DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/361,331, filed on 6/29/21.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made that the information disclosure statement has been received and considered by the examiner. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Drawings
There are no objections or rejections to the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US Patent Application Publication No 10,910,553) hereinafter referred to as Wang.
Per Claim 1 Wang discloses a magnetic random access memory (MRAM) device, comprising
a magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) (114) on a substrate (100); The examiner notes that the term "on" includes "directly on" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween) and "indirectly on" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween)
a first top electrode (116/134/130) on the MTJ, wherein the first top electrode comprises a gradient concentration [0025]; and
a second top electrode (132) on and directly contacting the first top electrode, wherein the second top electrode comprises a non-gradient concentration [0024]; and
a spacer (120) adjacent to the MTJ (see figure 6).
Per Claim 2 Wang discloses the device of claim 1, including where a ratio of nitrogen to titanium increases from a bottom surface of the first top electrode toward a top surface of the first top electrode. [0025]
Per Claim 3 Wang discloses the device of claim 1, including where the first top electrode comprises: a first layer (116) on the MTJ; a second layer (134) on the first layer; and a third layer (130) on the second layer.
Per Claim 10 Wang discloses the device of claim 3, including where a thickness of the second layer (134) is less than a thickness of the third layer (130).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
Doyle (US 2018/0323367) is cited for teaching an analogous device that includes a many features of claim 1 but does not teach the electrode configurations.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2894