Status of Claims
Claims 1-25 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 2023/08/18. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR20230108267 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3: The term “about” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-9, 12-15, 18-19, 21-22, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0088187 A1 Sui et al (herein “Sui”) in view of US 2020/0027945 A1 Kim et al (herein “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 1, Sui discloses:
A display apparatus (reference made to flexible display device shown in cross-sectional view in Figs. 7 and 8 and top-down view in Fig. 2 unless otherwise noted) comprising:
a substrate (#101, #201) including a plurality of island portions (#1, Fig. 7, also see annotated Fig. 8 below) spaced apart from each other, a plurality of bridge portions (#2, Fig. 7, also see annotated Fig. 8 below) connecting the plurality of island portions (#1) to each other, and a plurality of openings (#S) disposed between the plurality of island portions (#1);
at least one light-emitting element (#103, Fig. 7, [0068]) arranged in each of the plurality of island portions (#1);
a plurality of first encapsulation layers (#3) disposed on the plurality of island portions (#1), respectively, each of the plurality of first encapsulation layers (#3) sealing the at least one light-emitting element (#103);
a lower encapsulation layer (#130) disposed under the substrate (#101, #201); and
a lower adhesive layer (#120) arranged between the lower encapsulation layer (#130) and the substrate (#102, #201), wherein the lower adhesive layer (#120) fills at least lower portions of the plurality of openings (#S).
Sui Fig. 7 – Annotated by Examiner
Sui does not explicitly disclose:
a second encapsulation layer disposed on the plurality of first encapsulation layers to cover the plurality of island portions and the plurality of bridge portions and filling at least upper portions of the plurality of openings;
However, in analogous art, Kim teaches:
See generally the embodiment shown in Fig. 6 and [0138]-[0143].
a second encapsulation layer (#671, #672, #673) disposed on the plurality of first encapsulation layers (#117) to cover the plurality of island portions ([0138]-[0143]) and the plurality of bridge portions ([0138]-[0143]) and filling at least upper portions of the plurality of openings (see region occupied by #671a and #672a adjacent to island portion);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Kim to the device disclosed by Sui and form the device such that there is an additional encapsulation/molding layer above/around the island portions and the bridge portions for the purposes of further preventing moisture and oxygen from intruding into the display circuitry, and additionally for the purposes of device stability and reliability.
Regarding Claim 5, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 1,
Kim further teaches:
further comprising:
an upper encapsulation layer (#110B) disposed above the second encapsulation layer (#117); and
an upper adhesive layer (#118) arranged between the upper encapsulation layer (#110B) and the second encapsulation layer (#117).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Kim to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and include an additional encapsulation layer, and subsequently an additional adhesive layer therebetween to the device, in order to further prevent moisture and oxygen from intruding on the display circuitry, and additionally for the purpose of device stability and reliability.
Regarding Claim 7, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 1,
Sui further discloses:
further comprising a plurality of dummy-encapsulation layers (#3, specifically #3 disposed on bridge portion #2) arranged in the plurality of bridge portions (#2), wherein the plurality of dummy-encapsulation layers (#3) include a material the same as a material ([0076]-[0071]) of the first encapsulation layer (#3, specifically #3 disposed on island portion #1).
Regarding Claim 8, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 7,
Sui further discloses:
wherein the plurality of dummy-encapsulation layers (#3, specifically #3 disposed on bridge portion #2) are arranged to correspond to centers (see profile view in Fig. 7, #3 arranged/disposed symmetrically over bridge portion #2) of the plurality of bridge portions (#2) and are arranged to be spaced apart (#S therebetween) from the plurality of first encapsulation layers (#3, specifically #3 disposed on island portion #1).
Regarding Claim 9, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 7,
Sui further discloses:
wherein the plurality of dummy-encapsulation layers (#3, specifically #3 disposed on bridge portion #2) are integrally provided (formed simultaneously and from same material) with the plurality of first encapsulation layers (#3, specifically #3 disposed on island portion #1).
