DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11, 14-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2023/0354681 A1) in view of Choung (US 2022/0077251 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo teaches a display device (10) comprising:
a substrate (SUB) comprising a first emission area (EA1; see Fig. 4) and a second emission area (EA2) spaced apart;
a pixel-defining layer (PDL) comprising side surfaces (vertical sidewalls of PDL) defining the first emission area and the second emission area (¶ [0082]: each first to third subpixels have emission areas EA1, EA2, and E3, respectively; ¶ [0138] discloses openings OP1, OP2, and OP3 for each emission areas EA1, EA2, and E3, respectively; Fig. 4 shows vertical sidewalls of PDL for each opening OP2);
a first light-emitting element (LED; Fig. 6; though Fig. 6 shows OP2, this claim element is the LED for emission area EA1 / OP1; ¶ [0082]: each first to third subpixels have emission areas EA1, EA2, and E3, respectively) above the substrate in the first emission area, and comprising a first pixel electrode (AND), a first light-emitting layer (EL), and a first common electrode (CAT);
a second light-emitting element (LED; Fig. 6; this is the LED for EA2 / OP2) above the substrate in the second emission area, and comprising a second pixel electrode (AND), a second light-emitting layer (EL), and a second common electrode (CAT);
a first bank (BK) above the pixel-defining layer.
Yoo further teaches the display device wherein a distance (D2; see Fig. 4) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the first emission area (right side of Fig. 4 shows D2 is associated with EA1) is greater than (¶ [0091]) a distance (D1) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the second emission area (left side of Fig. 4 shows D1 is associated with EA2). However, Yoo does not teach: a second bank above the first bank, and comprising a side surface that protrudes more than a side surface of the first bank and that is depressed more than the side surface of the pixel-defining layer, wherein a distance between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the first emission area is greater than a distance between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the second emission area.
Choung, in the same field of invention, teaches a display device comprising:
a second bank (110B) above the first bank (110A), and comprising a side surface (vertical sidewalls of 110B) that protrudes more than a side surface (vertical sidewalls of 110A) of the first bank and that is depressed (the vertical sidewalls of 110B is not vertically aligned with the vertical sidewalls of 126) more than the side surface of the pixel-defining layer (126),
wherein the distance between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the first emission area is greater than the distance between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the second emission area (since Yoo teaches these distance limitations with respect to the first bank and Choung teaches a second bank, then Yoo in view of Choung teaches these distances relative to the second bank).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Choung into the device of Yoo to add a second bank top of the first bank such that the vertical sidewalls of the second bank protrudes the vertical sidewalls of the first bank, and such that the vertical sidewalls of the second bank is depressed in relation to the vertical sidewall of the pixel-defining layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of designing a non-touch screen display device wherein a step in the manufacturing process is eliminated ( Choung ¶ [0030]: lift-off procedure) in order to improve the throughput and reducing the cost of the manufacturing process while increasing the pixel density and device performance (¶ [0004] ).
Regarding claim 2, the display device of claim 1, wherein an area (diameter DM2 of EA2; see Yoo Fig. 4) of the second emission area is greater than an area (diameter DM1) of the first emission area (¶ [0085]: “ [A] first diameter DM1 of each first emission area EA1, a second diameter DM2 of each second emission area EA2, and a third diameter DM3 of each third emission area EA3 may be different from each other. For example, the third diameter DM3 may be greater than the first diameter DM1, and the first diameter DM1 may be greater than the second diameter DM2, but embodiments are not limited thereto,” emphasis added ).
