Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in REPUBLIC OF KOREA on 02/05/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2024-0017562 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/05/2024 has/have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, 14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0077258 A1; Jung, Hyunju; 03/2022; (“Jung”).
Regarding Claim 1. Jung discloses A display device (Figure 3, transparent display apparatus according to [0019] wherein Figure 4 is a cross section according to [0020] and Figure 5 is a zoomed in portion of Figure 4 according to [0149]) comprising:
a pixel electrode (#610 and #620, Figure 4, second auxiliary electrode and anode electrode) above a substrate (#100, Figure 4, first substrate which #610 and #620 are above);
a pixel-defining layer (#520, Figure 4, second planarization layer has openings defining pixel regions by electrical connections to underlying drivers) above the substrate (Figure 4, #520 is above #100), and having a portion above the pixel electrode (Figure 4, #520 has portions above #610);
an emissive layer (#630, Figure 4, organic light emitting layer) above the pixel electrode (Figure 4, #630 is above #610 and #620);
a common electrode (#640 of the EL region, Figure 4, cathode electrode which may be common according to [0137]) above the emissive layer (Figure 4, #640 is above #630);
a first bank (#210-1, Figure 5, lower partition wall) above the pixel-defining layer (Figure 5, #210-1 is above #520);
a second bank above the first bank (#210-2, Figure 5, upper partition wall which is above #210-1), and protruding beyond a side surface of the first bank (Figure 5, #210-2 protrudes beyond a side surface of #210-1); and
an auxiliary electrode (#640 of the TA region, Figure 4, cathode electrode which may be common according to [0137]) above the pixel-defining layer (Figure 4, #640 of TA region is above #520).
Regarding Claim 2. Jung discloses The display device of claim 1, wherein the second bank overlaps with the common electrode and the auxiliary electrode in a thickness direction of the substrate (Figure 4, #210-2 overlaps with both portions of #640 in the EL and TA regions in the thickness direction of #100).
Regarding Claim 3. Jung discloses The display device of claim 1, wherein the first bank is between the auxiliary electrode and the common electrode (Figure 4, #210-1 is laterally at least partially between #640s of the TA and EL regions).
Regarding Claim 4. Jung discloses The display device of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary electrode and the common electrode contact the side surface of the first bank (Figure 4, #640s of the TA and EL regions contact side surfaces of #210-1).
Regarding Claim 5. Jung discloses The display device of claim 4, wherein the common electrode and the auxiliary electrode are electrically connected with each other (Figure 4, #640s of the TA and EL regions are electrically connected with each other through the underlying fourth auxiliary electrode which contacts both of them).
Regarding Claim 6. Jung discloses The display device of claim 1, further comprising a sub-auxiliary electrode above the second bank (Figures 4 and 5, a portion of cathode #640 is above #210-2 and may be interpreted as a sub-auxiliary electrode), and comprising a same material as the auxiliary electrode ([0149], the cathode electrode may have a portion which is on the upper surface of #210 such that it is of the same material as the rest of #640).
Regarding Claim 9. Jung discloses The display device of claim 1, wherein a first distance, in plan view, between a first portion of a side surface of the second bank and a first portion of the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the common electrode (Figure 5, distance between the left side of #210-2 and the left side surface of #210-1) is substantially equal to a second distance, in plan view, between a second portion of the side surface of the second bank and a second portion of the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the auxiliary electrode (Figure 5, distance between the right side of #210-2 and the right side surface of #210-1) (Figure 5, #210-1 and #210-2 are observed to be symmetrical such that the distance between their respective sidewalls is the same on both the left and right sides).
Regarding Claim 10. Jung discloses The display device of claim 1, further comprising a thin-film encapsulation layer (#540, Figure 4, filling layer which encapsulates the device) above the common electrode and the auxiliary electrode (Figure 4, #540 is above all portions of #640).
Regarding Claim 14. Jung discloses A display device (Figure 3, transparent display apparatus according to [0019] wherein Figure 4 is a cross section according to [0020] and Figure 5 is a zoomed in portion of Figure 4 according to [0149]) comprising:
a substrate (#100, Figure 4, first substrate) comprising an emission area (Figure 4, EL region bounded by black matrix #720), a light-transmitting area (#TA, Figure 4, transmissive area), and a light-blocking area between the emission area and the light-transmitting area (Figure 4, area bound by the black matrix #720 and the transmissive area TA);
a light-emitting element above the substrate in the emission area (#E, Figure 4, organic light emitting device in the EL area bounded by the black matrix);
an auxiliary electrode above the substrate in the light-transmitting area (#640 of the TA region, Figure 4, cathode electrode which may be common according to [0137] and is above 100 in the TA region);
a first bank (#210-1, Figure 5, lower partition wall) above the substrate in the light-blocking area (Figure 5, #210-1 is above #100 and at least partially in the light blocking area); and
a second bank above the substrate in the light-blocking area, above the first bank (#210-2, Figure 5, upper partition wall which is above #210-1 and #100 in the light blocking area), and comprising a side surface that protrudes more than a side surface of the first bank toward the emission area and the light-transmitting area (Figure 5, #210-2 protrudes beyond a side surface of #210-1 towards EL and TA regions).