Regarding Claim 12, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 1,
Kim further teaches:
wherein a planar area of each of the plurality of first encapsulation layers (#117) is smaller than an area of each of the plurality of island portions (layers disposed on island substrates #11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Kim to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the first encapsulation layer such that the planar area of the encapsulation layer is smaller than an area of the island portion for the purposes of specifically covering, and therefore protecting the organic light emitting layers from moisture, oxygen, and/or physical shock that may permeate from the outside of the device. As shown in Sui Fig.8, and in Kim Fig. 6, the organic light emitting circuitry does not extend to the edges of each respective island structure, therefore by forming the first encapsulant structure such that it covers the OLED circuitry like shown in Kim Fig. 6, the area of the first encapsulant layer would be less than that of the island structure therefore reading on the limitation as claimed.
Regarding Claim 13, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 1,
Sui further discloses:
wherein at least one of the lower adhesive layer and the lower encapsulation layer includes a light-blocking material (see paragraph [0057], materials include but not limited to natural rubber, nitrile rubber, …etc., which are examples of light-blocking material).
Regarding Claim 14, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 1,
Kim further teaches:
wherein the second encapsulation layer (#671, #672, #673) includes a plurality of light-blocking regions (#671, #672) including a light-blocking material (#671b, #672b) and disposed in areas corresponding to the plurality of openings (region on left/right sides of island structure shown in Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Kim to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the second encapsulation layer such that it includes conductive particles, like #671b in Fig. 6, for the purposes of forming an electrical pathway for current to reach underlying OLED circuitry in the island region of the device. The inclusion of conductive particles would have the additional benefit of serving as light blocking particles in the bridge region of the device, therefore reading on the limitation as claimed.
Regarding Claim 15, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 14,
Sui further teaches:
wherein the plurality of light-blocking regions (#671, #672 from Kim Fig. 6) are disposed in areas corresponding to the plurality of bridge portions (#2).
Regarding Claim 18, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 1,
Sui further teaches:
wherein the at least one light-emitting element is an inorganic light-emitting diode including an inorganic material,
Sui does not explicitly disclose:
and wherein the first encapsulation layer does not include an inorganic material.
However, in analogous art, Kim teaches:
See Kim paragraph [0092];
[0092] states inter alia “…the encapsulation layer 117 may be configured to include an inorganic layer…”. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the phrase “may be configured” can be interpreted as either including or excluding an inorganic layer, as the phrase “may be” is a verb phrase meaning "might be" or indicating possibility. Therefore the phrase is interpreted as either the encapsulation layer 117 includes an inorganic material or the encapsulation layer 117 does not include an inorganic material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider forming the first encapsulation layer such that it does not include an inorganic material. Doing so would be a simple substitution of one known encapsulation late for another to achieve the predictable result of preventing moisture and oxygen from penetrating into the underlying display circuitry.
Regarding Claim 19, Sui discloses:
A display apparatus (reference made to flexible display device shown in cross-sectional view in Figs. 7 and 8 and top-down view in Fig. 2 unless otherwise noted) comprising:
a substrate (#101, #201) including a plurality of island portions (#1, Fig. 7, also see annotated Fig. 8 below) spaced apart from each other, a plurality of bridge portions (#2, Fig. 7, also see annotated Fig. 8 below) connecting the plurality of island portions (#1) to each other, and a plurality of openings (#S) disposed between the plurality of island portions (#1);
at least one light-emitting element (#103, Fig. 7, [0068]) arranged in each of the plurality of island portions (#1);
a plurality of first encapsulation layers (#3) disposed on the plurality of island portions (#1), respectively, each of the plurality of first encapsulation layers (#3) sealing the at least one light-emitting element (#103);
a lower encapsulation layer (#130) disposed under the substrate (#101, #201); and
a lower adhesive layer (#120) arranged between the lower encapsulation layer (#130) and the substrate (#102, #201);
Sui Fig. 7 – Annotated by Examiner
Sui does not explicitly disclose:
a second encapsulation layer disposed on the plurality of encapsulating layers to cover the plurality of island portions and the plurality of bridge portions and filling at least upper portions of the plurality of openings;
wherein a planar area of each of the plurality of first encapsulation layers is smaller than a planar area of each of the plurality of island portions.