Regarding claim 3, the display device of claim 2, wherein a distance (distance between vertical surfaces of 110B and 110A; see Choung Fig. 1A) between the side surface of the second bank and the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the first emission area (EA1 of Yoo Figs. 4) is greater than a distance (distance between vertical surfaces of 110B and 110A; see Choung Fig. 1A) between the side surface of the second bank and the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the second emission area (EA2 in Yoo Figs. 4; since Yoo teaches the area of EA2 is greater than area of EA1, see claim 2 rejection above, and since You in view of Choung teaches a second bank, see claim 1 rejection above, then Yoo in view of Choung teaches this limitation)
Regarding claim 4, the display device of claim 1, wherein, in plan view (Yoo Fig. 4 is a plan view), the pixel-defining layer comprises exposed areas (areas exposed by D1 and D2) that are not covered with the second bank (in view of Chong Fig. 1A, the bank BK in Fig. 4 is below the second bank 110B), and
wherein a width (D2) of one of the exposed areas of the pixel-defining layer surrounding the first emission area is greater (¶ [0091]) than a width (D1) of another of the exposed areas of the pixel-defining layer surrounding the second emission area.
Regarding claim 5, the display device of claim 2, wherein the substrate further comprises a third emission area (EA3; Yoo Fig. 4) having an area (DM3 is the diameter of EA3) that is greater than the area of the first emission area and greater than the area of the second emission area (¶ [0085]: “ the third diameter DM3 may be greater than the first diameter DM1, and the first diameter DM1 may be greater than the second diameter DM2).
Regarding claim 6, the display device of claim 5, wherein a distance (D1 of the first display area DA1; see Yoo Figs. 4 & 6, ¶ [0087]) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer (PDL) and the side surface of the second bank (first bank BK of Yoo Fig. 4 is superimposed with second bank 110B in Choung Fig. 1A) adjacent to the third emission area (EA3 in DA1) is less than (¶ [0091] ) the distance (D2 of the second display area DA2; see Yoo Figs. 4 & 6, ¶ [0089]) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the first emission area (EA1 in DA2).
Regarding claim 7, the display device of claim 6, wherein the distance (D1 of the first display area DA1; see Yoo Figs. 4 & 6, ¶ [0087]) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer (PDL) and the side surface of the second bank (first bank BK of Yoo Fig. 4 is superimposed with second bank 110B in Choung Fig. 1A) adjacent to the third emission area (EA3 in DA1) is less than (¶ [0091]) a distance (D2 of the second display area DA2; see Yoo Figs. 4 & 6, ¶ [0089]) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the second emission area (EA2 in DA2)..
Regarding claim 8, the display device of claim 6, wherein the distance (D2 of EA3 in display area DA2 in Yoo Fig. 4; ¶ [0089]) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank (first bank BK of Yoo Fig. 4 is superimposed with second bank 110B in Choung Fig. 1A) adjacent to the third emission area (EA3 in second display area DA2) is substantially equal (¶ [0089]) to a distance (D2 of EA2) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the second emission area (EA2 in second display area DA2).
Regarding claim 11, Yoo in view of Choung teaches display device of claim 1, but does not teach: wherein the first common electrode and the second common electrode are spaced apart.
Choung further teaches the display device wherein the first common electrode (114 of 108a; see Fig. 1) and the second common electrode (114 of 108b) are spaced apart (due to the overhang 109 and second bank 110B).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Choung into the device of Yoo in view of Choung to space apart the common electrode for the first emission area and the second emission area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the overhang (109) to allow proper manufacturing of the device components (Choung ¶ [0032], see also Fig. 2 and ¶ [0040]-[0042] ), for the further purpose of increased pixel density and device performance (¶ [0004] ).
Regarding claim 14, Yoo in view of Choung teach the display device of claim 1, but does not teach the device further comprising: a first inorganic layer above the first common electrode and the second bank; and a second inorganic layer above the second common electrode and the second bank, and spaced apart from the first inorganic layer.
Choung further teaches the device to comprise:
a first inorganic layer (116 within sub-pixel 108a; see Choung Fig. 1A; ¶ [0034]) above the first common electrode (114 of 108a) and the second bank (110B of 108a); and
a second inorganic layer (116 within sub-pixel 108b) above the second common electrode (114 of 108b) and the second bank (110B of 108b), and spaced apart from the first inorganic layer (gap is filled by 118; see Fig. 1A).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the further teachings of Choung into the device of Yoo in view of Choung to add a first and second inorganic layer above the first common electrode and second common electrode, respectively. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the first and second inorganic layers as passivation layers (Choung ¶ [0037]) for electrically isolating the light-emitting element from other structural elements such as the color filter (122; Choung ¶ [0037]) disposed above it.