Regarding Claim 16. Jung discloses The display device of claim 14, wherein the auxiliary electrode contacts the side surface of the first bank (Figures 4 and 5, #640 of the TA region contacts the side surface of #210-1).
Regarding Claim 17. Jung discloses The display device of claim 14, wherein the emission area comprises a first emission area (Figure 3, second column of pixels) and a second emission area (Figure 3, third column of pixels) spaced apart from each other (Figure 3, second and third columns of pixels are spaced apart in an x-direction),
wherein the light-blocking area comprises a first light-blocking area surrounding the first emission area, and a second light-blocking area surrounding the second emission area (Figure 3, separate portions of #200 surround the respective columns of pixels), and
wherein the light-transmitting area surrounds the first light-blocking area and the second light-blocking area (Figure 4, the transmission areas TA at least partially surround the light blocking areas around the pixel columns).
Regarding Claim 18. Jung discloses A display device (Figure 3, transparent display apparatus according to [0019] wherein Figure 4 is a cross section according to [0020] and Figure 5 is a zoomed in portion of Figure 4 according to [0149]) comprising:
a first pixel electrode and a second pixel electrode above a substrate and spaced apart from each other (#610 and #620, Figures 3 and 4, second auxiliary electrode and anode electrode of separate respective columns of sub pixels SP which are spaced apart from each other in a lateral direction and are above substrate #100);
a pixel-defining layer (#520, Figure 4, second planarization layer which has openings defining the pixel regions by allowing for electrical connections to underlying drivers) above the substrate (Figure 4, #520 is above #100), and comprising respective portions above the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode (Figure 4, #520 has portions above portions of #610 in the sub-pixels);
a first emissive layer (#630, Figure 4, organic light emitting layer of a first respective sub-pixel) and a first common electrode above the first pixel electrode (#640 of the EL region, Figure 4, cathode electrode above the #610/#620 combination, which may be common according to [0137], of the first respective pixel);
a second emissive layer (#630, Figure 4, organic light emitting layer of a second respective sub-pixel) and a second common electrode above the second pixel electrode (#640 of the EL region, Figure 4, cathode electrode above the #610/#620 combination, which may be common according to [0137], of the second respective pixel);
an auxiliary electrode between the first common electrode and the second common electrode (#640 of the TA region, Figures 4 and 5, cathode electrode portion in the TA region between adjacent columns of sub-pixels);
a first bank (#210-1, Figure 5, lower partition wall) above the pixel-defining layer (Figure 5, #210-1 is above #520), between the first common electrode and the auxiliary electrode, and between the second common electrode and the auxiliary electrode (Figures 4 and 5, #210-1 of #200 is between the respective sub-pixels of adjacent columns and the transmission area between them); and
a second bank above the first bank (#210-2, Figure 5, upper partition wall which is above #210-1), and protruding beyond a side surface of the first bank (Figure 5, #210-2 protrudes beyond a side surface of #210-1).
Regarding Claim 19. Jung discloses The display device of claim 18, further comprising a sub-auxiliary electrode above the second bank (Figures 4 and 5, a portion of cathode #640 is above #210-2 and may be interpreted as a sub-auxiliary electrode), and comprising a same material as the auxiliary electrode ([0149], the cathode electrode may have a portion which is on the upper surface of #210 such that it is of the same material as the rest of #640).
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 10-15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0344417 A1; Choung et al.; 10/2022; (“Choung”).
Regarding Claim 1. Choung discloses A display device (#100, Figure 1B, sub-pixel circuit of a display according to [0051]) comprising:
a pixel electrode (#104 left, Figure 1B, metal layer) above a substrate (#102, Figure 1B, #104 left is over substrate #102);
a pixel-defining layer (#126, Figure 1B, pixel defining layer structure) above the substrate (Figure 1B, #126 is above #102), and having a portion above the pixel electrode (Figure 1B, #126 has portions above the left #104);
an emissive layer (#112, Figure 1B, OLED material configured to emit light according to [0025]) above the pixel electrode (Figure 1B, #112 is above #104);
a common electrode (#114, Figure 1B, cathode) above the emissive layer (Figure 1B, #114 is above #112);
a first bank (#110C, Figure 1B, body portion of overhang structures) above the pixel-defining layer (Figure 1B, #110C is above #126);
a second bank (#110B, Figure 1B, top portion of overhang structures) above the first bank (Figure 1B, #110B is above #110C), and protruding beyond a side surface of the first bank (Figure 1B, #110B protrudes beyond a side surface of #110C); and
an auxiliary electrode (#110A, Figure 1B, base portion of overhang structures made of metal electrode material according to [0028]) above the pixel-defining layer (Figure 1B, #110A is above #126).