However, in analogous art, Kim teaches:
See generally the embodiment shown in Fig. 6 and [0138]-[0143].
a second encapsulation layer (#671, #672, #673) disposed on the plurality of first encapsulation layers (#117) to cover the plurality of island portions ([0138]-[0143]) and the plurality of bridge portions ([0138]-[0143]) and filling at least upper portions of the plurality of openings (see region occupied by #671a and #672a adjacent to island portion);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Kim to the device disclosed by Sui and form the device such that there is an additional encapsulation/molding layer above/around the island portions and the bridge portions for the purposes of further preventing moisture and oxygen from intruding into the display circuitry, and additionally for the purposes of device stability and reliability. Additionally, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Kim to the device disclosed by Sui to form the first encapsulation layer such that the planar area of the encapsulation layer is smaller than an area of the island portion for the purposes of specifically covering, and therefore protecting, the organic light emitting layers from moisture, oxygen, and/or physical shock that may permeate from the outside of the device. As shown in Sui Fig.8, and in Kim Fig. 6, the organic light emitting circuitry does not extend to the edges of each respective island structure, therefore by forming the first encapsulant structure such that it covers the OLED circuitry like shown in Kim Fig. 6, the area of the first encapsulant layer would be less than that of the island structure therefore reading on the limitation as claimed.
Regarding Claim 21, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 19,
Kim further teaches:
further comprising:
an upper encapsulation layer (#110B) disposed above the second encapsulation layer (#117); and
an upper adhesive layer (#118) arranged between the upper encapsulation layer (#110B) and the second encapsulation layer (#117).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Kim to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and include an additional encapsulation layer, and subsequently an additional adhesive layer therebetween to the device, in order to further prevent moisture and oxygen from intruding on the display circuitry, and additionally for the purpose of device stability and reliability.
Regarding Claim 22, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 19,
Sui further discloses:
further comprising a plurality of dummy-encapsulation layers (#3, specifically #3 disposed on bridge portion #2) arranged in the plurality of bridge portions (#2), wherein the plurality of dummy-encapsulation layers (#3) include a material the same as a material ([0076]-[0071]) of the plurality of first encapsulation layers (#3, specifically #3 disposed on island portion #1).
Regarding Claim 24, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 19,
Sui further discloses:
wherein at least one of the lower adhesive layer and the lower encapsulation layer includes a light-blocking material (see paragraph [0057], materials include but not limited to natural rubber, nitrile rubber, …etc., which are examples of light-blocking material).
Regarding Claim 25, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 19,
Kim further teaches:
wherein the second encapsulation layer (#671, #672, #673) includes a plurality of light-blocking regions (#671, #672) which include a light-blocking material (#671b, #672b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Kim to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the second encapsulation layer such that it includes conductive particles, like #671b in Fig. 6, for the purposes of forming an electrical pathway for current to reach underlying OLED circuitry in the island region of the device. The inclusion of conductive particles would have the additional benefit of serving as light blocking particles in the bridge region of the device, therefore reading on the limitation as claimed.
Claims 2-4, 6, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0088187 A1 Sui et al in view of US 2020/0027945 A1 Kim et al and further in view of US 2023/0036283 A1 Lin et al (herein “Lin”).
Regarding Claim 2, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 1,
Sui in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a modulus of the second encapsulation layer is less than a modulus of the first encapsulation layer.
However, in analogous art, Lin teaches:
See paragraph [0081].
[0081] The encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may comprise similar, or the same or different materials. In some embodiments, the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 are formed of similar material with similar or different properties. For example, the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may each include a molding compound which is a composite material including a base material and fillers distributed therein. In some embodiments, the properties (e.g., CTE, Young's modulus, etc.) of the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may be tuned to control warpage of the package structure PKG1, for example, through adjusting the materials of the base materials and fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings (i.e., contents) of the molding compound materials for forming the encapsulants 106, 116, 28. Depending on the requirement for warpage control, the properties (e.g., CTE, Young's modulus, etc.) of the encapsulants 106, 116, 28 may be the same or different. Emphasis added.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Lin to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the second encapsulation layer having a modulus less than the first encapsulation layer for the purposes of warpage control within the device.
