DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/31/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claims Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epler et al (US 2006/0091409 A1, hereafter Epler) in view of CHEN et al (US 2012/0104450 A1, hereafter Chen) and Seo et al (US 2011/0297972 A1-IDS prior art).
Re claim 1, Epler discloses in FIGS. 12 and 13B (with references to FIG. 1) a structure (package substrate; [0063]) comprising:
a first metal pad (leftmost 22 as in FIG. 1; [0042]) and a second metal pad (2nd 22 immediately adjacent leftmost 22 as in FIG. 1; [0042]) disposed at an upper surface (top plane) of a substrate (12; [0042]);
a first component (left LED 10; [0042]) attached to the first metal pad (leftmost 22), the first component (left LED 10) comprising a bottom electrode (24; [0042]) and a top electrode (44; [0062]), the bottom electrode (24) attached to the first metal pad (leftmost 22);
an encapsulant (unlabeled separation feature between left LED 10 and metal bridge 47 in FIG. 13B; [0062]) over the substrate and laterally encapsulating (covering the right side) the first component (left LED 10);
a first metal via (vertical portion of 47; [0062]) extending adjacent (vertically next to) the encapsulant (unlabeled separation feature between left LED 10 and metal bridge 47 in FIG. 13B) adjacent (next to) the first component (left LED 10), the first metal via (vertical portion of 47) being electrically coupled ([0062]) to the second metal pad (2nd 22 immediately adjacent leftmost 22 as in FIG. 1); and
a conductive bridge (L-shaped portion of 47 from vertical portion of 47 to 44; [0062]) over the encapsulant (unlabeled separation feature between LED left 10 and metal bridge 47 in FIG. 13B), the conductive bridge (L-shaped portion of 47 from vertical portion of 47 to 44) coupling the top electrode (44) of the first component (left LED 10) to the first metal via (vertical portion of 47).
Epler fails to disclose the first metal via extending through the encapsulant adjacent the first component; and wherein the conductive bridge has an opening in a plan view, wherein the first component (left LED 10) is exposed through the opening.
However,
A. Chen discloses in FIGS. 3A (with references to FIG. 2A) a structure comprising: a first metal via (vertical portion of 315; [0035]) extending through (at 213; [0035]) an encapsulant (209; [0028]-[0031]) adjacent a first component (LED 205; [0029]).
And,
B. Seo discloses in FIGS. 17 and 25 a structure comprising: a first metal via (wire 157; [0093]-[0094]) extending adjacent (vertically next to) an encapsulant (153; [0093]-[0094]) adjacent (next to) a first component (LS1; [0093]-[0094), and wherein a conductive bridge (195a/195; [0093] and [0110]) has an opening (central region; [0110]) in a plan (top) view, wherein the first component (LS1) is exposed ([0110]) through the opening (central region).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Epler by, firstly, using the encapsulation of Chen such that the first metal via is extending through the encapsulant adjacent the first component, forming a transparent insulating material on side and upper surfaces of the first component and an adjacent second component (Chen; [0028]) of the package structure (see inserted figure below), preventing short circuits since the sidewalls of the first component (left LED 10) are isolated to force all current across the p-n junctions of the components (Chen; [0034]); and secondly, using the distinct first metal via and conductive bridge of Seo for the integrally formed first metal via and conductive bridge of Epler, such that the conductive bridge has an opening in a plan view (see inserted figure below), wherein the first component (left LED 10) is exposed through the opening, so that the current flowing in the light emitting cell can be widely distributed (Seo; [0110]).
For the record, the inserted figure (annotated FIG. 12 of Epler) depicts the first metal via and conductive bridge of FIG. 13B of Epler added to FIG. 12, where the first metal via and conductive bridge are modified by the same of FIG. 25 of Seo, and the encapsulant of FIG. 2A of Chen added to that combination.
