DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurz et al (US 2018/0076037) in view of Wang et al (2015/0358558).
With respect to Claim 1, Kurz et al discloses a method comprising: bonding a first semiconductor wafer to a second semiconductor wafer (Figures 1a -Figure 1j); during the bonding, emitting light (Figure 1f, 12) toward a bonding interface between the first semiconductor wafer and the second semiconductor wafer; receiving, by camera ( visual or infrared cameras, paragraph 65), data during the bonding, the data including light reflected by or transmitted through at least one of the first and second semiconductor wafers, the light received by the camera representing a bonding wave of the bonding between the first semiconductor wafer and the second semiconductor wafer (paragraphs 64-68 and 200-207); and determining, by wafer bonding defect detection circuitry (paragraph 67), the presence of a bonding defect based on the acquired data. See Figures 1a -1j and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 13, 18-25, 64-68, 105-126, 172 and 200-207.
Kurz et al differs from the claims at hand in that Kurz et al does not explicitly disclose a video camera, and generally discloses cameras.
Wang et al pertains to wafer packaging and bonding, and discloses that the use of both still and video cameras is well known in the art. See paragraphs 27 and 51.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use a video camera in the process of Kurz et al, for its known benefit as a camera in wafer bonding processes, as disclosed by Wang et al. The use of video cameras in wafer bonding processes would have been prima facie obvious in view of the combined references.
With respect to Claim 2, the combined references make obvious “wherein the determining the presence of a bonding defect includes: accessing past video data stored in a wafer bonding video database, the past video data associated with bonding waves during bonding between two semiconductor wafers and with a plurality of bonding defects; and comparing the acquired video data with the past video data”, as the use of video data from previous processes is well known in the art for its known benefit in obtaining successful results with known data. The Examiner takes Official Notice of this fact.
With respect to Claim 3, Kurz et al discloses wherein the determining the presence of a bonding defect includes determining a defect due to a non-uniform bonding wave propagation speed. See paragraph 172; and Figure 4 and corresponding text.
With respect to Claim 4, Kurz et al discloses controlling a bonding pressure applied to bond the first semiconductor wafer to the second semiconductor wafer in response to the determining the presence of a bonding defect. See paragraphs 71-78; and Figure 4 and corresponding text.
With respect to Claim 5, the combined references makes obvious controlling a pressure, within a bonding chamber in which the bonding the first semiconductor wafer to the second semiconductor wafer is performed, in response to the determining the presence of a bonding defect. See paragraph 71-78; and Figure 4 and corresponding text.
With respect to Claim 6, the combined references make obvious wherein the bonding the first semiconductor wafer to the second semiconductor wafer including at least one of: bonding two unpatterned semiconductor wafers to one another, bonding two patterned semiconductor wafers to one another, or bonding an unpatterned semiconductor wafer to a patterned semiconductor wafer. See Figure 1a and corresponding text.
With respect to Claim 7, and the limitation “ stopping the bonding between the first semiconductor wafer and the second semiconductor wafer in response to determining the presence of a bonding defect”, Official Notice is taken by the Examiner that stopping a defective process is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 8, the combined references make obvious “adjusting at least one operational parameter of a pre-bonding process tool in response to the determining the presence of a bonding defect”. See paragraph 71-78; and Figure 4 and corresponding text of Kurz et al.
With respect to Claim 9, Kurz et al discloses wherein the light received by the video camera is light transmitted through the first semiconductor wafer and transmitted through the second semiconductor wafer. See paragraphs 64-68, and Figure 1f and corresponding text of Kuz et al.
With respect to Claim 10, Kurz et al discloses wherein the light received by the video camera is reflected by at least one of the first semiconductor wafer or the second semiconductor wafer. See paragraphs 64-68, and Figure 1f and corresponding text of Kuz et al.
