DETAILED ACTION
As per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
In responding to this Office action, the applicant is requested to include specific references (figures, paragraphs, lines, etc.) to the drawings/specification of the present application and/or the cited prior arts that clearly support any amendments/arguments presented in the response, to facilitate consideration of the amendments/arguments.
Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Amendment, filed 06-17-2026. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered.
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 18 has/have been amended, claim(s) 9 has/have been cancelled, and claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10-12, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He, US 10790005 B1.
As to claim 1, He discloses a memory device (see He Fig 1), comprising:
an array of storage cells (see He Fig 1 Ref 105), each storage cell coupled to one of multiple bitlines (see He Fig 1 Ref 115) and one of multiple local wordlines (see He Fig 1 Ref 110), and wherein
groups of the multiple local wordlines (see He Col 7 Lines 39-51) are activated by master wordlines (see He Fig 1 Ref XADD); a wordline decoder (see He Fig 1 Refs 120 and 165) to receive wordline address information (see He Fig 1 Ref AREF) and to selectively activate an addressed wordline (see He Fig 1 Ref RXADD) corresponding to the wordline address information,
the wordline decoder comprising gating circuitry operative during a first mode of operation (see He Fig 6 Ref 610 and Col 18 Lines 37-45) to selectively suppress activation of the addressed wordline (see He Fig 7 Ref SKIP) during a refresh operation (see He Fig 7 Ref 720) during a current refresh period (see He Fig 7 Ref N+2) based on a timing of an activate command associated with the addressed wordline (see He Fig 6 Ref ACT); and
register storage to store a mode value of a first state that represents operation in the first mode of operation (see He Col 9 Lines 46-64), or to store a mode value of a second state that represents operation in a second mode of operation that at least partially disables the gating circuitry for at least a portion of the array of storage cells.
As to claim 2, He discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein:
the gating circuitry is to selectively suppress activation of the addressed wordline based on whether the addressed wordline was activated by a prior activate command within an immediately preceding refresh period (see He Col 19 Lines 16-28).
As to claim 10, He discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein:
a setting of the mode value is based on a density of activate commands associated with portions of the array of storage cells (see He Col 8 Lines 49-59).
As to claim 11, He discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein:
the array of storage cells comprises an array of dynamic random access memory (DRAM) storage cells (see He Col 10 Lines 14-24).
As to claim 12, He discloses a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) (see He Col 10 Lines 14-24) integrated circuit (IC) memory chip (see He Col 1 Lines 21-32), comprising:
an array of storage cells (see He Fig 1 Ref 105), each storage cell coupled to one of multiple bitlines (see He Fig 1 Ref 115) and one of multiple local wordlines (see He Fig 1 Ref 110), and wherein
groups of the multiple local wordlines are activated by master wordlines (see He Fig 1 Ref XADD); a wordline decoder (see He Fig 1 Refs 120 and 165) to receive wordline address information (see He Fig 1 Ref AREF) and to selectively activate an addressed wordline corresponding to the wordline address information (see He Fig 1 Ref RXADD),
the wordline decoder comprising gating circuitry (see He Fig 2) to selectively suppress activation of the addressed wordline (see He Fig 7 Ref SKIP) during a refresh operation (see He Fig 7 Ref 720) during a current refresh period (see He Fig 7 Ref N+2) based on a timing of an activate command associated with the addressed wordline (see He Fig 6 Ref ACT); and
register storage to store a mode value of a first state that enables the gating circuitry (see He Col 9 Lines 46-64), or to store a mode value of a second state that at least partially disables the gating circuitry for at least a portion of the array of storage cells.
As to claim 18, He discloses a method of operating a memory device (see He Fig 1), the memory device comprising
an array of storage cells (see He Fig 1 Ref 105), each storage cell coupled to one of multiple bitlines (see He Fig 1 Ref 115) and one of multiple local wordlines (see He Fig 1 Ref 110), and wherein
groups of the multiple local wordlines (see He Col 7 Lines 39-51) are activated by master wordlines (see He Fig 1 Ref XADD),
the method comprising: receiving wordline address information (see He Fig 1 Ref AREF) to activate an addressed wordline (see He Fig 7 Ref 725); selectively suppressing activation of the addressed wordline (see He Fig 7 Ref SKIP) during a refresh operation (see He Fig 7 Ref 720) within a current refresh period (see He Fig 7 Ref N+2) based on a timing of an activate command associated with the addressed wordline (see He Fig 6 Ref ACT); and storing a mode value of a first state that enables selectively suppressing activation of the addressed wordline (see He Col 9 Lines 46-64), or storing a mode value of a second state that at least partially disables selectively suppressing activation of the addressed wordline for at least a portion of the array of storage cells.
As to claim 19, He discloses the method of claim 18.
Claim 19 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2.
All the limitations of claim 19 have already been disclosed by He in claim 2 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He, US 10790005 B1, in view of Smith, US 20190348102 A1.
As to claim 20, He discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising:
incrementing a refresh counter through all wordline addresses associated with the array of storage cells within a refresh interval (see He Col 18 Lines 25-36); and initiating a refresh operation for a given wordline corresponding to an incremented address in response to each increment of the refresh counter (see He Col 18 Lines 25-36).
He does not appear to disclose that is no more than half a retention time associated with the array of storage cells
Smith discloses that is no more than half a retention time associated with the array of storage cells (see Smith Fig 3A Refs 32ms and 8ms; The minimum disclosed retention time is 32ms, and 8ms is less than half that value.)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that a method, as disclosed by He, may implement particular refresh times, as disclosed by Smith. The inventions are well known variants of schemas for activating wordlines and the combination of known inventions which produces predictable results is obvious and not patentable. Further evidence to the obviousness of their combination is Smith’s attempt to improve refresh timings (see Smith Para [0018]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner incorrectly cited column 8 as disclosing the “register storage to store a mode value” language. That language is anticipated in column 9 of the He referenc, and the rejection of the claimed invention is correct in view of He.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-8 and 13-17 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not appear to disclose (as recited in claim 3):
individual ones of the set of one-bit latches are to store a flag bit in response to a corresponding local wordline being activated in response to an activate command; and wherein the gating circuitry is responsive to detection of a stored flag bit associated with a selected one of the set of one-bit latches to selectively suppress activation of the given one of the master wordlines by the master wordline driver.
The prior art does not appear to disclose (as recited in claim 13):
individual ones of the set of one-bit latches are to store a flag bit upon a corresponding one of the multiple local wordlines being activated in response to an activate command; and wherein the gating circuitry is responsive to detection of a stored flag bit associated with a selected one of the set of one-bit latches to selectively suppress activation of the given one of the master wordlines by the master wordline driver.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEROME LEBOEUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 - 08/11/2026