Re claims 2-3, Epler and Chen and Seo disclose the structure of claim 1, wherein the encapsulant (Chen) extends over (see inserted figure above) an upper surface (top plane) of the first component (Epler: left LED 10); and wherein the conductive bridge (Seo) contacts (see inserted figure above) a sidewall (right inner vertical planes) of the encapsulant (Chen), as part of the transparent insulating material and the current spreading structure discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 4, Epler and Chen and Seo disclose the structure of claim 1, wherein the conductive bridge (Seo) only partially overlaps (see inserted figure above) the first component (Epler: left LED 10) in the plan view, as part of the current spreading structure discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 5, Epler and Seo disclose the structure of claim 1, wherein the conductive bridge (Seo) has an L-shape (2 L-shapes formed into a rectangle) in the plan view (see inserted figure above), as part of the current spreading structure discussed for claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epler and Chen and Seo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoppel et al (US 2012/0098016 A1, hereafter Hoppel).
Re claim 6, Epler and Chen and Seo disclose the structure of claim 1.
But, fail to disclose the structure further comprising: a protective film between the encapsulant (Chen) and the first component (left LED 10 of Epler), the protective film extending over an upper surface of the substrate (Epler), wherein the first metal via (Epler/Seo) extends through the protective film.
However,
Hoppel discloses in FIG. 6 a structure comprising: a protective film (5; [0070]) over an upper surface (35; [0070]) of a first component (layers 3 of 1; [0047]), the protective film (5) extending over an upper surface (top plane) of a substrate (2; [0050]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Epler and Chen and Seo by adding the protective film of Hoppel, the protective film between the encapsulant (Chen) and the first component (left LED 10 of Epler), the protective film extending over an upper surface of the substrate (Epler), wherein the first metal via (Epler/Seo) extends through the protective film, to reflect a large proportion of the radiation which impinges on the protective film by total reflection (Hoppel; [0053]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epler and Chen and Seo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Negley et al (US 2008/0179602 A1-IDS prior art, hereafter Negley).
Re claim 7, Epler and Chen and Seo disclose the structure of claim 1.
But, fail to disclose wherein an upper surface of the first metal via (Epler/Seo) is level with an upper surface of the encapsulant (Chen).
However,
Negley discloses in FIG. 10 a structure comprising: a metal via (right 422; [0271] and [0273]) extending through an encapsulant (412; [0268]), wherein the metal via (right 422) is disposed between a first component (right 410; [0268]) and the second component (left 410; [0268]), an upper surface (top plane) of the metal via (right 422) being level (co-planar) with an upper surface (top plane) of the encapsulant (412).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Epler and Chen and Seo by using the upper surfaces of the metal via and the encapsulant of Negley, such that an upper surface of the first metal via (Epler/Seo) is level with an upper surface of the encapsulant (Chen), allowing for planar interfaces between the metal via and bridge metal formed separately and/or of different metals.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epler et al (US 2006/0091409 A1, hereafter Epler) in view of CHEN et al (US 2012/0104450 A1, hereafter Chen) and Negley et al (US 2008/0179602 A1-IDS prior art, hereafter Negley) and Seo et al (US 2011/0297972 A1-IDS prior art).
Re claim 8, Epler discloses in FIGS. 12 and 13B (with references to FIG. 1) a structure (package substrate; [0063]) comprising:
a first component (left LED 10; [0042]) attached to a device substrate (12; [0042]);
a second component (right LED 10; [0042] and see inserted figure above) attached to the device substrate (12), each of the first component (left LED 10) and the second component (right LED 10) comprising a bottom electrode (24; [0042]) and a top electrode (unseen metal e.g. ITO; [0056]);
an encapsulant (unlabeled separation feature between left LED 10 and metal bridge 47 in FIG. 13B; [0062]) over the substrate and laterally encapsulating (covering the right sides) the first component (left LED 10) and the second component (right LED 10); and
a metal via (vertical portion of 47; [0062]) extending adjacent (vertically next to) the encapsulant (unlabeled separation feature between left LED 10 and metal bridge 47 in FIG. 13B) adjacent (next to) the first component (left LED 10), wherein the metal via (vertical portion of 47) is disposed between (see inserted figure above) the first component (left LED 10) and the second component (right LED 10); and
a bridge metal (L-shaped portion of 47 from vertical portion of 47 to 44; [0062]) coupling an upper electrode (44; [0062]) of the first component (left LED 10) to the metal via (vertical portion of 47).
