DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ji et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,538,846).
Regarding to claim 1, Ji teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) package comprising:
a support structure (Figs. 28-30, element 203);
an LED chip mounted on the support structure (Figs. 28-30, element 20A), the LED chip having a first width in a first direction parallel to the support structure (Figs. 28-30, the width of LED 20A);
a first lens on the LED chip (Figs. 28-30, element 30), the first lens comprising:
a second width in the first direction, the second width defining a portion of the first lens that is closest to the LED chip, and the second width being less than or equal to the first width of the LED chip (Figs. 28-30, the width of the bottom surface of lens 30 is equal to the width of LED 20A); and
a third width in the first direction, the third width defining a largest dimension of the first lens in the first direction, the third width being greater than the first width of the LED chip (Figs. 28-30, the width of the lens 30 at its top surface); and
a second lens on the first lens and the support structure, the second lens covering the first lens and extending on a portion of the support structure adjacent to the LED chip (Figs. 28-30, element 204).
Regarding to claim 2, Ji teaches the second width defines an interface between the first lens and the LED chip (Fig. 29, the interface between the first lens 30 and the LED chip 20A has the second width).
Regarding to claim 5, Ji teaches a wire bond electrically coupled to a top surface of the LED chip, the wire bond extending through a portion of the first lens and a portion of the second lens (Fig. 30).
Regarding to claim 13, Ji teaches support structure comprises a submount with electrical traces (Fig. 30, traces 201/202).
Regarding to claim 14, Ji teaches the support structure comprises a lead frame structure with a housing (column 34, line 31).
Regarding to claim 15, Ji teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) package comprising:
a support structure (Figs. 28-30, element 203);
a plurality of LED chips mounted on the support structure (Figs. 28-30, elements 20), each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips having a first width in a first direction parallel to the support structure (Figs. 28-30, the width of LEDs 20);
a separate first lens (Figs. 28-30, element 30) on each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips, each first lens comprising:
a second width in the first direction, the second width defining a portion of each first lens that is closest to a corresponding LED chip of the plurality of LED chips, and the second width being less than or equal to the first width (Figs. 28-30, the width of the bottom surface of lens 30 is equal to the width of LED 20A); and
a third width in the first direction, the third width defining a largest dimension of each first lens in the first direction, the third width being greater than the first width (Figs. 28-30, the width of the lens 30 at its top surface); and
a second lens on the plurality of LED chips and the support structure, the second lens covering each first lens and extending on a portion of the support structure adjacent to the plurality of LED chips (Figs. 28-30, element 204).
Regarding to claim 16, Ji teaches the second lens is positioned between neighboring LED chips of the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 30).
Regarding to claim 17, Ji teaches the support structure comprises a lead frame structure with a housing, and the plurality of LED chips are positioned within a same recess of the housing (Fig. 30).
Regarding to claim 19, Ji teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) package comprising:
a support structure (Figs. 28-31, element 203);
an LED chip mounted on the support structure (Figs. 28-31, element 20A);
a first lens on the LED chip and on a portion of the support structure adjacent to the LED chip, the first lens comprising one or more side surfaces that inwardly taper in a direction toward the support structure (Figs. 28-30, element 30; or Fig. 31, element 30/301; column 37, lines 8-10); and
a second lens on the first lens and the support structure, the second lens covering the first lens and extending on a portion of the support structure adjacent to the first lens (Figs. 28-30, element 204; or Fig. 31, element30/302; column 37, lines 20-23).
Claims 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narendran et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,164,825).
Regarding to claim 19, Narendran teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) package comprising:
a support structure (Fig. 3, element 304);
an LED chip mounted on the support structure (Fig. 3, element 302);
a first lens on the LED chip and on a portion of the support structure adjacent to the LED chip, the first lens comprising one or more side surfaces that inwardly taper in a direction toward the support structure (Fig. 3, element 308); and
a second lens on the first lens and the support structure, the second lens covering the first lens and extending on a portion of the support structure adjacent to the first lens (Fig. 3, element 340).
Regarding to claim 23, Narendran teaches a light-altering material having a white color and positioned between the second lens and the support structure (Fig. 3, element 310; column 10, lines 16-20).
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by van de Ven et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,921,876).
Regarding to claim 19, Narendran teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) package comprising:
a support structure (Fig. 1, element 13);
an LED chip mounted on the support structure (Fig. 1, element 12);
a first lens on the LED chip and on a portion of the support structure adjacent to the LED chip, the first lens comprising one or more side surfaces that inwardly taper in a direction toward the support structure (Fig. 1, element 16); and
a second lens on the first lens and the support structure, the second lens covering the first lens and extending on a portion of the support structure adjacent to the first lens (Fig. 1, element 14).