Regarding claim 15, the display device of claim 14, wherein the first inorganic layer is spaced apart from an upper surface of the second bank (Choung Fig. 1A shows multilayered structure between 116 and 110B for the first organic layer of sub-pixel 108a), and
wherein the second inorganic layer is spaced apart from the upper surface of the second bank (Choung Fig. 1A shows multilayered structure between 116 and 110B for the second organic layer of sub-pixel 108b).
Regarding claim 16, the display device of claim 15, further comprising an organic encapsulation layer (118; Choung Fig. 1; ¶ [0036]: 118 is made of acrylic, which is known in the art as an organic material) in a space (space between left 116 and rightmost 110B) between the first inorganic layer (left 116) and the second bank (rightmost 110B), and in a space (space between right 116 and leftmost 110B) between the second inorganic layer (right 116) and (leftmost 110B) the second bank.
Regarding claim 17, Yoo teaches a display device (10) comprising:
a substrate (SUB) comprising a first emission area (EA2; see Fig. 4), and a second emission area (EA1) spaced apart from the first emission area) and comprising a greater area than the first emission area (¶ [0085]: “the first diameter DM1 may be greater than the second diameter DM2 );
a pixel-defining layer (PDL) comprising side surfaces (vertical sidewalls of PDL) defining the first emission area and the second emission area (¶ [0082]: each first to third subpixels have emission areas EA1, EA2, and E3, respectively; ¶ [0138] discloses openings OP1, OP2, and OP3 for each emission areas EA1, EA2, and E3, respectively; Fig. 4 shows vertical sidewalls of PDL for each opening OP2);
a first light-emitting element (LED; Fig. 6; note: this is the LED for EA2) above the substrate in the first emission area, and comprising a first pixel electrode (AND), a first light-emitting layer (EL), and a first common electrode (CAT);
a second light-emitting element (LED; Fig. 6; note: this is the LED for EA1) above the substrate in the second emission area, and comprising a second pixel electrode (AND), a second light-emitting layer (EL), and a second common electrode (CAT);
a first bank (BK) above the pixel-defining layer.
Yoo further teaches the device wherein a distance (D2; see Fig. 4; ¶ [0089] ) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the first emission area (right side of Fig. 4 shows D2 is associated with EA2) is greater (¶ [0091]: D2>D1 ) than a distance (D1) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the second emission area (left side of Fig. 4 shows D1 is associated with EA1; ¶ [0087] ). However, Yoo does not teach: a second bank above the first bank, and comprising a side surface that protrudes more than a side surface of the first bank and that is depressed more than the side surface of the pixel-defining layer, wherein a width of an area where the pixel-defining layer and the first light-emitting layer overlap in a thickness direction of the substrate is greater than a width of an area where the pixel-defining layer and the second light-emitting layer overlap each other in the thickness direction.
