DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiraishi [US 2010/0033704 A1].
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 24, Shiraishi discloses a system / a lithography system (Fig. 1) / a metrology system (paragraph [0070]) comprising:
an optical element (M1); and
a plurality of thermo-mechanical actuators (paragraph [0069] teaches piezo-actuators arranged movably in the openings) coupled to a first surface of the optical element (M1), wherein each actuator comprises at least one piezo-electric module each having at least one piezo-electric element (as shown in Figs. 2-5, see also paragraphs [0069] teaches a plurality of actuators comprising piezo-electric elements to deform and cool a mirror),
wherein a first one of the plurality of thermo-mechanical actuators (paragraph [0044] teaches elements for deforming the reflecting surface of the mirror are provided in the holes) is configured to receive a mechanical actuation signal that causes one of its at least one piezo-electric module to apply a force to the first surface of the optical element (M1) with its at least one piezo-electric element to thereby cause a deformation of a second surface of the optical element (paragraphs [0049]-[0051] teaches wherein active deformation control makes it possible to define the target shape for the shape of the reflecting surface of the mirror), and
wherein a second one of the plurality of thermo-mechanical actuators (paragraph [0044] teaches elements for deforming the reflecting surface of the mirror are provided in the holes) is configured to receive a thermal actuation signal that causes one of its at least one piezo-electric module to heat or cool the first surface of the optical element (M1) with its at least one piezo-electric element (paragraph [0045] teaches the actuator comprising Peltier element 37 position in each opening to cool the mirror, see also Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Shiraishi discloses wherein the first one or the second one of the plurality of thermo-mechanical actuators (paragraphs [0044]-[0045] teaches the actuator comprising Peltier element 37 position in each opening to cool the mirror) is configured to generate a mechanical sensing signal representative of a mechanical state of the optical element using one of its at least one piezo-electric module based on a state of another piezo-electric element (paragraphs [0063]-[0069] teaches the measurement signal of the temperature sensor and controlling of the deformation mirror as a result of the measurement).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Shiraishi discloses wherein another one of the plurality of thermo-mechanical actuators is configured to generate a mechanical sensing signal representative of a mechanical state of the optical element using one of its at least one piezo-electric module based on a state of its at least one piezo-electric element (paragraphs [0049]-[0051] teaches wherein active deformation control makes it possible to define the target shape for the shape of the reflecting surface of the mirror).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Shiraishi discloses wherein the first one or the second one of the plurality of thermo-mechanical actuators is configured to generate a temperature sensing signal representative of a thermal state of the optical element using one of its at least one piezo-electric module based on a state of another piezo-electric element (paragraphs [0044]-[0045] teaches the actuator comprising Peltier element 37 position in each opening to cool the mirror).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Shiraishi discloses wherein another one of the plurality of thermo-mechanical actuators is configured to generate a temperature sensing signal representative of a thermal state of the optical element using one of its at least one piezo-electric module based on a state of its at least one piezo-electric element (paragraphs [0063]-[0069]).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Shiraishi discloses wherein each at least one piezo-electric element is disposed on a common member of frame (94, see also paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 7, Shiraishi discloses wherein common member of frame comprises a grounding electrode (as shown in Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Shiraishi discloses wherein common member of frame comprises a heat sink (paragraphs [0010] and [0014] teaches enhance heat discharge).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Shiraishi discloses wherein the first one of the plurality of thermo-mechanical actuators is also configure to receive a further thermal actuation signal that causes one of its at least one piezo-electric module to heat or cool the first surface of the optical element with another piezo-electric element (paragraphs [0063]-[0069]).
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Shiraishi discloses wherein the second one of the plurality of thermo-mechanical actuators is also configure to receive a further mechanical actuation signal that causes one of its at least one piezo-electric module to apply a force to the first surface of the optical element with another piezo-electric element to thereby cause a deformation of a second surface of the optical element (paragraphs [0063]-[0069]).
Regarding claims 11 and 14, Shiraishi discloses wherein the first one of the plurality of thermo-mechanical actuators and the second one of the plurality of thermo-mechanical actuators are the same thermo-mechanical actuator (as shown in Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claims 12 and 23, Shiraishi discloses wherein the optical element is a mirror (M1, see also Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882