) (Fig. 3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Gau (US 6, 943, 399).
Regarding claim 17, Huang does not disclose wherein: the second electrical connection is free of electrical connections to the second doped region and the third doped region.
Gau however discloses that the second electrical connection (Fig.3, numeral 230) is free of electrical connections to the second doped region (212a) and the third doped region (212a) (column 5, line 61- column 6, line 6).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Gau to have the second electrical connection is free of electrical connections to the second doped region and the third doped region for the purpose of enhacing quality factor (Gau, column 5, line 61- column 6, line 6).
.
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891