DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bakker et al. [US 2006/0175558 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Bakker et al. discloses an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography system (as shown in Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a housing (48, see also paragraph [0046]) having an interior which contains a residual gas (paragraph [0067] teaches the gas in the chamber), and
at least one gas-binding component (Fig. 4 items 49 and 149) which is arranged in the interior and which comprises a gas-binding material for binding contaminating substances (paragraph [0090] teaches providing a getter material),
wherein the gas-binding component comprises at least one flow duct having at least one surface (lamellar plates 49a) with the gas-binding material, wherein a gas flow of the residual gas in the flow duct has a Knudsen number of between 0.01 and 5, wherein a casing which encapsulates a beam path of the EUV lithography system is arranged in the interior of the housing (as shown in Figs. 1-4, see also paragraphs [0073] teaches a Knudsen value ≤ 0.1), and wherein the gas-binding component is arranged within the casing (as shown in Fig. 9b, see also paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 2, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the gas flow of the residual gas in the flow duct has a Knudsen number of between 0.01 and 0.3 (paragraph [0073] teaches a Knudsen value ≤ 0.1).
Regarding claim 3, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the casing comprises an opening with a maintenance shaft in which the gas-binding component is arranged (paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the residual gas in the interior of the housing has a pressure of between 1 Pa and 20 Pa, wherein the residual gas in the interior of the housing has a pressure of between 2 Pa and 12 Pa (paragraphs [0073] and [0081]-[0083] teaches the housing pressures).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the flow duct has a flow width of between 1 mm and 30 mm, wherein the flow duct has a flow width of between 4 mm and 20 mm (paragraphs [0073]-[0074]).
Regarding claims 8-10, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the flow duct comprises two opposing surfaces, the surfaces each having the gas-binding material, with a distance between the opposing surfaces defining a flow width of the flow duct, wherein the two opposing surfaces are aligned in parallel and are formed on two planar component portions, wherein the planar component portions are formed as sheets or as films (paragraphs [0071]-[0075] teaches the parallel plates of 49a having the gas-binding material).
Regarding claim 11, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the flow duct has a cross section formed as a regular polygon (paragraphs [0071]-[0075] teaches the parallel plates of 49a in 49 and 149, see also Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the gas-binding component has a plurality of flow ducts with mutually differently dimensioned flow widths for binding mutually differing contaminating substances (paragraphs [0073]-[0074]).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the flow duct has a length of at least 20 cm, wherein the flow duct has a length of at least 40 cm (paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 16, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the gas-binding material is selected from the group consisting essentially of: Ru, Ni, NiP, Rd, Rh, Ta, Nb, Ti, Zr, and Th, and compounds of Ru, Ni, NiP, Rd, Rh, Ta, Nb, Ti, Zr, and Th (paragraphs [0089]-[0090]).
Regarding claims 17-19, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the at least one surface with the gas-binding material is structured (49 and 149), further comprising at least one reflective optical element arranged in the interior of the housing, wherein the gas-binding component is arranged adjacent to the reflective optical element, wherein the gas-binding component is arranged at least partly surrounding a surface of the reflective optical element (as shown in Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 20, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the casing encapsulates the beam path of the EUV lithography system between a first mirror and a second mirror of a projection system; and wherein the gas-binding component is arranged within the casing between the first mirror and the second mirror (as shown in Figs. 5 and 6, see also paragraphs [0078]-[0080]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakker et al. in view of Banine et al. [US 2006/0221440 A1].
Regarding claim 12, Bakker et al. discloses the EUV lithography system (as applied above).
Bakker et al. does not teach wherein the flow duct has a cross section formed as a regular hexagon.
However, Banine et al. discloses a filter for collecting debris wherein the apertures are substantially hexagonal shaped (as shown in Fig. 3, see also paragraph [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a hexagonal shaped apertures, as taught by Banine et al. in the system of Bakker et al. wherein the flow duct has a cross section formed as a regular hexagon, because such a modification provides a suitable alternative shape of the flow duct for mitigating debris emitted from a radiation source (paragraph [0010] of Banine et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the applied reference does not teach “the gas-binding component is arranged within the casing”, see pages 5-9 of the remarks.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As applied above, Bakker et al. discloses wherein the gas-binding component is arranged within the casing (as shown in Fig. 9b, see also paragraph [0093]).
As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection under 35 USC § 102 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882