Regarding Claim 7. Choung discloses The display device of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary electrode comprises transparent conductive oxide (TCO) ([0028], #110A may be made of at least one TCO material).
Regarding Claim 8. Choung discloses The display device of claim 1, wherein the first bank and the second bank comprise different respective metal materials ([0028], #110C is made of a metal alloy while #110B is made of a metal material wherein different metals/alloys are presented for each).
Regarding Claim 10. Choung discloses The display device of claim 1, further comprising a thin-film encapsulation layer above the common electrode and the auxiliary electrode (#116s and #122s, Figure 1B, encapsulation layers and plugs which are above #114s and #110As).
Regarding Claim 11. Choung discloses The display device of claim 10, wherein the thin-film encapsulation layer comprises:
a lower inorganic encapsulation layer above the common electrode and the second bank (#116 left, Figure 1B, [0031], inorganic encapsulation layer which is above #114 and #110B);
an organic encapsulation layer above the lower inorganic encapsulation layer (#122s, Figure 1B, [0034], plugs made of organic materials such as photoresist and photosensitive monomers which are at least partially above #116 left); and
an upper inorganic encapsulation layer above the organic encapsulation layer (#116 right, Figure 1B, [0031], inorganic encapsulation layer which is above portions of #122 right).
Regarding Claim 12. Choung discloses The display device of claim 11, wherein the lower inorganic encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic layer above the common electrode (#116 left, Figure 1B), and a second inorganic layer above the auxiliary electrode ([0025], not shown third and fourth sub-pixels may be present, the third sub-pixel may include a #116 which is above a #110A similar to the #116 on the right sub-pixel that is shown), the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer being spaced apart from each other (Figure 1B, each #116 of adjacent pixels are spaced apart from each other).
Regarding Claim 13. Choung discloses The display device of claim 11, further comprising a sub-auxiliary electrode above the second bank and the lower inorganic encapsulation layer, and comprising a same material as the auxiliary electrode (Figure 1B, portions of #114 may are observed to be above #110B and portions of #116 left; [0028] and [0029], both the auxiliary electrode and all parts of the cathode may be formed of ITO).
Regarding Claim 14. Choung discloses A display device (#100, Figure 1B, sub-pixel circuit of a display according to [0051]) comprising:
a substrate (#102, Figure 1B, substrate) comprising an emission area (Figure 1B, region overlapping left sub-pixel #106), a light-transmitting area (Figure 1B, region overlapping right sub-pixel #106), and a light-blocking area between the emission area and the light-transmitting area (Figure 1B, region including overhang structures #110 between the two sub-pixels);
a light-emitting element above the substrate in the emission area (#112 left, Figure 1B, OLED material);
an auxiliary electrode above the substrate in the light-transmitting area (Figure 1B, portions of cathode #114 on #110B in the region of the right sub-pixel);
a first bank (#110C, Figure 1B, body portion of overhang structures) above the substrate in the light-blocking area (Figure 1B, #110C is above #102 in the area of the overhang structures); and
a second bank (#110B, Figure 1B, top portion of overhang structures) above the substrate in the light-blocking area (Figure 1B, #110B is above #102 in the area of the overhang structures), above the first bank (Figure 1B, #110C is above #110C), and comprising a side surface that protrudes more than a side surface of the first bank toward the emission area and the light-transmitting area (Figure 1B, #110B protrudes beyond a side surface of #110C towards both the left and right sub-pixels).
Regarding Claim 15. Choung discloses The display device of claim 14, wherein the auxiliary electrode comprises a transparent conductive oxide (0028] and [0029], both the auxiliary electrode #126 and all parts of the cathode #114may be formed of ITO).