Epler fails to disclose the encapsulant laterally surrounding the first component and the second component, an entirety of an upper surface of the encapsulant from the first component to the second component being above an upper surface of the first component and an upper surface of the second component; the metal via extending through the encapsulant, wherein the metal via is disposed between the first component and the second component, an upper surface of the metal via being level with an upper surface of the encapsulant; and wherein the bridge metal surrounds a center region of the first component in a plan view.
However,
A. Chen discloses an encapsulant which would laterally surround the first component and the second component, an entirety of an upper surface of the encapsulant from the first component to the second component being above an upper surface of the first component and an upper surface of the second component (see claim 1 and inserted figure above).
And,
B. Seo discloses a bridge metal that surrounds a center region of the first component in a plan view (see claim 1 and inserted figure above).
And,
C. Negley discloses in FIG. 10 a structure comprising: a metal via (right 422; [0271] and [0273]) extending through an encapsulant (412; [0268]), wherein the metal via (right 422) is disposed between a first component (right 410; [0268]) and the second component (left 410; [0268]), an upper surface (top plane) of the metal via (right 422) being level (co-planar) with an upper surface (top plane) of the encapsulant (412).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Epler by, firstly, using the encapsulation of Chen such that encapsulant laterally surrounds the first component and the second component, an entirety of an upper surface of the encapsulant from the first component to the second component being above an upper surface of the first component and an upper surface of the second component, forming a transparent insulating material on side and upper surfaces of the first component and an adjacent second component (Chen; [0028]) of the package structure (see inserted figure above), preventing short circuits since the sidewalls of the first component (left LED 10) are isolated to force all current across the p-n junctions of the components (Chen; [0034]); secondly, using the distinct metal via and bridge metal of Seo for the integrally formed first metal via and conductive bridge of Epler, such that the bridge metal surrounds a center region of the first component in a plan view (see inserted figure above), so that the current flowing in the light emitting cell can be widely distributed (Seo; [0110]); and lastly using the upper surfaces of the metal via and the encapsulant of Negley, such that the metal via extends through the encapsulant, wherein the metal via is disposed between the first component and the second component, an upper surface of the metal via being level with an upper surface of the encapsulant, allowing for planar interfaces between the metal via and bridge metal formed separately and/or of different metals.
Re claim 9, Epler and Chen disclose the structure of claim 8, wherein the encapsulant (Chen) laterally overlaps (covers upper surfaces of; see inserted figure above) the first component (left LED 10 of Epler) and the second component (right LED 10 of Epler), as part of the transparent insulating material discussed for claim 8.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epler and Chen and Negley and Seo as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of JEONG (US 2011/0260207 A1, hereafter Jeong).
Re claim 10, Epler discloses the structure of claim 8.
But, fails to disclose wherein the first component (left LED 10) includes a dielectric layer over the top electrode (ITO).
However,
Jeong discloses in FIG. 1 a structure comprising: wherein a first component (100; [0019]) includes a dielectric layer (145; [0019]) over a top electrode (140; [0019]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Epler by adding the dielectric layer of Jeong, such that the first component (left LED 10) includes a dielectric layer over the top electrode (ITO), the dielectric layer preventing debris or fragments from moving toward the first component (Jeong; [0073]).
Re claims 11-12, Epler and Chen and Seo disclose the structure of claim 10.
But, fail to disclose wherein the bridge metal (Seo) contacts a sidewall of the dielectric layer; and wherein sidewalls of the dielectric layer are aligned with sidewalls of the top electrode of the first component (Epler: left LED 10).
However, Jeong would render these limitations obvious by positioning the dielectric layer (145) as depicted in FIG. 1, such that the bridge metal (Seo) contacts a sidewall (right inner vertical plane) of the dielectric layer (145); and wherein sidewalls (right/left outer vertical planes) of the dielectric layer (145) are aligned with sidewalls (right/left outer vertical planes) of the top electrode (Epler: ITO as in 140 of Jeong) of the first component (left LED 10), as part of the debris or fragment preventing structures discussed for claim 10.
Re claim 13, Epler and Chen and Seo disclose the structure of claim 10, wherein the bridge metal (Seo) only partially overlaps the first component in a plan view (see claim 4 and inserted figure above), as part of the current spreading structure discussed for claim 8.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epler and Chen and Negley and Seo as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hoppel.