Additionally, in a case of optimizing the modulus of the various encapsulants for a specific purpose, a person of ordinary skill would recognize the ability to adjust the material compositions/ratios, fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings, … etc. like disclosed by Kim in order to achieve a specific modulus of an encapsulant for an optimized device, specifically, targeting a layer that provides protection from moisture while remaining flexible, for the purposes of device integration, which is considered a result effective variable. The specific chosen modulus, which is dependent on compositions/ratios, fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings of each respective encapsulant is therefore a result effective variable that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill to meet specific applications (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 3, Sui in view of Kim and further in view of Lin discloses: The display apparatus of claim 2,
Sui in view of Kim and further in view of Lin further discloses:
wherein the modulus of the second encapsulation layer is about 100 kPa to about 5 MPa (the modulus of each respective encapsulant is considered a result effective variable that may be adjusted by a person skilled in the art to meet device needs, see Lin paragraph [0081]).
Note, see 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 4, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 1,
Sui in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a modulus of the lower encapsulation layer is less than a modulus of the first encapsulation layer.
However, in analogous art, Lin teaches:
See paragraph [0081].
[0081] The encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may comprise similar, or the same or different materials. In some embodiments, the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 are formed of similar material with similar or different properties. For example, the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may each include a molding compound which is a composite material including a base material and fillers distributed therein. In some embodiments, the properties (e.g., CTE, Young's modulus, etc.) of the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may be tuned to control warpage of the package structure PKG1, for example, through adjusting the materials of the base materials and fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings (i.e., contents) of the molding compound materials for forming the encapsulants 106, 116, 28. Depending on the requirement for warpage control, the properties (e.g., CTE, Young's modulus, etc.) of the encapsulants 106, 116, 28 may be the same or different. Emphasis added.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Lin to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the lower encapsulation layer having a modulus less than the first encapsulation layer for the purposes of warpage control within the device.
Additionally, in a case of optimizing the modulus of the various encapsulants for a specific purpose, a person of ordinary skill would recognize the ability to adjust the material compositions/ratios, fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings, … etc. like disclosed by Kim in order to achieve a specific modulus of an encapsulant for an optimized device, specifically, targeting a layer that provides protection from moisture while remaining flexible, for the purposes of device integration, which is considered a result effective variable. The specific chosen modulus, which is dependent on compositions/ratios, fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings of each respective encapsulant is therefore a result effective variable that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill to meet specific applications (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 6, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 5,
Sui in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a modulus of the upper encapsulation layer is less than a modulus of the first encapsulation layer.
However, in analogous art, Lin teaches:
See paragraph [0081].
[0081] The encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may comprise similar, or the same or different materials. In some embodiments, the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 are formed of similar material with similar or different properties. For example, the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may each include a molding compound which is a composite material including a base material and fillers distributed therein. In some embodiments, the properties (e.g., CTE, Young's modulus, etc.) of the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may be tuned to control warpage of the package structure PKG1, for example, through adjusting the materials of the base materials and fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings (i.e., contents) of the molding compound materials for forming the encapsulants 106, 116, 28. Depending on the requirement for warpage control, the properties (e.g., CTE, Young's modulus, etc.) of the encapsulants 106, 116, 28 may be the same or different. Emphasis added.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Lin to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the upper encapsulation layer having a modulus less than the first encapsulation layer for the purposes of warpage control within the device.
Additionally, in a case of optimizing the modulus of the various encapsulants for a specific purpose, a person of ordinary skill would recognize the ability to adjust the material compositions/ratios, fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings, … etc. like disclosed by Kim in order to achieve a specific modulus of an encapsulant for an optimized device, specifically, targeting a layer that provides protection from moisture while remaining flexible, for the purposes of device integration, which is considered a result effective variable. The specific chosen modulus, which is dependent on compositions/ratios, fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings of each respective encapsulant is therefore a result effective variable that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill to meet specific applications (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 20, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 19,
Sui in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a modulus of the second encapsulation layer and a modulus of the lower encapsulation layer are each less than a modulus of the first encapsulation layer.