Regarding to claim 20, Narendran teaches a surface of the first lens forms an inward depression in a direction toward the LED chip (Fig. 1).
Regarding to claim 21, Narendran teaches the inward depression is centered with respect to the LED chip (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,538,846), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Basin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,344,902).
Regarding to claim 3, Ji does not disclose a lumiphoric material layer on the LED chip, wherein the second width defines an interface between the first lens and the lumiphoric material layer. Basin discloses a lumiphoric material layer on the LED chip, wherein the second width defines an interface between the first lens and the lumiphoric material layer (Fig. 11, lumiphoric material layer 70 on the LED chip 10, the second width defines an interface between the first lens 78 and the lumiphoric material layer 70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ji in view of Basin to configure a lumiphoric material layer on the LED chip, wherein the second width defines an interface between the first lens and the lumiphoric material layer, in order to obtain a desired output wavelength.
Regarding to claim 4, Basin discloses the lumiphoric material layer laterally extends on the portion of the support structure adjacent to the LED chip (Fig. 11).
Claims 6-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,538,846), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wang He (U.S. Patent No. 9,182,099).
Regarding to claim 6, Ji does not disclose surface of the first lens forms an inward depression in a direction toward the LED chip. Wang He discloses a surface of first lens forms an inward depression in a direction toward a LED chip (Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ji in view of Wang He to configure an inward depression on a surface of the lens in a direction toward the LED chip in order to increase illumination angle.
Regarding to claim 7, Wang He discloses the inward depression is centered with respect to the LED chip (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 8, Wang He discloses the first lens forms a ring of increased thickness around a perimeter of the inward depression (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 9, Wang He discloses a bottom of the inward depression forms a curved surface (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 10, Wang He discloses the inward depression of the first lens is a first inward depression (Fig. 5) and a surface of the second lens forms a second inward depression in a direction toward the first inward depression (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 12, Ji discloses one or more side surfaces of the second lens inwardly taper toward a top surface of the support structure (Fig. 29).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,538,846), as applied to claims 15 and 17 above, in view of Basin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,344,902).
Regarding to claim 18, Ji does not disclose a lumiphoric material layer positioned in the recess and covering the plurality of LED chips, wherein each first lens is spaced from the plurality of LED chips by a portion of the lumiphoric material layer. Basin discloses a lumiphoric material layer positioned in recess and covering LED chip, a first lens is spaced from the LED chip by a portion of the lumiphoric material layer (Fig. 11, lumiphoric material layer 70 positioned in recess and covering LED chip, first lens 78 is spaced from the LED chip 10 by a portion of the lumiphoric material layer 70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ji in view of Basin to position a lumiphoric material layer in the recess and covering the plurality of LED chips, wherein each first lens is spaced from the plurality of LED chips by a portion of the lumiphoric material layer, in order to obtain a desired output wavelength.
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,538,846), as applied to claim 19 above, in view of Wang He (U.S. Patent No. 9,182,099).
Regarding to claim 20, Ji does not disclose a surface of the first lens forms an inward depression in a direction toward the LED chip. Wang He discloses a surface of first lens forms an inward depression in a direction toward a LED chip (Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ji in view of Wang He to configure an inward depression on a surface of the lens in a direction toward the LED chip in order to increase illumination angle.
Regarding to claim 21, Wang He discloses the inward depression is centered with respect to the LED chip (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 22, Wang He discloses the inward depression of the first lens is a first inward depression (Fig. 5) and a surface of the second lens forms a second inward depression in a direction toward the first inward depression (Fig. 5).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narendran et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,164,825), as applied to claims 19 and 23 above, in view of Basin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,344,902).
Regarding to claim 24, Narendran does not disclose a portion of the light-altering material is positioned between the first lens and the support structure in a direction perpendicular to the support structure. Basin discloses a portion of the light-altering material is positioned between the first lens and the support structure in a direction perpendicular to the support structure (Fig. 11, element 72). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Narendran in view of Basin to position a portion of the light-altering material between the first lens and the support structure in a direction perpendicular to the support structure in order to increase conversion efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 11, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the second lens extends past perimeter edges of the support structure in the first direction” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1, 6, and 10.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-7800125-B2, US-7066626-B2, US-8613532-B2, US-9673358-B2, US-11747008-B2, and US-9341321-B2, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. In particular, the references fail to disclose “a first lens on the LED chip, the first lens comprising: a second width in the first direction, the second width defining a portion of the first lens that is closest to the LED chip, and the second width being less than or equal to the first width of the LED chip; and a third width in the first direction, the third width defining a largest dimension of the first lens in the first direction, the third width being greater than the first width of the LED chip.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897