DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-36 are pending in this application.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Drawings
There are no objections or rejections to the drawings.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 15, 17, 19, 21-22, 25, 33 and 35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagarajan et al. (US Patent Application Publication No 2021/0385560) hereinafter referred to as Nagarajan.
Per Claim 1 Nagarajan discloses a electronic package device, comprising
a carrier structure (3060) defined with a first side and a second side opposite to the first side (as in figure 5);
an electronic element (3050) provided on the first side of the carrier structure and electrically connected to the carrier structure; The examiner notes that the term "on" includes "directly on" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween) and "indirectly on" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween). The examiner notes that the term "connected" includes "directly connected" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween) and "indirectly connected" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween). The examiner notes that the term "electrically connected" includes both ohmic (metallic) connection as well as capacitive (insulating) connection.
an interposer plate (3040) provided on the first side of the carrier structure and electrically connected to the carrier structure, and covering the electronic element; and
a thermal conductive block (3020) provided on the electronic element.
Per Claim 3 Nagarajan discloses the device of claim 1, including where the interposer plate (3040) is formed with an opening to at least partially expose the electronic element and accommodate the thermal conductive block. (as shown in figure 5)
Per Claim 4 Nagarajan discloses the device of claim 1, including where the interposer plate (3040) has a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, (as shown in figure 5) and a plurality of first conductive members and a plurality of second conductive members are respectively formed on the first surface and the second surface, thereby the interposer plate is connected to the carrier structure via the plurality of second conductive members. (described in [0060])
Per Claim 7 Nagarajan discloses the device of claim 1, including an encapsulation body (8100) covering the electronic element, the interposer plate and the thermal conductive block. (see figure 5)
Per Claim 15 Nagarajan discloses the device of claim 1, including a package module (3000) provided on the interposer plate (3040)
Per Claim 17 Nagarajan discloses the device of claim 1, including where the thermal conductive block protrudes outside a vertical projection range of the electronic element. (as shown in figure 5)
Per Claim 19 Nagarajan discloses a method for manufacturing an electronic package device (as in figure 5) comprising
providing an electronic element (3050) on a carrier structure (3060), wherein the carrier structure is defined with a first side and a second side opposite to the first side, and the electronic element is disposed on the first side of the carrier structure and is electrically connected to the carrier structure;
providing and electrically connecting an interposer plate (3040) to the first side of the carrier structure, in a manner that the interposer plate covers the electronic element; and
providing a thermal conductive block (3020) on the electronic element.
Per Claim 21 Nagarajan discloses the device of claim 19, including where the interposer plate (3040) is formed with an opening to at least partially expose the electronic element and accommodate the thermal conductive block. (as shown in figure 5)
Per Claim 22 Nagarajan discloses the device of claim 19, including where the interposer plate (3040) has a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (as shown in figure 5), and a plurality of first conductive members and a plurality of second conductive members are respectively formed on the first surface and the second surface, thereby the interposer plate is connected to the carrier structure via the plurality of second conductive members. (described in [0060])
Per Claim 25 Nagarajan discloses the device of claim 19, including forming an encapsulation body (8100) covering the electronic element, the interposer plate and the thermal conductive block. (see figure 5)
Per Claim 33 Nagarajan discloses the device of claim 25, including providing a package module (3000) provided on the interposer plate (3040)
Per Claim 35 Nagarajan discloses the device of claim 19, including where the thermal conductive block protrudes outside a vertical projection range of the electronic element. (as shown in figure 5)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-6, 8-14, 16, 18, 20, 23-24, 26-32, 34 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
US 202103845975 and US 20210384989 teach the same features as the applied Nagarajan reference.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818