However, in analogous art, Lin teaches:
See paragraph [0081].
[0081] The encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may comprise similar, or the same or different materials. In some embodiments, the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 are formed of similar material with similar or different properties. For example, the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may each include a molding compound which is a composite material including a base material and fillers distributed therein. In some embodiments, the properties (e.g., CTE, Young's modulus, etc.) of the encapsulants 106, 116 and 28 may be tuned to control warpage of the package structure PKG1, for example, through adjusting the materials of the base materials and fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings (i.e., contents) of the molding compound materials for forming the encapsulants 106, 116, 28. Depending on the requirement for warpage control, the properties (e.g., CTE, Young's modulus, etc.) of the encapsulants 106, 116, 28 may be the same or different. Emphasis added.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Lin to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the second and lower encapsulation layers having a modulus less than the first encapsulation layer for the purposes of warpage control within the device.
Additionally, in a case of optimizing the modulus of the various encapsulants for a specific purpose, a person of ordinary skill would recognize the ability to adjust the material compositions/ratios, fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings, … etc. like disclosed by Kim in order to achieve a specific modulus of an encapsulant for an optimized device, specifically, targeting a layer that provides protection from moisture while remaining flexible, for the purposes of device integration, which is considered a result effective variable. The specific chosen modulus, which is dependent on compositions/ratios, fillers, filler sizes, filler loadings of each respective encapsulant is therefore a result effective variable that may be optimized by the person of ordinary skill to meet specific applications (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0088187 A1 Sui et al in view of US 2020/0027945 A1 Kim et al and further in view of US 2017/0005077 A1 Kim et al (herein “Kim2”).
Regarding Claim 10, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 7,
Sui in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the plurality of dummy-encapsulation layers include reflectors or scattering particles.
However, in analogous art, Kim2 teaches:
See paragraph [0093].
[0093] Stretchable lighting unit 100 may include components (e.g., components 24) that form a stretchable light source such as light source 102 that produces light. The light may be infrared light, ultraviolet light, or visible light. Examples in which the light is visible light may sometimes be described herein as an example. The light from light source 102 may be provided to a stretchable light guide structure such as a stretchable light guide layer 104. Layer 104 may be formed from one or more layers of material (e.g., sheets of transparent elastomeric materials such as stretchable polymer layers, layers with light scattering features, layers that serve as cladding layers, spacer layers, encapsulant layers, and other layers of material). Signal paths 42 (e.g., stretchable serpentine metal lines) may be formed within light source 102 and may be coupled to components 24 to provide signals to components 24.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Kim2 to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the dummy-encapsulant layers such that they are light-scattering layers / reflectors. Kim2 discloses an encapsulant layer, specifically a stretchable polymer layer, as being interchangeable with a light-scattering layer, therefore substituting a light-scattering layer would be a simple substitution a person of ordinary skill in the art would make for the purposes of controlling/limiting/scattering light in the non-display/non-light emitting areas of the device like the bridge region.
Claims 11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0088187 A1 Sui et al in view of US 2020/0027945 A1 Kim et al and further in view of US 2021/0083011 A1 Yun et al (herein “Yun”).
Regarding Claim 11, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 7,
Sui in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the plurality of first encapsulation layers include a material that emits a red color, a green color, or a blue color, and the plurality of dummy-encapsulation layers include a light-blocking material.
However, in analogous art, Yun teaches:
See paragraph [0086]-[0088].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Yun to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the first encapsulant layer as a multilayer structure including a lower organic layer further including quantum dots for the purposes of filtering light to tune to a specific wavelength emitted from underlying OLED circuitry. Sui in view of Kim does not explicitly teach which color light the encapsulant material emits as a result of the underlying OLED circuitry, therefore motivating a person of ordinary skill in the art to seek the teachings of Yun, specifically paragraph [0088], and therefore form the encapsulant layer to emit any of a red color, a green color, or a blue color by the inclusion of quantum dots, analogous to Sui paragraph [0075] of forming the light emitting device such that it is a quantum dot device, to the encapsulant material for the purposes of controlling the wavelength and therefore the color of the emitted light for specific device purposes. By introducing quantum dots to the encapsulant in the manner taught by Yun in forming the first encapsulant layer #3 over the island portion and the bridge portion shown in Sui Fig. 7, light is filtered to a specific wavelength and therefore blocked in other wavelengths, subsequently reading on the limitations as currently claimed.