Choung, in the same field of invention, teaches a device comprising
a second bank (110B) above the first bank (110A), and comprising a side surface (vertical sidewalls of 110B) that protrudes more than a side surface (vertical sidewalls of 110A) of the first bank and that is depressed (the vertical sidewalls of 110B is not vertically aligned with the vertical sidewalls of 126) more than the side surface of the pixel-defining layer (126),
wherein a width (horizontal width of the overlap between 126 and 112; see Fig. 2) of an area (area of said overlap) where the pixel-defining layer and the first light-emitting layer (112 for first EL of Yoo) overlap in a thickness direction (vertical direction) of the substrate is greater than a width (horizontal width of the overlap between 126 and 112) of an area (area of said overlap) where the pixel-defining layer and the second light-emitting layer (112 for second EL of Yoo) overlap each other in the thickness direction (Yoo in view of Choung teaches the first width is greater than the second width since Yoo teaches D2>D1).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Choung into the device of Yoo to add a second bank top of the first bank such that the vertical sidewalls of the second bank protrudes the vertical sidewalls of the first bank, and such that the vertical sidewalls of the second bank is depressed in relation to the vertical sidewall of the pixel-defining layer and to add an overlap area between the pixel-defining layer and the respective first and second light-emitting layers in the manner described above. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of designing a non-touch screen display device wherein a step in the manufacturing process is eliminated ( Choung ¶ [0030]: lift-off procedure) in order to improve the throughput and reducing the cost of the manufacturing process while increasing the pixel density and device performance (¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 19, Yoo teaches a display device (10) comprising:
a substrate (SUB) comprising a first emission area (EA1; see Fig. 9), a second emission area (EA2), and a third emission area (EA3) spaced apart from each other;
a pixel-defining layer (PDL; see Figs 6 & 8) comprising side surfaces (vertical sidewalls of PDL) defining the first emission area, the second emission area, and the third emission area (¶ [0082]: each first to third subpixels have emission areas EA1, EA2, and E3, respectively; ¶ [0138] discloses openings OP1, OP2, and OP3 for each emission areas EA1, EA2, and E3, respectively; Figs. 4 & 8 shows vertical sidewalls of PDL for each opening OP2);
a first light-emitting element (LED; Figs. 6 & 8; though Fig. 6 shows OP2, this claim element is the LED for emission area EA1 / OP1; ¶ [0082]: each first to third subpixels have emission areas EA1, EA2, and E3, respectively) above the substrate in the first emission area, and comprising a first pixel electrode (AND), a first light-emitting layer (EL), and a first common electrode (CAT);
a second light-emitting element (LED; Figs. 6 & 8; this is the LED for EA2 / OP2) above the substrate in the second emission area, and comprising a second pixel electrode (AND), a second light-emitting layer (EL), and a second common electrode (CAT);
a first bank (BK) above the pixel-defining layer; and
wherein the first emission area, the second emission area, and the third emission area comprise different respective areas (Fig. 9 shows EA1, EA2 and EA3 each occupying different areas).
Yoo further teach the device wherein a distance (D3; see Figs. 9, ¶ [0142]) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the first bank (see also Fig. 6) adjacent to the first emission area (EA1 of first display area DA1 of area A1), a distance (D2; Fig. 7; ¶ [0144]) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the second emission area (EA2 of first display area DA2 of area A1), and a distance (D6, Fig. 9; ¶ [0144] ) between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the third emission area (EA3 of second display area DA2 of area A2) are different from each other (see Figs. 9-10; ¶ [0147], [0151], [0091] ). However, Yoo does not teach the device comprising a second bank above the first bank, and comprising a side surface that protrudes more than a side surface of the first bank and that is depressed more than the side surface of the pixel-defining layer, wherein a distance between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the first emission area, a distance between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the second emission area, and a distance between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the third emission area are different from each other.