With respect to Claim 11, Claim 11 is rejected for the reasons as discussed above with respect to Claim 1. Moreover, with respect to the limitation, “ receiving, by video camera, defect video data during the bonding, the defect video data including light reflected by or transmitted through at least one of the first and second semiconductor wafers, the light reflected or transmitted at the unbonded region or the defect region received by the video camera representing a bonding state between the first semiconductor wafer and the second semiconductor wafer at the unbonded region or the defect region”, the limitation is disclosed by Figures 1a-1 and 4, and corresponding text of Kurz et al.
With respect to Claim 12, the limitation “wherein the light received by the video camera representing a bonding wave is brighter than the light received by the video camera representing a bonding state between the first semiconductor wafer and the second semiconductor at the unbonded region or the defect region” is made obvious as the reaction conditions are disclosed by the cited references.
With respect to Claim 13, Kurz et al discloses the limitation “ wherein the determining, by the wafer bonding detection circuitry, the presence of a bonding defect during the bonding including a video pattern recognition process”. See paragraphs 64-68 and 200-207.
With respect to Claim 14, the combined references make obvious the limitation, “wherein the video pattern recognition process includes the wafer bonding defect detention circuitry detecting the bonding defect based, at least in part, on past video stored in a wafer bonding video database”, as the use of video data from previous processes is well known in the art for its known benefit in obtaining successful results with known data. The Examiner takes Official Notice of this fact.
With respect to Claim 15, and the limitation “further comprising determining an action to be take in response to detecting the bonding defect, the action to be taken including at least one of: stopping a current bonding process, performing a rework process on wafers undergoing bonding”, Official Notice is taken by the Examiner that stopping a defective process is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 16, Claim 16 is rejected for the reasons as discussed with respect to Claim 1. Moreover, Kurz et al discloses the limitation “ “expanding the bonding between the first semiconductor wafer and the second semiconductor wafer along a bond wave”. See Figures 1a-1j and 4, and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 64-68 and 200-207.
With respect to Claim 17, Kurz et al discloses the limitation “wherein the determining, by the wafer bonding defect detection circuitry, the presence of a bonding defect during the bonding further includes a video pattern recognition process. See paragraphs 64-68 and 200-207.
With respect to Claim 18, the combined references make obvious the limitation “wherein the video pattern recognition process includes the wafer bonding detection circuitry detecting the bonding defect based, at least in part on past video stored in a wafer bonding video database”, as the use of video data from previous processes is well known in the art for its known benefit in obtaining successful results with known data. The Examiner takes Official Notice of this fact.
With respect to Claim 19, and the limitation “further comprising determining an action to be take in response to detecting the bonding defect, the action to be taken including at least one of: stopping a current bonding process, performing a rework process on wafers undergoing bonding”, Official Notice is taken by the Examiner that stopping a defective process is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 20, Kurz et al disclose transmitting the light through a chuck supporting the first semiconductor wafer or the second semiconductor wafer. See Figure 1f and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 64-67.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.11,815,471. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of US Patent No. 11,815,471 discloses with respect to present Claim 1, a method comprising: bonding a first semiconductor wafer to a second semiconductor wafer; during the bonding, emitting light toward a bonding interface between the first semiconductor wafer and the second semiconductor wafer; receiving, by video camera, video data during the bonding, the video data including light reflected by or transmitted through at least one of the first and second semiconductor wafers, the light received by the video camera representing a bonding wave of the bonding between the first semiconductor wafer and the second semiconductor wafer; and determining, by wafer bonding defect detection circuitry, the presence of a bonding defect based on the acquired video data. See Claim 1 of US Patent No. 11,815,471.
US Patent No. 11,815,471 differs from present Claim l in that US Patent No. 11,815,471 additionally requires the video camera to be infrared.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at present Claim 1, as the omission of an element where the function of the element is not needed would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See Ex Parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (BPAI 1989).
With respect to Claims 2-20, present Claims 2-20 each individually correspond respectively to Claims 2-20 of US Patent No. 11,815,471.
Conclusion
AGG
August 2, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812