Regarding Claim 23, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 22,
Sui in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the plurality of first encapsulation layers include a material that emits a red color, a green color, or a blue color, and the plurality of dummy-encapsulation layers include a light-blocking material.
However, in analogous art, Yun teaches:
See paragraph [0086]-[0088].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Yun to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the first encapsulant layer as a multilayer structure including a lower organic layer further including quantum dots for the purposes of filtering light to tune to a specific wavelength emitted from underlying OLED circuitry. Sui in view of Kim does not explicitly teach which color light the encapsulant material emits as a result of the underlying OLED circuitry, therefore motivating a person of ordinary skill in the art to seek the teachings of Yun, specifically paragraph [0088], and therefore form the encapsulant layer to emit any of a red color, a green color, or a blue color by the inclusion of quantum dots, analogous to Sui paragraph [0075] of forming the light emitting device such that it is a quantum dot device, to the encapsulant material for the purposes of controlling the wavelength and therefore the color of the emitted light for specific device purposes. By introducing quantum dots to the encapsulant in the manner taught by Yun in forming the first encapsulant layer #3 over the island portion and the bridge portion shown in Sui Fig. 7, light is filtered to a specific wavelength and therefore blocked in other wavelengths, subsequently reading on the limitations as currently claimed.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0088187 A1 Sui et al in view of US 2020/0027945 A1 Kim et al and further in view of US 20200144550 A1 Lee (herein “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 16, Sui in view of Kim discloses: The display apparatus of claim 1,
Sui further discloses:
wherein the at least one light-emitting element is an organic light-emitting diode including an organic material,
Sui in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose:
and wherein each of the plurality of first encapsulation layers includes a stack of a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer.
However, in analogous art, Lee teaches:
See paragraph [0073]:
[0073] A thin-film encapsulation layer 414 may cover the organic light-emitting diode OLED. The thin-film encapsulation layer 414 may prevent external oxygen or moisture from penetrating into a display displaying an image by sealing the display. The thin-film encapsulation layer 414 may include at least one layer selected from first and second inorganic layers 415 and 416, and at least one organic layer 417. In the thin-film encapsulation layer 414, the first inorganic layer 415, the at least one organic layer 417, and the second inorganic layer 146 may be stacked. In an embodiment, the thin-film encapsulation layer 414 may further include a plurality of inorganic layers and a plurality of organic layers stacked alternately. A number of times the plurality of inorganic layers and the plurality of organic layers are stacked is not limited.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Lee to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the first encapsulating layer such that it includes a stack of inorganic and organic layers for the purposes of preventing moisture or oxygen from penetrating into the underlying display circuitry.
Regarding Claim 17, Sui in view of Kim and further in view of Lee discloses: The display apparatus of claim 16,
Kim further teaches:
wherein a planar area of the organic encapsulation layer (#117) is smaller than an area of each of the plurality of island portions (layers disposed on island substrates #11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Kim to the device disclosed by Sui in view of Kim and form the first encapsulation layer such that the planar area of the encapsulation layer is smaller than an area of the island portion for the purposes of specifically covering, and therefore protecting the organic light emitting layers from moisture, oxygen, and/or physical shock that may permeate from the outside of the device. As shown in Sui Fig.8, and in Kim Fig. 6, the organic light emitting circuitry does not extend to the edges of each respective island structure, therefore by forming the first encapsulant structure such that it covers the OLED circuitry like shown in Kim Fig. 6, the area of the first encapsulant layer would be less than that of the island structure therefore reading on the limitation as claimed.
Conclusion
/ANDREW VICTOR PROSTOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812