DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 2, the recitation of “a cavity having a substrate therein” is unclear. Should it be “a substrate having a cavity therein”?
In claim 3, line 1, the recitation of “the redistribution structure includes a dielectric layer” is unclear because independent claim 1, is already recited “a dielectric layer”. Should “a dielectric layer” in claim 3 is the same as “a dielectric layer” in claim 1 or they are different?
In claim 9, the recitation of “further comprising a front-side redistribution structure over…” is unclear because independent claim 8 is already recited “a redistribution structure”. Should “a front-side redistribution structure” is a part of “a redistribution structure” or they are different structure?
In claim 13, the recitation of “further comprising a front-side redistribution structure over…” is unclear because independent claim 8 is already recited “a redistribution structure”. Should “a front-side redistribution structure” is a part of “a redistribution structure” or they are different structure?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US 2018/0226349).
Regarding claim 1, Yu et al. discloses, as shown in Figure 10, a device comprising:
a substrate (130) having a cavity therein;
a first die (118) disposed within the cavity;
a redistribution structure (114) over a first side of the substrate and the first die, wherein forming the redistribution structure comprises depositing a dielectric layer (part of 114, [0019]) on and in contact with the first die; and
a semiconductor device (104) bonded to the redistribution structure, the semiconductor device comprising a second die (104A) and a third die (104A,104B) encapsulated by an encapsulant (112), wherein a first top surface of the encapsulant, a second top surface of the second die, and a third top surface of the third die are level with one another.
Regarding claim 2, Yu et al. discloses the device further comprising an underfill material (128) surrounding the first die and filling the cavity (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 3, Yu et al. discloses the redistribution structure includes the dielectric layer (part of 114, [0019]) on and in contact with the underfill material and the first die (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 4, Yu et al. discloses the device further comprising an adhesive (no label, a dielectric material, [0027]) attaching the first die to the substrate (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 6, Yu et al. discloses the redistribution structure comprises a via over the first side of the substrate and the first die and a molding compound surrounding the via [0019], wherein the molding compound is coterminous with the substrate (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 7, Yu et al. discloses the device further comprising a second underfill (110) between the redistribution structure (114) and the semiconductor device (106), the second underfill surrounding a plurality of conductive connectors (108) connecting the semiconductor device to the redistribution structure (Figure 10).
[AltContent: rect]
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8, 10-12, and 14-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant' s claims 8, 10-12, and 14-20 are allowable over the references of record because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed device having an underfill material surrounding the first die and filling the cavity, and wherein a first side surface of the first die is coterminous with a second side surface of the adhesive, and wherein the underfill material contacts the first side surface and the second side surface, as recited in claim 5; none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed device comprising a cavity extending through the first dielectric layer and the substrate, a first device within the cavity and attached to the substrate with a first adhesive, wherein the first adhesive is in contact with the substrate, wherein the first device comprises a first surface in contact with the first adhesive and a second surface opposite the first surface, a redistribution structure over the substrate and in electrical contact with the first device, the redistribution structure including a first metallization layer embedded within a second dielectric layer; a second metallization layer over the first metallization layer, in combination with the remaining claimed limitation of claim 8; none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed device comprising a cavity extending partially through a core substrate and fully through a first dielectric layer on the core substrate, wherein forming the cavity forms opposite sidewalls in the core substrate adjacent the cavity and a mounting surface of the core substrate extending between the opposite sidewalls, a first integrated circuit device attached to the mounting surface of the core substrate between the opposite sidewalls, wherein the first integrated circuit device comprises a terminal connection at a front-side of the first integrated circuit device, an underfill material in the cavity and surrounding the first integrated circuit device, wherein the underfill material comprises a concave top surface opposite the mounting surface, the concave top surface extending from a side surface of the first dielectric layer to a side surface of the first integrated circuit device, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations of claim 15.
Conclusion
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897