Choung, in the same field of invention, teaches a display device comprising:
second bank (110B) above the first bank (110A), and comprising a side surface (vertical sidewalls of 110B) that protrudes more than a side surface (vertical sidewalls of 110A) of the first bank and that is depressed (the vertical sidewalls of 110B is not vertically aligned with the vertical sidewalls of 126) more than the side surface of the pixel-defining layer (126),
wherein the distance between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the first emission area, the distance between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the second emission area, and the distance between the side surface of the pixel-defining layer and the side surface of the second bank adjacent to the third emission area are different from each other (since Yoo teaches these distance limitations with respect to the first bank and Choung teaches a second bank, then Yoo in view of Choung teaches these distances relative to the second bank).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Choung into the device of Yoo to add a second bank top of the first bank such that the vertical sidewalls of the second bank protrudes the vertical sidewalls of the first bank, and such that the vertical sidewalls of the second bank is depressed in relation to the vertical sidewall of the pixel-defining layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of designing a non-touch screen display device wherein a step in the manufacturing process is eliminated (Choung ¶ [0030]: lift-off procedure) in order to improve the throughput and reducing the cost of the manufacturing process while increasing the pixel density and device performance (¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, the display device of claim 19, wherein a distance (distance between vertical sidewall of 110B and vertical sidewall of 110A for first sub-pixel 108a; see Choung Fig. 1A) between the side surface of the second bank and the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the first emission area, a distance (distance between vertical sidewall of 110B and vertical sidewall of 1101A for second sub-pixel 108b; see Choung Fig. 1A) between the side surface of the second bank and the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the second emission area, and a distance (distance between vertical sidewall of 110B and vertical sidewall of 1101A for first sub-pixel 108a; see Choung Fig. 1A: note: since Yoo teaches multiple sub-pixels, then this distance is for the third emission area EA3) between the side surface of the second bank and the side surface of the first bank adjacent to the third emission area are substantially equal (Choung Fig. 1A shows the no variation between the said distances for any specific sub-pixel 108a or 108b; hence Yoo in view of Choung teaches this limitation).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2023/0354681 A1) in view of Choung (US 2022/0077251 A1) as applied to claims 1 and/or 17 above, and further in view of Kimura (JP 5282404 B2; see NPL for English translation).
Regarding claim 9, Yoo et al. teach the display device of claim 1, but does not teach: wherein the first light-emitting layer comprises a first area comprising a thickness of about 95% or more of a thickness of the first light-emitting layer at a point where the thickness of the first light-emitting layer is greatest.
Kimura, in the same field of invention, teaches a first light-emitting layer (208) comprising a first area (A) comprising a thickness (120 nm) of that is thicker than a thickness (100 nm) of a second area (B), with the first area being a point where the thickness of the first-emitting layer is greatest (see Fig 3). Hence, Yoo et al. in view of Kimura teaches wherein the first light-emitting layer comprises a first area comprising a thickness of about 95% or more of a thickness of the first light-emitting layer at a point where the thickness of the first light-emitting layer is greatest.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Kimura into the device of Yoo et al. to optimize the ranges of a thickness of a first area of the first light-emitting area, such that the said thickness comprises 95% or more of a thickness of the first light-emitting layer, and such that the first area is the point where the thickness of the first light-emitting area is greatest. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of varying the thicknesses of the first area relative to the thickness of the second area of the light-emitting layer in order to increase the light intensity of the second area (Kimura ¶ [0062], Fig. 4a) and to adjust the wavelength of the light emitted (¶ [0063]. Fig. 4B), which improves the display image of and reduces the cost of manufacturing the device (¶ [0004], [0006]).
However, Yoo et al. in view of Kimura does not teach: wherein an area of the first area of the first light-emitting layer is about 70% or more of an area of the first emission area.
Yoo further teaches adjusting an area (area of EL under DM2; see Fig. 6) of the first area of the first light-emitting layer (Fig. 4 shows DM2 associated with EA1 in display area DA2) can be adjusted according to a mathematical equation (¶ [0091], [0092], [0096], [0147], [0151], [0155]-[0166]) in relation to an area (total area of EA1, which includes DM2 and D2) of the first emission area (this interpretation is supported by Fig. 8 and ¶ [00144] of the instant application). Hence, Yoo et al. in view of Kimura teaches an area of the first area of the first light-emitting layer is about 70% or more of an area of the first emission area.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the additional teachings of Yoo into the device of Yoo et al. in view of Kimura to optimize the first area of the first light-emitting layer to be in range of 70% or more of an area of the first emission area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of increasing the light efficiency of the color filters and reducing the afterimage between different display areas of the device (Yoo ¶ [0168]).
Regarding claim 18, Yoo et al. teach the device of claim 17, but does not teach: wherein the first light-emitting layer comprises a first area comprising a thickness of about 95% or more of a thickness of the first light-emitting layer at a point where the thickness of the first light-emitting layer is greatest.