Regarding Claim 18. Choung discloses A display device (#100, Figure 1B, sub-pixel circuit of a display according to [0051]) comprising:
a first pixel electrode (#104 left, Figure 1B, metal layer functioning as a pixel electrode) and a second pixel electrode (#104 right, Figure 1B, metal layer functioning as a pixel electrode) above a substrate and spaced apart from each other (Figure 1B, both #104s are above substrate #102 and spaced apart from each other);
a pixel-defining layer (#126, Figure 1B, pixel defining structures) above the substrate (Figure 1B, #126 is above #102), and comprising respective portions above the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode (Figure 1B, #126 has portions above both the left and right #104s);
a first emissive layer and a first common electrode above the first pixel electrode (#112 and #114 left, Figure 1B, OLED material and cathode above the left #104);
a second emissive layer and a second common electrode above the second pixel electrode (#112 and #114 right, Figure 1B, OLED material and cathode above the right #104);
an auxiliary electrode (#110C, Figure 1B, body portion of overhang structures made of metal alloy electrode material according to [0028]) between the first common electrode and the second common electrode (Figure 1B, #110B is between #114s left and right including the portions on top of the #110B structure);
a first bank above the pixel-defining layer (#110A, Figure 1B, base portion above #126), between the first common electrode and the auxiliary electrode, and between the second common electrode and the auxiliary electrode (Figure 1B, #110A extends between #110C and the left and right #114s along a diagonal line); and
a second bank above the first bank (#110B, Figure 1B, top portion of overhang structures), and protruding beyond a side surface of the first bank (Figure 1B, #110B protrudes beyond a side surface of #110A).
Regarding Claim 20. Choung discloses The display device of claim 18, further comprising:
a first inorganic layer above the first common electrode (#116 left, Figure 1B, [0031], inorganic encapsulation layer which is above #114 left); and
a second inorganic layer above the second common electrode (#116 right, Figure 1B, [0031], inorganic encapsulation layer which is above #114 right), and spaced apart from the first inorganic layer (Figure 1B, the left and right #1146s are spaced apart from one another).
Examiner’s Note – Relevant Prior Art
The examiner identified the following references during their search that all appear highly relevant to the instant application. In particular, all of the references listed below include disclosures which read on claim 1 at least (often more than just claim 1) as currently written. The identified reference(s) all have a common Assignee, Applicant, and/or Inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the references, they constitute prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). In select cases, based on the earlier publication date, they also constitute prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (bolded below).
US 20240284716 A1; Yoo et al.; 08/2024 – Figure 6
US 20240215323 A1; Shin et al.; 06/2024 – Figure 6
US 20250234718 A1; Choi et al.; 07/2025 – Figures 5 and 6A
US 20250040404 A1; Lee et al.; 01/2025 – Figure 5
US 20240215380 A1; Shin et al.; 06/2024 – Figure 4
US 20240121992 A1; Yoo et al.; 04/2024 – Figures 6 and 7
US 20240315083 A1; Ju, Jin Ho; 09/2024 – Figures 6 and 7
US 20250107350 A1; Bae et al.; 03/2025 – Figures 4 and 5
US 20240372045 A1; Jang et al.; 11/2024 – Figures 4 and 5
US 20240224761 A1; Park et al.; 07/2024 – Figures 4 and 5
US 20240138198 A1; Lee et al.; 04/2024 – Figure 3B
US 20250176402 A1; Shin et al.; 05/2025 – Figure 8
US 20250031552 A1; Lee et al.; 01/2025 – Figure 8
US 20250185466 A1; Yoo et al.; 06/2025 – Figure 6
US 20240122031 A1; Shin et al.; 04/2024 – Figure 6
US 20250048841 A1; Lee et al.; 02/2025 – Figure 7
US 20250126976 A1; Kim et al.; 04/2025 – Figure 4
US 20240172483 A1; Park et al.; 05/2024 – Figure 5
US 20250008816 A1; Baek et al.; 01/2025 – Figure 6
US 20250098428 A1; Shin et al.; 03/2025 – Figure 6
US 20250160125 A1; Cha et al.; 05/2025 – Figure 5
US 20250234712 A1; Park et al.; 07/2025 – Figure 5
US 20250212613 A1; Chung et al.; 06/2025 – Figure 4
US 20240138194 A1; Park et al.; 04/2024 – Figure 5
US 20230363211 A1; Jung, In Young; 11/2023 – Figure 6
In an effort towards compact prosecution, the examiner is providing these references to try and avoid the possibility of the art being applied in a future rejection when the art may either be amended to be overcome or where an exception is possible.
The possible rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Furthermore, should applicant provide evidence in this file showing that the claimed invention and the subject matter disclosed in the prior art references were owned by, or subject to an obligation of assignment to, the same entity as the instant application not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or the subject matter disclosed in the prior art reference was developed and the claimed invention was made by, or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement in effect not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention (i.e. excepted as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)), the art which was published before the effective filing date (bolded above) is still applicable as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) that cannot be excepted under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C).
Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome such a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Conclusion
/TYLER J WIEGAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2812