Re claim 14, Epler and Chen and Negley and Seo disclose the structure of claim 8.
But, fail to disclose the structure further comprising a protective layer disposed along sidewalls of the first component (Epler: left LED 10), the protective layer extending along a first surface of the first component, the first surface facing the device substrate (Epler: 12).
However,
Hoppel discloses in FIG. 6 a structure comprising: a protective film (5; [0070]) disposed along sidewalls (left/right vertical planes) of a first component (layers 3 of 1; [0047]), the protective layer (5) extending along a first surface (at 7; [0054]) of the first component (layers 3 of 1), the first surface (at 7) facing a device substrate (2; [0050]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Epler and Chen and Negley and Seo by adding the protective film of Hoppel, the protective film disposed along sidewalls of the first component (Epler: left LED 10), the protective layer extending along a first surface of the first component, the first surface facing the device substrate, to reflect a large proportion of the radiation which impinges on the protective film by total reflection (Hoppel; [0053]).
Claims 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epler in view of Hoppel and Chen and Negley and Seo.
Re claim 15, Epler discloses in FIGS. 12 and 13B (with references to FIG. 1) a structure (package substrate; [0063]) comprising:
a first light emitting diode (LED) attached to a device substrate (see claims 1; and 8);
a second LED attached to the device substrate (see claim 8);
a protective film over the first LED, the second LED, and the device substrate (see claims 6; 8; and 14);
an encapsulant over the protective film, the encapsulant surrounding the first LED and the second LED in a plan view, a thickness of the encapsulant being greater than a thickness of the first LED (see claim 1 and inserted figure above);
a metal via disposed adjacent to the first LED, the metal via extending through the encapsulant and the protective film, the metal via having an upper surface level with an upper surface of the encapsulant and a lower surface contacting a first contact pad of the device substrate (see claim 1 and inserted figure above); and
a bridge metal coupling an upper electrode of the first LED to the metal via, wherein an exposed portion of an upper surface of the first LED is exposed from the bridge metal (see claim 1 and inserted figure above).
For the record, Hoppel satisfies the deficiencies of Epler with respect to “a protective film”; Chen satisfies the deficiencies of Epler with respect to “the encapsulant”; Negley satisfies the deficiencies of Epler with respect to “the metal via having an upper surface level with an upper surface of the encapsulant”; and Seo satisfies the deficiencies of Epler with respect to “a bridge metal” according to their respective referenced claim(s) (and inserted figure above) for modification of Epler as discussed above.
Re claim 16, Epler and Chen disclose the structure of claim 15, wherein the encapsulant extends over an upper surface of the first LED (see claims 2-3).
Re claim 18, Epler and Hoppel disclose the structure of claim 15, wherein the protective film extends between the first LED and the device substrate (see claims 6; and 14).
Re claim 19, Epler and Seo disclose the structure of claim 15, wherein the bridge metal has a first portion over the first LED in the plan view, wherein the first portion has an opening exposing a portion of the first LED (see claim 1 and inserted figure above).
Re claim 20, Epler and Chen disclose the wherein the encapsulant has a planar upper surface extending from over the first LED to over the second LED (see claims 1, 8 and inserted figure above).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epler and Hoppel and Chen and Negley and Seo as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kitada (US 2010/0244201 A1-IDS prior art).
Re claim 17, Epler and Hoppel and Chen and Negley and Seo disclose the structure of claim 15.
But, fail to disclose wherein the metal via (Epler/Seo) has linear sidewalls extending from above the first LED (Epler: left LED 10) to the device substrate (12).
However,
Kitada discloses in FIG. 2J a structure comprising: wherein a metal via (Cu 22; [0041]) has linear sidewalls (barrier metal 26; [0040]) extending from above a semiconductor device (20; [0008] and [0042]) to a device substrate (laminate 10/12; [0030]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Epler and Hoppel and Chen and Negley and Seo by adding the linear sidewalls of Kitada, such that the metal via (Epler/Seo) has linear sidewalls extending from above the first LED (Epler: left LED 10) to the device substrate (12), the linear sidewalls prevent of the metal via into the first LED which may result in degradation of characteristics of the first LED (Kitada; [0023]).
Conclusion
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892