Kimura, in the same field of invention, teaches a first light-emitting layer (208) comprising a first area (A) comprising a thickness (120 nm) of that is thicker than a thickness (100 nm) of a second area (B), with the first area being a point where the thickness of the first-emitting layer is greatest (see Fig 3). Hence, Yoo et al. in view of Kimura teaches wherein the first light-emitting layer comprises a first area comprising a thickness of about 95% or more of a thickness of the first light-emitting layer at a point where the thickness of the first light-emitting layer is greatest.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Kimura into the device of Yoo et al. to optimize the ranges of a thickness of a first area of the first light-emitting area, such that the said thickness comprises 95% or more of a thickness of the first light-emitting layer, and such that the first area is the point where the thickness of the first light-emitting area is greatest. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of varying the thicknesses of the first area relative to the thickness of the second area of the light-emitting layer in order to increase the light intensity of the second area (Kimura ¶ [0062], Fig. 4a) and to adjust the wavelength of the light emitted (¶ [0063]. Fig. 4B), which improves the display image of and reduces the cost of manufacturing the device (¶ [0004], [0006]).
However, Yoo et al. in view of Kimura does not teach: wherein an area of the first area of the first light-emitting layer is about 70% or more of an area of the first emission area.
Yoo further teaches adjusting an area (area of EL under DM2; see Fig. 6) of the first area of the first light-emitting layer (Fig. 4 shows DM2 associated with EA1 in display area DA2) can be adjusted according to a mathematical equation (¶ [0091], [0092], [0096], [0147], [0151], [0155]-[0166]) in relation to an area (total area of EA1, which includes DM2 and D2) of the first emission area (this interpretation is supported by Fig. 8 and ¶ [00144] of the instant application). Hence, Yoo et al. in view of Kimura teaches an area of the first area of the first light-emitting layer is about 70% or more of an area of the first emission area.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the additional teachings of Yoo into the device of Yoo et al. in view of Kimura to optimize the first area of the first light-emitting layer to be in range of 70% or more of an area of the first emission area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of increasing the light efficiency of the color filters and reducing the afterimage between different display areas of the device (Yoo ¶ [0168]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2023/0354681 A1) in view of Choung (US 2022/0077251 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Olmo (US 2018/0269266 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yoo et al. teach the display device of claim 1, but does not teach: wherein a resolution of the display device is about 1500 pixels per inch (ppi) or more.
Olmo, in the same field of invention, teaches a device wherein a resolution of the display device is about 1500 pixels per inch (ppi) or more (¶ [0038]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Intel into the device of Yoo et al. to increase the resolution of the display to 1500 pixels per inch. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the display densities of the display device (Olmo ¶ [0038]), as there is a market demand for increased image resolutions. See also MPEP 2143 (I)(F).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2023/0354681 A1) in view of Choung (US 2022/0077251 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jung (US 2023/0363211 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Yoo et al. teach the display device of claim 1, but does not teach: wherein the pixel-defining layer is spaced apart from an upper surface of the first pixel electrode and an upper surface of the second pixel electrode.
Jung, in the same field of invention, teaches a display device wherein the pixel-defining layer (ISL; Fig. 6) is spaced apart (at the region directly contacting RP) from an upper surface (upper surface of AE1) of the first pixel electrode (AE1) and an upper surface (upper surface of AE2) of the second pixel electrode (AE2).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Jung into the device of Yoo to set the pixel-defining layer apart from an upper surfaces of the first pixel electrode and second pixel electrode. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the prior art mentioned above in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using a method step that involves forming a sacrificial layer (SFL; see Jung Fig. 11) with the sacrificial layer then removed through an etching step (Fig. 13) that may leave a residual pattern (RP) when forming the display device, for the further purpose preventing contact between pixel electrodes (AE1-AE3) and the pixel-defining layer (see ¶ [0213]), which improves the reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 13, the display device of claim 12, further comprising a residual pattern (RP; Jung Fig. 7) between the first pixel electrode (AE1) and the pixel-defining layer (ISL), and between the second pixel electrode (AE2; see Fig. 6) and the pixel-defining layer.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS YAP/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/JOHN M PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899