DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Park (US Pub. No. 2008/0258141).
Regarding claim 2, in FIGs. 10 and 1-2, Park discloses a display device comprising: a pixel, the pixel comprising: a first transistor (12 in FIGs. 1-2; FIG. 10); and a capacitor (14, paragraphs [0036], [0072], claim 36), wherein the display device comprises: a first conductive film (42, paragraph [0048]) over a first substrate (40, paragraph [0048]); a first insulating film (44, paragraph [0048]) over the first conductive film; a first semiconductor film (46, paragraph [0048]) over the first insulating film; a second semiconductor film (52a, paragraph [0048]) over the first semiconductor film; a third semiconductor film (52b, paragraph [0048]) over the first semiconductor film; a second conductive film (54a, paragraph [0050]) over the second semiconductor film; a third conductive film (54b, paragraph [0050]) over the third semiconductor film; and a second insulating film (48, paragraph [0048]) over (or overlapping) the second conductive film and the third conductive film, wherein the first conductive film comprises a region configured to function as a gate electrode of the first transistor, wherein the first semiconductor film comprises a channel formation region of the first transistor, wherein the second conductive film comprises a region configured to function as one of a source electrode and a drain electrode of the first transistor, wherein the second conductive film comprises a region configured to function as one electrode of the capacitor (see FIG. 1), wherein the third conductive film comprises a region configured to function as the other of the source electrode and the drain electrode of the first transistor, wherein the second insulating film is provided over (or overlapping) the second semiconductor film and the third semiconductor film, wherein, in a cross-sectional view in a channel length direction of the first transistor, the second semiconductor film comprises a region protruding towards the channel formation region of the first transistor from an end portion of the second conductive film, wherein, in the cross-sectional view in the channel length direction of the first transistor, the third semiconductor film comprises a region protruding towards the channel formation region of the first transistor from an end portion of the third conductive film (e.g. the corners/edges of 52a/b facing toward channel formation region), wherein the second conductive film comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first insulating film and a region in contact with a side surface of the second semiconductor film, and wherein the third conductive film comprises a region in contact with the top surface of the first insulating film and a region in contact with a side surface of the third semiconductor film (e.g. the outer portions of 54a/b).
Regarding claim 3, in FIGs. 10 and 1-2, Park discloses a display device comprising: a pixel, the pixel comprising: a first transistor (12 in FIGs. 1-2; FIG. 10); and a capacitor (14, paragraphs [0036], [0072], claim 36), wherein the display device comprises: a first conductive film (42, paragraph [0048]) over a first substrate; a first insulating film (44) over the first conductive film; a first semiconductor film (46) over the first insulating film; a second semiconductor film (52a) over and in contact with the first semiconductor film; a third semiconductor film (52b) over and in contact with the first semiconductor film; a second conductive film (54a) over and in contact with the second semiconductor film; a third conductive film (54b) over and in contact with the third semiconductor film; and a second insulating film (48) over (or overlapping) the second conductive film and the third conductive film, wherein the first conductive film comprises a region configured to function as a gate electrode of the first transistor, wherein the first semiconductor film comprises a channel formation region of the first transistor, wherein the second conductive film comprises a region configured to function as one of a source electrode and a drain electrode of the first transistor, wherein the second conductive film comprises a region configured to function as one electrode of the capacitor (see FIG. 1), wherein the third conductive film comprises a region configured to function as the other of the source electrode and the drain electrode of the first transistor, wherein the second insulating film is in contact with a top surface of the second semiconductor film and a top surface of the third semiconductor film (48 contacts a top surface of both 52a and 52b), wherein, in a cross-sectional view in a channel length direction of the first transistor, the second semiconductor film comprises a region protruding towards the channel formation region of the first transistor from an end portion of the second conductive film, wherein, in the cross-sectional view in the channel length direction of the first transistor, the third semiconductor film comprises a region protruding towards the channel formation region of the first transistor from an end portion of the third conductive film (e.g. the corners/edges of 52a/b facing toward channel formation region), wherein the second conductive film comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first insulating film and a region in contact with a side surface of the second semiconductor film, and wherein the third conductive film comprises a region in contact with the top surface of the first insulating film and a region in contact with a side surface of the third semiconductor film.
Regarding claim 4, in FIGs. 10 and 1-2, Park discloses a display device comprising: a pixel, the pixel comprising: a first transistor (12 in FIGs. 1-2; FIG. 10); and a capacitor (14, paragraphs [0036], [0072], claim 36), wherein the display device comprises: a first conductive film (42, paragraph [0048]) over a first substrate; a first insulating film (44) over the first conductive film; a first semiconductor film (46) over the first insulating film; a second semiconductor film (52a) over and in contact with the first semiconductor film; a third semiconductor film (52b) over and in contact with the first semiconductor film; a second conductive film (54a) over and in contact with the second semiconductor film; a third conductive film (54b) over and in contact with the third semiconductor film; and a second insulating film (48) over (or overlapping) the second conductive film and the third conductive film, wherein the first conductive film comprises a region configured to function as a gate electrode of the first transistor, wherein the first semiconductor film comprises a channel formation region of the first transistor, wherein the second conductive film comprises a region configured to function as one of a source electrode and a drain electrode of the first transistor, wherein the second conductive film comprises a region configured to function as one electrode of the capacitor (see FIG. 1), wherein the third conductive film comprises a region configured to function as the other of the source electrode and the drain electrode of the first transistor, wherein the second insulating film is in contact with a top surface of the second semiconductor film and a top surface of the third semiconductor film (48 contacts a top surface of both 52a and 52b), wherein, in a cross-sectional view in a channel length direction of the first transistor, the second semiconductor film comprises a region protruding towards the channel formation region of the first transistor from an end portion of the second conductive film, wherein, in the cross-sectional view in the channel length direction of the first transistor, the third semiconductor film comprises a region protruding towards the channel formation region of the first transistor from an end portion of the third conductive film (e.g. the corners/edges of 52a/b facing toward channel formation region), wherein the second conductive film comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first insulating film and a region in contact with a side surface of the second semiconductor film, and wherein the third conductive film comprises a region in contact with the top surface of the first insulating film and a region in contact with a side surface of the third semiconductor film, wherein a thickness (measured normal to the substrate top surface) of a region of the first semiconductor film overlapping with the second semiconductor film (vertical portion of 46) is larger than a thickness of a region of the first semiconductor film comprising the channel formation region (region of 46 overlapping with 42), and wherein a thickness of a region of the first semiconductor film overlapping with the third semiconductor film (vertical portion of 46) is larger than the thickness of the region of the first semiconductor film comprising the channel formation region (region of 46 overlapping with 42).
Regarding claims 8-10, in FIGs. 10 and 1-2, Park discloses that a carrier concentration of the second semiconductor film is higher than a carrier concentration of the first semiconductor film, and wherein a carrier concentration of the third semiconductor film is higher than the carrier concentration of the first semiconductor film (paragraph [0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Park (US Pub. No. 2008/0258141) in view of Mardilovich (US Pub. No. 2006/0060857).
Regarding claims 5-7, Park appears not to explicitly disclose that the gate electrode of the first transistor comprises copper.
The art however well recognized copper to be suitable for use as a gate electrode in a metal oxide transistor. See, for example, Mardilovich, paragraph [0012].
According to well-established patent law precedents (see, for example, M.P.E.P. § 2144.07), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have formed the Park disclosed gate electrode to comprise copper for its recognized suitability as a gate electrode in a metal oxide transistor.
Conclusion
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891