DETAILED ACTION
Cross-Reference to Related Applications
2. This application is a CON of 17/316,716 05/11/2021 PAT 12080662.
Oath/Declaration
3. The oath/declaration filed on 08/12/2024 is acceptable.
Priority
4. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 08/12/2024, 06/13/2025 and 10/22/2025.
Specification
6. The specification is objected to for the following reason: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP 606.01).
A title such as – DISPLAY DEVICE INCLUDING A SUBSTRATE HAVING A FIRST PAD AND A CIRCUIT BOARD HAVING A SECOND PAD -- or is suggested by the applicant.
Note that the claims are directed to a semiconductor device instead of a method of making semiconductor device.
The specification needs to be updated.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
7. Claims 1-14 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-13 of Kang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,080,662 B2 B1). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations of the instant application and the claimed limitation of Kang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,080,662 B2) provide the same or similar functionality, performance, meaning and purpose and the scope of the claimed invention is encompassing by the scope of the claimed invention of Kang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,080,662 B2).
Claims of the instant application
Claims of PAT 12,080,662 B2
1. A display device comprising: a substrate; a first pad disposed on the substrate; an insulating layer exposing the first pad and disposed on the substrate; a circuit board including a second pad overlapping the first pad; and a connector disposed between the circuit board and the substrate and comprising a plurality of conductive particles electrically connecting the first pad and the second pad, wherein the first pad comprising: a first sub-pad disposed on the substrate; and a second sub-pad disposed on the first sub-pad and having a plurality of openings therein, said the plurality of openings exposing the first sub-pad, and wherein the insulating layer covers at least part of the second sub-pad.
14. The display device of claim 1, wherein the second sub-pad has a thickness and the plurality of openings extend through the thickness of the second sub-pad.
1. A display device comprising: a substrate; a driving pad disposed on the substrate; an insulating layer exposing the driving pad and disposed on the substrate; a circuit board including a circuit pad overlapping the driving pad; and a connector disposed between the circuit board and the insulating layer and comprising a plurality of conductive particles electrically connecting the driving pad and the circuit pad, wherein the driving pad comprising: a first pad disposed on the substrate; and a second pad disposed on the first pad and having a thickness with plurality of openings therein extending through the thickness of the second pad, said plurality of openings exposing the first pad, and wherein the insulating layer covers at least part of the second pad without covering the plurality of openings.
2. The display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of conductive particles are in contact with the first sub-pad through the plurality of openings.
2. The display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of conductive particles is in contact with the first pad through the plurality of openings.
3. The display device of claim 1, wherein: the connector comprises a conductive adhesive member, and the plurality of conductive particles comprise a solder.
3. The display device of claim 1, wherein: the connector comprises a conductive adhesive member, and the plurality of conductive particles comprise a solder.
4. The display device of claim 3, wherein the first sub-pad and the second sub-pad comprise different materials.
4. The display device of claim 3, wherein the first pad and the second pad comprise different materials.
5. The display device of claim 4, wherein: the first sub-pad is formed of a metal, and the second sub-pad is formed of a transparent conductive layer.
5. The display device of claim 4, wherein: the first pad is formed of a metal, and the second pad is formed of a transparent conductive layer.
6. The display device of claim 1, wherein the connector comprises a conductive adhesive member including an adhesive layer, and wherein the adhesive layer has a bonding area overlapping the first pad and a non-bonding area adjacent to the bonding area and not overlapping the first pad.
6. The display device of claim 1, wherein the connector comprises a conductive adhesive member including an adhesive layer, and wherein the adhesive layer has a bonding area overlapping the driving pad and a non-bonding area adjacent to the bonding area and not overlapping the driving pad.
7. The display device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of conductive particles are disposed between the first pad and the second pad.
7. The display device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of conductive particles are disposed between the driving pad and the circuit pad.
8. The display device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of conductive particles do not overlap the non-bonding area.
8. The display device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of conductive particles do not overlap the non-bonding area.
9. The display device of claim 6, further comprising a filling agent disposed between the adhesive layer and the circuit board.
9. The display device of claim 6, further comprising a filling agent disposed between the adhesive layer and the circuit board.
10. The display device of claim 6, wherein the circuit board further comprises a base layer supporting the second pad, and the second pad comprises: a conductive pad disposed on the base layer; and a cover pad covering the conductive pad and disposed on the base layer.
10. The display device of claim 6, wherein the circuit board further comprises a base layer supporting the circuit pad, and the circuit pad comprises: a first circuit pad disposed on the base layer; and a second circuit pad covering the first circuit pad and disposed on the base layer.
11. The display device of claim 10, wherein the cover pad has a thickness smaller than a thickness of the conductive pad, and the plurality of conductive particles are in contact with the cover pad.
11. The display device of claim 10, wherein the second circuit pad has a thickness smaller than a thickness of the first circuit pad, and the plurality of conductive particles are in contact with the second circuit pad.
12. The display device of claim 6, further comprising an auxiliary insulating layer exposing the first pad and being disposed on the insulating layer, wherein the adhesive layer is disposed between the auxiliary insulating layer and the circuit board.
