Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuo et al. (US 2020/0168568; hereafter Kuo).
Claim 8: Kuo teaches a method, comprising:
forming a first metal feature (such as section of 202B located below a particular via 204) and a second metal feature (such as section of 202B located below die 206) over a substrate (CR) (see, for example, Fig 2A-B, [0018-0030]),
the first metal feature and the second metal feature being embedded in a dielectric layer (202A) (See, for example, Fig 2A, [0021-0022]);
forming a conductive feature (via conductor 204) over the first metal feature (see, for example, Fig 2B, [0024-25];
attaching a die to the second metal feature (see, for example, Fig 2B, [0027-30]);
applying an organic mixture (such as some or all of encapsulant 210 of epoxy resin/phenolic resin in combination with an inorganic filler) over the conductive feature (See, for example, [0031-32], Fig 2C);
depositing an encapsulant (210) around the conductive feature and the die (see, for example, Fig 2C, [0031-0032]);
and planarizing the encapsulant and a first portion of the organic mixture to expose the conductive feature (see, for example, Fig 2C to Fig 2D, [0033-34]).
Claim 9: Kuo further teaches wherein applying the organic mixture comprises selectively coating the organic mixture on an exposed surface of the conductive feature (see, for example, Fig 2C, wherein the mixture is selectively applied relative to at least opposing exposed surface of CR).
Claim 10: Kuo further teaches wherein the organic mixture comprises inorganic pellets (inorganic filler, such as silica, clay, etc) with organic coatings (covered / within matrix of epoxy / phenolic resin) (see, for example, Fig 2C, [0031-0032]).
Claim 11: Kuo further teaches wherein the organic coatings are bonded to the inorganic pellets through oxygen atoms ((see, for example, Fig 2C, [0031-0032], wherein the inorganic filler is silica and organic coating is epoxy / phenolic resin, therein the bonding therebetween forms a Si-O-C linkage with the epoxy network / a siloxane type bond).
Claim 12: Kuo further teaches adding the inorganic pellets to an organic solution to form the organic mixture (see, for example, [0032]).
Claim 13: Kuo further teaches forming a redistribution structure (212) over and electrically connected to the conductive feature (see, for example, Fig 2E, [0035-0036]).
Claim 14: Kuo further teaches wherein the die comprises a through silicon via (206-Ts), and wherein planarizing the encapsulant comprises exposing the through silicon via of the die (see, for example, Fig 2C-D, [0033-35]).
Claim 15: Kuo further teaches wherein applying the organic mixture comprises selectively coating the organic mixture on an exposed surface of the through silicon via (see, for example, Fig 2C, wherein the mixture is selectively applied relative to at least opposing exposed surface of CR, as the mixture resides a position above the exposed surface it presently meets the limitation of being “on” it).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 15 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,249,588. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,588. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 15-20 anticipate the claimed subject matter therein.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,605,607. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 anticipate the claimed subject matter therein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed; as similarly described in the prosecution of parent US 18/182,470, the prior art failed to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed method particularly characterized by performing a rinsing of the organic mixture from the dielectric layer, wherein after performing the water rinse, the second portion of organic mixture remains attached to the conductive feature to be interposed between the encapsulant and the conductive feature within the full scope of the claims.
Conclusion
/NATHAN H EMPIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712