DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group1, Species II-Figure 7, Group 2, Species A-Figure 2 (claims 1-3 and 9-10) in the reply filed on August 25, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-8 and 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
Note. Claim limitation, “a drive device configured to move the edge ring upward based on wear of the edge ring” is not considered a means plus function limitation since the term “drive” gives sufficient structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koshimizu et al. (U.S. 2008/0236749).
Referring to Figures 1, 8, and 9A and paragraphs [0037]-[0049], Koshimizu et al. disclose a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a chamber 10 (par.[0037]); a substrate support 12 disposed in the chamber and including an electrode (par.[0038]); an edge ring 36 disposed so as to surround a substrate on the substrate support (par.[0041]); a bias RF generator 28 electrically connected to the electrode and configured to generate a bias RF signal having a first frequency (par.[0040]); a source RF generator 30 configured to generate a source RF signal to generate a plasma from a gas in the chamber, the source RF signal having a second frequency greater than the first frequency, the source RF signal having a first power level during a first half period in a cycle defined by the first frequency, and a second power level during a second half period in the cycle, the second power level being less than the first power level (pars. [0040], [0046]-[0049], Note. The apparatus of Koshimizu et al. has a structure of a controller that controls the source RF generator 30. Therefore, the controller is capable of and can be operated such that the source RF signal having a first power level during a first half period in a cycle defined by the first frequency, and a second power level during a second half period in the cycle, the second power level being less than the first power level); and a drive device 76 configured to move the edge ring 36 upward based on wear of the edge ring (pars. [0069]-[0072]).
With respect to claim 2, the apparatus of Koshimizu et al. further includes wherein the second power level is zero power level (As stated above, the controller is capable of and can be operated such that the second power level is zero power level).
With respect to claim 3, the apparatus of Koshimizu et al. further includes wherein the first frequency is in a range of 50 kHz to 27 MHz, and the second frequency is in a range of 27 MHz to 100 MHz (par.[0040]).
With respect to claim 9, the apparatus of Koshimizu et al. further includes wherein the source RF generator 30 is connected to the electrode of the substrate support 12 through a matching circuit 32 (par.[0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshimizu et al. (U.S. 2008/0236749) in view of Nagami et al. (U.S. 2018/0366305).
The teachings of Koshimizu et al. have been discussed above.
Koshimizu et al. fail to teach a voltage sensor configured to directly or indirectly measure a potential of the substrate.
Referring to Figures 1 and 5 and paragraphs [0046], [0061]-[0066], Nagami et al. teach it is conventionally known in the art to use a voltage sensor 76c configured to directly or indirectly measure a potential of the substrate in order to determine the consumption of an edge ring (par.[0065]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Koshimizu et al. with a voltage sensor configured to directly or indirectly measure a potential of the substrate as taught by Nagami et al. in order to determine the consumption of the edge ring. The resulting apparatus of Koshimizu et al. in view of Nagami et al. would yield a voltage sensor 76c configured to directly or indirectly measure a potential of the substrate.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,337,297 in view of Koshimizu et al. (U.S. 2008/0236749).
Referring to claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,337,297, U.S. Patent No. 11, 337,297 discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a chamber; a substrate support disposed in the chamber and including an electrode; an edge ring disposed so as to surround a substrate on the substrate support; a bias RF generator electrically connected to the electrode and configured to generate a bias RF signal having a first frequency; and a source RF generator configured to generate a source RF signal to generate a plasma from a gas in the chamber, the source RF signal having a second frequency greater than the first frequency, the source RF signal having a first power level during a first half period in a cycle defined by the first frequency, and a second power level during a second half period in the cycle, the second power level being less than the first power level.
U.S. Patent No. 11,337,297 is silent on a drive device configured to move the edge ring upward based on wear of the edge ring.
Referring to Figure 8 and paragraphs [0069]-[0072], Koshimizu et al. teach a plasma processing apparatus wherein a drive device 76 configured to move the edge ring 36 upward based on wear of the edge ring in order to generate an uniform plasma distribution (Fig. 9A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11,337,297 with a drive device configured to move the edge ring upward based on wear of the edge ring as taught by Koshimizu et al. in order to generate an uniform plasma distribution.
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,361,947 in view of Koshimizu et al. (U.S. 2008/0236749).
Referring to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11, 361,947, U.S. Patent No. 11, 361,947 discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a chamber; a substrate support disposed in the chamber and including an electrode; an edge ring disposed so as to surround a substrate on the substrate support; a bias RF generator electrically connected to the electrode and configured to generate a bias RF signal having a first frequency; and a source RF generator configured to generate a source RF signal to generate a plasma from a gas in the chamber, the source RF signal having a second frequency greater than the first frequency, the source RF signal having a first power level during a first half period in a cycle defined by the first frequency, and a second power level during a second half period in the cycle, the second power level being less than the first power level.
U.S. Patent No. 11, 361,947 is silent on a drive device configured to move the edge ring upward based on wear of the edge ring.
Referring to Figure 8 and paragraphs [0069]-[0072], Koshimizu et al. teach a plasma processing apparatus wherein a drive device 76 configured to move the edge ring 36 upward based on wear of the edge ring in order to generate an uniform plasma distribution (Fig. 9A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11, 361,947 with a drive device configured to move the edge ring upward based on wear of the edge ring as taught by Koshimizu et al. in order to generate an uniform plasma distribution.
With respect to claim 10, the apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 11, 361,947 discloses a voltage sensor configured to directly or indirectly measure a potential of the substrate (see claim 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koshimizu’887, Takahashi et al.’249, Tanikawa’691, Albarede et al.’194, Moriya et al.’557, Tanikawa’315, Yamawaku et al.’884, McChesney et al.’478, Yamamoto’124, Yamawaku et al.’063, and Kobayashi’111 teach a chamber, substrate support, a bias RF generator, a source RF generator, and an edge ring drive device. Papasouliotis et al.’049 teach multiple power levels.
/Michelle CROWELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716