12. The display device of claim 6, further comprising an auxiliary insulating layer exposing the driving pad and being disposed on the insulating layer, wherein the adhesive layer is disposed between the auxiliary insulating layer and the circuit board.
13. The display device of claim 12, further comprising a filling agent disposed between the adhesive layer and the circuit board.
13. The display device of claim 12, further comprising a filling agent disposed between the adhesive layer and the circuit board.
8. Claim 15 is rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Kang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,080,662 B2) in view of Lee (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0042394 A1).
Claim 15 of the instant application sets for the same invention as claim 15 of Kang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,080,662 B2) with the exception that “wherein the insulating layer has an opening therein, and the opening in the insulating layer overlaps the plurality of openings in the second sub-pad”.
Lee, however, discloses wherein the insulating layer (106) has an opening (106a) therein, and the opening (106a) in the insulating layer (106) overlaps the plurality of openings (157a) in the second sub-pad (157) (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kang et al. to provide wherein the insulating layer has an opening therein, and the opening in the insulating layer overlaps the plurality of openings in the second sub-pad as taught by Lee for a purpose of improving the adhesive among the first and second pads for the display device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over JO et al., hereafter “JO” (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0096979 A1) in view of YAMADA T (JP-2015208765-A) and further in view of Lee (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0042394 A1).
Regarding claim 1, JO discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate (SUB);
a first pad (DL-P/DP-PD) disposed on the substrate (SUB);
an insulating layer (30) exposing the first pad (DL-P/DP-PD) and disposed on the substrate (SUB);
a circuit board (DC-DP) including a second pad (DC-PD) overlapping the first pad (DL-P/DP-PD); and
a connector (DC-BP) disposed between the circuit board (DC-DP) and the substrate (SUB),
wherein the first pad (DL-P/DP-PD) comprising:
a first sub-pad (DL-P) disposed on the substrate (SUB); and
a second sub-pad (DP-PD) disposed on the first sub-pad (DL-P) (Fig. 7D and para [0129]-[0145]).
JO discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose a connector comprising a plurality of conductive particles electrically connecting the first pad and the second pad, and a second sub-pad having a plurality of openings therein, said the plurality of openings exposing the first sub-pad, and wherein the insulating layer covers at least part of the second sub-pad.
YAMADA T, however, discloses a connector (4P) comprising a plurality of conductive particles (4Pc) (Fig. 6 and English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of JO to provide a connector comprising a plurality of conductive particles as taught by YAMADA T for a purpose of reducing breakage of the conductor path and providing stability of the connections between the substrate and the circuit substrate.
Then, the connector comprising a plurality of conductive particles will be obviously electrically connecting the first pad and the second pad as claimed.
JO and YAMADA T disclose the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose a second sub-pad having a plurality of openings therein, said the plurality of openings exposing the first sub-pad, and wherein the insulating layer covers at least part of the second sub-pad.
Lee, however, discloses a second sub-pad (157) having a plurality of openings (157a) therein, said the plurality of openings (157a) exposing the first sub-pad (153), and wherein the insulating layer (106) covers at least part of the second sub-pad (157) (Fig. 2 and para [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of JO and YAMADA T to provide a second sub-pad having a plurality of openings therein, said the plurality of openings exposing the first sub-pad, and wherein the insulating layer covers at least part of the second sub-pad as taught by Lee for a purpose of improving the adhesive among the first and second pads for the display device.
Regarding claim 2, JO, YAMADA JTand Lee (citations to JO unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of conductive particles (4Pc in YAMADA J) are in contact with the first sub-pad (153 in Lee) through the plurality of openings (157a in Lee).
Regarding claim 3, JO, YAMADA T and Lee (citations to JO unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein: the connector (4P) comprises a conductive adhesive member (flux 4Pf), and the plurality of conductive particles (4Pc) comprise a solder (Fig. 6 in YAMADA T).
Regarding claim 4, JO, YAMADA T and Lee disclose the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the first sub-pad and the second sub-pad comprise different materials.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to form the first sub-pad and the second sub-pad comprise different materials as cited in the claims above to improve bonding between the substrate and the circuit board, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 5, JO, YAMADA T and Lee disclose the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein: the first sub-pad is formed of a metal, and the second sub-pad is formed of a transparent conductive layer.
However, Lee discloses disclose wherein: the second sub-pad (157) is formed of a metal (para [0071]), and the first sub-pad (153) is formed of a transparent conductive layer (para [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to interchange the materials between the first sub-pad and the second sub-pad as cited in the claims above to improve bonding between the substrate and the circuit board, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 14, JO, YAMADA T and Lee (citations to JO unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the second sub-pad (157) has a thickness and the plurality of openings (157a) extend through the thickness of the second sub-pad (157a) (Fig. 2 in Lee).
Regarding claim 15, JO, YAMADA T and Lee (citations to JO unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the insulating layer (106) has an opening (106a) therein, and the opening (106a) in the insulating layer (106) overlaps the plurality of openings (157a) in the second sub-pad (157) (Fig. 2 in Lee).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 6-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897